If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,191 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

It's not that "she doesn't come up with the bleeding obvious"; it's that she says something completely different. An immediate ceasefire is not a Russian withdrawal; nobody thinks it will lead to a Russian withdrawal; and nobody else who advocates an immediate ceasefire wants or expects a Russian withdrawal to follow. You may choose to believe that Connolly can't be bothered to ask for what she actually wants, and chooses instead to speak in some impenetrable code that you can interpret but everyone else misinterprets. Me, I don't think she's that stupid.

She may not like the fact that the Russians have invaded, but her priority is stopping the war and she is willing to let the Russians hold the territory they have seized in order to acheive that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Higgins was lucky he didn’t get into more trouble for the remarks he made. There’s no way we can risk a pointless row between our head of state and America’s at this deeply weird juncture in history.

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Anybody can label me FG because that’s what I was when I had a vote over there. So I’m biased but I don’t think that’s my only problem with Connolly. The way she expresses herself doesn’t seem to me to be a good fit for this race. I think she’ll need to attract centrist voters to win? Maybe she wants to polarize things and go with an exclusively left-wing vote?

Do I contradict myself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I dislike FG's role in stopping the cost of living payments. I won't vote for Connolly after her remarks on Germany and the US. Im a critic of Trump but we cant afford to be in constant rows with trading partners when most of our economy is exports.

I'm leaning towards Gavin but Humphreys is still a possibility. I want a president that will avoid controversy.

I think last years General Election indicated a shift back to the Centre. I hope that is reflected in the Presidential Election.

However I would have liked the option to vote for Gareth Sheridan. I think his ties to the US would have been useful in smoothing over relations with the US on tariffs and Pharmaceutical companies, especially as he founded a pharma company. He came within 1 vote of a nomination in 2 councils.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

I admire anyone who can speak Irish, having missed out on the opportunity to learn it at school after too much time abroad. Even the basics are tough as I found out much later. Holy God, what the rest of ye went through! All those words in the wrong place and letters not pronounced. Give me Spanish any day. I certainly wouldn’t criticize Connolly for that. Indeed, as a Humphreys fan, I’d concede my woman should have made a bigger effort at it.

Do I contradict myself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,720 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Gavin seemed a bit uncomfortable cooking the sausages the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,658 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I tried copy here but couldn’t. It’s a very balanced and sensible view/position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,897 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Which you're not going to summarise or provide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,147 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Except thats not true, our territorial waters are 12 nautical miles around, our exclusive economic zone is what you are describing.

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

And should we not have the means to protect the EEZ?

• The Irish Marine Institute has produced the "Real Map of Ireland" to show this extensive marine territory.
    • This marine territory is estimated to be over 220 million acres or 880,000 km², more than ten times the size of the island of Ireland.
    • The map includes the Irish Continental Shelf, which represents Ireland's territorial waters and its extended rights over the seabed. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,147 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

In a commercial sense yes, eg

Criminals could exploit Ireland's antiquated paper system of registering ships, experts warn

https://www.thejournal.ie/ship-register-system-ireland-criminal-gangs-6818142-Sep2025/

ts not all about more warships its about commercial regulation.

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Our neutrality in any political sense is ridiculous as is Connollys stance, or any stance I've heard or read about that supports it.

WWe Support Ukraine with the EU, we are looking to other countries to defend Ukraine against Russia, but we are Neutral? Wtf does that mean and is it not the most contradictory policy you've ever heard of?

this is just it with us. And it’s what rubs up other countries the wrong way. We want to be neutral, but we also want to be the loudest when it comes to pontificating and lecturing and admonishing others on what they should be doing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,638 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That's a debate you need to have with the government and it's supporters on a separate thread.

It is set government policy and isn't changing so it isn't an issue for a presidential candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,614 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It isn't joining NATO that will be in the debate, it's doing away with the triple lock. Russia and China vetoing our participation in peace keeping missions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,897 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Cheers, I'm not on insta so was wondering. Very sensible comments from Maia there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Our second in charge and soon to be Taoiseach called the president of the USA a awful gowl, yet your worried about something somebody might say to upset them in the future

I agree. Very balanced and sensible. No agenda!

Not aware of recent polling on the Triple Lock but I assume HH and JG will be arguing against the majority opinion (47% for retaining v 37% getting rid) on this one and CC will be with the majority.

Good chance for the government to try and get popular support for their plans I suppose. I wonder will Jim Gavin be able to explain why MM has changed his 2013 opinion that the TL is 'at the core of our neutrality'. Or will Heather be able to tell us why there was no mention of the TL at all in their manifesto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,165 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Thanks. I see the bit that was confusing me, explained on the site below. There is the Irish Continental Shelf which is different to Ireland’s territorial waters.

https://www.marine.ie/site-area/irelands-marine-resource/real-map-ireland-0

“The Real Map of Ireland shows Ireland's current designated Irish Continental Shelf, which is one of the largest seabed territories in Europe.

The continental shelf is the extension of a State's territorial waters, where the natural land extends under the sea to the outer edge of the continental margin beyond 200 nautical miles from the coastline baseline. We have sovereign rights over the continental shelf to explore and develop its natural resources, according to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea Part VI.”

I then looked up this site re the potential use of Marine drones patrolling for drug routes through Irish waters/marine area

https://theguardproject.com/

Ireland is the softest target in EU for smugglers.

Ireland’s 3171 kilometres of coastline and marine area 10x of its land size is impossible to effectively police with 9 naval ships.

Gateway for contraband including drugs into EU with only <10% caught.”

I aware warfare / military defence is changing the UK is going to spend 1B sterling on defence investing in drone technology controlled by AI

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/ce82qdlel01o.amp

Obviously the ROI could not invest that sort of money but that seems to be the way military defence and warfare is going. Multiple drones are cheaper than tanks.

I have no idea what would be the minimum amount to at least make Ireland slightly awkward to attack or the level of increased spending it would entail. Or even if it would be worth it.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Didn't realise Gavin is only officially launching now, this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,614 ✭✭✭✭Water John

A lot has changed in 12 years. I'm sure we're mature enough to make our own decisions. Why should Russia and China have a veto on them. If the EU does a peace keeping function, we should participate. That is quite different to joining NATO.

A lot has changed in 12 years

Clearly has, and it would be good to hear Gavin's take on why his leader has changed his view so fundamentally.

I have no issue with somebody changing their mind but if it's a politician or political party looking for a vote or leading the country into something that polling shows they don't want, we should know why. Ditto, as to why the other party in government did not seek a mandate in their manifesto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Why does Gavin have to give a take on why his leader has changed his view? Surely, Gavin should just give his own take.

If there is a conversation during the campaign and the Triple Lock comes up, the candidates view is all fine and dandy and really matters not in terms of doing anything about the TL.
    So it would be good to hear about the parties they represent views.

They are running for President, not for the Dail.

So no questions about what happens in the Dáil?

You reckon?😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

There is no way we can risk standing idly by and watching an authoritarian fascist regime take over the USA.

But, but, but, didn't Catherine Connolly just tell Keir Starmer he can't interfere in who the Palestinians decide to lead them so we can allow a terrorist group intent on genocide to run Gaza if the Palestinians want it, but we must interfere in the US.

I am getting confused at this stage by all of these contradictions.