Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Apple Dumpling

Hours after Stephen Miller targeted democratic judges a democratic judge who’s husband is also a former democratic state Senator house in South Carolina burns to the ground.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

The boss of the Eisenhower Presidential Library has been fired after he objected to Trump gifting one of Eisenhowers swords to King Charles III.

President Trump on Sunday told Navy sailors not to “worry about” their paychecks that are being held back by the current government shutdown.

“As your commander in chief, I will always stand for you. I promise you that,” Trump said at a celebration of the Navy’s 250th anniversary. “You know that, that’s why you voted for me in numbers that nobody’s ever seen before. And I want you to know that despite the current Democrat-induced shutdown, we will get our service members every last penny.”

“Don’t worry about it. Don’t worry about it. Don’t worry about it. Do not worry about it, it’s all coming,” the president added.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,619 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Do you agree with Miller, that the Trump appointed Judge is an insurrectionist?

1000020751.png

A simple yes or no will do...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

i

No. However it does seem that attacks on ICE may have happened in the state. The Posse Comitatus Act 1878 does allow the use of the military to guard federal buildings, though overall it mostly bans its use for law enforcement.. An attack on an ICE facility elsewhere (I think Texas) killed a migrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

"No. However...."

So, if the judge isn't an insurrectionist, then is it acceptable that the deputy white House chief of staff is calling a judge that?

Would you agree that this is inflammatory and is completely out of order?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,566 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

You're at it haha.

You've never set foot in Portland and it's pretty clear that those 'comments online' are from your MAGAsphere.

edit:

https://time.com/7322038/trump-portland-ice-protests-crime/

But while authorities have deployed tear gas and shut down the facility for several days in response to the demonstrations, the protests have been largely peaceful. 

And city data show that some of the most violent crimes, including homicides, are down significantly so far this year compared to the same period last year.

If you're so worried about high crime surely you'd be wanting Trump to send troops to red states and cities ?

Post edited by Jelle1880 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Hoop66

There must be planty of footage of these "thugs" causing disorder in Portland then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Funnily enough, I've been to Portland many times, as recent as 2023. Great town, no obvious crime problems anywhere, and have many friends there. As safe to visit as any other town, like Seattle where I lived near for 10 years. Had a job offer to work near Portland a long time ago, always wondered what would've happened, had I accepted it.

Stop talking to MAGAts about what's happening in US cities. They only know what they're told by Newsmax. And they should be thankful for the tax revenues that come their way.

Found one!

Untitled Image

Police then sprayed pepper spray into the air hole you can see on the picture. Because of course they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Kai Trump enrages Swifties as superfans accuse president’s granddaughter of ripping off Travis Kelce’s logo

"Kai, the daughter of the president’s oldest son, Donald Trump Jr., and his ex-wife, recently announced she was accepting pre-orders for her cotton sweatshirts, which are being sold for $130.She later posted a video of herself golfing on the South Lawn, again wearing one of the shirts.Her use of the White House for her promotional videos has reignited questions over the president’s family using his office for profit."

Given who her father is, no surprise she is looking to cash in soonest, doubt if the Trump family want to take on this celebrity couple and their fans, would expect quick withdrawal, $130 for a cotton sweatshirt, must be front loading tariffs on the manufacturer from overseas.

Kai can sue her father for future earnings.

There was the Occupy movements camp some years ago though that went too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I have a good friend who owns a bar in Portland, he has been keeping me up to date on whats beeen going on over there for the last few years.

He is a Democrat too, well he was until he got sick of hoodlums smashing the city up and the authorities did nothing to stop the destruction.

Its odd, that you and others can see nothing wrong with the behaviour of some but hysterically overexaggerate the impact and behaviour of others. Says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,438 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Any actual evidence?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,716 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Surely you can point to something better than a vague anecdote. We have no issue pointing to a judge pointing to government overreach. The irony of is that Trump supporters spent years accusing Biden of everything from overreach to weaponising the Justice department to sexual assault. All things that Trump has committed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,366 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

So your evidence is from one person?

There is a world of difference between hoodlums wreaking havoc and a city being war torn and needing the military to enforce rules.

Its is you, and Trump, hysterically overexaggerating the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

And, of course, distract from releasing the Epstein files, which is what all this is about. Seems like his plan to give Tomahawk missiles to Ukraine has fallen by the wayside as well. Was good for a few days distraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Says the prick who deliberately bankrupted 6 companies and stung every supplier/contractor he could, no wonder New Yorkers hate him and his money-grabbing family.

He loaded all his unrelated debts onto his Casino business and flushed the lot down the toilet like a Mafia sting, without a second thought to anybody.

Well I know TWO people in Portland who say it's a perfectly fine city.

Therefore I win.

That's how this works, right ?

Turns out the sword Trump gave to Charles III was a replica, not Eisenhower's original, because the Eisenhower presidential library refused to release it to Trump. Then the boss of the library, Todd Arrington, was fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Quite right too. If you disobey your boss you generally get kicked out the door by your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

No way, I also have a good friend who owns a bar in Portland.

He’s a republican and told me it’s a grand place to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,436 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

bosses arent always right, and should be challenged when required, this tends to create a far better work environment, resulting in better outcomes, including for bosses, and can sometimes prevent the creation of highly toxic and dysfunctional work environments !

1000020778.png

From the article... It was illegal to gift the sword, because it doesn't belong to Trump.

You think it's okay for someone to be fired for refusing to break the law?

Post edited by everlast75 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,580 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The orange disaster's pettiness knows no limit.

Firing someone for doing their job properly.

FFS. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,606 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Sorry is "legal insurrection" not an obvious oxymoron? By definition any insurrection would have to be illegal right? Is my brain melting out my ears?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,438 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I remember the MAGA lads gloating on the 6th January, as the insurrection was in progress, that no statues had been harmed. They spent a fair bit of 2020 bleating about how taking down slave trader Edward Colston's statue was erasing history and now they want to send a piece of American history to the institution their country broke away from just because the degenerate-in-chief wants to impress the King.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,992 ✭✭✭✭briany

These are just the stories that are making the news. One small episode in a grand story that is the ongoing, and seemingly quite successful, effort to purge the US's executive branch of all who would stand against Trump or even remind him that certain actions are unlawful.

As Steve Bannon said, they were going to take the country, 'village by village', and it means installing MAGA people in every administrative position of consequence, from the clerks in the local polling office, right up to judges on the Supreme Court. I still see these talking heads on American news talking about Trump's poll numbers and the 2026 midterms. You idiots. None of that is going to matter. A country can be taken over by an organised and motivated minority, by hook or by crook.

We may scoff at people in MAGA hats, bleating about how Trump is anointed by God and so forth, but the fact is that whatever about these beliefs being absurd, they are incredibly motivating and uniting, and that is what makes them powerful. There's nothing really like this on the anti-Trump side and relative disorganisation and division is the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,325 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

If your boss ordered you to do something illegal, you would comply?

BREAKING:

The Supreme Court just rejected Ghislaine Maxwell’s appeal of her criminal conviction for recruiting and grooming teenage girls for sexual abuse by Jeffrey Epstein.

The decision means that her conviction and 20-year criminal sentence remain in place.

Looks like Trump's buddy will have to be bribed the old fashioned way! Sorry Donny.....