Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,772 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

You have to be aware how wildly incoherent your point is at this stage right?

You are claiming to make a comparison between two very similar situations and claiming the outcome was worse for SP (even though the outcome was actually incredibly similar but other teams performed differently) but the outcome of the game JC played in is not allowed for comparison because of external factors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DBK1

Be realistic now, we lost to France by 15 points, we scored 14 of our points in the last few mins when France were already on the bus home so in reality we lost by 29 points.

There’s no one player can make a 30 point difference against a team as good as France were that day. Put Dan Carter in his prime on for Ireland that day and he’s not going to make a 30 point difference if everyone else on the team still plays as they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭exiledawaynothere

This will be another “fun” season on the out half selection front. All we can hope for is that we judge what we see on the pitch in a fair way and not take provincial positions.

But yet that’s what you’re doing to Prendergast regarding the France game.

Are you starting to realise yet how your double standards are affecting your ability to be honest in your judgement of JC and SP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭daithi7

I agree with you Ireland were not as good in 2025, as they were in 2024. Much of the reason for this was they didn't have nearly as good an outhalf starting in 2025, unfortunately.

Crowley basically helped rescue the game versus England , as when he came on instead of Prendergast after ~60mins, Ireland were just 13-10 ahead & struggling.

France hammered Ireland in Dublin, 42 - 27, with the French running through Prendergast, & picking off intercepts at will.

And, Ireland also really struggled against a very poor Welsh side in 2025. This was a real low point in Irish international performances in recent years imho, & Prendergast at 10, trying to hide away on the wing in defence, looked truly pathetic at times, tbh.

Crowley's physicality, acceleration & top line pace are all much better than Prendergast's. Further Crowley attacks the line & offers a superior attacking & running threat that Prendergast simply doesn't. And of course, Crowley's defence & tackling is infinitely better than Prendergast's. That's night & day.

Further, Prendergast's place kicking under pressure is highly suspect imho, e.g. how many simple conversions & penalties does he miss!? In contrast, Crowley relishes clutch kicks, & drop goals in closing stages to win games, are part of his considerable match day armoury. Leinster fans can surely attest to this!?

On nearly every objective measure, Crowley is the superior 10, imho. This is also backed up by their respective performances & stats when playing for Ireland.

Imho, Irish coaches may have opted for Prendergast in 2025 to try to develop a young alternative option before the next RWC, and possibly also for commercial reasons, as the IRFU have been losing money, so having a Leinster outhalf in an Irish 10 shirt might help ticket, jersey & merchandise sales, as well as with sponsorships & media coverage all of which are very Dublin oriented.

But on a purely rugby basis, Crowley is by far the better all round international 10 currently, imho.

Post edited by daithi7 on

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,287 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Lol

"Andy Farrell picks his team for Jersey sale reasons"

🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,239 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

It's incredible that cats will come on a forum and straight up lie, as though we can't go and watch the games. I did a boring long breakdown for their respective contributions in the England game. TLDR Crowley had basically zero contributions to our scores that day.

In the French match, we were this close to having a 10pt lead starting the 2nd half iirc. We collapsed when the yc happened, which is a pretty damning occurrence. Fact is, we haven't been near to the standards we set at the WC. Hopefully that changes this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Lads, the 10 debate was ended in February by the "Suncroft Kid", haven't you been following?

https://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/six-nations/eamonn-sweeney-sam-prendergast-ends-debate-on-the-ireland-no-10-jersey-with-murrayfield-masterclass/a1920528399.html

Unfortunately his biggest contribution that day was missing his tackle on I think Theo Dan, which allowed Freeman in for their losing bonus point score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Blaming Prendergast for us not winning the 6N is not remotely reasonable, no more than giving Crowley the credit for the win in 2024.

And tbh that's the problem. Neither player is yet good enough or commanding enough to really determine the outcome of anything.

It's easy to tear Prendergast to pieces because his tackling problem is something that is very obvious and very easy to put a label on. Crowley's deficiencies are harder to illustrate in a gif so people have made the assumption that they aren't there. The reality is he's a very good 10 but still well short of where he needs to be if he wants the Ireland jersey long term.

It's like people banging on about Frawley deserving a go at 10. He does on his bollocks. Why not? He can tackle, he can pass, he can kick, he's strong - but he just isn't very good. Can I produce a still photo or a video clip that shows Frawley being not very good at 10? I can't, but I can tell you with absolute certainty that he's not.

We are in a good position in that we have two very decent prospects at 10, both of whom will get plenty of opportunities and both of whom are first-choice for strong provinces. We have two years until the RWC so plenty of time to see how they develop and the Ireland coaches are going about it the right way.

Maybe people just need to chill out a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭50HX

Sensible post & would agree with all of it bar the plenty of time to RWC27 bit.

Come 6n's we'd want be going with a definitive 1st choice imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,593 ✭✭✭✭phog

No, not at all. I'm comparing one season against the other and as another poster has pointed out the damage was done v France when we got our arses spanked. The slow start to the tournament v England didn't help out cause so a BP win v Italy might have saved some blushes but it wouldn't have won is the tournament. A tournament we won the year before.

Well, if one or other of them can make a convincing case and end the argument between now and February, I’ll take that as a great outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

come 6 nations, the summer tours, autumn internationals, basically all of 2026, when world cup seeding can't be worried about, I would hope there is as much experimentation as possible.

We need to see 46 players in clutch matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭daithi7

Good, so do we agree one Irish outhalf just helped his convincing case to be Ireland's first choice out half last weekend so !?

See below for details & analysis

20251006_190332.jpg

Helped? Yes.

Ended the argument? Not even close.

Don't think splitting game time equally (ish) between them for all of 26 puts any of them in a good position going into RWC 27.

Hopefully one of them nails it fairly quickly & we get a 10 running the show for 10 approx test games going into world cup.

My other hope is that we develop a 12 & a 6 pref Baird nails the spot thats now open...we know he can do it, its up to him to be consistent from now on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Theres definitely a logic to one starting against NZ and the other against SA. Theres also a good logic to having a consistent selection at 10 and building the team around him. Be interesting to see which way the coaches go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,470 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I think it is easier to pick a winner when you have a Sexton or ROG. But now we have a different situation where one is established and the other has unreslised potential. I'd say they'll continue to give them both starts until they find a winner closer to the world cup

And Baird needs to get the finger out if he's going to nail down the 6 position. He's been given scope for a few years now and hasn't really found a flow. I think the likes of Ahern and Prendergast can rightly feel annoyed that Baird has gotten so much opportunity compared to them. I don't mind who plays 6 as long as they're the best for the job. It's difficult to really say they've given the others a similar opportunity to impress. It looks like they've picked their winner.

I want Baird to be better than the others (leinster fan) but I'm not sure we can say he is because the others have gotten so little opportunity.

To be far to Baird he's ahead of Ahern a good bit.

Ahern needs to belt out a good consistent club season first imo...great potential & he's off to a good start this season so lets hope he pushes on.....injuries have impact both but Baird has close to 30 caps & not being consistently good enough for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Baird's performances at the back end of last season, especially the URC playoffs, were at a level that I think would see him take the Irish 6 jersey long term. I don't think we've seen Ahern or Prendergast play at that level yet.

Cormac Izuchukwu struggled to make an impact on his few appearances in an Irish shirt as of yet, but he was great for Ulster in week 1 and he's such a good athlete he's definitely still in the mix here too I think.

Baird was pretty good in the summer for Ireland too I thought and showed some leadership, but opposition was pretty awful. He was abject against the Stormers in round 1 of the URC, but better on Saturday v the Bulls playing in the second row.

Unfortunately for Baird - until Leinster are back to full complement of locks I think we'll need him to deputise in the second row as the Deeny/Mangan combo is too lightweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,552 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Aherne just can't stay fit/injuries have happened at inopportune times in terms of the international calendar. Any time he has played he has looked excellent. I'd agree he needs to show that in more than a handful of games before going off the radar again injured.

Cian Prendergast isn't going away either.

Baird may have the jersey but I don't think he's leagues ahead of those two. Be interested to see if Coombes is kept in the squad, he can play 6 also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Coombes hasn't really played 6 in years has he? I'd be curious to see it, seems like it would be a good fit for him. It's going to be very interesting to see how the back row shakes out at Munster with all the talent coming through there.

I'm a big fan of Prendergast personally but think he needs to add a bit to his game if he's going to be a regular international. He's not far away though, and has the raw materials, work rate, and leadership chops. We'll see if Lancaster can get that extra gear out of him, I would like to see him playing in the middle of the pitch more. Wilkins used him as an edge forward a lot which I wasn't a huge fan of.

Weird how your game by game analysis missed a match…(also you can't "rescue" a game when the team is winning).

I can't take someone's argument seriously when they bring up placekicking as a strength for Crowley over Prendergast. His kicking percentage in the URC last season was an abysmal 57%. His kicking stats are actually poor every season except the one he started for Ireland when he was 81. The rest are in the 60s, bar last season at the aforementioned 57.

If Crowley was a better 10 on "nearly every objective measure" he would be starting. He is not starting because it is a close decision, and while opinions will differ, it is not clear cut.

I assume this is what they will plan to do. Though I also assume whoever doesn't start against NZ will start against Japan and will need to play well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,239 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

If we beat NZ, I'd be astounded if Farrell changes the team up. It's an unfortunate facet of his coaching, like seemingly every Irish coach, that he isn't one for mixing things up with selections week to week.

I think it's a position where we actually have a great potential pipeline, but none of them look the finished profile just yet.

All three of Baird, Ahern & Izuchukwu have elite athleticism - they're all huge men who are very fast, bring good strength and relatively good work ethics / energy levels (though I think all three could improve on this metric). They're all good line out forwards - Baird has called Leinster's lineout on a number of occasions and done well there. Ahern probably the strongest lineout forward of the three IMO. Izuchukwu is the strongest carrier of the four IMO, and I think Baird is the biggest hitter of the four defensively, or maybe Prendergast.

Prendergast is also a really good athlete, but doesn't quite have the freakish attributes of the three above I think. I think he's stronger than those three on the kind of nitty gritty pure blindside graft, and he probably brings the most intangible in terms of leadership etc.

All four are a great age profile - Baird is the oldest (born July 1999 - so 26), and then Izuchukwu (Jan '00), Ahern (Feb'00) and Prendergast (Feb'00 - Prendergast is a day younger than Ahern), all 25. It's good to have the four spread amongst the four provinces, and injury permitting, all four should see plenty of game time this year.

Baird is in pole position - he has 29 caps, Izuchukwu 3, Ahern 2 and Prendergast 5. As I mentioned before, his MotM performances in the URC semi and final last year I think were at a level I haven't seen the other three reach yet. Worth noting too that Baird has played in 9 of the last 10 potential 6Ns games, including starting a grand slam decider.

I don't think Coombes in in the mix realistically at 6. He obviously brings huge power, good handling and good general work rate to the table, but I don't think he covers the ground like these 4 and doesn't quite bring the elite athleticism.

It's a great problem to have though, and really hope all can stay healthy and properly duke it out for the position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Some amount of rubbish posted on here but what's new. The fact that people can claim Prendergast played well last weekend is perfectly illustrative of the difficulty in having any kind of genuine debate around the fly half jersey. He missed two kicks at the death and literally handed the Bulls a try which cost Leinster a losing bonus point. Throw in the occasional pass to nobody too. Anyone claiming that this was a good display is either completely dishonest or genuinely doesn't have a clue about the game. You get the feeling that some posters constantly repeat the same dross in the hope that it becomes the prevailing narrative.

Then you have posters claiming that neither of our options at fly half are international standard which is bullshit. "Oh if we claim that neither are of the requisite standard then it doesn't matter if Prendergast is selected ahead of Crowley". You can be sure that will only last as long as Prendergast continues to have obvious deficiencies in his game and then it'll be "Prendergast is clearly the better option". Nonsense. Ireland won a 6 Nations with Crowley at fly half and managed to draw a series in South Africa. Is he the finished article? No, of course not but he's done a damn sight more than Prendergast has in a green jersey and his form has certainly warranted better treatment from the national team's coaching staff.

Crowley is a better tackler, is more physical and he's better at taking the ball to the line. His passing is also very good as evidenced in the first league game of the season but it's much of a muchness between him and Prendergast here. His place kicking isn't as good as Prendergast's but I do find it laughable that the same guys who are closing this as a rationale for not picking him were the very same one's spitting bullets when O'Gara was chosen ahead of Sexton for the Qtr final in 2011 due to Johnny's kicking being substandard.

The entire debate on here is extremely dishonest but that's par for the course.

Prendergast missed one kick last week - a penalty from bang on the half way line. He kicked a penalty and four conversions from four. Crowley missed two conversions.

Crowley is not a better passer in any world whatsoever - I don't think he'd even try to claim that himself. How many times last season did Munster attempt to set up big wide passes only for Crowley to throw it forward or into touch? There is no way his passing is close to Prendergast's level. Prendergast has had games where he has picked defenses apart with the quality of his passing.

As others have said - claiming we won a 6N with Crowley, and failed to with Sam, kind of ignores the fact we won 4/5 in both seasons.

We drew a series in SA too - after Crowley was hooked with 20 mins to go and Ciaran Frawley kicked two late drop goals to rescue it.

It's all well and good talking about how good Crowley is at hitting and running the ball to the line, but those aren't the core skills of a 10. If they were - we'd pick Stuart McCloskey at 10.

You accuse everyone else of being "dishonest", "rubbish" and "bullshit" and then you post stuff like the above, so maybe take a good look in the mirror for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,593 ✭✭✭✭phog

Talk about double standards 🙄

Yes of course that missed tackle would have meant France wouldn't have won the 6Ns. The game v England turned on it's head once Crowley came on.