Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,903 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Early red card and 3 early subs by Chelsea changed the game. And terrible weather.

Hard to know what to make of it.

Mbeuno and Cunha as new signings looking pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Top half of the table, I'm getting dizzy! Great 3 points in terrible conditions

Time is contagious, everybody's getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

We had 60% possession in the first half with an extra man, and Chelsea ended up with 60% possession overall. We were absolutely dominated in the second half when on level terms numbers wise.

Happy to get the three points of course, but I feel the win doesn't take the pressure off Amorim like it should have done.

Onwards and upwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,266 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Very happy with that win and now Cunha and Mount are back. Need to get a few wins in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,760 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Love Maz and De Ligt.

Model pros and solid signings. De Ligt a rock today and probably go under the radar how reliable he's been in what has been a general shitshow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭randd1

Well it does. For now.

How long he survives won’t depend on this one result. And this one result will amount to sweet F A is we lose next week.

He’s still United’s worst ever manager in the league regardless.

If his form to date as manager holds true, we’re probably still going to end up firing him before Halloween, never mind Christmas.

But at least the result is a green shoot, and something positive for once, and something to work from.

Let’s just enjoy the moment. We haven’t had too many of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 819 ✭✭✭ngunners

Of course they had more possession second half. We were two up and going toe to toe with Chelsea would’ve been exactly what they would’ve hoped for. Not sure what people expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,181 ✭✭✭✭Sand

For an experienced player, Casemiro does some brainless things. It is a necessary three points to pick up. Amorim needs to just win football games, anyway, anyhow. If United can pick up 6 points from the next 2 games, then things will begin to look "okay".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭kerplun k

Casemiro’s red card was shocking in my opinion. It wasn’t even a foul. Normally, if you’re giving a second yellow, it has to be for something with a bit more bite, because it means a sending off. I couldn’t believe he gave a yellow for that. It looked like the ref was just trying to even things up. And by the standard he set with that yellow, the Chelsea lads got away with murder, there should have been at least two more red cards. He completely lost control of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭enviro

I thought Shaw was done at this level based on last week, he put in a very satisfactory performance today.

We played well lads, there was a desire out there and a passion on show. It wasn't beautiful in the second half but it didn't need to be, it got us the result and clearly we were deeper while trying to hit them on the break so not sure the possession stats really matter much with that in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,875 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Fair play if you knew today was the day that selection was going to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

To be fair if they pick up 6 points from the next 2 games things begin to look better than ok. We haven't won back to back league games in a long time, that would be 3 on the spin!

DeLigts anticipation was otherworldy, granted Maresca left them with little other than Pedro but DeLigt just kept cutting out ball after ball after ball towards him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭SteM

Is the manager still trying to get the sack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Exactly so I can’t understand why your head would go to “we only won that because of the 10 men” misery merchants

UnitedStrand could start looking for a barber!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Amad needs to make a major improvement and soon. He's been a shadow of himself. No threat, taking all the impetus out of attacks. You'd think with players like Mbeumo and Cunha coming in it would free him up even more to do his magic but he's just not clicking into gear at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Caustic

We were two up in shite conditions and Chelsea had taken all their best attacking players off bar Pedro, we let them have the ball ahead of us and tbh they caused us absolutely no issues the goal was the first shot on target, possession is fairly meaningless we had more via city and arsenal

He gets no credit from analysis or commentators, or even or fan base there was uproar from many when he started the first game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭FrankN1

A bit crazy how we couldn't hold onto the ball in the last 15 mins. Surely that has to be coached into them. Don't aimlessly hit the ball up the pitch and lose possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭twinex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,267 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,867 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

https://www.instagram.com/theunitedstrand/?hl=en

A decent amount of that has to do with the goalkeeper, you can't safely play the ball around at the back for fear he will **** up if he tries to play it short and then he just goes long and kicks the ball away to Chelsea's big defenders, we won't control games properly untill we have a goalkeeper at least competent with the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭FrankN1

It wasn't just the GK though. Even when we got to the final third we just try some stupid **** and don't hold the ball and slow the game down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,107 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

the players, the fans and the managers know Man Utd throw away victories at the end of games, it has been this way for years. Not a pretty 3 points buts it’s a change in the right direction. A psychological hurdle that was cleared. Hopefully now a pattern of winning can now be established.

It wasn't just the GK I didn't say it was but it's largely down to the goalkeeper, we could keep possession very easily if we had one that was good with the ball at his feet, and would look much much better at doing it, the harder you go towards the opposition goal the harder to keep possession. Our goalkeeper though just kicks the ball way under minimal pressure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭talla10

Great win albeit a very nervy last few minutes.

Yes Chelsea had a man sent off early but that was only because of our direct play and high work rate. Chelsea making 2 other early subs including Palmer was also because of our high press- I see posters saying we still haven't seen much- At 20 mins the World Champions (😁) were in panic mode- I certainly don't think Palmer was injured when you consider his reaction and surprise at coming off so early. At 2-0 we should have killed the game for a third and that's where we let ourselves down- Liverpool or City would have scored 5 in that first half.

The sending off for Case changed the dynamic again but I think it was a very soft second yellow- That said I would have liked Mainoo and not Ugarte at half time. The players put a shift in and got a much needed win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,309 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Aside from cunha who looked so comfortable with the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Can't tag both responses to my post about possession. Just want to acknowledge both responses and im not saying I didn't expect us to drop off in the second half. I meant that the result could have been a big lift for the manager if we kicked on, but I don't see him coming out of this with a big push.

I'd have taken casemiro off after his yellow, no need for two sixes when ahead and a man up. I felt we could have hit them for five, but falling over the line takes the shine off the result for Amorim.

All that said, obviously happy with three points and we move