Northern Ireland 2125?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,215 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

So, another question you don't know the answer to.

does anyone know if it is possible in the south to get a derogation on having bi-lingual signage on place names?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭csirl

I live in Dublin. Havent heard any negative comments. Its not a topic of conversation. Likewise, there was no negative reaction to her being appointed to a senior cabinet role.

P.S Im not a supporter of hers - just being honest about it. Most people in the rest of Ireland dont give a monkeys about what relgious background someone comes from.

Anonymous comments on facebook could be from anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭Francis McM

So what did you think of the low, vicious and sectarian smear campaign aimed at Heather Humphreys on social media for the simple reason that in her youth she attended Orange parades close to her home near the border? And the reaction towards her husband and what he does or did in his private time, even though it was lawful and did not hurt anyone? Many hundreds of people have attacked her on facebook alone. In this country imagine the sectarian reaction from the Kneecap generation, the "Uh ah up the Ra" (as sung by Irish ladies national soccer team) generation, not on facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

We don't need to imagine.....we can see what the reaction to Heather Humphreys is. They elected her for twenty years between County Council, a Mayorship and the Dáil. She's currently the bookies favourite for President.

Seems like society has had a pretty damn positive reaction to Heather Humphreys, and it certainly doesn't appear that her Protestant background or old Orange links have held her back from substantial success in an area that is hugely dictated by public opinion.

Any chance of a link to your posts about the Star of Shankhill band or the memorial parade they attend since you claimed you'd be right out to condemn glorifying murder from that side of the fence by the way?

You did not answer the question: what did you think of the low, vicious and sectarian smear campaign by hundreds if not thousands of posters aimed at Heather Humphreys on social media for the simple reason that in her youth she attended Orange parades close to her home near the border? Have you seen some of the hundreds of posts abusing her / the OO on facebook etc? What would the sectarian abuse be like is she was ever a member of the OO? Instead she says she is a proud republican so that's probably good enough for most people in the country.

I never mentioned Star of Shankhill band. I do not know much about them, but I condemn all para-military activity. I do not think they have ever called for Sinn Fein TDs or MPs to be murdered, the same as Kneecap called for Tory MPs to be murdered? Have they chanted "Up the UVF" the same as the Irish national soccer ladies team chanted "Up the 'RA"? A quick look online and they reference one of their members or residents shot by the British Army, and a mural depicts their communities contribution towards fighting in WW1. During WW1, the original UVF transformed into the British Army's 36th (Ulster) division, and fought with heavy losses, particularly at the Somme in 1916. After the war, in 1919, the UVF was demobilised. They commemorate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Who cares if there is a derogation?

There should be one, if people want it.

I've shared my opinion on that already, and I have seen an awful lot more of the DUP grandstanding about how awful it was that Heather Humphreys was apparently some sort of pariah for her Protestant background and Orange Order connection than I did anyone actually making a pariah of her because of it. A handful of gobsh*tes on Facebook aren't representative of society at large. I don't believe she has received substantially more vitriol online than any other comparable public figure be that either side of the border in Ireland, in Britain, the US or any other country I'd have a degree of active political awareness of.

A better representation of general society in Ireland's feelings on her background would be the fact that she was elected by the public for twenty years and is currently favourite to be elected President. A handful of gobsh*tes on Facebook don't seem to have had too bad an impact on her career.

As for the Star of Shankill, it's pretty amazing that you've never heard of them when you seem to know every time someone with a Republican background so much as farts. They haven't called for SF TDs to be murdered, they just walk around with a crest and bass drum memorialising Brian Robinson and march along with many other Loyalist bands at an annual parade commemorating him. If you're unaware who Brian Robinson is, I suggest you read up before responding.

I also note your, 'but I condemn all paramilitary activity' response and I'd just point out that you've accused Francie of refusing to condemn the PIRA on multiple occasions for giving a similarly non-specific response when asked to do so.

Edit; the update you've made to your post makes it worse, not better. I REALLY suggest reading who Brian Robinson was before replying. I'll give you a clue, his UVF didn't fight in WWI.

The photo of the bands large wall mural in the Shankhill showed the UVF they were commemorating on the mural were very much involved in WW1, as the painting was of members of the B.A Ulster division at the Somme, in trenches etc. I did mention/ reference one of their members or residents shot by the British Army, his name you say is Brian Robinson, so what? Goes to show the British army were rightfully tough on loyalist terrorists as well as republican terrorists. I condemn all illegial UVF activity during the troubles, and at any other times. I also condemn fully, in the strongest possible terms, the Shankhill butchers and all paramilitary groups and sectarian murderers. You cannot say I refuse to condemn terrorism, just because FrancieBrady refuses to condemn the IRA / pIRA / INLA etc.

As regards HH, you may not have thought she got any criticism because of her families OO connections, but then why did it make headline news, inc front page headline in one Sunday newspaper for example? Even though she pleads she is a proud republican herself, the vitriol she is receiving online, hundreds of posts, about "Orangism" is far worse that any negative comment anyone else is getting on their pages.

but then why did it make headline news, inc front page headline in one Sunday newspaper for example?

Why not email the journalist and editor?

The single sacrificial goat Loyalist victim of the Shoot to Kill policy absolutely does nothing to demonstrate that the BA were tough on Loyalist paramiltaries....indeed, they were often working together.

1000051250.jpg

This is a t-shirt showing the Star of Shankill crest. The same crest and logo is on their bass drum. They and several other bands march every year in a memorial parade for Brian Robinson. The Brian Robinson they're memorialising was a member of the UVF and not the one that fought in the Somme 50 years before he was born. He shot Paddy McKenna 11 times and killed him for being a Catholic, nothing more.

The pretending to support the UVF who fought at the Somme as a cover for waving UVF regalia around in support of the modern and current UVF is a tired old trope that none but the most gullible would believe.

Aren't you immensely critical of GAA grounds named after their members who were also Provos? Yet here you are defending a Loyalist band doing the same.....curious.

No need to email the editor or journalist responsible for the front page headline about a family member of a Presidential hopeful once belonging to the OO. We all know why: as someone else explained to you

"The other way of looking at it is that public discourse down here has got so extremist that any kind of links to any kind of unionist organisation is met with hostility. A rap group named after an IRA torture method gets huge popular acclaim, Up the Ra becomes a song celebrating Irish identity, any attempt to look at both sides of the conflict such as commemorating the RIC gets attacked etc. Just look at the fuss being made over who can speak Irish that 80% of the population can't understand.

Any candidate operating in such a skewed political atmosphere would obviously distance themselves from the OO, no matter what they thought of it."

The OO is a sectarian by it's laws and charter, quasi-religious organisation steeped in blood.

That is why journalists ask about connections to it and why it will never sit well here.

It is also why Heather wanted to hide her connection to it and why nearly 60,000 moderate Unionists have left it since the 60/70's.

The band is called Star of Shankhill. They are not called the Brian Robinson band. We do not know his rationale for murdering Paddy McKenna, as Robinson was himself killed by an undercover British army unit who happened to be nearby. According to you the B.A and loyalists were "often" working together - but they did not give names of suspected IRA to Robinson, Robinson just killed Murray because he was a Catholic you say. And the BA killed Robinson and jailed as many loyalists as they jailed republicans, but yet you say the the BA and loyalists were "often" working together. They were not working together when they killed Robinson, or are you going to spin it that the BA were trying to kill innocent Catholics and shot Robinson by mistake after ramming him off his motorbike?

Back to the band: have ever called for Sinn Fein TDs or MPs to be murdered, the same as Kneecap called for Tory MPs to be murdered? Have they chanted "Up the UVF" the same as the Irish national soccer ladies team chanted "Up the 'RA"?

I condemn two people putting "in memory of Brian Robinson" in small letters on the back of their t-shirts. Is that the best you can do? seriously?

If 2 people put in memory of Bobby Sands or in memory of some other republican on the back of their t-shirts I could not care less, especially if they came from the same street / road. T-shirts are worn a few times and thrown in the bin. Big deal if that is the worst loyalist behaviour you can come up with.

Come off of that, you have seen Francie only two or three posts ago making a scene about an English-language sign in Drum as if it was the only one in the country, and making an insinuation about HH.

There was only the slightest veneer of respectability on that sectarian reference.

The Catholic Church is sectarian and homophobic and anti-women as well as being steeped in blood, yet connections to it go without comment.

Do you even know what 'sectarian' means?

Unlike others I do not put a tooth in what I think of the OO and it's role on this island.

P.S. I don't know if the Drum sign is the only one in the country, that is why I asked the question. Where else have the residents decided what goes on the place name signage?

Give it up, you asked the question for the following reasons:

(1) It was Heather Humphrey's hometown

(2) It was a mainly Protestant village

Nothing else, no other reasons, all for sectarian political reasons, to draw people's attention to it. As I said, a veneer of respectability by making it about bilingualism, but transparently false.

Why should some residents get to decide these things?

Can I decide what's on the road signage outside my house?

Why the rarefied terms for some and not others?

I am glad that you have conceded that you made the point for sectarian political reasons. All because it was a Protestant village, hometown of Heather Humphreys.

There are other English language signs out there, not a huge number, but there are a few, but no, you didn't make it about them, you made it about the hometown of a Protestant politician (And I am not going to rescue you by telling you where they are). You probably got the photo and idea from some other sectarian hate-filled website or discussion board.

At least this time you have owned your sectarianism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

There are new ‘campaigns’ of this sort every day on Facebook - the island has no shortage of eejits. I think Humphreys would be an excellent president, low key and well aware of the political minefield that comes with the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I admire the Protestants of the South who stayed on and made a go of it in a country that wasn’t always welcoming to them. The majority were not landed gentry. During the Troubles somebody (who wasn’t the full shilling we later found out) painted a Sinn Féin slogan on the road outside the house of a farmer I worked for. He kept a shotgun in his bedroom after that. Back then, there was a deep sense of insecurity in their community.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

The band's logo/crest says, 'in memory of Brian Robinson'. Honestly, if you can't even discuss a band's crest memorialising a UVF murderer without going off into a rant about SF, or downplaying celebrating an ACTUAL murderer as, 'just a few letters' when you're filled with invective when, 'just a few words' are uttered by the likes of Kneecap, is there any point trying to have any sort of rational conversation with you?

It is not, 'just two people', that photograph was an example of the band's crest. That is on every member of the band and it is on their bass drum they proudly march with. They go to a fecking Brian Robinson Memorial Parade every year, of course you try to minimalise it despite your claims to the contrary on how you would condemn such behaviour from both sides equally.

Ah I think it's best if we go back on time out with eachother, Francis. Debating with you is like playing chess with a pigeon.

If your vague inference about a sign in English is the sort of vitriol that Heather Humphreys is receiving online, I'd suggest those complaining need thicker skin.

If that's it, I'd make my point even more confidently that I've heard a lot more condemnation from the DUP of the supposed pariah status of a woman elected consistently for twenty years and current favourite for the Presidency than I've seen anything actually demonstrating said pariah status her Protestantism and connection with the OO allegedly bring.

I've heard more offensive said on playgrounds.

I am glad that you have conceded that you made the point for sectarian political reasons

More of your tiresome altering of posts because your own points don't have a leg to stand on.

There are other English language signs out there, not a huge number, but there are a few, but no

Course you aren't going to reveal where.

Same question about them if they exist.

How do you go about getting the road signage changed outside your home? Can anyone do it? This is from the legislation:

(5). Names of towns or places, or other words shall be shown in Irish and English in two parallel lines at least three quarters of an inch apart.

What it is all really about - 'themuns getting more that usuns'

And Bryson trying desperately to make himself relevant.

“If we can’t walk Drumcree or the Crumlin Road, then they can’t have Irish language signage. If the Orange Order don’t get equivalent investment, then not a penny more should go to the GAA.

“If they want to continue to target our cultural celebrations, then we should target theirs and the DUP in the Executive should lead that fight It is time for strength, not weakness.”

I know you are complaining about the Star of Shankhill band ( named after the Shankhill road where it comes from), and getting upset about them, but it seems to me that the loyalist community in general do not commemorate dead paramilitaries / terrorists as many in the republican community in N.I. do. Commemorating dead republicans seems to be across the class spectrum in N.I. too? What do you think of Joe Brolly when he says

'It's nobody's business if GAA clubs are named after dead republican paramilitaries'"

Maybe you should head down to a SF advice centre and find out more ( oops, some of them are named after dead paramilitaries too)

Off to a sports ground, but be careful where you go if you do not want to go to one named after a dead paramilitary, or have a memorial to some there.

Personally I would prefer if nothing was named after dead paramilitaries / terrorists, but that is not going to happen in N.I. unfortunately. All the more reason not to have a U.I. when those in N.I. are as divided / bitter as that.

You cannot get a bigger memorial to a terrorist and the man who re-introduced the gun into Irish politics, than this.

image.png

Whatabouery at its finest. Actually he did not introduce the gun in to Irish politics : you conveniently ignore the United Irishmen in 1798, Robert Emmet’s 1803 rising, the 1848 Young Irelanders led by John Mitchel, and the 1867 Fenian rising, not to mention the 1882 Invincibles Phoenix Park assassinations.

Some would be of the opinion Carson was a reluctant warrior. Guns and other forms of violence were used long before that by both sides.

Major Crawford convinced the Ulster Unionist Council that he could provide the weapons and ammunition needed "to equip the entire UVF".

Money was made available to purchase the weapons and two ships to transport them. Funding apparently came from both British and Belfast Tory organizations; most senior Conservative leaders in London were aware of the plan.

In early February 1914, Crawford met with Edward Carson (the leader of the Ulster Unionist Party 1910–1921) in his home in London; Carson said "I'll see you through this business even if I should go to prison for it. You are the bravest man I have ever met.

What are you given for that?

The biggest of all 'memorials' in NI, that everyone involved in politics has to pass everyday.

So you are agreeing that Carson did not re-introduce the gun in to Irish politics? It was there all along, going back as far as the United Irishmen in 1798, Robert Emmet’s 1803 rising, the 1848 Young Irelanders led by John Mitchel, and the 1867 Fenian rising, not to mention the 1882 Invincibles Phoenix Park assassinations.

Some would be of the opinion that the Protestant all-class alliance was a people’s national response and one which did not descend into terror, rather preventing it. Its opposite number the Irish Volunteers (Oglaigh na hÉireann) in 1916 were acting for a minority of nationalists. Yes outside Stormont there is a statue, but many bigger structures, whose names are mentioned millions of times a year, in the 26 counties were re-named after people fond of the gun / up-rising eg the train stations etc.

Would you agree with Joe Brolly ( who we now know is not the "game changer" standing for SF in the Presidential elections!) when he says

It's nobody's business if GAA clubs are named after dead republican paramilitaries'"