If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,167 ✭✭✭jackboy

True enough. There is an ad on the radio, I think it for children's vitamins or something. Harmless ad but there is background noise of a child laughing that annoys me. The laugh reminds me of those cheap Halloween toys with a creepy laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭cleanfarmer2025

Car ads are stupid nowadays. They used to be about the latest features, sat nav built in, bluetooth, auto adjust mirrors, auto adjust lights, automatic wipers, safety features.

Now it's all just aerial shots of cars driving winding, rural roads and how a car makes you feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

There is one for Seat where a guy sees the new car and his body starts spasming wildly. He looks annoyingly just like a henchman from an 80s or 90s action film. Like one of the gang members from The Crow or Robocop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,050 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

Car ads that show you a car with all bells and whistles …. and then at the bottom in tiny writing 'car model featured not available in Ireland' - I mean what the actual hell!! - why put it on an Irish TV station then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,152 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Safety features like touchscreen controls for heating, audio, lights - forcing the driver to take their eyes off the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Exactly, what matters in a car is can it get you from A to B and not break down. Anything else is secondary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Mitzy

The ad with the mother bringing the birthday cake to the young daughter who suddenly has a stroke. WTAF? I know they need to raise awareness but come on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭lucalux

Come on about what though?

Just went and had a look at the ad and can't see why you'd have an issue with it, but maybe I'm missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,020 ✭✭✭deezell

If the ad misdirected you from its message with completely different cues before the stroke punchline, theres a chance you'll not get the message. Their approach might work in a horror film, but it doesn't work here. You need to show the effects of a stroke, and reinforce the F.A.S.T mnemonic, Face, Arms, Speech and Telephone 999. The previous ad, also a party iirc, had a bloke with a stroke an it was very memorable. This new one is like some TicTok thing.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Wish the f*cking thing would just go away 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭forumdedum

Just Eat. Craig David is so boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,820 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

He wouldn't have got the part in James Bond if he was boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭forumdedum

These Lidl tool ads with 'Arnie', they seem to be bodged together from unconnected outakes, maybe generic scenes that can be purchased and stitched into an ad for anything. Perhaps the entire things are AI generated. The latest one in which he (or his manipulated image) shouts 'Strong work' (?) across a garden at a piece of outlandish topiary, cuts to a scene of said hedge with an alien looking female creature holding a hedge cutter, who replies in some impenetrable accent, 'sdrong dtools'. This has to be a bad AI, so unnatural and unreal does it sound and look. Maybe lidl have branches in a startrek episode.

Nah I actually think that ad is funny when she says that sdtrong dtools bit 🤣

It just comes out of nowhere 🤣

The RTE journalism ad is crap.

Multiple scenes of journalists powerwalking places.

Is the woman with the fringe an actor or is she a journo?

Def a journo. They went ballistic the last time an actor was used in a newsroom shot. In the beginnings they used theatrically trained people to actually read the news, the NUJ stamped that out a long time ago.

I was looking for an insurance quote, I opened an anonymous page to see what it would be as a new customer. When I put in 'Aviva....' to get to their customer website page, this is what Google search returned.

20250915_122038.jpg

I had clicked the link and was entering details when I copped I was on the Outsurance portal. But my first search result has an 'Aviva Car Insurance' Banner. Sneaky fkrs, is this even legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Radio5

On one of the UK channels, there's an ad for Amicable who guide you through your separation and divorce so that by the time of your child's graduation, all the family will be lining up for the photo (including the step parents)!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,379 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Well talking about life events, the funeral plan adverts everywhere on sattelite channels are getting up my nose now. Acting thst makes Fair City look like Oscar material. Wish they’d use their own service and rid us all of them.

123.ie where a woman in a business suit chases after two athletes, talking shite.

It is a carbon copy of a series of ads from England that were on a few years back where an annoying businesswoman kept interrupting athletes while they were trying to train.

You'd feel bad for the athletes having to do these sh*tty advertisements. The whole experience was probably a nightmare.

Assuming they were athletes and not just fit actors? I didn't notice if they were 'real'. What's an athlete anyway, someone who turns up hungover yet plays a full junior club match, scores even? It's a bit like the Rte publicity late late inserts for the Traitors 'Stars'. Stars? Nobodies last month, nobodies next month. Andy Warhol was right, everyone's famous for 5 minutes.

It was kate O'Conner and Sharlene Mawdsley... I'd argue they are 'proper' athletes...

Kate just won silver at the world athletics champs and Mawdsley was there too although no medals.

It wasn't some washed GAA player or a fitness influencer if thats what you are implying.

'Real' athletes. I've seen that ad mutiple times, and I never even noticed, so apologies to the well known pair. The gobby actor does her job and takes all your attention. Could have used actors and saved themselves a few quid, but I don't begrudge the runners making a few quid either.

Does anyone remember the late late winner of the invention slot who had a silly plastic thing for amatuer bricklayers to lay bricks even slower than normal, but level. He turned up in a few cringey ads until he finally went back to the day job, farming I think. That was before social meeja

To be fair, thats not on you.

I'm very much interested in athletics so first thing I noticed, your twat in the suit was one of the last things I noticed, recognised the home stadium before hand etc.

Plus athletics outside of news coverage isn't in most peoples daily mind like football/GAA etc.

In saying that AI seem to be one of the sporting orgs that have their athletes star in the advertisements rather then hire the fitness influencer/Washed up football or GAA star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭Genghis

Having known a couple of world class athletes, I can guarantee you they would have been more than happy to appear.

Athletes like Kate and Sharlene make very little from their sport, and have huge expenses. They have few income opportunities, it's a tough life in sports like athletics, cycling, swimming unless you are the very top of the game.

They no doubt got a few grand for being in the ad, and the repetition of the ad won't harm their profile. So while I don't particularly care for the ad, I say fair play to 123.ie for involving them.

The ad for Switzerland with those two famous Swiss people Roger Federer and Halle Berry. 🤷‍♂️

Money in sport is monstrously imbalanced. Raheem Sterling is not even training with his club, let alone playing, while he sits unwanted in the shop window. Poor sod, he trains alone to keep fit, and has to get by until he gets a new club on 371 a week. That's €371k, €371,000.

Maybe she played a Swiss person in a movie? That would give her a Swiss Role.