Presidential Election.

Mad as it sounds, he'd actually have got away with it if he told the right lies. If he'd said there had been miscommunication involving his accountant, solicitor, himself and the tenant, he'd have gotten away with it if he'd paid back the money and interest immediately. There would have been plausible deniability.

Saying he couldn't remember and was gathering data was not plausible. Jim genuinely didn't remember someone coming to his parent's home looking for money that he genuinely did owe? Come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,482 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I think if Steen or Sheridan were in the race Gavin would still be in. Either of those two characters would have been lightning rods for the media and taken all press coverage as the media tripped over itself to kill their campaigns.

Gavin, like the slowest antelope in the herd was therefore ripe for picking off. That said, having an outsider candidate in an election that matters little is a risky strategy as they might well have garnered a significant level of protest support. It's easy in hindsight now to say that the main parties should have let an independent run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The onus isn't on the main parties to 'let' an independent run; naturally, they're going to protect their investment.

What people should be doing is engaging with politics at ALL levels; voting in local elections for their county councillors, in the Euros and the General election, instead of only waking up to this when the flashier Presidential election comes along.

When don't know's are removed CC is polling at 46% against 33% for HH. CC on 53% after transfers.

Let's see how next weekend's polls go but the public are clearly seeing beyond the public smearing of CC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,340 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It's par for the course in these discussions.

The politicians posters dislike are "stealing a living" and the ones they support are "hard working public representatives".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

It would have been “spun”- sure. But the timelines don’t lie- 16 years of ignoring a personal debt? I know he wasn’t pursued for 16 years- I’m assuming the tenant dropped the case and decided not to pursue through the courts likely for financial reasons after their solicitor letters failed to get a response- (all my hypothesis by the way based on current knowledge which is scant ) but it still would have looked terrible - he would have been a major embarrassment to FF throughout the election and I reckon he still would have withdrawn

or whatever was what I said. The point remains the same. not everyone agrees with the liberal left agenda that some people seem to think everyone agrees with…they don't! And those people are not represented right now,

Like the migration issue, many people are keeping quiet as they'll be labelled far right, racists, 1950s catholic etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Fascinating election, has it ever happened before where there were just two candidates in the race?

No time for dodgy landlords like most people in the country, but have a question about the process of counting, if someone could explain please.

If JG name is still on the ballot paper, and people still gave him a vote even though he’s withdrawn (people can do very strange things 😫), what happens to those votes? Are they all ignored or are second and third preferences counted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

What has this got to do with the Peace Process ?

This was not a political crime it was a gun and ammunition possession crime .

Stop trying to hand wave it away . If it was a few weeks it would still be an issue given the crime .

How about answering whether you would do so if it was an individual who was an activist on the right as per my example ?

Same crime same situation different sides of the political divide .

Also the individual gardaí at the gate of LH would not have been privy to the full situation ..that is why security clearance is performed . All they knew was that CC was swiping in someone working for her .

Your answers are becoming more and more disingenuous on this .

'Free rein'? As in 'access all areas'? What is your source and what's your particular familiarity with the security system in the Oireachtas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,512 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

3 previous presidential elections had 2 candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“Like the migration issue, many people are keeping quiet as they'll be labelled far right, racists, 1950s catholic etc..”

It will be interesting to see if this cohort will come out and vote on the day- given they’re likely an older demographic in the main, my view is they will - and they’re badly needed by HH - will be interesting to see if she dips her toes into this area or will she keep playing it safe and stick to the tea party and cake sale image she’s created

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,482 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I don't think it was a political insider that leaked it. If FF were aware of it they'd surely have neutralised it in advance or at least have had a plan in place had it come out. The "we're looking into it" response looks like they were caught completely on the hop.

I suspect the source was the tenant themselves. The tenant was clearly involved in the story as the indo would have needed their cooperation for verification.

Then why are people supporting those views such abject failures in general and local elections?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭jmcc

The process was designed to ensure an FF president and potentially the odd FG president. It was a very different era (1930s). The old 2.5 party model that dominated Irish politics from the formation of the state collapsed around 2013. Now, there are more parties and both FF and GG have the support of less than 50% of the electorate. Previously, they had the support of over 80% of the electorate.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭valoren

Imagine getting caught by a bank error and you over pay 3,300 euro. A not insignificant sum of cash. You contact your land lord and request reimbursement for money owed. You get ignored. You're peeved understandably. You contact them again. And again. And again. And again. You get ignored each time. You then give it up, not worth the stress or bother. In the intervening time the land lord never thinks that you're owed that money and seeks to square it away. Even out of a sense of right and wrong. You got shafted but there's nothing you can do since you can't get a response. Imagine it requiring the land lord to not only announce a presidential bid but secure a candidacy for President for you to then bring it up to finally get repaid and, even now, you're still presumably waiting to get it back. In all that time he couldn't square away a small debt and, since reputation is everything, it has now deservedly cost him a tilt at being President for simply being a stingy sh*t to a former tenant.

Now I'd imagine Gavin was asked if there was anything like this that might trip up his campaign but if he never mentioned this then presumably he didn't think shafting someone was a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 416 ✭✭RunningFlyer

Don't worry, I'm sure "lessons will be learned" from this…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭crossman47

I'm fairly sure it will be counted as if he were still in the race since he officially entered. An interesting hypothetical - what if all the spoil your vote people voted for him and he won? Assuming he wouldn't accept, what would happen then?

Public smearing?hardly.Cc has stood her ground and defended her beliefs in a very dogmatic fashion and has constantly reiterated her political stance ad nauseum,she's smearing herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 ✭✭✭yagan

I read Chambers response about their due diligence and I'm still amazed that even before the tenant contacted them the matter of the property in question remaining unregistered for years after it should have been. It makes me wonder what FF due diligence is.

It is hugely ironic that their political outsider nomination has reignited the collective trauma of those property bubble years that Fianna Fail have been trying to forget.

The fact that there wasn't one obvious statesperson in waiting in their ranks says more about FFs lack of depth.

Having had to emigrate as a direct result of their recession I am enjoying watching them step on their own landmine.

Just slightly different. Left v centre/centre-right and it's very hard to call. I certainly don't see it as a fait accompli for CC and it will be very close. CC will get her vote out for sure. We see that she was winning with Gavin's transfers but are they now redundant with the majority of his vote going to HH?

All depends on how much FF and FG voters will be opposed to CC. I think less than people think and many may not bother voting seeing it as a lost cause or due to annoyance with FF/MM. I also believe that HH will be very vulnerable in one-to-one debates with CC and her many shortcomings will be exposed.

One of them to scrape by, CC slightly more likely I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,515 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

'dogmatic'?

Funny what people see. I saw Humphreys and Gavin wagging the finger at COnnolly scolding her for her calm and thought out beliefs.
    I think the public saw that clearly in the debate too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,552 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Time will tell.

Betting odds at least indicating that CC win more likely now.

CC 8/15 (I put bet on at 5/2)

HH 6/4 (other sites have her drifting as well)

Ok francie,should have said calm but dogmatic,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,123 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

To be fair she hadn't much to debate in those two rushed referendums.

The government just basically turned up and said vote yes because we said so.

She's a barrister and clearly intelligent.

However we know her stance on previous reffendums and how Ireland voted in them.

Nope, false. She's opposed to European armament and any potential EU army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭crossman47

The main reason is that those elections are decided on bread and butter issues like the economy, housing and health. However, a number of referenda have shown that about 30 per cent of the electorrate are socially cconseervative so Steen would have got a significan vote but not enough to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,612 ✭✭✭✭josip

Why didn't the bank re-imburse the tenant if it was their error and pursue Jim Gavin for the overpayment?

No she's anti EU,she views it as some type of imperial misadventure,but don't fret about it,just add it to the long list she has,anti UK,anti France,anti US,and the latest one anti Germany.