Presidential Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

All this speculation that the SF and labour/SDS vote will automatically shift to CC is nonsense,local opinion is that alot of people won't vote for her due to her past associations and strained relations with other parties,but I have no doubt she will garner the PBP vote,they seem a perfect fit for each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,594 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

For those giving out about “attacks” on how Catherine Connolly presents herself -and are getting all “hurt” and offended about it no less self righteous - this from her own campaign website-

The Presidency, we are told, is largely symbolic. But symbols matter. And actions taken under those symbols matter even more”

Given Catherine Connolly is a clinical psychologist, she more than most, is extremely aware how one presents to the public impacts their view of that person .
    Her “image” is a deliberate attempt to appeal to the voters she most wants, to help her win - anyone who thinks criticising her image is somehow a personal attack on her, is laughable and worryingly naive - left is where she is clearly placing herself - in my view, she’s gone too casual from a branding perspective - fine for a TD election - I just don’t think it’s a successful strategy for a presidential election .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,471 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

anyone who thinks criticising her image is somehow a personal attack on her, 

The poster tries too hard and keeps slipping up.

'I'm not criticising a woman for failing to live up to my appearance standards BUT actually I am'.

Stop digging Oscar.

Clearly Catherine Connolly doesn’t need you or anyone else to fight her corner on her behalf- she’s quite capable of speaking for herself - and if you phoned her up and told her how you’re “defending” her on a social media website, she’d likely laugh at the absurdity of it.

She has clearly stated that symbols are very important - her public image is a symbol- she’s signed off on this public image - I don’t think it will be a successful strategy - you do- hey ho. But if you think this is something “personal” against her , then really you deserve the ridicule that you’ll receive - even Mary Robinson had the cop on to amend her image after the start of her campaign and really sharpened up- it worked.

I am not defending any woman.

I am ridiculing your pathetic attempts to pretend that you are not being personal.

You are.

Ask any reader here 'who is Oscar talking about?' the answer is - Catherine Connolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pat734

Maybe I'm wrong but as of now there are 3 potential Presidents in waiting. Ms Humphrey, Ms Connolly, Mr Gavin. I must say, none of them really do it for me. I really thought when I heard Gavin was in the running that he might well run away with it, but he has been very wooden, uninspiring and for whatever reason he comes across as someone who did well as the Dubs manager in gaelic football and got face recognition from that so therefore ran for President on the strength of that. Heather had no intention of running, none whatsoever. Suddenly an opportunity appeared out of nowhere and there she was. Wow, she had her mojo back, all she said about family time, etc, was gone out the window and here Iam, vote for me plus I've the backing of a major political party, as has Gavin. Then we have Catherine, a controversial figure in some ways, but she feels we as a nation needs her as a President. Others who might well make a good President may well be stopped from running by the political structures we have in place. Yet, the post on offer is not a political one. Every Tom, Dick, and Harry, whose face is known from sport, media, politics, entertainment, or court cases, want to front our country. No more than Trump in the USA is this the best we can offer the Irish people? Seems the radio, TV and print media have all the power to say What They Want, in helping us to decide who our choice will be. No more than the abortion and same sex marriage debates, they're very, very, selective on choosing who can and cannot offer opinions and woe betide anyone who disagrees with them. Sean Gallagher had one foot in the Aras door until Pat Kenny decided a very selective lie might scupper him. It did. I'm sure if one of the candidates (they don't believe deserves the Presidency) raises their head too high above where they think it should be, another selective skeleton will be plucked from a cupboard to scupper their chances. Is it any wonder people are electing far right candidates and the like across the world? The establishment are at big fault, this certainly includes the media. As for who will be President? What will the turnout be? Take your pick, it's not a very good selection box, smaller bars, lighter in weight and lots of plastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭tarvis

I seem to remember the chancellor of a very large powerful country whose total wardrobe appeared to consist of half a dozen sets of blazers and black slacks and low ish heeled shoes. Her wardrobe didn’t take from her influence or ability to strut the world stage with mostly dark suited powerful males.

Catherine Connolly is presenting herself as a “brand” in order to get elected -just as all other candidates have a “brand”- even Sinn Fein have a “brand” , as well you know.

I have a right as a voter, to criticise that brand if I so choose- Catherine Connolly doesn’t give a sh01te what I think as I’m obviously not her target voter - the point I have made more than once, and that seems to make you all self righteous and to go off on some tangent as the defender of the right of women to wear what they want- is that her brand - which includes what she says as well as how she presents- will limit her ability to attract voters who are not so far left, and have more traditional and conservative views on the archetype of the Irish president - but hey, shout “getting personal” and “attacking women” if it makes you feel good - frankly it’s all I expect from you - false claims and shouting is all you can do

So basically that just says

'people like me, who have standards of appearance women should/must comply with, won't vote for a woman who has failed to meet our standards'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,874 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I actually think SF not running a candidate might not be the boost for CC that some think. I'd say a lot of the SF vote won't bother turning out if there's no party candidate on the ballot.

It doesn’t- but if it makes you feel better to believe that then knock yourself out.
    You’re trying to make an argument where one doesn’t exist - you’re taking an attack on CC’s brand and image as presented in a presidential election race, as a personal attack on CC, the private citizen. I won’t be going there with you- I’ve already stated that as a private citizen CC has absolute right to present how she wishes- but he she wants to WIN a presidential election - she may have to adjust her image if she’s serious about gaining maximum votes- there’s absolutely nothing personal about that - it’s just plain common sense.

In order for your criticism to be acted on you have to say it to CC or get CC to act on HER appearance.

It couldn't be more personal therefore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Humphreys would make an excellent President, imo. Gavin a decent one. Connolly not so much. Sheridan should not be on the ballot and hopefully won't be. Steen is a religious bigot and unfit for any elected office

I've no idea why someone said Humphreys 'needs' Steen on the ballot. That makes no sense at all

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,042 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Surely this fiasco is the beginning of the end of Mary Lou's political career.

Oh lordy, not another end to her political career!! 😁

Oh give it a rest- you’re just embarrassing yourself now

There is absolutely no way she is getting 45% first prefs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

what do you think is a reasonable best case fpv for her? And do you think she can realistically hope for enough transfers from there to get her over the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭JVince

I can't remember Robinson not resonating with voters are having the same questions over her. I voted for Robinson as did my wife. There was something fresh about her - nothing fresh about connolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Robinson came 2nd in 1st pref votes. She won it on FG transfers.

I see Sheridan is now blaming FF for his inability to get on the ticket.

Last month he was blaming Gallagher.

Maybe if he looked in the mirror rather than look elsewhere, he'll see where the blame lies - with all respect to him as a person, he has absolutely NOTHING that I can see that would make him to be a good president. Zero, nadda, zilch.

But sure its someone else's fault. (a dreadful trait of anyone)

Labour were trounced in the 1997 election after breaking their promise in the previous election to not go into coalition with FF. They went from 33 seats to 17.

but she did get almost 39% 1st Pref and also remember this was Labour heyday when they were considered centre left. In addition, she had support from many in FG who actual canvassed for her.

She also had huge support from younger voters - Connolly doesn't have that is any way whatsoever.

If anything, it was surprise that she was 2nd on 1st pref, but FF were riding high back then too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

There were plenty of posters on here criticising Jim Gavin for his white trousers (you might even have been one of them).

Image matters for someone in a representational position. It always has, and it applies to men and women, so stop with your faux empathy for women. It is an act, and is blatantly transparent.

The notion that RTE deliberately uttered a lie to scupper Gallagher is bollox.

Shame the repeal the 8th and marriage equality referendums didn't go your way, but that was nothing to do with the media. The more the likes of Ronan Mullen or John McGuirk (or, indeed, Maria Steen) speak, the more people vote for the other side, they were the Yes side's greatest assets.

TV and radio are strictly regulated during referendums and must give equal time to both sides. Unfortunately for the No side this lead to quite a few lunatics getting on air and doing their side much more harm than good.

These are settled issues where public opinion is clear, to still be so butthurt 7 and 10 years later is quite something.

Gavin was criticised for wearing white trousers while farming - something nobody would do.

Connolly is being criticised because her appearance is not up to the standards of some male posters here.

Trying to hide that is not working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Gavin was criticised for not wearing the proper attire for the environment he was in - a farm.

Connolly is being criticised for not wearing the proper attire for the environment she is in - the Presidential election.

Your constant high moral soapboxes keep leaving you caught out.

Being generous, 40% if three candidates, 35% if four, and she is not transfer friendly.