General gaming discussion

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

It's "OD Knock", which gives me real Knack vibes.

Xbox is essentially multiplatform these days, so would be shocked if it isn't something like Indiana Jones, where there's a six month gap or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Does anything actually stay Xbox exclusive anymore? Not trying to be a smartarse, honestly struggling to think of MS's last big hitter that didn't end up everywhere else not long after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The XBox 1 still have Ninja Gaiden Black which means it has a game better than anything on PlayStation 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Astro bot ?

They could make a sequel which allows you to ground pound like Mario.

1000012343.png

Called Astro butt.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Does astrobot have as cool a ninja? I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,771 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Astro has Grey Fox, SolidSnake, Psychomantis and Raiden, all could be considered ninjas with at least one being a cyberninja. It also has Master Onion, Jin Sakai, Atsu and a number of other characters who perform ninja like activities. So its at least 7 times better.

Do they do ninja stuff like flipping out or do they do cute poses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,119 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,554 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

As much as i agree that wolverine looks button mashy, i had seen this spam tweet and thought why is he spamming jump. The quote made me chuckle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭panevthe3rd

Can't find the higher end model for pre order anywhere in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭panevthe3rd

Just showed up on the Harvey Norman website for €899.

Currys have a page but no pre order option, it's €999 there at the moment.

Smyths only have the lower end model for €599

You could get a steam deck AND a switch 2 for the price of those devices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,119 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Anybody here playing Silent Hill f?

Was planning to play it over Halloween but I'm hoping that the PC version gets fixed soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭recyclops

Gonna start when back from the states lookin forward to it, I got burned by two remake so hopefully this nails it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭MikeRyan87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,840 ✭✭✭quokula

Anyone playing Final Fantasy Tactics on a laptop? Wondering how playable it is on a touchpad.

I'm not sure but I put about 150 hours into the android touch screen port and it worked really well.

Ghost of Yotei is a walking screenshot simulator. I'm terrible at them, but every time you stop and look in this game, and often while in motion, it would make stunning photos if you were good at it. SuckerPunch are on fire. And a buttery smooth 60fps with RT, so they're really showing up all those other devs that dont provide stable 60fps. Somehow the bigger Sony owned devs are able to do it consistently.

Great game BTW. Less fecking about, straight into it, looks and plays excellently, voice acting is good, story is straight forward for now. As the reviews are saying, it doesnt do anything new, but it does everything brilliantly.

Well I'll be filing sucker punch games under never give these assholes money. Just reading about how they fired a senior developer over comments they made over deceased scumbag Charlie Kirk.

It's just ridiculous how good the Wii original versions of Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 stand up all these years later.

It's a shame new high res versions don't support the original Wii controllers with the IR pointer. It's just the best way to point at a screen (outside of a mouse). And the same controllers would be pretty sweet for Resident Evil remakes, etc etc erc

But I guess Nintendo don't want to tarnish or confuse people about Switch. And they can sell those controllers again when Switch 2 supports Wii games.

Ive no idea who Charlie was or what he did or what he said or why people are celebrating or upset over his murder, but its kinda silly to use your public profile which promotes your employer to say anything defamatory. You dont give employers much of a choice in this messed up social media driven times.

These people were probably told by HR numerous times rhat their comments online will be held against them. Yes, you should be free to say what you want, but when you essentially advertise your employer on the same account you're liable to kickback from those comments, right or wrong. **** sake, I was banned from a thread for essentially calling Dubland a shytehole so its present everywhere. SP is an American company, so she should have known better really. Far bigger things to worry about tbh. When I was a Garda I basically couldn't post anything negative about anyone or anything on my social media. Thems the deals. And again, especially nowadays where trial by social media is still ever so present, and so overshadowing in the United Stupidity of America.

Game is great, this craic doesnt bother me at all. Nor shall I continue with this line, ive said my bit and am moving on. Hate politics in general tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Anois_

I don't care about people dying from guns. In order for me to keep owning guns some people have to die.

Damn, I never realised it was going to be me.

You shouldn't be losing your job for criticizing a literal Nazi.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,115 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Nice little critical reflection here on what RPGs have lost in the transition from overworld maps to open worlds. Definitely something important lost in the march of progress - with Final Fantasy 7 the perfect example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭McFly85

FFVII was so well executed in that regard. Starting out in Midgar for the first few hours(the total length of some big games at the time) before you even saw the world map immediately made the game feel epic. How the map expanded was well done too with extended sequences for the first time reaching new places(like the boat from Junon to Costa Del Sol). There was also enough to explore to make it feel open.

Rebirth did an amazing job with the characters and the major locations but after the first area or 2 going off the beaten track felt like a real grind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭RedXIV

It's a valid point, and the point specifically about what was initially a hardware limitation but was actually a useful editor for the narrative, as opposed to trying to stitch areas together. Final Fantasy is a good series to watch the evolution (and experimentation) of this. The latest entry, 16 for example has arguably the most bland transitions from one area to another as corridors. I found the "dungeon" transition between open world areas in ff7 rebirth to be preferable and there was genuinely a little bit of joy when you eventually get the sea plane to connect the various areas, def hit the nostalgia buttons but we are still working to find the balance between filling a world to make it feel legit versus trying to streamline a narrative/gaming experience

Honestly don't think FF7 was that great in this regard when Dragon Quest 3 seems to be where that world map roll out originated. Pretty much every RPG after that game had a similar structure, Phantasy Star 4 in particular feels like it directly inspired FF7.

Accidentally discovered last night that Satisfactory is launching on PS5 on November 4th! I lost 60+ hours to this on PC, got to the final production request/level and realised it would need a total overhaul of what id done so far. So looking forward to getting tk that point again on console. Wonder how it'll compare, I only have a 3060 in the pc and I think thats roughly what's compared to the PS5, but the optimised Pro should run it better... should...