If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,188 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

There was outrage when Gavin used the Defence Forces in a video and he took it down.

CC clearly believes that the rules don't apply to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,504 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,138 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Well that is why there are party whips. And HH is a member of that party. She follows orders (if your hypothesis is true) and is not a yahoo going on her own solo runs.
    Connolly in contrast is independent and seems to think she can say or do what she likes. Despite her legal background. She is clearly a rebel, a rule breaker, an idealistic mouth. With the potential to cause a diplomatic incident every time she speaks.

Let’s not forget why Connolly left Labour - she went in a huff when she wasn’t allowed to run with Michael D Higgins. And Higgins was chosen instead of her. So Connolly is not only a loose lipped idealist, but a loose lipped headstrong idealist. Not a very pragmatic choice for the highest office in the land.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Politicians take the whip all the time.
    No problem with her receiving orders from on high, but her inability to interact in some way with her constituents here is odd. TD's are faced with this conundrum all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I'll believe that when I see it. Somehow, I can't her and her Hermes bag out shaking hands with the great unwashed for a month, and all for what - the chance to be an independent or tiny-party TD?

Fair play to the Indo for hosting her full two minute video and making it available to thousands more viewers.

Not that I'd click into Grift content, but Sarah must be good at empathising about electoral disappointments, given her track record of not getting elected, even with great FF family connections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,138 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That’s it though Humphreys behaved like the sensible party politician letting O’Callaghan handle it. If you don’t know in Monaghan at this point, there is hardly going to be more info. To me it a “sympathy trip” subject. To paint HH as cold calculating. Truth is it is good politics not to make it more complicated than it already is.

In GAA terms I would view HH similar to the Monaghan team. Solid dependable - keeper full back line and half back line. Hard to beat.

Connolly is like her countyman Shane Walsh underneath that soft spoken quiet mannerisms. There is potential flashes of brilliance. But is not a team player does not track back, and is very unpredictable and individualistic.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"her inability to interact in some way with her constituents here is odd."

Presume you're referring to Humphreys, a popular TD who got elected as a local TD easily and repeatedly.

Has there ever been such a TD in Ireland who didn't 'interact in some (or many) ways with his/her constituents'? I can't think of any. They may get elected once but if they fail to interact with their constituents they won't be re-elected, that's for sure.

BTW 'interaction' doesn't mean agreeing to every local demand.

Interact with these constituents, the Farrell family.

I also did not say Humphreys lost votes over it during her terms as a TD.

There is however complete bewilderment about the unempathetic response. It's not her usual nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Many people put Stephen Donnelly's recent failure down to him not interacting with his constituents enough.

That's the one and only example I have mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭liamtech

Ok a lot to unpack:

Who could forget the use of the fake tweet by RTE in 2011 that installed Higgins as president?

Its actually very easy to seemingly forget this, as its not an accurate reflection of what happened. It wasnt a fake tweet that derailed Gallagher's presidential bid- it was his REACTION to the tweet that did this. Considering that it was a fake tweet, he could have been expected to deny its accusations outright. He didnt do that, which is why he suffered in the election.

There are panelistas who push political agendas for which ever party they support.

If you are speaking of panelists on 'Prime Time', 'the Tonight Show', and other 'Frontline' adjacent current affairs programs. Yes, panelists are invited to give opinion based commentary, and yes; it is biased. That is the whole point of a panel. The show runners and hosts tend to remain unbiased though. If they focus on one issue over another, its usually done so on the basis of which issues are connecting with the public.

Political subversion of the national broadcaster by Official Sinn Fein/Workers Party and its Ned Stapleton cumann

Yes from the 1970s to 90s there was a supposed left wing group, which may or may not have influenced RTE's editorial decision making. Iv heard about this story, and if it materially existed it was wrong, despite being a lefty i admit that. Iv never seen any serious list of 'incidents' where you could draw a clear straight line between this supposed group, and the news as it was being reported. If you have one, im all ears!

It was also, AFAIK, rendered defunct 35 odd years ago. If someone has evidence of 'continued political subversion' in RTE, ongoing - im open to it, but I have not seen any.

Even the so-called "newspaper of record" was caught by an AI generated spoof article that appealed to its Woke stupidity. (The fake tan as cultural appropriation article).

Ok but its the reaction to such incidents, that highlights the integrity of such publications. No one is claiming that journalists or publications never make mistakes. They clearly have, and will continue to do so. But their reaction to mistakes such as the 'Fake Tan Cultural Appropriation' story, where the Irish Times withdrew the article, and issued notice of its fraudulent nature; Thats what goes to the heart of their credibility. They published a story, realized it was fake, retracted it, and then informed the public. You can try and claim that it was the public that highlighted it to the times, but you are pushing an open door. The article was flagged to them, as not passing the smell test, and they acted on this.

You and others here seem to have a rose-tinted view of the media. When reading Irish journalism, and in particular, political journalism, it helps to be objective if not downright cynical.

Again, I just think this is a faulty analysis. Irish publications and broadcasters have brought down governments, highlighted corruption in high office, and attacked blue collar crime for decades. Would we truly know what we do about FF in the 80s/90s without the Times, Indo, RTE et al? They proceed with stories that they deem to be of public interest. It was journalists that covered the stories about RTE salary's for certain presenters, demonstrating that they will go after each other, if it is a story they deem worthy of coverage.

You accuse me of wearing rose tinted glasses. Please, check your own contact lenses, and see if they are fit for purpose.

Post edited by liamtech on

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,802 ✭✭✭hometruths

And those he did interact with weren't inclined to vote for him either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Are you saying she didn't speak to the family or are you saying she didn't support their campaign for a public inquiry?

So basically you're agreeing with my thesis on how Irish politicians get re-elected or fail to.

I dont feel there is any logic in trying to argue this point anymore.

Reality is being twisted on many levels, and by many people.

• The democratic process for nominations, is being attacked as 'undemocratic'
    • The political whip is now being deemed 'unfair', as it was used, politically
    • The media is being unfair by covering stories in which the candidates are involved (For Shame, Resign, i say unto you🤣)

The above 'spin' would make Malcom Tucker blush. Even typing these points out, im filled with a sort of embarassment. People have reframed the above in their heads, with facts and logic being left out of the ingredients.

Are you saying she didn't speak to the family or are you saying she didn't support their campaign for a public inquiry?

I am saying her failure to interact with these constituents properly has caused some disquiet locally and she should be made to explain why that was.

Local people find these details absolutely extraordinary:

She never stood shoulder to shoulder with us outside the Dáil, when almost everyone else did.

Ms O’Farrell said she has never met Ms Humphreys,

There is no record of Ms Humphreys having raised the family’s case in the Dáil. 

She also said she called Ms Humphreys in the year before the State apology and asked to meet the then minister to show her documents relating to Mr O’Farrell’s case. Ms Humphreys asked Ms O’Farrell to send the documents to her, Ms O’Farrell said.

Again, she should be asked why this was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,631 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Didn't realise how far I'd fallen behind in the thread, but that post is still there, you had 24 hours to edit it, and after that can ask a mod to remove. So it's perfectly legitimate to comment on it.

Copying and pasting whatever an AI spews out, when you have no idea whether it's correct or not, is not a good idea

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Just to clarify, you obviously feel this story warrants further inquiry, and you will be following, if/when it is picked up by other publications and broadcast journalists. I agree btw, id like to hear some explanation

How is this any different to the Eirigi scandal? Why are you not decrying that this story, is being brought up in the midst of a Presidential election? If its picked up by other outlets, is it that said journalists are trying to damage Humphreys chances in the election? Why are you not questioning who it was who brought this story up, and for what reasons they did so?

The door swings both ways - and i will follow both stories, as should everyone else

To be fair, at times this thread moves so fast that some of us get left behind. I have @ - ed the wrong people, and replied to the wrong person many times.

Its a pity about the inability to edit old posts, especially in such a fast paced arena as this. Even just being able to add a POST SCRIPT, leaving the original post intact, but saying that information wasnt apparent at moment of typing. Would be useful.

My only issue Liam, (and it is an important one IMO) with the Éirigí story, is where did the the initial claim by the Journal come from?

They claimed to have a 'source' with access to Garda vetting information. Garda vetting information is not in and not supposed to be in the public domain.

I'm not a political ingénue, I know dustbins are being poked in for dirt on every single candidate. But there are lines.

When a scandal emerges, with evidence to back it up; It doesnt matter where it came from.

Unless it melts away in the light, then its a scandal. Whom ever is involved in it, has to deal with it. Trying to deflect attention, by asking who it was that brought it into the light, is not credible.

@FrancieBrady - Now to give you some benefit of the doubt; if there is a source for this story, and said source broke laws in revealing it to journalists, this is in and of itself, another story.

To be completely honest, i suspect it was another member of the Dail, and yes it was political. Its an election, and all of this is bound to happen. The source is remaining anonymous and that tends to be their perogative. Perhaps it will emerge that it was the former Ceann Comhairle, or someone on staff.

It doesnt alter the fact that, the story is the Eirigi Scandal at present. If we had a concrete timeline for the story

• who the lady worked with in Leinster House
    • for how long
    • when was the background check initiated,
    • why was it not initiated sooner
    • who flagged the issue with CC and or the Gardai
    • Did anyone else sign the lady in, or vouch for her
    • were they aware too, of her history

Its possible to formulate a list of those who knew everything - and within that list will be the source. But again, il refer to my initial argument on this. It is a valid story, it needs to be dealt with, and has not been credibly explained by a candidate seeking to be elected as President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭rdser

I will openly admit to having an issue with the whip system. I know why parties do it, but to me at least thats not democracy. You are representing the party only, not nessecarily the people who voted for you. AS a public rep, be it TD, councillor whatever…you were voted for by the people…not the party. And certainly the dictatorial style of Mehole and Simon like we have seen recently…is not democratic.

Simplistic, maybe but thats my take on it.

Personally think that the media dont call for many if any resignations…and there have been issues where a resignation would have been warranted…but there is zero accountability in public/civil sector in this country…and the same for politicians. The media / political relationship in Ireland is not a healthy one imho. I don't know when I last heard the media calling for a resignation…usually they just pass issues off and say he'll survive,…which is usually the case.

It doesnt matter where it came from.

So if it came from a Garda source that is ok?

Are you saying it is ok for people to be leaking confidential information for political gain?

That's a dangerous and slippery slope to endorse IMO

Confidential Garda information should not be in the public domain and we should at the very least inquire into where this info comes from. Or was it invented to flesh out a story as click bait.

I accept it is now in the public domain and IMO has been dealt with as much as it can be.

If you believe Connolly's motive was sinister, don't vote for her.

She used the image of Michael D. Higgins in her campaign video without authorisation, same as Gavin used the Defence Forces.

He took it down, she is refusing, a clear indication that she thinks the rules don't apply to her.

It's a nothing story, you are just looking for something to smear her with. At least there is no dog-whistling this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,851 ✭✭✭blackwhite

There's also the unanswered question of how was this unvetted dissident supervised whilst inside security at Leinster House - or was she left free to roam the halls as she pleased once Connolly had circumvented security for her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,254 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I dont think ill have ever held my nose more tightly when voting than this one. CC will get my vote but jesus this is a worse choice than the Yanks tend to face.

Thankfully for us all CC will do is shake hands at rugby and GAA games.

So you are against Garda whistleblowers?

Another complete about turn.

What 'rule' applies to use of stock footage of the presidents of Ireland?

Are you saying anyone who uses footage of a President applies for permission to use it? If there is a 'rule' about this please link to it.
    Happy to accept if there is one.

The Defence Forces are precluded by legislation (Defence Act 1954) from engaging in political activity, which includes endorsing or publicly supporting a presidential or Dáil candidate etc.

If it was a Garda going to a journalist with this information and they genuinely believed there had been wrongdoing in the security vetting by Catherine Connolly, then that Garda is protected by the whistleblowers legislation.

It is quite hypocritical to say the least to see Catherine Connolly and her supporters criticising whistleblowers just because they don't like the outcome.