Presidential Election 2025

Wouldnt consider myself right wing, but I would vote for Steen. Failing that I'll probably give Connolly a vote. Its not a political role apparently so I'm personally looking for someone who can speak well and have a bit of decorum in the role. FFG wont be getting a vote in any case. Neither Gavin nor "heather" speak well imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,002 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The majority of Seanad members are elected by the same councils that FFG have whipped. They know they're toast next time out if they don't play ball. The Taoiseach nominates another 11. This is the Seanad that FFG promised to reform many many times after 18 reports on how dysfunctional it is.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭TheCitizen

FFG have been in government either together or one or the other leading while the other lead opposition since the foundation of the state. Bertie was personally corrupt but a far better politician than the current fella. Instead of doing a deal with a real party to form this government, a real political party that would have real demands and standards, the sleveen along with his pals in FG who are tired and bored in office just took the easy road. An alternative coalition looks like it’s forming because of his weak leadership and lack of foresight. I think you know what I’m talking about.

They (SF and Labour and Social Democrats and others) will have to follow through on it and build a strong coalition to win a General Election but the reaction from FFG shills against the coalescing behind Connolly’s candidacy and Micheál Martin himself with such a dramatic and shrill admonition (about the use of the word fabric apparently) is very revealing. It’s put the wind up FFG alright.

Interesting times ahead.

Mark, you’re reaching, that’s pretty desperate. Really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,617 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Steen is VERY right wing by Irish standards so like it or not voting for her is supporting her views and kind of makes you right wing.

Examples of the views she and Iona espouse, they are pro-Israel and the genocide of palestinians, they are against gay marriage and abortion as well as being anti-immigration with vaguely racist dog whistling and ironically her views are so regressive she would like to return us to a point in our countries history where she herself wouldn't have been able to qualify as a barrister or even run for president.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Why does it "not look good" though?

It's not like this is the only time there have only been "official" party supported candidates in the Presidential election.

This will be the 13th contested Presidential election in the history of the State and we've only had candidates from the council route 3 times.

Getting in via the councils is the exception, not the rule.

The idea that party affiliated councillors not voting for a candidate seeking to run against their own parties candidate is somehow "Anti-Democratic" is utter nonsense and shows a complete lack of understanding of how "politics" works.

Echoes of the complaints from some groups about PR voting when their candidate topped the 1st preferences but then failed to get elected as they were transfer toxic and dropped like a stone in the later counts

Everyone knew the process/rules going in.

If Steen, Sheridan or indeed anyone else was serious about this they'd have been putting in the work for months to build support and alignment.

Complaining that someone couldn't get support at the last minute is just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,002 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

It has been a very good election to date in so far as revealing and exposing the rot in our democratic system and of course uniting the left. You can nearly see the FFG team reading every utterance from Connolly and thinking of ways to use it for propaganda purposes. RTE on speed dial too. The "looks" angle was all they had for a while. When this election is over the fanboys here will not be able to hold their heads very high. I think they will also wonder what exactly they are doing when their beloved power swap TDs continues to do nothing about all our problems. You should have a look at the Michael D Higgins threads - when he was criticising the housing crisis, the same boyos were going bananas.

"Steen is VERY right wing by Irish standards"

By Irish standards.,lols! Somehow in the last few years the Irish center has gone so far to the left that Irish standards of left and right are more or less an irrelevance, and don't determine my politics in anyway.

If I'm right wing "by Irish standards", I'll survive tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

The reforms that the country voted against when given the opportunity??

Arah stop. Enda deliberately scuppered his own Seanad abolishment referendum. It was a pretence. FFG would never ever abolish it. It's a gravy train for them. "New Politics" was the biggest joke of the 2011 election

We never voted on the subsequent promised reform of the Seanad.

So you think being anti-abortion, anti immigration, anti gay marriage and against progressing women's equality in the workplace to name but a few of Ionas regressive policies are not right wing?

I do find it hilarious that you say if you cant vote for Steen you would vote for Connolly, when the 2 of them could not be further apart on literally every issue politically, socially or economically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,133 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No, the voters were offered abolition or status quo. They chose status quo.

At the same time, reform was promised in the aftermath of the referendum, by my party, and it hasn't come. Not even a bit. And thats very poor in my view.

I detest Iona and organised religion but I can tell you that a few lads here would have voted for Steen because she was well dressed and didn't have "unkempt grey hair". That's the level.

It would have been interesting to see the support she would have received but nothing more.

why wouldn’t it be? They’ve never really tried it before a genuine, disciplined coalition of ABFFG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,226 ✭✭✭✭L1011

We had two ABFF Governments in the 40s/50s, albeit they included FG. They were rather bag-of-cats'y in their formation and indeed operation but did (declaration of the Republic, joining the UN) and tried to do (Mother and Child scheme) massive reforms that deV's FF probably wouldn't do.

Might be out of living memory but it's heavily taught in LC History so there's plenty of people aware of it - could be something to allude to in campaigns.

SF, Labour and SD maybe could do it, but the likes of PBP et al are incapable of operating in a coalition beyond a week as they simply will never compromise on anything, it is always their way or no way.

You might point out where I said any of that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,435 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

DictionaryDefinitions from Oxford Languages · Learn morerumour/ˈruːmə/nounplural noun: rumours

1. a currently circulating story or report of uncertain or doubtful truth."they were investigating rumours of a massacre"Similar:gossiphearsaytalktittle-tattlethe grapevinethe word on the person present: rumours
    2. be circulated as an unverified account."it's rumoured that he lives on a houseboat"

🙄

They said that about Democratic Left back in the day but when they got into office they found their discipline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,415 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Has Lowry declared yet? Or are they still working on him?

The conditions are there and Micheál Martin has played his part in creating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,205 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So in other words because she is well educated and able to strongly debate other candidates she shouldn't be allowed to run because she has opinions you don't agree with.

That isn't very democratic.

Somehow in the last few years the Irish center has gone so far to the left that Irish standards of left and right are more or less an irrelevance

Saying you would vote for Steen and if not possible then Connolly shows you up for being an unserious political dilettante so I wont be engaging with your ignorant tripe anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,435 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Ms Connolly should have realised that her past actions would ,in my opinion, go against her.

She showed poor political judgement there, I feel.

Getting involved with O'Doherty and the pair Daly and Wallace resonated badly with the electorate.

Then obfuscation and deflection on MI put the tin hat on her chances.

Way too many mistakes made before she even got to the start line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,430 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Well if you're applying for a largely symbolic job, that involves a lot of meet & greet, physical appearance, grooming and the ability to speak articulately are certainly desirable qualifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,133 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

More than that, Brenner, the parties backing her now should have realised it.

Lowry declared in 1987. He is Fine Gael to the bone since. He also likes money but prefers to have assets undeclared. Perfect material for government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

SF could have nominated someone. They chose to back CC an already nominated candidate. I believe the glorious left alliance fcuked up on that.

The whole cry foul on FF/FG on nominations is a nonsense. They backed their own candidates and rightly so. All that wrong in the minds of the Cryer is that there aren't enough candidates in the field to dilute the FF/FG vote. It looks like that is going to make it very hard for CC to get elected.