Israel/Palestine Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭sheepysheep

Irish people support Hamas because there is a large segment of the Irish population who are ideologicaly aligned with the Sein Fein narrative that Hamas are 'The Resistance' and gallant freedom fighters, the champions of the downtrodden and oppressed Palestinains, bravely fighting their peoples cause against the big bad Israelis.

Its a provo narrative emanating from the great provo 'war' against the British during the troubles.

When the IRA were blowing people to bits in the cause of Irish Independence, their fellow travellers, the PLO were blowing people to bits ifor the Palestinian cause. They essentially were just terrorist birds of a feather flocking together and backing each others deparaved campaigns of voilence. It's why you will only ever see Irish and Palestinian flags seperated by an armalite on the murals of Belfast and nowhere else.

That was all very well when Sinn Fein were in the political winderness, barely garnering 3,4 or 5% of the votes come election time. But now, when they can get 20% in an election, and poll up to 30 and 35% in between, it means that a significant amount of the irish population, mainly younger voters, are simply absorbing and regurgitating Sinner credo en masse, and part of that credo is that armed resistance by 'freedom fighters' is something to be lauded. It is why Sinn Fein criticism of Hamas is almost always invariably couched in very ambigious language.

I can guarantee you there isn't a shinner voter in the country who isn't pro-palestine and anti Israel. When you add that to the left wing <admin snip> like **** standing on the plinth of Leinster House on OCT 7th or 8th, calling for global Intafada you can begin to see the extent of the problem, and the numbers involved.

For a lot of Irish people the IRA seem to be enjoying some sort of popular revisionism, and the lads in Hamas are just a modern day incarnation of the very same in Palestine.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

That's quite convenient that in the last week you haven't had time and still continue to shill for Israel and the IDF.

Seems like you've no issue that there is a genocide occurring as it's against a people you don't like.

All of them could be invalidated, because the context and conditions of war provides another explanation for all of the above accusations other than genocide.

What stated military objectives had been met by summer 2024? The hostages were still in captivity, and Hamas were still in power.

The real question is why Hamas have clung to power, and why so many of the Palestinian population continue to support their war against Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Governments that censor the news are usually concealing something. Israel has killed journalists in this war, including AP and Reuters ones. They have banned international media from going into Gaza.

Also 3600 artists have signed up to a boycott of Israel right now.

I believe Amnesty, HRW, MSF.

Why believe a PM that is on trial for corruption in his own country?

Have you had a chance to read the 21 page rebuttal I posted earlier. A rebuttal that shreds the report.

https://unwatch.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/UN-Watch-Rebuttal-to-September-2025-Pillay-Commission-Report-to-UNHRC.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

If criticizing a state committing a genocide constitutes antisemitism, what does denying its even occurring constitute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,566 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

There is no context for things like using children as sniper practice and deliberately withholding aid for three months. I wonder do you really believe in this exceptionalism for Israel because it could actually be used against Israel too. In others words the precedent has been set that under a self defense doctrine any state can now commit crimes against humanity and fall back on there was a context and conditions that excuse us doing so. That is a recipe for chaos. Also it is deeply hypocritical to justify this given you claim Israel is a liberal democracy with western values. Yet we know it has legalized torture; holds people captive without due process for months on end, it has government ministers calling for the ethnic cleansing of people- yet these people remain in Government. In what other democracy with western values would those people be allowed to remain in office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Stupidity and blindness perhaps? That they are still postong pro israel propaganda from Israeli friendly lobby groups, even at this stage at the conflict, shows they just want to support Israel at any costs.

You mean the blog that's written by a single pro Israeli "journalist" that uses IDF twitter posts and Youtube videos as sources?

I think I'll stick with the official independent UN report thank you very much.

Enjoy continuing to shill for you beloved genocide committers as innocent children are being starved and murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Miniegg

But intricacies and complication is what they are. It is not a closed shop. There are rules to join, that those who are non Jewish can adhere to, to convert. That those rules are more stringent that Christianity is neither here nor there. It is a religion, like any other, and it has its own rules. Big deal.

And if you read my posts, I am absolutely not against a Jewish homeland, nor am I against it being in Israel (within its borders). You or anybody else is open to read my posting history and find me saying a single thing contradicting this.

I am against using religion and nonsensical narratives as a tool to colonize and delegitimize people living in a place.

Why are you ok with violently ousting native people for their land in this particular scenario, using something that happened during the Roman Empire as a metric to base it on? It is insane.

Basically no European countries currently in existence today were there during the Roman empire, I doubt you would argue French people weren't real and didn't have a right to live in peace in France.

But no, when it comes to Palestine, if they are Muslim they are painted as invaders, and people from all over the world who happen to pray to a God who people ruling there used to believe in 2000 years get to swan in, build settlements, commit genocide, and if we dispute that narrative it's antisemetic?

I know from your posting history it is purely because they are Muslim you feel like this, you already told us many times how barbaric you view such people. Now there definitely is a word for that....

Post edited by Miniegg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,566 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Every accusation is a confession. This is quite hypocritical, because what you accuse Irish people of doing is in fact what many Israelis do. Look no further than Ariel Sharon and Yitzshak Shamir as proof of this. Yitzshak showed no remorse for murdering people. Ariel didn't show remorse either for slaughtering people- yet this was no bar to high office for both of them

Well, that's a bit rich considering you've just accused another poster of 'cherrypicking'.

UNWATCH, btw, is an accredited UN NGO.

i don't know why you would read one UN report but ignore another, except, maybe, you don't like what it says.

Why, for instance, do you quote a UN report which clearly used falsified data, but ignore a report that points that out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

just a side note. You don't need a priest to be baptised.

He wanted to know why a lot of Irish people support Hamas. I just explained it to him.

You actually do not deserve a response when you choose to champion a state led genocide purely based on the fact you liked living there.

Children being purposely murdered and starved but don't worry about any of that as Sheepy lived in Israel and it was nice. Your username is on point as you love to follow the IDF propaganda and regurgitate it for them with no shame.

Post edited by Rocket_GD on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,853 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Fundamentally, it doesn't matter if every single Jewish person in the world could trace their genes back to Moses himself, that doesn't grant them the right to barge into the middle east and displace the people who live there and commit genocide against them.

Every 'group' can trace their genes back to different parts of the world if you go back far enough. Our LUCA (Last Universal Common Ancestor) was a single celled Prokaryotic lifeform that lived on some deep sea hydrothermal vent
    That doesn't give every species on the planet the 'right' to go and colonise every hydrothermal vent.

We should not even entertain the zionist argument that Israel is a Jewish homeland and this grants all Jewish people from anywhere in the world 'the right' to move there and displace the existing residents.

Under the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, every single person has an equal participate in public life and enjoy political freedom. This applies regardless of your race, religion, ethnicity etc
    It is a violation of the UDHR to establish an apartheid state such as South Africa or Israel that actively discriminates in favour of one group and actively discriminates against another

image.png image.png image.png image.png image.png image.png

Israel has become an Apartheid ethno-state. It was founded in breach of the UDHR and has become more and more divergent on its human rights obligations as time as passed to the point where they are now flagrantly committing genocide in Gaza and planning to expand this to the west bank.

Ban billionaires

Its the Pro-Israel mindset
    A child throwing a rock at a tank is a violent protestor who needs to be shot

An IDF commander dropping a 2000lb bomb on a refugee camp because some drone saw someone who looked like he might be Hamas in the vicinity 'just a biproduct of the war Hamas started'

A protestor who disrupts a sporting event because a team are competing who represent the country committing a genocide = violent protestors

IDF dropping firebombs and doing drone strikes against some peaceful boats trying to bring baby formula to starving children 'brave soldiers protecting Israel from Hamas'

Ban billionaires

Claiming to have a Jewish homeland does not grant anyone the right to displace the people that live there.

There is no right to form an ethno state, not a moral one, not a legal one.

A state that is formed on brutality, will never be secure.
    A state that constantly expands its borders, cannot claim to be the victim when the people who's land they're stealing resist those attacks.

Ban billionaires

Irish people do not 'support Hamas'

Do you know who did Support Hamas? Netenyahu did. He supported them to overthrow Fatah because Fatah were gaining too much international support, so he helped to bolster Hamas to oust Fatah knowing that they were islamic extremists and would not be popular abroad.

image.png

https://www.timesofisrael.com/for-years-netanyahu-propped-up-hamas-now-its-blown-up-in-our-faces/

He's doing the exact same thing with new extremists linked to ISIS that he is funding and arming within Gaza to create a civil war within the Palestinian people

image.png

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

You find disrupting a cycling race distasteful while defending the killing of tens of thousands of children.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,485 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The decision by Netanyahu to keep bombing Gaza to pieces and killing civilians is purely a political one. There was no military reason to keep the 'war' going after summer 2024. Hamas posed virtually zero threat to the IDF or Israel by that point.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

None of them could be"invalidated" - Israel have already been confirmed as committing genocide.

The conditions of war have a defined set of rules about civilian deaths , starvation, displacement so that makes your argument irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,943 ✭✭✭Odhinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Miniegg

Again @sheepysheep, you have it arseways to suit your narrative.

Irish people, due to our history, close families, and small geography, are largely very aware of what happened here under British occupation, some may have had family members killed, or who fled Ireland or emigrated due to the situation here. Many also have relatives who have fought for the British in wars etc, my family included in all these things mentioned above. Things are quite nuanced.

We do - generally speaking- empathise with the downtrodden, with colonized and occupied people, and are capable of seeing passed their religion in doing thisz which I find commendable. We did the same with the fledgling Israeli state.

Many of us understand wholeheartedly the need for resistance, and sometimes that can turn into violent resistance, in the face of the brutality of colonization. We also know what it is to be slandered, ridiculed and dehumanized by an occupier, and the blatant lies that go along with that. Most of us see very clearly what Israel is doing engaging in this nonsense, and are very skeptical when a powerful country is invading a weaker one whilst telling us the people are "human animals" or "barbarians", and deserving of slaughter.

That doesn't mean people then defacto support Jihadi terrorists who butcher teenagers at a music festival. This has been roundly condemned by almost all parties in Ireland, I have never met a single person in my actual life who condones that act or is supportive of Hamas terrorism (Im sure they exist, but thought I would have met one in the flesh by now the amount ye go on about it). Nor have I met a single person who isn't absolutely disgusted with Israels conduct.

So no, as much as you would like to paint it as so, opposition to this genocide isn't borne from anti semetism or terror support. It is born from hatred of that act, and ergo of the people who would debase themselves to that level to carry it out.

You, and you buddies, are incapable of discussing peoples abhorrence with Israel without manufactiring points of view for them - all to shut them down of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

And the Israelis were blowing people to bits for the Zionist cause don’t conveniently forget.
    The Israeli state was born out of terrorism.
    The Israeli flag is proudly flown in Belfast too. By loyalist terrorist supporters.
    You seem so blinkered you only see the “Israel is right” perspective.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,400 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The point is though is that you can still do it if you really want to.

It shouldn't mean you automatically have the right to go to Palestine and steal someone else's home.

Why do Israel supporters always have to resort to lies.

The actual truth is horrifying and they can't admit it to themselves.