Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭CONSI

Strange the media are stoking up whether we look to bring Murray in now that Casey is injured, wouldnt be a very strong vote of confidence for our existing scrum halves

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

I think Murray burnt all his bridges with the release of his book. Plus he wouldn't be fit enough anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,436 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭theVersatile

TRK saying that he was at the press conference and McMillan basically said that as a joke or as a unenthusiastic reply and that the papers are running with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The Irish Times has one sentence about it, buried in the middle of the article, and makes it very clear that McMillan thought this was funny.

Don't think anyone is 'stoking' this at all, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,281 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

RTE the one's making the most of it, they had a full article leading with it (by the journalist who actually asked the question):

Munster are hopeful that Craig Casey's injury is not too serious but haven’t ruled out making contact with retired scrum-half Conor Murray.

But if you hear the audio, it was pretty much swatted away by McMillan. I'd imagine it's not very likely whatsoever tbh.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,240 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Still playing with Waikato in NPC, but could be sensible after next weekends quarters.

Anything could happen against Barry of plenty though.

I know your tongue in your cheek, but I can't see irfu signing off on medical joker scum half unless one of your other 9s picks up an injury before Casey is back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,513 ✭✭✭✭phog

Munster's centre of excellence in Musgrave Park was officially opened today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i think tonight was a better win than it looked , yes it was sloppy at times but cardif were good and scored 3 excellent tries in the second half ,i played Gaelic football with ethan Coughlin's father back in the day and there is huge graw for him here be in west clare but for a guy in the 2nd year of a two year contract tonight is not a good look , patterson changed the game again after he came on , coughlin needs a spell at a lower level to get to grips with the profesional game , a spell in england would do him no harm , tonight it was either too fast or too slow

he wasn't the only one , loughman was poor from the start , his positioning from the start of the game at ruck time was poor and was several times offside , like most people on here i love niall scannell but the difference diarmuid barron made was big in the second half ,i taught jack crowley was excellent while ben o connor and roan quinn had great first halfs , quinn scored a fine try but dose probably need to improve on the line out game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭50HX

Only noticed now that Wig has landed a club job in Japan....best of luck & hope it goes well for him

The Irish Examiner has the following injury update

Hanrahan, centre Tom Farrell, props Michael Milne and John Ryan, and wing Andrew Smith will all return to training this week following various short-term injuries while wing Diarmuid Kilgallen, full-back Mike Haley in addition to tighthead prop Salanoa, lock Edogbo and, Munster hope, Casey, are not far behind them, with an interpro meeting at Croke Park with Leinster looming in 12 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,889 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

For anybody who signed up for a membership this season without a season ticket (including a ticket for a non-Leinster URC game) the details of redeeming the ticket is in MRSC FAQ’s 2025

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭budhabob

Scannell went to shake Crowleys hand with this left hand, and no update on Daly.

I'm assuming that injury update was picked up on Saturday at the opening of the centre of excellence and we'll probably get an official injury update later today or tomorrow

If Daly stayed on the field Friday night I doubt Cardiff would have scored all their trys

Ya, Munsters official update just issued. Scannell received a hand laceration, may be available for next weekend. Daly in RTPP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,436 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I'm not sure what's going on with tickets for the Munster match in Cork in Friday evening. First there was only south terrace tickets left. Then south and east. Then south, east and north. And now all them plus west. Noticed similar happening at last match there too. Its not like they're resale so bit odd

I was buying an extra ticket earlier this afternoon and it had only East & South available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,507 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Some of those injured lads coming back will be like new signings. Edogbo very close to a return, he has the potential to be an absolute game-changer for us, really hope he comes back at the level he was at. Salanoa is obviously very much a lesser known quantity. We've Farrell and Nash also to come in, Kilgallon looked very exciting but he can't stay fit, not too far away from a return apparently. I like the way McMillan is having these lads as part of the warm up instead of in the stands, getting them out on the pitch. Need Milne back too, he might play this weekend?

Thought Coughlan at 9 was poor, PFP was an upgrade. Casey should be fit for Leinster match by the sounds of things. He's become a very important player for us now Murray has moved on, we were spoiled having him coming on.

Cardiff were very good the other night, surprised me. Thought we weren't fully at the races, definitely a level below the opener. Still, good to win ugly.

Crowley was deservedly MOTM (but was not without his flaws), Tom Aherne was up there too - he is really laying down a marker. Keep him fit and he'll knock on the door internationally, super workrate in terms of hitting rucks, a banker in the lineout and a great nose for the try-line.

Need our 7s back soon, JOD and Quinn can plug a hole but Kendellen and Hodnett are a cut above them at the moment. Wonder will Edogbo Óg get a run?

We've a ridiculous amount of backrow riches now. I'd love to see a 4-8 of Edogbo/Aherne/Coombes/Hodnett/Gleeson some time.

I've a niggly feeling that Casey might not be back as soon as we hope. He made a great recovery to come back from his knee injury & surgery last season so maybe Munster are being over cautious but I don't like the wooly updates on him

Agreed....and zero mention in todays squad update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,507 ✭✭✭leakyboots

This was the quote from McMillan -

“We’ve had it scanned and it’s probably looking more like a hamstring injury at the lower end [of the scale]. But, you know, with guys that have got a little bit of pace, you just never quite know how long that’s going to put them out of the game.

“We’re hoping for the best, and at this stage it’s just a bit of a wait and see. But I don’t imagine he’ll be available [for the Edinburgh game], but the week after, a possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭50HX

Good piece on EE

https://archive.ph/4eGFO

Tractor & Giraffe 2nd rows😁

There seems to be a rumour doing the rounds that we are after a SA hooker? Doesn't make sense to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Marnus van der Merwe, the scarlets hooker

the source is planet rugby, so it's probably bullsh!t as his agent knows the editor and contract negotiations will be starting soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

agree ….we need a decent back up 10 to Crowley who could cover Center also …..depending on how salmoa goes over next while a tight head prop would be higher on wish list too

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,240 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Ah ye have loads of center cover, and ye signed a back up for Crowley only this season. A guy ironically who played almost a full season in England at 12.

Ye have 3 out halfs on your books this season. The same as connacht (3), more than Ulster (2) and arguably more than Leinster (2 plus two utilities)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Theres Crowley, JJ, Tony Butler. and 2 academy 10s. JJ is perfect as a back up 10 and we have plenty centres as well. Now prop is a different matter altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Will make for a grand big bar on matchdays, get a band in for afterwards, put on a free bus service back to the city centre, get some students in to man a card only bar.

Local pubs won't like it but hey ho, that's competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,344 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Munster have a very good starting 10 in Crowley, a very solid and experienced backup in Hanrahan, but Butler looks to be struggling to play even at URC level so far and is yet unproven he will offer a decent option after the other two. Hicks is year 3 in the academy but hasn't made an appearance yet so doesn't appear to be an option either.
    That aside, I don't think we need to be looking outside of Munster right now for a 10, but if either Hanarahan or Crowley were to pick up an injury for anything more than a month or so we would be very compromised at 10.

In the other provincial senior squads for comparison:
    Connacht have 3 outhalves (plus 3 backups): Ioane, Carty, Hawkshaw, plus Forde, Gilbert and West are able to cover 10.
    Ulster have 3 outhalves (plus 2 backups): Murphy, Flannery, Humphries, plus Lowry and Doak are able to cover 10.
    Leinster have 3 outhalves (plus 1 backup): Prendergast, Byrne, Frawley, plus Tector is able to cover 10.