If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Wait a minute. In one part of your post, you are claiming that it is made up that Connolly is referring to Nazi Germany, and then you go on to talk about businessmen getting Nazi awards. Crazy stuff.

• Administrators Posts: 55,643 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2025/09/25/catherine-connolly-compares-german-arms-build-up-with-1930s/

Speaking at a public meeting in Dublin, she agreed with People Before Profit representative Kieran Allen, who said the current situation in Europe is a “drive to war”.

“We’re increasing our spend all over Europe on the military industrial complex. They’re absolutely championing the cause of the military industrial complex in Germany, as a booster for the economy. 

She responded: “I have never once been equivocal in my condemnation of Russia invading Ukraine. I never, ever hesitated. What I have said is that a neutral country like ours should call out the abuse of power by anyone – by Russian and also by America. 

The man interjected: “Will you call for the withdrawal of the Russian military forces?”

She replied: “There should be an immediate ceasefire and there should be negotiations around Ukraine and Russia. It’s the exact same for Palestine and Israel

Catherine Connolly urgently needs to get rid of whoever is advising her in this campaign, this is ridiculous now.

She was asked directly by an attendee to condemn Russia and still she equivocates. Still talking crap about Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,599 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Neither I or Connolly said that 'German's are Nazi's again'.

Would ever stop altering things that posters say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Pat734

Yes, that section happens to be a very large and diverse one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Germany was not allowed build up military in the 1930s due to a fear of Russia and communism. Whether that fabrication is unique to you or not, it is complete historical garbage. Most secret German rearmament and training happened in Russia. They were allies!

It was allowed because the Western powers didn't want another war and because they were weak. There was no underlying fear of communism and Soviet expansion from a largely peasant empire. Utter nonsense.

Comparing Germany's current ramp up of military investment, largely in order to defend the continent from the only imperialist power currently attempting to manifest control over it, to the Nazi regime is grotesquely offensive. It is also factually garbage which betrays historical illiteracy on top of her other flaws. The idea they are doing it for purely economic reasons also displays economic incompetency on top of everything else.

The diversion to what American companies were doing is completely irrelevant and in no way backs up your point. You are backdating American anti-communism feelings to about 20 years before they existed.

Most secret German rearmament and training happened in Russia. They were allies!

Only up to a point and it was in secret. I.E. those elites in America helping didn't fecking know.

And she said 'SOME' of what is happening is comparable to the 30's.

The build up of the military complex in Europe.

That is something a pacifist would be concerned about.

A pacifist would be concerned about WHY it is happening and the answer to that is Russia. Not the "military industrial complex in Germany".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

It will indeed be up to the Palestinians to choose their leaders (it will be interesting to see if they decide to try elections this time around). However, if they choose war criminals as their leaders we would be entitled (and possibly morally obligated) to boycott their state in the same way as we're asked to boycott Israel.

In fairness, and as Connolly pointed out, Hamas have won every election in the last 20 years (🙂). But they did not have the "overwhelming support" she claims they got in 2006. They got 45% of the vote.

Matt Carthy is even more disingenuous: "it is a statement of fact to say that whether we like it or not, Hamas are elected by the people of Gaza," 

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cq65z1lzz71o

A pacifist would be concerned about WHYit is happening 

And she is. And she isn't afraid to say why she thinks as she does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

It might seem an obvious choice. Many people agree with many of her opinions, and her stance on true social justice issues is admirable. If we left all of her commentary on Palestine, the US, NATO, Germany aside, i would say that i find her compelling. Societal issues in Ireland are important, and whats more, these issues can be solved.

Higgins passed serious tests with Flying Colours

MD Higgins made a fantastic president. From my point of view it was a bonus to say that I agree with his position on many issues. However, what truly made him a great President, was the fact that he fullfilled the role perfectly. He did not create any constitutional issues, or embarass the country internationally. Attempts were made by several Israeli ministers to drag him into the muck on issues surrounding Holocaust Memorial Day, and his views on Palestine - and he defended his decisions but never embarassed himself, or the country, by getting into any back and forth public arguments. Higgins states his views, with conviction, but always remains aware of his unique position. It was this behavior that arguably made right wing Israeli commentators and policy makers, look poor by comparison. (happy to provide links but there are a great many). These were tricky issues, and i wondered would he be dragged into the dirt, at least on Israel/Gaza.

Putting it simply, he was tested, as a public person, a politician, and a president; and everytime, he passed with honors.

You have to ask yourself whether Catherine Connolly would pass these tests?

We cannot know the future, but based on her actions and conduct so far in this campaign, the answer is an emphatic NO. Now at some point in the debate, she will be asked how she would behave if criticized domestically, or internationally. If she is called 'Antisemetic'? If she is dragged into the weeds on the issue of whether Europe is correct to defend Ukraine?

She will also be asked, or should be, how she would respond when required to sign into law, something she totally disagrees with. What if we had a referendum on Irish Neutrality, and the electorate democratically decided that the best course was to join NATO? What if, as outlandish as it sounds, referendums rolling back things like marriage equality, or access to abortion services, passed. And she had the task to sign these things into law?

She will be asked how, as president, she would handle these tests. And she can course correct in this campaign, and improve her chances here, because there is only one correct answer to these questions.

She must state clearly, that she would prioritize the role of President of Ireland, above all personal opinions and beliefs. She would sign what she is constitutionally obliged to sign. She does have the power to refer bills to the Supreme court, but she would exercise these powers wisely, considering the ramifications of doing so. In terms of public attacks on her character and her views, she would conduct herself in a manner befitting the role of President. She could acknowledge at this point, the painful nature of these decisions, but clearly state, that she would refrain from allowing the highest office in the counrty, be dragged into dirt.

I dont know if CC is capable of doing the job. Her outlandish and contraversial statements leave that in doubt. Even if i agreed with everything she has said; It would still be unclear whether she is a wise choice for president. Its a role that should be incompatible with controversy. And therefore, a contraversial candidate is never the best choice moving forward. But i will wait and see how she answers the above questions, if and when asked.

Its a point of detour, but i remember during one of the Presidential debates with Dana, she was asked how she would react RE having to sign into law, legislation on abortion rights (this was a long time before the repeal the 8th Ref) - and she hesitated, and began referring to her sincerely held christian beliefs.

One political commentator at the time, went on to claim that this was the moment when it ended for Dana. Not that she had a huge chance of success mind you. But once she hesitated on this, and indicated that she would have a real issue signing something she disagreed with, she effectively ruled herself out as a credible candidate.

We will just have to wait and see how each of the three candidates fare in the debates.

Post edited by liamtech on

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

However, if they choose war criminals as their leaders we would be entitled (and possibly morally obligated) to boycott their state in the same way as we're asked to boycott Israel.

Any country that is sovereign is entitled to do that if they wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Do people want the simpleton/red-top answer every day? Do they want Connolly to shout "Russia must withdraw now!!!" every day? Is Putin listening? Is HH/Gavin doing that? I think Connolly is a little too intellectual for that simplistic nonsense.

Tell me this - do you think in any reality that Russia will simply withdraw? Just wake up and go home? Is it that black and white for you after 3 years of war? In what universe does that happen? The asshole that is Putin needs to be forced to the negotiations table asap and Ukraine needs to get the best deal it can with all the backing of USA/EU etc. If that's a full withdrawal and future security guarantees, well that would be brilliant. Either way that's the next step - negotiations to end the war. It should have happened long ago but Putin is not being made to suffer enough through sanctions. The US arms manufacturers don't want either war to end. Trump humiliated the Ukrainian president only recently, do we forget that?

This is what Connolly said in the Dail re Russia on the 3rd anniversary in February.

It is right that we had a minute's silence today and that we have statements on the illegal invasion by Russia of Ukraine. It is important that we continue to show solidarity with the people of Ukraine. I welcome the visitors to the Gallery and also those who have left. The figures are indeed shocking, with 12 million people displaced from their homes in Ukraine. As of 31 January, the UN has advised that there had been 12,605 deaths and 29,000 people had been injured. I am sure the figures are much higher. It is really important that we call out what Russia has done and what Ireland has done in welcoming over 120,000 Ukrainians into our country.

We owe it to the people of Ukraine to stand with them given that we know what it is like to be colonised. We know how long it has taken to break away from that colonisation.

As we talk about the displaced Ukrainians, with the greatest of respect, they are part of 120 million people displaced, the highest ever number fleeing from war, catastrophe and violence. We should use our voice on that as well.

WW1 was "the war to end all wars" wasn't it…

I have never doubted her fervour or her integrity. However if her conclusion on why Germany is re-arming is influence of the military industrial complex and desire to boost the economy then she is even more ill-informed than I thought. I genuinely think it reflects better on her intellect to assume she wasn't genuinely interested in why it was happening because if that is her conclusion then she is a deeply misguided fool who clearly has no idea what she is talking about.

She has a differing view to yours.

War and conflict has always been good for business. It is a 'part' of the reason we continue to have wars. And that is all she is saying here.

Tell me this - do you think in any reality that Russia will simply withdraw? Just wake up and go home?

Obviously not.

So why the hell is Connolly castigating those who are trying to enable resistance to them?

I am fine with differing views.

"Germany is enabling the military industrial complex to boost their economy" is not a differing view. It is hot garbage that betrays zero understanding of German politics, zero understanding of current geopolitics, and zero understanding of economics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

You and I are unlikely to ever agree 100% with what any politician believes in. Voting shouldn't be about every small thing a politician says, it should be about which politician do you feel you align closer with.

For me, any politician supporting FF or FG and their housing and healthcare policies won't get my vote

• Administrators Posts: 55,643 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Tell me this - do you think in any reality that Russia will simply withdraw?

No, which is why Connolly's stance is totally nonsensical.

This "I want peace, we need to talk" stuff is incredibly naive. It's the same garbage Trump was spouting about him ending the war on his first day in office, as if just talking is going to change Putin's mind.

Maybe Connolly thinks if she asks him really nicely he'll withdraw all his troops, return Ukrainian land and stop posturing on Europe's eastern border?

The asshole that is Putin needs to be forced to the negotiations table asap 

Er, yes. Which is why you need a strong defence to act as a strong deterrent to future military aggression by Russia. Putin is not going to be forced to the negotiating table otherwise.

Do they want Connolly to shout "Russia must withdraw now!!!" every day? 

I want Catherine Connolly to condemn Putin, condemn Russia, call out this invasion for what it is and I want her to do it in a sentence or paragraph where she does not mention the US, NATO or the West, where she doesn't try and equivocate.

But she won't. It's all "I've condemned Russia, but….".

Is HH/Gavin doing that?

Neither HH or Gavin are getting a hard time on this issue because neither of those candidates are prone to regurgitating pro-Russian talking points, and neither Gavin nor HH associate themselves with the likes of Clare Daly and Mick Wallace.

Connolly needed to use this election to prove to the centrists that she's not the naive, student-union-esque politician that many thought she was, and instead all she's done is double down on this.

Ireland's (potential) chief diplomat thrashing every single relationship we have with our key allies is not a "small thing a politician says". It is her displaying she is manifestly unsuited to the actual role she is applying for.

For me, all 3 candidates would pass with flying colours, they would all make exceptional presidents. If the FF or FG candidate was the only one in the race I wouldn't have an issue. Furthermore if Connolly wasn't in the race, say for example there was only govt candidates Vs Maria Steen, I'd be only too happy to give my vote to HH or JG because they would align closer to my views than Steen, despite not liking either party at all

Probably a bit of an over exaggeration of what's happening, borderline false

But if the only way people have of attacking her position is false information then obviously the right are scared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,650 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Lads, her Hamas and Russia condemnations are fake and insincere. Always a “but” immediately added when sniping at Israel and America and Western countries/NATO

I am literally using her own words to "attack" her.

Calling France "untrustworthy" and making direct comparisons between Germany and Nazi Germany are absolutely going to cause problems in our relationship with these countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,650 ✭✭✭✭walshb

A vote for Connolly would be no different than wanting Mick bleedin’ Wallace in the Aras!!

Honestly, the 'thrashing every single relationship' stuff is really tiresome nonsense.

We hear that scaremonger over and over again if the slightest criticism is made of other countries. Same auld shite when we took the Apple money or propose making corporations pay their fair share. It is subservient, hat doffing rubbish tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭rdser

It'll be interesting to hear ol jimbo tackle these issues during the debates and how the FFG supporters react on here and elsewhere.

Whatever Connolly's issues have or haven't been in her answers, ol Jim has been shocking in interviews so far and the cuddly dog videos on social media and stuff not really cutting it for a presidential candidate to be fair.

"Heather" no doubt will have the FFG script learnt off to a tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭mvt

No doubt what is happening in Russia today is a huge security concern but a Pacifist might also think that a military build up in Germany is not the answer.

Again you keep coming across as trying to tell people what they should think.

One last thing ,am genuinely interested in your claim that Germany was receiving arms & training in pre war Russia, where did you get this information- this is not a dig,just am unaware of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

Well we can agree on Steen certainly. However I honestly cannot see how you believe that CC, thus far, would pass with flying colours.

She thinks that the irish people, in chosing who to vote for in the presidential election, need to know that

• In her opinion, America is an imperial power comparable to Russia
    • Hamas should have a role in the future of Palestine
    • German Re-armament is something we should be very worried about, considering the 1930s

We are less than 3 days into the campaign proper. And the above are the serious talking points. Whatsmore, she knew when she expressed these views, that they would be the talking points. She has been a politician for years, she absolutely HAD to expect that she was setting a fire, that would burn for while, and be spoken about by all. She hasnt brought up NATO yet, but honestly it is coming, we can all see it down the track.

Like i said in my previous longwinded post (apologies)- she can course-correct, and state how she would behave if in office. But if her behavior on the campaign is anything to go on; if that is all we have to judge her on, then she is less credible than the other two.

What people dont seem to get, IMHO, is that it really doesnt matter if you agree with her. As president, her role is very limited, and she must reflect the counrty in a favourable light. She must fullfill her constitutional obligations, to the letter of the law, and she must avoid controversy. You could agree with everything she says, while acknowledging that she lacks credibility by continually raising contentious topics. The debate on monday will be interesting, but I will await the question to be asked - how will she behave if something comes up during her presidency, that she has strong opinions on. I gave examples in my previous post, so wont ramble on again.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Hamas have no future in a proper peace settlement if there ever is one in the Middle East. There isn’t even a peace process right now. Hamas exist and are in the position they’re in because the Israelis put them there. Your ignorance on this topic is all the more abhorrent because you sit there bumping your gums about something you clearly know nothing about. Go and educate yourself on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭mvt

I would be fairly certain that whoever is elected to the presidency of Ireland is of little to no concern of any other members of the EU.