Israel/Palestine Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Miniegg

You have missed out on several thousand years of history if you start then. This goes back to the systematic ethnic cleansing of Jews by the Roman Empire and others

Really. Human habitation goes back around 1.5 million years in that area. It seems it's you that has missed out on hundreds and thousands of years of history by picking an arbitrary point in time and presenting that as the natural order ( which is also a trope used to justify the slaughter of a people who 100% rightly live there).

You are negating people who have lived on the land continuously both during and since this arbitrary point in time because at some point their religion changed, and instead tell us that people (many of whom are as European as you or me) are really the natives purely because they pray to a God was worshipped in that area at the time of the fecking Roman Empire.

It's mind boggling nonsense.

Post edited by Miniegg on

Read this morning that Ben Gvir lad trying to have the people on the flotilla listed as terrorists, and treat them as such when apprehended.

People bringing food and medicine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

How far back should we go? Some say October 7th, others 2005, or 1967. It started in 1947 or was 1917? What about the crusades or the Muslim invasion in the 10th(?) Century? Should we go back to Roman times, Alexander the Great, Babylonia, Ancient Egypt?

How about everyone stops looking back to justify shite and actually try building a future. I know, I know. It's a pipe dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Attacking a Humanitarian Flotilla now carrying baby formula. Jesus, everyone's Hamas...

How many fronts are they trying to preserve their racist state on now?

Screenshot_20250924-090343_X.jpg

This colonial outpost isn't worth keeping...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,340 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Just after reading about the anti Israel protest at the Vuelta Espana that resulted in stages cancelled and even participants injured by protestors, all endorsed by the Spanish government.

The question now has shifted from does Israel has a right to defend itself but should it exist at all. The right wing in Israel are actually turning the fight against Hamas into an existential crisis of their own making.

🙈🙉🙊

I just find that stuff about the Roman Empire to be the biggest pile of sh*te I have ever heard. How many different populations of people have moved on from their "homeland" (which they moved to from somewhere else before) since the fecking Romans were in power? I don't hear anyone else advocating for groups - with only tenuous links via their religion - to invade countries and drive out native populations who are living there.

And this has nothing to do with Jewishness for people advocating this - if it was happening in England they wouldn't be for it. It's because Palestinians are mostly Muslim and they are bigoted against them.

I don't think you can honestly deny Gazans are the victims of a people wanting to claim their land for themselves.

But we are where we are. There are millions of Israelis and millions of Palestinians in that area now. Whether the Israelis have a "right" to be there or not, is irrelevant. It would be impossible to move either Israeli or Gazan population without tens of thousands of deaths, and I would say impossible to do it without genocide, so it can't happen.

In that regard, Israel has a right to exist, for the protection of it's people, and think the exact same of Palestinians. It may not be fair, but compromise has to be sought for the greater good. Anything else is a call for death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Just to acknowledge other posters responses to this. What a pile of absolute dung!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

You could go further back, as far as 135AD when the Roman Empire enslaved the Jews and renamed judea to Syria Palestinia over the Bar Kokhba Revolt. But regardless we both agree that it started before the 7th of October massacre

Generally speaking even you have 3 major religions with holy sites in one area you're only ever going to get trouble from the hard liners, regardless of the religions involved

But talking too much about history can get you stuck there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

It's an amazingly sensible pipe dream to be fair to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,403 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

They might have believed they were coming home but they weren't. That wasn't their home. And the majority of people who lived there were descendants of the people who lived there thousands of years ago. The christians in the area were the descendants of early converts. The same with the muslims.

They lived there. They were born there. And suddenly a load of Europeans and Americans turn up and say they own the place? Kicking out Palestinians was just as bad as the nazi's kicking out jewish people. And it's based on the same stupid racist logic. Deciding that a particular ethnicity has the rights to a land despite the people who have been living there hundreds of years. Sorry but because of bad science and racist myths, we have more right to your home than you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,078 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Well worth listening to this interview with the Social Democrats Senator Patricia Stephenson on Newstalk yesterday about the West Bank. She visited there recently. It covers all aspects of it - Occupation/Settlers/Violence/Apartheid laws etc.

Israel are trying to make life unliveable there while the focus is on Gaza.

Is what we’re seeing online in the West Bank accurate? - GoLoud Player

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,566 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

You can read it in full here:https://archive.ph/4EQVb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,566 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Well if he gives Israel the go ahead we are about to find out if Dubai's red line is a bluff. I suspect it is seeing how the strike on Qatar has played out. The more i think about that, i bet the Qataris were probably informed too and the perfomative outrage after the strike was for the Arab street. If it does happen its going to make the Saudis look weak too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,592 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Interesting development with the flotilla

https://www.reuters.com/world/europe/italy-condemns-attack-gaza-aid-flotilla-sends-navy-ship-help-2025-09-24/

Not sure why it wont link. Anyhow:

ROME, Sept 24 (Reuters) - Italian Defence Minister Guido Crosetto on Wednesday strongly condemned an overnight attack on an international flotilla trying to deliver aid to Gaza.

In a statement, Crosetto also said he had redirected an Italian navy ship to head towards the flotilla to possibly offer assistance.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,689 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

There are no innocent people in Gaza and obviously none on the flotilla either. There's a trend and it only follows Zionist mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,229 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

False flag on the Flotilla ?

No idea what you mean. Have you not followed the MO here?

Originally the flotillas were "selfie yachts" to Israeli spokespeople.

Now they are calling them "Hamas yachts" and extremists in government trying to argue the people on board are terrorists, for bringing food and medicine.

You can guess yourself what is likely to happen to when language like that is used (hint there weren't terrorists in every school/church/ hospital/ crèche / farm / mosque/ apartment building /house / queuing for food in Gaza).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,194 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Another 22 murdered by Israel, 9 of them innocent children but i'm sure the pro-israel lads will be along any minute to expand why these children deserved to die.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Fu<king dirty scumbag Israeli / IDF bastards - 9 kids - An absolute disgrace.

Were the 9 kids Hamas members?

Or are they just "collateral" damage as the equally scummy Israeli supporters here will say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

If Italy send a naval ship, there's a very good possibility it's going to be made a permanent submarine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,943 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Why are people still in gaza city ? Why haven't they moved their kids ? Are they being blocked by the IDF/Hamas?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Because its their homes - they shouldnt have to move for a genocidal maniac of a country.

Are you implying its the Palestinians fault their kids were killed?

They have no where else to go - they go south and their tents are bombed - maybe a bit better protection against bombs in a build versus a tent!!!

Post edited by Hellrazer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

There is a strong case now for a UN military peace enforcement and humanitarian aid force to be sent under Chapter 7. The US wont allow it though. There are strong echoes of Bosnia in 1995.

Let this war be a warning of what happens when you (both sides) elect religious nationalists.

It cant be a worse option than staying and your children being blown up . People are fleeing their homes in their thousands from all over the world every single day for less.

Imagine not finding fault with the people dropping the bombs, but with the people being bombed.

I had blocked you for a reason, now I remember why….

Why are you making things up? Who isn't finding fault with dropping bombs on civilians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,078 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

You make it sound so easy. The Red Cross have said a mass movement of people like that needs to be organised and fully supplied. It isn't. What Israel are doing is also illegal under international law. They have no food, water, energy, transport, communications, medical supplies etc. Many are injured or traumatised. Most are probably living in tents or in rubble. But you want them to just take their meagre belongings to the roads and wander? They probably have heard that Israel plan to house them in concentration camps. They know they will never see home again.

Buy hey, jump on a bus muslims, ye are being expelled. Skip along now.

There are a huge amount of orphans in Gaza and there are reports of children saying they would rather be dead like their friends and relatives.

Your empathy is admirable.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

They probably have heard that Israel plan to house them in concentration camps. They know they will never see home again.

Israel will offer them showers as well knowing those scumbags.