Tricolours flying from lampposts around the city

• 27-09-2025 02:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭

Please tell me these were hung by the Council for some upcoming event, and not by homegrown Tommy Robinson types marking territory likes dogs peeing on lampposts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭914

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭azimuth17

An insult to the flag to have the colours flying day and night. Not that the people who put them up would know that. Worst form of pathetic imitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Could you expand on this please? Genuinely interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭azimuth17

It is my understanding that the flag should be flown from dawn til dusk and then lowered and rehoisted the next morning if desired. The only exception is the tricolour on 33 The Mall Waterford which was where TFM first hoisted it . The authorities apparently let it fly night and day for three days before impounding it. The tricolour symbolises peace between different groups. It now seems to be used by some group in imitation of current UK far right anti immigration group without any public statement or identity.

I think its meant to frighten people and is the opposite of what Waterford city always stood for. A city built on immigration over the centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

In general with flag-flying etiquette in Ireland, the national flag should not be flown at night unless it is properly illuminated.

The Department of the Taoiseach publishes the official protocol for the National Flag, and it says:

• The flag should normally be flown from sunrise to sunset.
    • If it is flown at night, it should be illuminated.
    • The flag should always be treated with dignity and respect (not defaced, allowed to touch the ground, or used as decoration).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

So just as I suspected.

So why are the County & City Council not removing them all?

If they don't, aren't they conceding our national flag to the far-right scrots, and the freedom to abuse it wherever they want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,753 ✭✭✭bassy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Question is who is paying for these flags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭Hoboo

What’s the problem with Irish flags in Ireland?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I think the Irish flag belongs to the whole nation without exceptions, including those we disagree with politically.

I have never heard migrants criticising the Irish flag.

Its true Ireland is more diverse now. But I think part of equal citizenship regardless of ethnic background is that we share a flag. The White in the Flag represents unity not division. So I dont agree with suggestions its a racist symbol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,744 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ah come on now, its clearly being used to intimidate immigrants!

i think the best response ive heard is to flood the place with flags, and not just with irish ones, these lads can be very persistent

I only hear some on the Irish Left saying this. I haven't heard any migrant saying it. I think they can speak for themselves.

It's an especially tricky issue for SF as an Irish Republican Party, but also a party of the Left. We saw in last years elections the divisions in their base, and a disappointing election performance because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,744 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

maybe they feel intimidated to say so!

again, this is clearly what the whole process is about, intimidation!

immigration is a tricky one for all parties, not just sf, we clearly need immigration to maintain ourselves, also due to our aging population, but have completely failed to invest in order to maintain this growing population, so you ll find that lands on our main governmental parties, i.e. ffg!

While immigration has some benefits, there is also a cost, because down the road they too will need pensions, nursing homes etc. I think the real solution on pensions is auto-enrollment.

Also it won't resolve the housing issue, because while workers are needed to build the houses, more houses will also be needed for the workers if they remain. So its a circular argument the government is making. They made the exact same argument in the years before the housing crash.

I love our flag. While some gobshites are trying to use it to "intimidate" immigrants, I don't think it has worked.

They literally just copied what they were doing in the UK to little effect

My concern with raising the tri colour as they have is, will they maintain them, when they get grubby and dated will they replace them?

I do feel we as a nation should fly our flag more especially with Waterford being the home of the tri colour, fly it correctly though, illuminated at night etc

Suggesting the council remove the flags just plays into the numpties hands. They would love nothing more than recording people taking down the flag.

Leave the flags up, council take them down when they grubby and dirty (do a statement on that at the time as to why) and the clowns that put them up will be onto the next hot topic of the day which will probably be 6G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭Bards

I actually ike seeing the Irish flag flying..makes a change from all the UkranIan, Palestinian and Lgbtwq+ flags

Only in a western country would the national flag of that country being flown be considered racist..go figure 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

In the northside Dublin area I live in the tricolour was zip tied to a large number of lampposts in the area. I sent an email to six of the seven councillors representing the area asking why DCC wasn't removing these unauthorised flags. The only councillor I didn't bother emailing was the one who had welcomed them, a well known anti-migrant campaigner.

The only reply I got was a fairly lengthy one from Ray McAdam (FG) our current Lord Mayor. While he was sympathetic he couldn't actually tell me what course of action they were going to take to remove them or when.

I will quote a few bits from the email.

"The City Council is well aware of both the sensitivities and the risks associated with unauthorised items on public infrastructure. A citywide review is underway in close collaboration with An Garda Síochána, local elected representatives, and other stakeholders."

"But just as important as dealing with the flags themselves is ensuring the safety and protection of the staff who carry out this work. Recently, a senior Council staff member was unfairly targeted online. That is unacceptable."

"I will continue to work closely with An Garda Síochána, the Chief Executive, and the senior management team to see that this issue is handled properly and that our staff are supported and safeguarded at all times. I will keep you updated on developments."

Yours etc….

Ray was the only one of the six, indo, Soc Dem, Green, SF and Labour reps to reply. I have heard on the grapevine that local Labour TD Marie Sherlock when asked about it by residents gave the answer 'shur they look lovely and welcoming'.

I would take some of them down myself if I was younger and they weren't so high. If anyone zip ties flags to the shorter poles nearer to me they won't be up for long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Deiseen

There are so many people here that probably don't even properly know any foreigners, that seem to think that they are some group of shrinking violets that cannot speak for themselves and all have the exact same opinion as them (which is actually racist if you ask me).

One of my best buds is from India and he shares the same concerns about the amount of people arriving and effect on services / houses prices etc. laughable to think that he would be intimidated by the national flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"laughable to think that he would be intimidated by the national flag."

To me it's not any 'intimidatory' aspect, it's the arrogance of the mob. Using the Irish flag as a political territorial marker is abhorrent. Lets not kid ourselves, this isn't some American-style flag fetish, it's political theatre with the tricolour as a stage prop.

Is a flag not inherently a political territorial marker???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭MakersMark

Offended by flying a national flag.

But Not offended when men wearing dresses expose themselves in women's dressing rooms.

The left are truly sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,088 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Maybe google the etiquette for flying the flag first…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭Bards

Thank god these easily upsetable people were not around during italia 90 as there were Irish flags flown everywhere and on everything 24 hours a day for a month..so if it wasn't racist then it sure as he'll isn't racist now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

The flags are about intimidation, we see it in Northern Ireland, Union Jacks flying off sweet lamps to intimidate Catholics.

Completely vile.

Why would an immigrant in Ireland be intimidated by the Irish flag in the same way that a Catholic in the North would be intimidated by the Union Jack?

Yeah the etiquette thing is just a front. The reality is that they don't like the people putting the flags up or the reasons they have for doing it. I've heard anecdotes about the people putting them up and I'm not particularly keen on what I've heard either but just don't see why the big hullabaloo is being made of the flags.

The flag is for everyone, except the people we disagree with and the poor immigrants who can't see the flag without being overcome with terror. The immigrants I know here would laugh in the faces of these people and they need to stop speaking on their behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭rapul

Jaysus yous are all brainwashed from the main stream media , it's Ireland we will fly the tri colour if we want to . You think if you were in any other country and complained about that flag being intimidating or racist they would take it down , absolutely comical tbh .

• Site Banned Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Baffled that I even have to type this out. If someone feels intimidated by the flag of the very country they reside in then maybe they should move to a country that they dont feel intimidated by the flag.

This argument that flags should be taken down at night is a load of boll*X. Drive down the countryside, you will see countless flags flown in people's gardens year round night and day.

And regardless, of they are on lamp posts then wouldn't they be illuminated anyway?

Most ridiculous thread I've seen in years...

I honestly don't think anyone is intimidated by the national flag flying. I also don't think anyone saying flying the national flag is racist.

The idea behind flying the flag has come from copying English nationalism, and this idea of Ireland for the Irish, where immigrants are not welcome.

Anyone saying that isn't why the flags are flying is not being truthful.

The tricolour represents everyone in Ireland, whether you are left, right, in the middle or something else.

If people want to fly the tri colour for the idea behind Ireland for the Irish they are entitled to do that as are football fans who fly it for tournaments, or those who fly it to commemorate the Easter rising.

My only concern is these flags won't be maintained/replaced as they rip, tear, or get dirty.

As I previously said, I don't think anyone should take them down unless they get to a state where they need to be taken down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Which city are you talking about? There's a whole world outside the over hyped expensive place where they go around talking in long draaaaawm out accents!