If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,205 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

All of these stories about any of the candidates could potentially be called 'smears '.

It's only when it sticks and derails a candidate's campaign that it is 'a game changer .'

No point asking where these stories come from , all parties are as guilty as the other . Sad and nasty fact about present day politics . Journalists writing in the public interest ..a certain percentage would in fact fall into this category , the rest is just dross . But in fairness to The Journal , they are nothing if not well sourced and factual .

This coming out now is because a) someone didn't think it mattered before which is a good thing for CC or b) someone actively looking for anything on her or c) somebody who had the information saved it to put a stop to her gallop .

I am looking for the good in this for CC as she would have been my preferred candidate , but having difficulty finding it. If she hired this lady to give her a second chance while she was just out on' good behaviour ' from a gun and ammunition possession conviction , on the advice of O'Cuiv which (we disagree on this I know ,) was not the best person to take advice from, and swiping her in to our Oireachtais on a daily basis, it doesn't augur well for her judgement whether mistaken or deceived .

This is a person who was still a member of a group dedicated to radical socialism and who does not recognize our Republic unless it is a 32 county Republic , who has been radicalized enough to be convicted , and served some, but not all her sentence ( Connolly said "she served her sentence " which was not completely true or accurate ) admitted without garda clearance to the houses where the members of our government and other tds sit is completely out of order Francie , on so many levels .

We can hope nothing bad comes of this in future but that would be no thanks to CC .

If she was giving her a second chance to work on a constituency office elsewhere so be it , very laudable , and she would be taking any risks on herself and her staff .

But into the Oireachtais is a step too far risking more than her own reputation and staff .

Stupid thing to do . No other way to describe it and it is embarrassing to see another left winger try to excuse this and downplay it as just a smear .

Catherine needs to admit this was an error of judgement that will not be repeated

Refusing to admit it was, is indeed an error and more alarming as it makes me wonder what else she thinks is excusable in the name of radical socialism . Would another linguist have been given the same preferential treatment as Ní Shionnain was , or is it just because CC agreed with her views ?

President of Ireland is not or should not be a political role and I cannot get over the feeling that she now means to use it to further an extreme or radical agenda because of this .

There are too many questions and I don't feel comfortable about it .

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,563 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Much simpler for me TBH

1. Was there a sinister plan by Connolly here?

2. Was she just helping to rehabilitate a reformed prisoner?

Can't see anything in her career to believe No 1, so No 2 is what I think she was doing.

If O'Cuiv's advice was good enough for several MoJ's according to Martin then it was good enough for a TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭MFPM

Apart from the points about some nefarious journalism, I'd disagree with most of stuff here and it really doesn't stand up to any serious scrutiny but the arguments have been done ad nauseum so I'll leave it. However since when is advocating 'radical socialism' a problem, though it would be interesting to hear how you understand 'radical socialism'?

Lastly, what 'extreme agenda' do you think CC would advocate if President and who defines 'extreme', you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭liamtech

Anyone who wishes to advocate radical socialism, is entitled to do so.

Its what tends to go along with this positioning, that raises eyebrows.

• In the case of the Lady involved in this story. Working with a group who refuse to recognize the Republic of Ireland, preferring instead to view it as an afront to the 32 County Irish Republic. This is to say nothing of Mock Executing the Queen, or displaying armed militent tendencies. The lady was sentenced and jailed for the later.
    • In other cases, It tends to involve rhetorical attacks on 'Western Imperialism', and blaming western organizations like NATO for a multitude of things they are not remotely responsible for.
    • For some reason which also baffles me, it tends to involve cosying up to obvious bad actors like Putin - not that i accuse CC of this; but we are discussing radical socialists in general. And this seems to occur frequently

If all we are talking about was domestic left wing radical socialism, we could debate that. I think it goes a tad too far? But its worthy of discussion. And I would never refuse to engage with this type of policy debate. I should also state, i dont ever join in any smearing of the left, so as to make it analagous to Communists or Maoists.

But when you add the above listed factors, I have often found, so called, 'radical socialists' to be quite distasteful, and lacking in substance.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭1641

There is no problem with advocating radical socialism. That is a political position.

However, the Presidency is a non-political office and I don't want a President advocating radical socialism, radical fiscal conservatism, radical liberalism, radical social conservatism - or any other overt political position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,205 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Nothing in principle wrong with radical socialism per se except in extremis as in the person who was convicted. But it is whether CC is involved in or supports extremist radical socialism , which would be good to know as she is running for President

Then people will make up their own minds .

I know I have .

Of course if it doesn't suit to try to answer some of the questions asked it could be seen as ad nauseum That is a classic get out when. there are no answers forthcoming Personally I would prefer to know what her position is on this and also about Eirigi in general .

It's very disappointing to see people battening down on an indefensible standpoint when others who are asking very reasonable questions are being batted away .

But it is whether CC is involved in or supports extremist radical socialism ,

There's a whole career to review.

So you are saying you think she supports that extremism ?

I have always thought of her as a pacifist .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"Independent TD Catherine Connolly has said it is unacceptable that a person's privacy has been invaded in what she said was a disrespectful manner as part of an attempt to damage a presidential candidate."

From RTE

'Unacceptable'

It's perfectly acceptable Catherine as you're running for President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,880 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Sinister? No. Foolish, bordering on reckless? Yes. Unbecoming of a presidential candidate? Absolutely.

I don't think this rehabilitation thing came into it, it's just political speak now.

Unbecoming of a presidential candidate? 

If it was reckless, dangerous whatever, the person or persons who sat on the info for 7 yrs has some questions to answer. No?
    If the Gardai thought it was reckless, do they have serious questions to answer?

7 years ,, Hmmm ? Maybe it was the present incumbent ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭corkie

Aren't we allowed to link the source of the quote on this thread?

"And it would seem to me that this unfortunate private person is suffering collateral damage as part of an attempt to damage a presidential candidate."

She said she was well able for the scrutiny but she said it was unacceptable that a person's privacy had been invaded in such a blatant, disrespectful and damaging manner.

To clarify it is not Connolly's privacy that is been invade, but the character she signed into the Dail?

Aras25 | "The people who spoiled their votes on Friday 24th Oct took part in a legitimate political action, as is their right!"

??

If you need to find out what she believes in, there is a whole career to review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

I was planning on pointing how you're missing the point (CC's judgement is the issue) here but I've been warned off for trolling you so I'll take a break for a while.

And I am commenting on her judgement.

Said it before, rehabilitation very often or always requires somebody to make a judgement decision.

There is nothing in what this woman did subsequently to make me doubt either O'Cuiv's or Connolly's 'judgement'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭boardise

Surely this Ursula character could have been rehabilitated into many other jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

It’s perfectly clear CC wasn’t referring to herself. The point is the story would have been meaningless without the individual involved being identified.

CC is trying to make it about the media ‘attempting to damage a Presidential candidate’ which is just what she signed up for.

BTW I did identify the source just didn’t post a link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,880 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Maybe the person who knew didn't think of raising this while Connolly was just a TD, but the fact she's now running for president made them go forward.

So it's only reckless for somebody running for President but not a TD?

Have you thought that one through Dulpit?

If there was a threat to the state, somebody sat on it for 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,931 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

We are making progress now as you see it as reckless. Took a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭liamtech

In terms of battening down the hatches, and batting away prior allies, or those who could have been potential supporters, we have seen this happen around the globe.

You only have to look at the UK, and the factionalism that took over the Tory's post brexit referendum. All moderate Tory voices were quashed, and those remaining principled MPs ended up leaving the party. All that remained were the radical hard right, under Boris, and subsequently Sunak. That didnt end well for them, but now with Reform looking like a bigger player, it could be the end of the old One nation Tory bloc in the UK.

It happened in UK labour too. Corbyn ignited the fire, with his bullishness over a possible left-wing brexit, and a refusal to deal with anti-semetic elements within the party. This was certainly exagerated at times, and used as a stick to beat labour with, but it was clearly present, and he tolerated it for too long. This led to splits and issues, and public arguing, and they got slaughtered in the 2019 election. They won last year, but they remain weakened by the Corbyn period - Meanwhile the man himself is back, and running a new party, which will further erode labours position.

Looking at the US, you see even more polarization. The republicans have combed their bloc and 'weeded out' moderate voices. They refer to these guys as 'Republican In Name Only', Rinos, and some go further referring to them as traitors. What they really are, is what remains of the respectable conservative bloc in the US. They abhor Trump, and are therefore no longer allowed to speak. The Dems are not immune either, with radical factions trying to push devisive topics, such as the Trans issue. Moderate voices that tried to warn that, devisive issues divide electorates, tended to be muted. Or in some cases, cancelled.

Political discourse is rapidly becoming polarized, and Ireland is not immune. A sort of 'With Us, or Against Us' mentality is starting to set in. And its always, and everywhere, the moderate voices that get silenced. Going back a week or two in this thread, you often saw people 'accusing' moderate centered voices of being 'FFG propagandists' - when all they were doing was asking questions, and pointing to problems with CC's campaign. And this is happening more so among the electorate. And if moderate voices are quashed we will see a shift in the base politics in this country. The radical left would seek to run the left as a whole, and be the tail that wags the dog. And the new right will capture the ground as they have done, in the US, the UK, and many other jurisdictions.

Just some thoughts, happy to discuss -

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

Not sure you are following Ha.

Do you know what ? means and 'if'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,180 ✭✭✭✭elperello

In fairness we don't know if one individual was in possession of the relevant information for 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,149 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That is only one half of the story though. The nature of where Ni Shionnain worked "Leinster House" makes the decision all the most questionable.

If Ni Shionnain was picking strawberries for the summer in Wexford I don't think there is any potential "security threat" there. But we are talking about Leinster House. Plenty of information that could be passed on, compromised or memorised. TD's routines, the security patterns of DE all sorts. Ni Sionnain wouldn't have to do anything herself, honeytrap or anything, but she could pass on information to contacts. If she knows a lad, who knows another lad etc.

It reminds me of the furore caused about an underworld criminal from Drimnagh area Dublin. His girlfriend had names and addresses of the jury, before he attended court. That is how powerful information can be. Obviously that was at a much higher danger level, but the potential is there.

Much moreso than nefarious acts as it can be stored and reused by others. It was only a few weeks ago where there was a programme on RTE which showed how easy it was to track TD's routine movements by simply following mobile phone pings. Ni Shionnain could be picking out "legitimate targets" for others for example.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

And you have to make a judgement call on whether a person is liable to do that.

Has to be done in any sensitive job regardless of the person's past.

Is somebody you are putting in a job liable to give sensitive info to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,180 ✭✭✭✭elperello

That judgement call was not Connolly's to make.

It was up to the vetting procedure to decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

You are perfectly right in pointing out the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,149 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

"Judgement calls" are way too casual for working in sensitive areas that could pose a security threat. I think the truth is O'Cuiv has strong Republican sympathies. I think he only stayed in FF because of his family lineage.

Yet it is O'Cuiv's comments on Ni Shionnain that Connolly based her "judgement" on. O'Cuiv is not a security advisor or anything, he is an Irish language activist. So I assume O'Cuiv's advice was based on Ni Shionnain's Irish language capabilities, alone.

Not whether it would be appropriate to hire Ni Shionnain - given her very recent criminal activities (at the time of her work in Leinster House) which was tied with dissident Republicanism.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭corkie

Is the below a leak of the poll? Or someone's theories?

Connolly 32Humphreys 23Gavin 15

Looks legit? Or someone photoshopping?

Aras25 | "The people who spoiled their votes on Friday 24th Oct took part in a legitimate political action, as is their right!"