Presidential Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Because political parties back their own candidates!

If an independent wants to run, they need to get their own signatories. This has always been the way. It is not up to political parties to facilitate anyone and everyone just because they have the numbers to do so. It has never happened so I don't know why people expect it to happen now.

1938 - Douglas Hyde President after running unopposed - backed by FF and FG

1945 - Sean T.O'Kelly backed by FF, Sean MacEoin backed by FG and 3 Inds, Patrick McCurtan backed by Labour and Clann na Talmhan

1959 - DeV (FF) and Sean Mac Eoin (FG)

1966 - DeV (FF) and Tom O'Higgins (FG)

1973 - Childers (FF) and O'Higgins (FG)

1974 - Cearbhall O Dalaigh backed by FF, FG and Labour

1976 - Hillery (FF) ran unopposed

1990 - Robinson (Labour, Workers), Lenihan (FF) and Austin Currie (FG)

1997 - McAleese (FF, PDs), Banotti (FG), Roche (Labour, DL, Greens), Dana (Councils), Derek Lally (Councils)

2011 - Higgins (Labour), Mitchell (FG), McGuinness (SF and Inds), Gallagher, Davis, Norris, Dana (All councils)

2018 - Higgins (self), Ni Riada (SF), Casey, Duffy, Gallagher, Freeman (all councils).

TDs wouldn't sign nomination papers of consituency rivals to run against them. Why do people expect it to be different here?

Maria Steen had a pathway to get on the ballot paper. She left it too late and, quite frankly, was far too polarising that even the likes of McDowell and Canney couldn't bring themselves to sign her papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

A woman that the rest of the english speaking world will struggle to understand (without an interpreter)

Presume this is Humphries? I think her, ahem, strong regional accent will actually stand to her with rural Irish voters, buck the lazy perception that Protestant = West British…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭AugustRain

Simon Harris and Michael Martin and Mary Lou wiping the sweat from their brows tonight.
    Phew. That was close.

Even if she didn’t actually win, it looks like Maria Steen was going to get a lot of votes for a candidate who only started campaigning a few days ago.
    Any live tv debate between the 4 candidates was going to be tough watch for them when you look back to how she made Michael Martin look like an ignorant uneducated fool live on tv last year.
    The TV debate between the mad old terrorist supporting Trot and the wife of the Orangeman with a few squeeks from the sports hero thrown in will hardly be the stuff of legend.
    Oh well.
    But sure the Irish people are SOOOO much happier and peacefull and contented now….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,040 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Steen and her supporters want to roll back human rights. I am never going to accept that stance or make 'common ground' with it.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,451 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Do they get the whole party to sign the nomination papers?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Even if she didn’t actually win, it looks like Maria Steen was going to get a lot of votes for a candidate who only started campaigning a few days ago.

What on earth is this narrative based on?

Her inability to secure enough support to get on the ballot and her terrible polling numbers show she is the real winner here. Just mental projection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭francois

No evidence at all for this assertion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,594 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

This is why Steen is probably thrilled she didn't get the nomination.

Herself and whatever supporters she has can regal everyone with tales of her guaranteed successful campaign being ruined.

Rather than getting an awful kicking and trudging in last in front of everyone. This way Steen is the "True Champion"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,756 ✭✭✭plodder

Hate to say it but this unsuccessful nominee has a point. Scheduling multiple council meetings (concerning presidential nominations) at the same time, is obviously absurd and unfair. It's a bit like saying to voters - you must be in this place to register and receive your ballot paper, and that place to cast your vote, both at the same time. You can't be in two places at the same time and maybe an accident of scheduling isn't a good enough justification.

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2025/09/24/academic-seeks-to-challenge-unlawful-nomination-process-for-presidential-election/

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,229 ✭✭✭✭L1011

There's also some absolute nonsense from her, sufficiently stupid as to probably sink her case - the dictatorship thing, the claiming a party whip is unconstitutional.

Councillors are part time and have set days for meetings. If council meetings are to be more spread out they'd need to be full time, at a massively increased cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,756 ✭✭✭plodder

I was going to edit the post to point that out. Yes, some of it is bluster. But, the point I mentioned is certainly arguable and judges are well used to filtering out bluster to find the core issue at stake. And not saying she has any chance of getting this election postponed as she'd need to prove that whatever restrictions that were imposed on her prevented her from getting four nominations, but I wouldn't be surprised at all if this affects future elections. To address your second point, how might that work? It would need central government getting involved and maybe legislation.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,867 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Maria Steen’s views or life won’t have moved on or changed in 7 years time so she can just run again, maybe be a bit more organised. You never know, a little more time and she could have found the extra two TDs willing to sign up to a candidate focused on limiting human rights and freedoms. Better luck next time. She can wipe her tears with a €50 note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,286 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

CC sounds like an awful dose on Newstalk ATM. Loose cannon waiting to blow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭AugustRain

interesting to note that you’ve no comment to make on my estimate of the calibre of the current 3 nominees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,512 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Now the actual campaign can start, thank God.

Everyone knows what the nomination process is and, much like our PR general election system, it tends to filter out the lesser quality candidates and focus on serious people. Our electoral systems are more about consensus building, far better than the winner-takes-all approach of other nations. As for the nomination process being 'unlawful', I'd love to see someone take that to court to test out that theory if they're that convinced.

I'm not terribly enthused about any of the three candidates. I can't bring myself to vote no. 1 for FF and what I've seen of Gavin so far is less than inspiring. I'm not too familiar with Humphreys, though all this guilty by association seems unfair. I'd probably be most in agreement with Connolly's overall views but I have doubts about her being too far to the left, judging by some of the stories I've seen about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Conversation and debate about things affecting our country.

Not far off conflicts or appeasing a community that hates us.

Ill vote for Jim. The other two doses can argue with each other about inclusion or why we should care about two sets of people who have been kicking seven shades of shite out of each other for a century.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I've already seen some campaign posters in the wild (CC), when there are only 3 candidates we hardly need reminding of them on the side of the road, do we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,187 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I also think that Dr. Stack has raised a good point regarding the simultaneous scheduling of council meetings.

It's patently unfair to expect prospective candidates to be in two places at the same time.

Co-ordination on dates and times could be arranged centrally by the Custom House.

Presidential elections only take place every seven years so it wouldn't be too much of a burden on councillors.

If it was felt necessary an extra item could be added to their renumeration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Plastic election posters all over Dublin, presume they’re in every town in the country. Why? There are three candidates, if you don’t know who they are, you must be a hermit. There is no justification for these environmental disasters. Shame on them all…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭mvt

A lot of the FF & FG ones along the quays in Dublin City centre although hard to see the party affiliation on them- am interested to see how CC ones are branded .

It would be great if all three candidates would agree to a no poster set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,132 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Catherine Connolly's comments today about German arms spending are very brave in the sense that she's not afraid of people seeing her genuine opinion.

They're also very stupid, that by the time the 9 o'clock news is finished this evening her election chances are likely finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,594 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Connonly by virtue of the quality of her opponents could have a decent shot but every interview she gives just harms her own chances.

Its impressive the amount of own goals she gets per interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I'm in two minds what to do in the ballot box.

Spoil my vote.

Or vote for the worst candidate I have seen in my lifetime (in terms of front runners), Connolly. She'll destroy whatever is left of our international reputation, which for a country completely reliant on our ability to attract foreign companies should consign another generation of young Irish people to a life abroad away from family and friends.

Because it seems, Irelands "liberal class", who are the most viciously intolerant ideologues I've seen in my lifetime, whose policies are anti economic growth, anti family, and anti - Irish policies you will see anywhere, have no interest in listening to any alternate views as our cities and towns slide fairly rapidly downhill and the crises mount up across housing, education, healthcare, crime not to mention or worsening mental health crisis. We have done severe damage to our farmers and our tourism industries that are the biggest indigenous industries we have.

I feel sorry for young people when I come across them, this country is very bleak for anyone with ambition, the culture is drowning in cocaine, crime and not to mention the suffocating ideology that forces people to lie just to preserve their jobs.

Just look at the state of Dublin.

Like a drunk or an addict, we need to hit rock bottom. That is why I am considering voting for Connolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,040 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

the suffocating ideology that forces people to lie just to preserve their jobs.

That's a laugh in a country where half of secondary and 95% of primary schools are church controlled, and in those schools teachers need to pretend to be a practising member of the 'right' religion to have any hope of promotion, or even to get appointed in the first place.

Also it's not hard to decode the not so cryptic reference to "anti-Irish policies"

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,229 ✭✭✭✭L1011

They work, and that's why they'll continue to be used until they're banned.

People insist they don't work on them same as they insist advertising doesn't work on them. It does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

It's hard not to admire CC's openness like on Newstalk when asked if there were more than two genders she said yes. Would loved to have heard her reply if the follow up was 'how many'?

She is what she is, a pacifist who doesn't really believe we should have an army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

The definition of a "Loose Cannon". Imagine 7 years of her on the International "pulpit".

And people thought Steen was a crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭mvt

Just Out of curiosity are you going to volunteer for any potential future wars- are you happy with the thought of your children having to do so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,585 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“And people thought Steen was a crazy.”

Where have you got that from? Steen is a qualified architect and barrister and Montessori teacher - she’s intelligent and very well qualified- her world perspective is underpinned by Catholicism - nothing particularly “crazy” with that - the majority of Irish people still profess to be of the Catholic religion- but very much a minority in 2025 for many demographics - her not being in this presidential race is unfortunate to say the least - she, more than any of the candidates, had the expertise to probe and highlight the other candidates for their lack of qualifications for the job or to expose complete bullsh1t- she would never have won- that’s pretty much a given in my view- but the presidential debates will be lacking depth and perspective and the contenders will be less challenged as a result - we’ll be reliant on interviewers and tv commentators and facilitators to do that job- fine, but her presence would have added an additional dynamic that’s now not there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

She’s the current star of the Iona Institute. Believe nothing she says. She managed to hoodwink a gay TD and another TD whose kid is gay. Believe nothing she says!!!!!