If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

I'd safely say a large majority of people who will vote havnt a clue who George Galloway is

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I imagine that is true. That is not my point.

Do you know who George Galloway is? Do you think that reflects good judgement of who to be associated with?

Personally I would like the President of Ireland to have good judgement on who they are publicly associated with. Catherine Connolly displays horrendous judgement on it over and over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

I don’t know? Do you?

To answer your question I don’t see an equivalence there. One is a political party masquerading as two separate parties for political convenience full of shysters and the other is an individual that has certainly had a checkered career that maybe Catherine Connolly had some isolated connection with? You seem to know a lot about it. She’s never been in FFG though IIRC, to her credit.

Why would SF backing Connolly be “handing it” to Gavin? If SF came out and said “we’re not backing Connolly” would that be the opposite of “handing it” to Gavin. Nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭Downlinz

I would say anyone who follows Irish politics knows Catherine Connolly is as sincere as they come and attends such events out of respect for the importance of issues being discussed and not to curry political favour based on who else is attending. There's a reason she won Leas-Cheann Comhairle as an Independent and has now done the impossible in uniting all the Left parties behind her, she carries immense respect for her commitment to her beliefs.

If you would rather a cleaner, more vacuous candidate with no beliefs in anything following the PR to the letter then there's a white trousered gate opener you could vote for instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭spillit67

I do love how the SF children have managed to draw a moral equivalence from political corruption and murder. What a world.

I mean they are not equivalent. I don't particularly understand the obsession with arguing that FF and FG are the same party given it would make them the overwhelmingly most popular party in the country but that is beside the point.

FF/FG have not supported Assad and denied he used chemical weapons against his own people. They have not praised Saddam Hussein. They didn't receive funding from Iraq to oppose sanctions. They don't diminish sexual assault like Galloway did in the case against Assange. They don't support Russia in their invasion of Ukraine. They don't support Hezbollah. They don't support Iran. They don't support North Korea.

Being at a "peace summit" with that man is an absolute joke. Unsurprisingly Daly and Wallace were also there. That is who she chooses to associate with and that should be a giant red flag to everyone.

It is good to know that her principles are so easily malleable that she will share the stage with anyone how happens to agree with her current viewpoint.

Ive heard of him. No idea what he stands for and couldn't care less tbh, which will be the same as the majority of voters

Catherine Connolly was re-elected as TD on a few occasions, and is widely respected that she's managed to unite every party to the left in Ireland. A remarkable achievement to be fair, and this worry's FF/FG very much so

Heather attends orange hate marches and has no issue with it. Also dosnt have a clue if her husband is still a member of the sectarian organisation either

Micheal Martin stood side by side with IDF terrorists pointing at a ceiling. Does Jim stand by this type of actions?

Ok, well if you look him up I would hope it would lead you to question her judgement in who she associates with. Alongside the wonderful parliamentarians of Daly and Wallace she has a habit of associating with the absolute worse people you can come across.

I don't entirely understand how that is not a problem for people.

George Galloway isn’t standing. Did Catherine Connolly share a stage with Galloway? Maybe she did, don’t think that means she endorses everything and anything he has ever done? Again she’s never been associated with FFG to her credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,601 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Peadar sounding bullish about Maria Steen

Sounds like II have dropped their "We'll only nominate her to get her over the line" precondition?

Someone in the comments suggesting an FF TD may be about to break ranks…

Principles? Ha ha. Like FFG principles when Martin and Harris gets in to bed with Michael Lowry to avoid talking to a real party about forming a government.

Did Catherine Connolly share a stage with Galloway? Maybe she did

This isn't a question. She did. It is a statement of fact. As is her association with Wallace and Daly.

Why you think this is somehow offset by her not being associated with mainstream parties who have been elected to govern Ireland for decade is beyond me, but it is a massive red flag against her judgement.

When Heather launched her campaign she didn't even have the FG logo on her posters as she's ashamed of there record over the last decade and more

Micheal Martin shared a stage with sex offender Donald Trump, a man who supports the killings of tens of thousands of Palestinians, and also supports Russia

He will do so again in March

I'd be questioning his judgement before who Catherine spoke at an event with

I have no time for Lowry and think the govt agreeing to talks with him demeans them.

It is a far bloody stretch from that to engaging with people who support genociding their own population. Connolly purports to support Palestine, yet doesn't care when the Syrian government bombs a Palestinean refugee camp. Galloway denies they committed chemical weapons attacks on their own people. Daly and Wallace actively support both Russia and China against Europe. There is no equivalence here.

Joining FFG, or being associated with it, now that would be a red flag against any politician’s judgment. Going back to an earlier point about you going on about people talking about FFG as one party while pretending it is two separate parties as an “obsession”. It’s a scam. The FFG scam. They’re running two candidates, no other party is running two candidates. It’s a scam and if you support it then you’re part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Well she didn't, it's not a statement of fact. The event never even took place because NATO warhawks threatened the hotel staff so they cancelled it for security reasons.

https://www.galwaybeo.ie/news/galway-news/galway-hotel-cancels-big-event-8488919

Ok, so just to be clear. Supporting or being related to a democratic government is a red flag, but being associated with or supporting a genocidal dictator is all good?

Are you speaking for Catherine Connolly now? Where did she say she doesn’t care about Syria bombing Palestinian refugee camps? You’re shooting from the hip there with a lot of ould guff in support of whichever ever FFGer candidate you’re backing. Don’t come on here with your “principles” etc. while at the same time backing FFG candidates.

You mean like our government supporting the genocidal Israeli dictator Nethanyahu’s murderous regime by allowing the central bank to trade war bonds?

She speaks for herself.

1. Connolly has been a proponent of removing sanctions on Syria despite their annihilation of a Palestinian refugee camp.
    2. Connolly, in a public letter to the IT, claimed that Russia intervened in Syria due to a legitimate fear of the US overthrowing their govt (their intervention involved bombing hospitals and first responders).
    3. Daly, who went on the trip to Syria with Connolly and who she calls a great parliamentarian, suggested the Irish govt give a visa to a sanctioned war criminal who funded Assad and showed the group around Syria
    4. Not related to Syria, but just to add an extra bonus, Connolly also claims the "West" provoked the war in Ukraine and has an utterly delusional viewpoint that we can negotiate our way out of it.

Just horrendous viewpoints on foreign affairs at every possible junction. As long as she can blame the US/NATO for something that is the avenue she will take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,328 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Wouldn't be surprised if we finally managed to hit below 40% turnout for this election thanks to the absolute lacklustre and shamefully uninspiring cadre of candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,328 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Your welcome, can I ask if you will be supporting the candidate who refuses to admit or apologise for giving her support to an anti vax, anti immigrant nut job, the candidate who has very real connections to a sectarian hate group, the candidate who literally stands for nothing but wanting to be president, or is it one of the non runners like the bigot or faux techbro?

Absolutey inspiring field....

Well, I mean the US are to blame for a power of stuff going wrong in the world all over the place; are you seriously pretending otherwise?

Would need to fact check anything that you put there in ‘bullet points’. I won’t be taking your word for it; you’re an FFGer. The old saying “I have my principles, if you don’t like them I have others” applies.

Which FFG candidate are you backing anyway, does it matter anymore?

Had you someone in mind that you would have preferred to stand? Just asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭MFPM

It's interesting to note the free passes the US & NATO get by some of the lads here very concerned about human rights and war. Worth remembering our current Taoiseach and primary supporter of Jim Gavin was the Minister of Health in 2003 when the US used Shannon to conduct their slaughter during their illegal invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan, including rendition flights - perhaps he had a Damascian conversion in the intervening period!

Interesting too that well known left wing anti imperialist Varadkar took issue with some of the critiques of Catherine Connolly the other day - I wonder is that a 'red flag' on his judgement?!!! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,110 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

She won LCC because of some sort of FF rebellion, its wasnt a pro Connolly vote but an anti FF leadership one.