If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,550 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

I don’t approve because I’d go Bridge, Ballinagh & Ramor.

County board are some craic. €15 into minor Division 4 final on Sunday because it’s in Breffni and they’re afraid someone might hang around for semi finals. Charging parents that to watch their kids is a disgrace.

Is it true that Ballinagh fell out with the management and had new management for the relegation game today? They’d Daragh McCarthy along the line doing most of the talking. Don’t think he was there earlier in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 BreffniBoy123

Hearing Vinny Corey in with a shout for the U20’s job and will be announced when Gowna are finished in the Championship. McCarthy was involved with Clones early in the year not sure where he is at the minute, very good coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭ipitydafool

Laragh looked the worse team in the Senior championship all year but find a way to survive today, hopefully they get some of the players they have been missing back. For Ballinagh I think it will be a while before they are back at Senior level, aging team and no reinforcements arriving.

Their U16s won the Division 3 championship today but were an amalgamation with Ballymachugh - Emerald Gaels. They have been amalgamating with Denn at at minor the last few years but Denn won’t need that again for a while.

It was fairly poor fare to be honest. Low scoring and both teams relying on older players. McKenna for Laragh is a power house. A huge presence at midfield and they’d the pick of the forwards on display in Paul Smith.

Niall McDermott didn’t have one of his best days and was hooked early. Cormac Timoney and McEvoy have also had better games. Evan Finnegan tried hard but started going for two pointers and missing them or dropping them short when a score would have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭rrs

Ballinagh cruised intermediate in 2020 but will have it tougher next year. A few like David Finnegan and Niall Reilly no longer involved. McDermott and Kevin Smith were good forwards for a long time. Their best days are probaly behind them.

They are a town club but its a small enough catchment area. Crosserlough up the road from it is a huge area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭quidel7

What’s the predictions for the senior semi finals tomorrow?? Hard to call the winner in either game in my view. Hopefully two cracking games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TheGadfly

Kingscourt & Crosserlough for me.

I’ve one right and one wrong so far this weekend. I think Ramor & Gowna today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Custard_Cream

This is very interesting - I presume he would also form part of the senior background team too ?

Fintan Reilly was supposed to be favourite for the U20s. It would be strange if Corey went from managing Monaghan seniors to a local rival as U20 manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Akabusi

They are an absolute disgrace, they were charging 2 euro for children into the div 1 minor semi finals at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Gowna and Ramor for me. Ramor will not have much to spare though. In other game I think Gowna will actually win pulling up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭large_palette

Crosserlough just seem to be less than the sum of their parts. Gowna Ramor final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 BreffniBoy123

McCabe is obviously quite involved and integral to the appointment of the u20’s manager as the county board have stated they want them to work closely together. Fintan Reilly will make up part of McCabe’s back room team so could potentially be involved with the u20’s. Vinny Corey currently involved with Gowna so there’s another connection with McCabe. Time will tell a lot but the back room team for Seniors and U20’s manager should have been confirmed weeks.

Conor Casey was very good again for Kingscourt. Conor Brady was solid and Robbie Fitz and Pierson showed well inside. McCabe will probaly have a few of them involved next year. Crosserlough had some terrible wides. Lynch and Smith were poor enough . McVeerty going off was a big loss for them. Crosserlough looked poor for most of the championship.

Great win for kingscourt from jaws of defeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Custard_Cream

There was a big difference in quality/intensity between both games today . Ramor trying to sleep walk to another final and they ultimately got caught out in the end . Every time I watch them they flatter to deceive, I wish they would just go and attack games and play with a bit more edge.

They are very hard to watch. With the new rules they should be kicking it more. Every score takes an eternity.

Played better football when Ray Cole was over them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭piplip87

I've been saying this for years. Ramor first ten minutes against Gowna in the final replay a few years ago. 1-7 after 8 minutes should have been the blueprint going forward as there definitely is the talent to put teams away.

All hope is not lost though there's a serious bunch of young ladss in the club who take the mantle in the next couple of years, so will be there or thereabouts for the foreseeable..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Bduff1

I believe the referee had a part to play in the kingscourt and ramor game. So stop start and the game never really flowed like the one before. But the quality was definitely present with Gowna.

Hard to see them not beating Kingscourt by a fine margin. Altthough, anything can happen in a final!

Looks like McCabe won’t talk to the Celt or We Are Cavan. Fitzpatrick mentioned it in another article at the weekend and then retweeted an article about a soccer club in England banning their local paper.

He took time out yesterday to speak to Cavstream though I’m told ahead of the game and heap plenty of praise on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

He could well be. He used to come on at HT to do the stats in some games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭piplip87

Just listening to the interview on Cav Stream. He didn't say to much now although did say the right things. If your good enough you are old enough & if you are still good enough you are not too old, stick out.

He mentioned he'll have a few U20s next year training with the Senior panel. Spoke about been impressed with a few players from Intermediate and Junior. Nathan De Kleer is possibly one.

Was De Kleer ever on an underage development squad or county team? I don’t remember seeing his name.

Munterconnaught had three on the minor team this year. It’s about time a junior club up that end got some results from the increased population.

De Kleer would have doing a lot of angling. He was on the Ireland U16 team a few years ago. I remember watching him last year in a Minor final and he was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

I mean is he not one of owners? If he is and he's only gonna allow his own company interview himself well that's North Korean stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭celt262

You hardly blame him for not wanting to talk to lads who have been chipping away at him the past few years.