If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Id put money on that Jim and Heather would give the same answer, or already gave if they were asked it already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,874 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

A left wing/progressive td having progressive opinions? Who'd have thunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,147 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I believe Mary Lou tried to spin the Ni Shionnain story, conflating it with the peace process. Prior to this new information.

'What about the Peace Process?" said she. Saying people serve their time the peace process is a "good thing". And I was thinking McDonald's sister was in Eirigi, talk about a conflict of interest!

McDonald was really scrambling in defence of Connolly but it ended up making the FF and FG candidates look endearing by comparison even with their silliest comments.

Humphreys reply to is the question "Is the housing crisis a national disaster?" "It is a disaster for those who cannot get houses"

Or Jim Gavin with his comments after the drone faux pas "There is no blame game in the aviation industry"

How can McDonald spin this further information to help Connolly? "The leader of the left" must be cursing the fact she didn't run herself.

The gas thing is if McDonald did run, she probably would have won handy enough.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,534 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

What was her political reasoning for chosing someone with an extremist background

Why would she need a 'political' reason if she believed she was giving someone a second chance/

Did she believe that the lady had reformed fully

She says she did.

Did she have evidence to support this possibility

Her own interaction and that of EoC's

Was she aware of the FULL extent, of the ladies extremist background

She says she was and that the woman didn't hide her past.

Did she view the video of, a mock execution of a foreign head of state, and did it alter her thinking on the matter

No idea.

Does she believe that the lady taking part in such a stunt, should be relevent to her appointment to Leinster House

If she thought the woman had reformed and was wanting a fresh start what relevance would something she did in the past have.

Did she believe that the selection would not be contentious, or at least, shouldnt be

At the time it doesn't appear to have been contentious.

Did she sincerely believe that, if appointed, the lady would pass a Garda background check

I didn't hear her say that but I would certainly assume she thought she would.

Does she see now, that it reflected poor judgement on her part

No, she hasn't said that.

If it was merely a question of giving someone a 'second chance', would appointing the lady to an OFF SITE position, not have demonstrated better judgement

Why? She either believed what she did or she didn't.

Could the lady have been employed in a contituency office, requiring less background checking by the Gardai

Maybe, but CC says she had the skills she required in her committee role at the time.

Given all of the above points, does she now regret her decisions surrounding this affair

Given the answers, I don't think she does.

Given a similar situation for another person, or persons; would she make the same choices regarding the selection of person(s) to work in Leinster house

Not for me to say.

I dont have to suspect a 'sinister motive' as a serious considertion in this story.

TBH I think we do need to know if the Gardai are releasing info. Hopefully the woman whose name has been dragged into this will pursue it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,705 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

"sinister", drink!

There would have been quite a few people with this knowledge (not least the public record of the jailing and subsequent visible working with CC), jumping to the garda straight away and then implying a conspiracy is a bit of a desperate deflection on your part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Unlikely she will, it would be hard to prove. Very simply it could have been anyone with knowledge of the situation at the time, like someone who had to sign her in if Connolly wasn't present. Nice shifting to blame the gardai straight away though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

There's a vast difference between humanitarian aid and military spending.

You have to get with the programme it is the sinister anti SF media, and broader anti Republican media agenda that are the cause of Catherine Connolly's problems. Not Connolly herself. 😉

They shouldn't have reported that Connolly ever visited Syria with Wallace and Daly on that "fact finding mission". The media shouldn't have reported Connolly's comments re current German defence spending and her comparison to 1930's Nazi Germany etc etc.

And the story re Ursula Ni Shionnain should never have been spoken of again EVER. She was outside that firearms dealers house in 2012, on what could have been a hen night anyway. Sure didn't Ursula and her mates have wigs on? Her mock execution of the British royal Queen c2011 was only a bit of craic as well. Good clean Republican fun.

https://secretireland.ie/eirigi-ireland-unpacking-the-misguided-socialist-republican-fringe-in-2025/

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Look, it isn't a 'deflection'.

I have fully engaged with Liam's other points and answered to the best of my knowledge.

If whoever revealed this NOW, didn't do it then, why was that?

Garda vetting information was the headline to this story when it first broke. Where did it come from is a reasonable question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

I doubt they will be asked because large majority people couldn't care less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,173 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Is there any legal way to call the whole thing off and start again (Or just by default)??

What if CC and JG were, let's say to drop out in some way, either voluntarily, due to the controversies etc., leaving only HH.

Could one argue that there is no fair contest or options?

Is there a minimum turnout required for this?

Or are we locked in now? One of these 3 will be president?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Well Newstalk asked CC so why not ask the others the same question, seems fair to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭MFPM

Yeah, let's call off elections because someone doesn't rate the candidates! Yes one of these people will be President, well Jim Gavin won't be but one of the other two will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,630 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Could one argue that there is no fair contest or options?

One could but it won't stop one of the three becoming president

Is there a minimum turnout required for this?

nope…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Very much an allegation and one in which there is so far no evidence and JG is denying any knowledge or memory of it - I think it needs this person whoever they are to come out from behind anonymity

You would have no qualms if the shoe was on the other foot. Do you not remember Martin McGuinness showing the envelope to Gallagher live on air in the 2011 Presidential debates?

Where did McGuinness get the info? No one cared where he got it. Even though Gallagher denied collecting 5k for FF fundraising personally. The image stuck and Gallagher’s vote collapsed with the electorate. Politics and optics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,146 ✭✭✭corkie

@ForestFire

If two out of three candidates withdraw from the Irish presidential election during the official withdrawal period, the remaining candidate is declared elected as President without the need for a public vote. This outcome is set out in Irish electoral law: if only one candidate remains after withdrawals, the election is called off and that candidate is automatically elected.

What a farce! ~ Just adding a comment because of the forum we are in!

Aras25 | "The people who spoiled their votes on Friday 24th Oct took part in a legitimate political action, as is their right!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

It's the nature of elections that candidates come under scrutiny and stuff emerges. We never heard about Gavin's time as a landlord or Heather's predilection for flute music unless the last couple of weeks.

Absolutely. I have already said this is expected carry on in Presidential elections, particularly.

However the availability of some information is protected and privileged. And we should be concerned if lines are crossed with regard to that.

The optical damage has been done here, no doubt. We'll see what impact it has and there is nothing can be done about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,874 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Stories that aren't interesting for a TD become interesting if that td is running for president. If Catherine Connolly wasn't running for president and the story about the eirigi person came out I'd shrug my shoulders and move on. But she's running to be head of state and having a higher expectation of her is only fair.

I would agree with you someone somewhere pulled a stroke releasing the info.
    But do you not see the irony in your concerns even though they are valid. The reason Ni Shionnain was not granted full access to Leinster House was because she was under the Gardai Vetting Process. And why she was been vetted throughly because of her Republican and criminal past.

And giving Ni Shionnain full access to Leinster House where she would availability to sensitive and privileged information was a serious question too.

But do you not see the irony in your concerns even though they are valid.

There is no irony, I just accepted there has been an 'optical' price to pay and there is nothing much that can be done about that but sit back and see how much damage it has done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,687 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I think most sensible CC supporters would see it's not a good look to have the word "Eirigi" next to your name in headlines to say the least. It's only going to get worse I reckon.

What I mean is the Gardai vetting information is supposed to be “privileged”. But the story was released.

Yet reason Ni Shionnain was vetted was because of her access to “privileged” information and a potential security threat.

I don’t think it will damage Connolly’s core vote though. It is just a question of how much it puts off the undecided voter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,705 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Again, your point was the amount being spent, you didn't specify what it was being spent on.

You're still free to retract and get into a discussion on spending a magnitude more on Gaza aid per person vs. non-lethal aid to Ukraine per person, remembering that you also don't want us to send protection vests and helmets to Gaza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭MFPM

Poll tomorrow in the Indo it seems. The Party poll today shows no dramatic changes in support for the parties outside MOE.

Intersting to see what the poll reveals tomorrow - is Gavin bombing, is the media campaign against CC working or are people seeing it for what it is, is HH far out in front, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭liamtech

Ok i appreciate your response.

If i were to steelman your position here.

You dont believe that there should be any political reasoning, behind appointing a lady who has history with extremist groups. In your opinion, CC probably believed the lady would pass a background check despite everything, and you accept CC's opinion that the lady had reformed. You dont see relevence in the lady having taken part in the mock execution, given the aforementioned belief that she had reformed. Given your acceptence of the above, you dont see any benefit in Connolly perhaps choosing to appoint her to a position outside Leinster house. And you think it correct that CC should have no regrets about this incident. At least on this point you are stating, that given the answers to the questions posed, she has no regrets. (Im being as fair as i can, i dont want to speak for you)

I think the above is a fair summary of your points. Happy to be corrected, but you are entitled to your opinions. I for one dont agree with you. I think CC showed

• she lacks basic political savvy
    • Her judgement is in question, based upon her stance on the subject
    • A lack of political awareness that, this could come back and bite her
    • I REALLY would like to know, if Connolly did view the video the mock execution
    • She needs to explain entirely, how and why she judged the lady to be reformed
    • She needs to outline the timeline for the entire incident

We just have to agree to disagree. I dont find her conduct defendable regarding the story. Others will agree with your opinion. I think beyond her base, who will support her no matter what, the story is damaging. And she needs more than her base, to win a Presidential Election

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

What information is priveleged and protected and why?

For instance if I was aware through knowing of the situation first hand, like a Co worker for example, why would it not be possible for me to tell a reporter of the situation?