If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,645 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I reckon she rubs people up the wrong way alright. I’m more thinking about her bag incident specifically.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,251 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,650 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The unpalatable for some truth is that speaking Irish outside the education system is not considered mainstream almost everywhere. So HH is in no way unusual on that score.

I wonder how many watched the all-Irish debate on TG4 in 2011.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Look at McGregor. Nobody passed any comment on his very expensive suits, and very expensive wrist watches when he was on waffling about being a president for the people. Yes, he certainly has other flaws to pick at, but still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,650 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Choosing to not learn a language is not being 'bigoted', that's a silly notion

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭liamtech

Quite honestly, for me - i was against her prior to the bag incident!

• Her supporters included numerous Far right people, both on and off line, including obvious anti-immigration campaigners
    • The claim that Steen failure to be nominated, by the democratic system for presidential nominations, was undemocratic - ludicrous
    • Specific supporters including John McGuirk, moving to join the attempted smear of Jimi Gavin, while also shouting that RTE should be 'defunded'
    • The description by her fans, of all other candidates as 'woke' -
    • Her stances on Gay rights, Civil Partnerships, Marriage equality, surrogacy, egg donation, sperm donation, adoption by same sex couples, lifting restrictions on divorce.
    • her and Ionas view, that less people engaging with the church, or being in hetro sexual marriages, is causing crime and drug use
    • The Iona instutes rocky history with funding - they are a charity, no they arent, yes they are. Receives funding from Russia Via Azerbaijan - 'that never happened and we will sue'
    • Followed by - well we did get a number €25k donations from Azerbaijan but we definitely didnt use them in the marriage equality referendum 🤣
    • Links available for all of the above!

Yea i have to say, from my point of view, the deck was stacked fairly sizeably against her receiving a vote from me! I grew up in the 80s. And as regards going back to it societally - its a hard pass, thank you.

Her tactics of framing herself as a maverick, anti establishment, grass roots candidate - who happens to be backed by right wing christians, and those who wish to defund the National News service - and a lady who cares about families, albeit, if they fit a certain narrow standard - all of this is right out of the Brexit/Maga Playbook - so again, hard pass, i think.

I will say, the bag incident, was icing on the cake. But she is welcome to try again next time so! Were I advising her, i would take her to Dunnes Stores! They have a wonderful inventory of bags and clothing!

Post edited by liamtech on

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,251 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I think the fact that he's a rapist overshadowed some of his lesser ills.

I’m Irish through and through, but cannot stomach this hammering us a language, that let’s be honest, the large majority cannot speak with any real fluency. If people really want to learn the language, they will do so. But let them alone to decide themselves!!! And it shouldn’t be a crutch to beat any candidate with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Genghis

I wonder will any of the three candidates drop out. We still have 4 weeks to go, with very little difference or depth to explore, and a very narrow field of not very interesting candidates.

It's ripe for any faux pas being exaggerated, especially for JG and CC who seem to make an unwise comment at each turn. With fewer candidates and weeks to go, I can see more deep scrutiny of personal lives in the media, and personal attacks on social media, etc.

I would not be surprised if one of them drops out and makes the contest between the other 2 a complete farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,819 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Nothing is impossible, but I don't know where you got your thinking from.

Each of them has a huge amount of political capital and financial backing invested in them. If they were to drop out, it wouldn't be just themselves that it would affect.

And so if those who don't prevail in the contest want to be taken seriously ever again in the rest of their lives, they'll stick out the campaign, even when the going gets tough. In fact, especially when it gets tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

To be fair, there was more than enough to be going on with, what with the sexual assaults and the general thuggery. The suits and watches would pale in comparison to his more egregious shortcomings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,819 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

When the more extremes of right and left get stuck in the horseshoe effect, and begin eating each other, its music to the ears of those of us in the firm centre.

The centrists always inherit the Earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,147 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Spot on. A little bit from here or there. I think Ireland will always be centre left or centre right. It is just not in the majority of the Irish psyche to be far left or far right.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Humphreys' problem is that she gave a specific commitment to learn the language previously. If she had stood up and said what you said above, then so be it. But she didn't - she said she would learn the language and she didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,549 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Hopefully someone will ask her, how or why her home village was allowed to remove the Irish from their road sign and does she approve.

image.png

11 years ago when she was supposed to minister for the Gaeltacht. And worse still she would send her junior minister on RnaG. Refused requests to go on herself.

Despite all that carry on she is getting no1 from me best politician of the three. Doesn’t say much fot the other two.

It is when you have a strange aversion to Irish language from your own country.

Simple examples - those educated in Ireland who make a point of saying TG Four instead of TG Ceathair. Yet will say Luas, Oireachtas, Dail, Gardai etc. always makes me laugh. They are fooling no one, only themselves

the TG4 is visual. This is how it shows on tv. As Roy Walker said, say what you see!!

I know. But you know what I mean some Irish people make a point of saying TG4 “four”. But wouldn’t have the wherewithal to say Speed instead of Luas, or Chief instead of Taoiseach etc.
    Yet if they saw the French Canadian channel they would say TV Cinq! Or Paris St Germain. Would be “Paree San Ger-man” in the soccer.

I hope Humphreys is called out on her lazy insincere attitude to the Irish Language - might give her the kick up the Áras!

well, there ya go. I never knew what Luas meant till now!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭liamtech

I freely admit - i say TG Four - lol.. Its only dawned on me now tbh - literally Lol-ing here 😂- '**** why do i actually do that'!!! To be fair I also say ATM machine a lot - just one of those things

I would say HH should have made an effort to learn it, considering her position as a minister. I am not even close to fluent though, freely admit it. I think the way it was taught in schools was abysmal in my day. It was automatically assumed in secondary, that i should have conversational irish, and the fact i didnt, disadvantaged me enormously. I probably have more French than Irish.

My daughter went to an Irish school, loves the language, and im picking some up from her and my wife - il get there! or should i say, Táimid ar an tslí

I said it previously as did others, on paper - HH is the most qualified and suitable of the 3 candidates. JG could make some inroads maybe. I think CC needs to seriously reign in the 'militant tendecy' aspects of her candidacy - not impossible i suppose

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

Well I won’t be as quick slagging America for their quality of candidates after this.

Given the choice we have even though it is a non executive President. It is still an embarrassing choice. Could be a record low turnout. I was thinking if I was a young first time voter, I wouldn’t be too pushed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Never heard anyone saying TGfour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I used to say TG-Four for years and I live in Galway. Someone corrected me on it 🙂 I used to only watch TG4 for rugby and westerns. My Irish is awful and it's going to stay that way to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,689 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I see all three are hard core Republicans now

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/0927/1535655-presidential-campaigns/

I think it's HH's to lose. I don't see where she is likely to stumble. Jim Gavin's campaign hasn't sparked yet. CC is a liability to herself any time she has to speak in detail about anything. It will be HH, JG, CC in that order after the vote I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,876 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Every party in the dail supports a united Ireland, it's an aspiration in our constitution, so I don't think it's any surprise that all candidates are in favour of a united Ireland...

Yes but Connolly is the 'champion' or so says MLMcD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

I read that as TG ceathair.

Just joking. I've never heard anyone I know if talking about it as Ceathair. RTE is the same, the 1 and 2 I've never heard pronounced as a haon or a dó. Some Irish speakers are very snobbish about it I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,202 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I have never thought of it when seeing it written down as anything other than Ceathair . Nor have I or do I remember anyone saying TG Four !

Maybe I am not paying enough attention 😁 or maybe it's an age thing ? I remember its inception so it would have been TG "ceathair" said all over the place so ingrained .

Certainly would not be a big deal either way .

Lads you are all taking this wayyy too seriously . One of them will win and it will be forgotten about fairly sharpish afterwards .

Edit . Maybe I feel like that because I find all three candidates so uninspiring , but hey, I don't find the role in general the most interesting anyway .

Think maybe it no longer is something that our country can get behind precisely because it has become so tribal . Very apt they were talking about the need to "unite the people" today .

Post edited by Goldengirl on

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/