If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭feelings

I know this is off topic but "i'm a law student", but he doesn't seem to understand the law. Or perhaps the family thinks the law doesn't apply to them?

"enoch burke my brother who was incarcerated for his beliefs"

He was in jail for violating a high court order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,588 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Connolly has answered all questions with calm, clarity and as far as we know, honesty.
    There is one thing fundamentally clear about this woman - Connolly's and O'Cuiv's judgement of what she was going to do with her life was absolutely sound. The proof is there, people can see it and judge for themselves.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Again, you think hindsight being proof is evidence that CC's judgement is sound?
    There is no evidence to show that U Ní S had left behind her criminal past so how exactly can CC's judgement be considered "absolutely sound"?
    So what other subversive criminals has CC decided were AOK?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭almostover

If it were so difficult to ascertain if she was still member of Eirigí or not maybe then a different role or none at all for her would have been a more wise approach by CC.

Im not fully au fait with Dáil security rules but I'd imagine the fact that Garda vetting was applied for and refused highlights that CC exercised very poor judgment in signing Ursula Shannon into the Dáil on multiple occasions while this vetting process was pending.

No attempted armed robbery charges, correct, just firearms charges successfully brought by the Special Criminal Court under the offenses against the state act. One of her accomplices had previously been convicted in the same court for being a member of a proscibed organisation.

So she sat in a car outside the arms dealers house with 2 convicted criminals, in possession of 2 automatic pistols, a stun gun and while wearing disguises and you think she didn't have intent to either imprison the arms dealers against his will or steal firearms from him? And you don't think there would not have been an attempt at violent crime had the Gardaí not intervened?

The Lowry question is pure whataboutery. I don't believe he ever received a criminal conviction. Yes, he was shown to be corrupt in a Tribunal, which I don't excuse. But equating that to active involvement with dissident republicans is farcical.

hindsight being proof is evidence that CC's judgement is sound

How else would you prove it, only by reviewing how a judgement works out?

O'Cuiv was working with this person for a period of time. I assume him to be an intelligent person with the experience to reach a conclusion on these things. If he isn't competent to do that then that reflects on whoever placed him in that position.

You are a mod, somebody empowered you to make judgement calls and you make them.

• Administrators Posts: 55,627 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

This post is waffle.

The problem for Connolly has never been brand recognition. The problem for Connolly always has been, and still is, her views on major issues are on the wrong side of the majority of people, and her repeated instances of poor judgement. Her entire campaign has to be about convincing the centre that they can trust her, that she's not naive.

These issues in the media are the issues that will prevent the centre from voting for her, and without the centre she has absolutely no chance whatsoever. Instead of courting the centre, she appears to be doubling down on the left and hoping that nobody really notices she's doing it.

The idea that it's a problem for HH or JG that Connolly is dominating the headlines with repeated instances of saying or doing stupid things is incredible wishful thinking on your behalf.

Any issue that puts a wedge between CC and the centre is gold dust for both HH and JG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,149 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The problem is though Connolly is overly earnest. I can’t think of an overly earnest politician ever succeeding.

I mean Connolly was a reluctant presidential candidate she didn’t do it out of political ambition. But because she claimed she was asked to do so in a groundswell of support.

But successful politicians in races like this are shrewd. They read a room. Even the quietly spoken Jack Lynch had some steel and nous to him when he led FF reluctantly.

I have not heard Connolly show any political cuteness, or shrewdness. It is just constant “idealism - naivety - idealism” in a cycle.

Whoever raised the Ni Shionnain issue that was shrewd politically, for those outside the Connolly camp.

Similar to how some on the left painted themselves as “anti establishment” during the water charges protests. Hammering Labour and Joan Burton in particular. That was politically shrewd. Painting her as anti working class even though she grew up in a council house. It worked superbly well.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I was a bit surprised by the Daily Mail, which is owned by conservatives in the UK, making an issue of Orange Order links in HH's family like her husband. Do they want to elect the Left? Or is it just about selling newspapers?

Are we going down the American road of dragging politicians families into political criticism?

She has described herself as an Irish Republican. I hope sectarianism doesn't become part of the campaign.

The United Irishmen were founded by Protestants in Belfast. We forget that sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭1641

I see Barbie Kardashian has recently been released from prison. Now that Barbie has been "rehabilitated" I wonder will Catherine Connolly take her on as an adviser - social and family affairs maybe? After all he/she surely deserves a second chance?

Council of State perhaps?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

How else would you prove it, only by reviewing how a judgement works out?

If it were my decision, I wouldn't bring someone from what I deem to be a subversive organisation who was recently released (under licence) from prison for what appear to be attempted terrorism offences into the national parliament that her subversive organisation wish to usurp.

O'Cuiv was working with this person for a period of time. I assume him to be an intelligent person with the experience to reach a conclusion on these things. If he isn't competent to do that then that reflects on whoever placed him in that position.

As far as I'm concerned O'Cuiv is a sleeveen who I wouldn't ask for the time of day. I certainly wouldn't ask his judgement on someone that I believed was opposed to our form of democracy

You are a mod, somebody empowered you to make judgement calls and you make them.

Me being a mod has nothing to do with CC's poor judgement FFS. Being a mod on a discussion forum is a long way away from bringing a subversive criminal into a national parliament. I would have the cop on to know who to bring into the Dáil.
    As was pointed out before, you would not give a recently released paedophile a role in a creche, would you?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭JVince

Garda vetting for houses of the Oireachtas is a lot quicker than regular vetting. 2-3weeks would be considered quick, but would rarely take more than 4-5 weeks.

Instead, CC went and got a day pass every single day and did not initiate garda vetting. If she had initiated it within a couple of weeks, there'd be no story, but she KNEW it would not pass, so she didn't bother applying

The problem is though Connolly is overly earnest.

A problem for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Her husband is a member of a sectraian organisation. That is a major issue for some people

That's not even getting into the fact she lied about not attending any hate marches since she was a kid when it's clear she has been to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

But its been nearly 30 years since the end of the Troubles, and the marching season has become much more peaceful, with a few flashpoints. I think Orange Order in the South is much more moderate because they have gotten used to partition.

If we exclude such people, it doesnt bode well for a United Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,476 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Love the 'FFG' trope on here when both parties are running candidates against each other. Old habits die hard it seems.

Sorry, @Seth Brundle I messed up the quoting.

Presidential Election 2025 - Page 326 — boards.ie - Now Ye're Talkin'

If it were my decision, I wouldn't bring someone from what I deem to be a subversive organisation who was recently released (under licence) from prison for what appear to be attempted terrorism offences into the national parliament that her subversive organisation wish to usurp.

Nor would I, unless I knew different from advice and engagement with the person.

As far as I'm concerned O'Cuiv is a sleeveen who I wouldn't ask for the time of day. I certainly wouldn't ask his judgement on someone that I believed was opposed to our form of democracy

Well if the person who put him in that position, believes the same, they have to be answerable for that, surely?

Me being a mod has nothing to do with CC's poor judgement FFS. Being a mod on a discussion forum is a long way away from bringing a subversive criminal into a national parliament. I would have the cop on to know who to bring into the Dáil.

I'm just saying that 'somebody' made a judgement call on your fitness to be a Mod. They trust your 'cop on'. Seems to me Micheál etc now want to second guess that choice now that there is political capital to be made. That would be my definition of sleeveen behaviour.

As was pointed out before, you would not give a recently released paedophile a role in a creche, would you?

No I wouldn't and it isn't really comparable. A paedophile cannot be cured as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,401 ✭✭✭jmcc

The middle ground may not vote at the same level as in previous elections. The Don't Knows will be important. The middle ground might have been expected to break for FF/FG. The wildcard will be if the younger demographics vote in substantial numbers for Connolly. Remember that the SF/DocDems have strong support in the younger demographics whereas Labour, FF, and to a lesser extent FG, have lower support in younger demographics. The main problem is getting the vote out.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

If it were so difficult to ascertain if she was still member of Eirigí or not maybe then a different role or none at all for her would have been a more wise approach by CC.

Released early from her sentence for being a model prisoner, self-claimed her membership was renounced and recommended by Éamon O Cuív, former deputy leader of FF, isn't that good enough in your books to give somebody a chance?

Im not fully au fait with Dáil security rules but I'd imagine the fact that Garda vetting was applied for and refused highlights that CC exercised very poor judgment in signing Ursula Shannon into the Dáil on multiple occasions while this vetting process was pending.

The semi-official line I heard this morning was that the garda clearnace wasn't applied for so, although I accept the actual details are somewhat confidential so there will be different accounts for a few days until the facts become more clear

No attempted armed robbery charges, correct, just firearms charges successfully brought by the Special Criminal Court under the offenses against the state act.

So you were incorrect about the armed robbery, good to hear you admit it.

One of her accomplices had previously been convicted in the same court for being a member of a proscibed organisation.

I'm not going to bother fact checking you here but since you didn't provide a source I'm assuming it's like your armed robbery lie

So she sat in a car outside the arms dealers house with 2 convicted criminals, in possession of 2 automatic pistols, a stun gun and while wearing disguises and you think she didn't have intent to either imprison the arms dealers against his will or steal firearms from him? And you don't think there would not have been an attempt at violent crime had the Gardaí not intervened?

I don't know what her intentions were, watching those cop dramas another thing she might have been doing is disposing of the evidence. Still a crime, no doubt, but only an guesstimated opinion, just like yours. The facts of the matter are what are more important here than whatever opinionated story either of us have

The Lowry question is pure whataboutery. I don't believe he ever received a criminal conviction. Yes, he was shown to be corrupt in a Tribunal, which I don't excuse. But equating that to active involvement with dissident republicans is farcical.

So FGs former law breaker is fine but CC's isn't… It's almost as if you are applying different rules to suit your own narative

Mod: "lied" replaced with "were incorrect"

Post edited by Seth Brundle on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

Not correct. CC and EOC's judgement of whether Ní Shionnáin was a fit person to be let have the run of Leinster house was never tested either because the gardai prevented it or she got fed up being signed in everyday or she found a better opportunity.

She subsequently rehabilitated herself in the kind of employments that good judgement by CC and EOC would have directed her towards in the first place.

This is just second guessing now.

You do things differently and so do I and so does Connolly and so does everyone else.

Is he - do you have any reference for that? He was a member of the Orange Order - but 50+ years ago, no? It would have been unusual for a protestant within that community not to have been at that time.

“I was born in ’53 – if you weren’t in the Orange Order in my youth, you were the odd man out,” says local historian Noel Carney, whose Catholic father worked closely with Humphreys’ father, Freddie Stewart, to develop Monaghan Co-Op and Creamery.

“It was an accepted thing that Protestants would stay together and marry each other. The same on the Catholic side. Thankfully, that’s all changing now. In the past, it was difficult to find a Protestant who wasn’t a member of the Orange Order,” he said….

The name harks back to the village’s Protestant heritage, where each year a number of bands – many of whom also turn out for local St Patrick’s Day parades – play in what is locally called “The Picnic”.

It is not, however, an Orange parade, and this is important in Border terminology, even if the distinction confuses some. The only Orange parade in the Republic occurs annually in Rossnowlagh, Co Donegal, taking place on the Saturday before the Twelfth.

In fact, there has not been an Orange parade in Monaghan since 1931 after a series of attacks by republicans took place in Leitrim and Cavan, with one attack prompting the penning of a poem remembering “The Battle of Ardrum Hill”.

“The Picnic in Drum has nothing to do with the Orange Order. It’s run by the accordion band, it’s a community event, open to the public. Everybody’s welcome. The Orange Order are not running it,” says Angela Graham, a lifelong friend of Humphreys.

Éamon Ó Cuív, then minister for community, rural and Gaeltacht affairs, came one year, Graham remembers. “He was up on the 40-foot trailer, and he addressed everyone, got a great welcome. It was a big evening for us and such excitement,” she recalls.

A return of Orange marches in Monaghan was urged, however, by Sinn Féin councillor Vincent Conlon, who was also a former IRA volunteer. Mr Conlon died last summer. So far, one has not happened."

In Heather Humphreys country: ‘It was hard to find a Protestant not in the Orange Order’ – The Irish Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,668 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

You're making the same embarrassing mistake as the original poster. Do you understand the meaning of the word rehabilitated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭almostover

Here we go again seeing as your replies are so disingenuous.

It's good enough to give someone a second chance in many fields of employment. Let's remember that Ms. Shannon pleaded not guilty to this crime. Not exactly the actions of a repentant criminal. And certainly not appropriate to be entering the national parliament regularly without Garda vetting. She now seems to have settled in a role as an Irish language activist, a far more fitting employment.

Ok so you're admitting that CC may not have even applied for Garda vetting? That makes the situation far worse with respect to her judgement. CC needs to clarify many aspects of this issue it seems.

Source for her accomplishes being convicted criminals, one for IRA membership, the other for lesser 'summary' charges i.e. more minor crimes. One of these accomplices was charged for possession of the firearms on the same date but appears not to have been present in the car. Seems obvious what his role in all this was i.e. the supplier.

Disposing of the evidence? So she was trying to sell the firearms to the dealer? But wanted to do so in disguise with 2 others while also being in possession of a stun gun and a flashlight? Anyway, these firearms are illegal, a gun dealer can't purchase them legally. And yes the facts of the crime are not detailed in the public domain but I'm invoking Occam's Razor here with my implications.

Michael Lowry was convicted for failing to keep proper books of account and of delivering an incorrect corporation tax return for his refrigeration company. Not to be equated with being in possession of firearms while in the company of criminals, one such firearm that has been used in a murder at a point in time. Also, Michael Lowry isn't running for president or hasn't been employed to work for anyone running for president without correct Garda vetting. He has nothing to do with this topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,149 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I was thinking Connolly could do worse than mention Manchán Magan. Maybe a quote or two from his books. Everyone liked Manchán Magan.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I think I am probably as well aware of the Orange Order as you. I grew in in a mixed neighbourhood pre-troubles. Most of our protestant neighbours took a few days off around "the twelfth" for marching. Some of them were "staunch" but most were not. When the marching was over it would be back to making hay, etc., together. There are a lot fewer members nowadays.

I should say that some (a minority) of our Catholic neighbours were "staunch" too. Some of them even murdered to prove it.

Anyway, You failed to provide any reference for your assertion that "Her husband is a member of a sectraian organisation". So I can assume you were just making it up.

??

She did, 5 hours ago.

Is that some of sideways dig. Not in great taste tbh.

You really are clutching at straws now in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,668 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Of course it was an attempted serious violent crime. To claim otherwise is quite simply bizarre.

She was not rehabilitated just because she had been released. She was still to complete her sentence and until then, could have been returned to prison under certain circumstances. So no she was not rehabilitated when Connoly employed her.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,476 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

If you think being a good debater makes a good President then vote for Catherine Connolly.