Waterford FC Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,845 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Ffs a killer of a result, Looks like both the European and Aviva dream are over

All about staying up now and wont be easy with Cork, Sligo and Galway getting huge momentum tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Coyle was a disgrace for the second. He has been woeful for us. I know he's had injuries but last night was unforgivable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Defending for the first was pathetic as well.

I'm confident we'll stay up but it would be nice to get a few wins and at least have Europe as an aim even though we'll finish where we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,488 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

From the beginning of the season with the squad that was made available survival was always going to be the target and not much more could be expected. Cost Long his job and if Coleman isn't able to keep us up that is one hell of an indictment as he is a well battle hardened manager suited to a relegation battle. Recruitment just hadn't been anywhere near good enough for higher ambitions.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Yeah we've signed a couple of proper duds, embarrassing really to get some so wrong.

Good job we kept enough of a spine in the team to keep us above the drop. They have to be retained but we really have to have better scouting or get in contact with better agents if we want to push on. The fans are desperate for the next step and the appetite is there from the football public, they'll turn up if there's a good side there. The popularity of football in Ireland is at its highest it's been in a long time, getting it right now would be huge

Seeing the QF draw doesn't make losing last wekeend any easier

1000283693.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭skaface

Massive one tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭Deiseen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭decies

Think they will stay up but major panic if lose to cork next . As I said no long term future in top division if not challenging and achieving Europe . No sign of current owners going that extra mile .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭skaface

Friday AWAY is a must win now..

F*ck me will they please put in a performance tonight. They've fallen off a cliff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

Sweet Jehovah this is depressing

Terrible performance

We're relying on Sligo and Galways results now tbh

Going back down will destroy the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Lester_Burnham

Did you even watch the game? 24 shots with the opposition keeper making 7 saves is not a terrible performance. Losing Boyle during the warm-up was costly.

I'd like to see the percentage of our goals that are down to defensive errors but just from watching I'd say it's huge. I can't recall the last game where we've had a defence with all players in position. We nearly always have to score 3 to win which is not sustainable.

Turning into the worst team in the league now. I don't get his team selections tbh, constantly changing week to week and we look wide open because of it although our defence has been shite for a long time now. We can't even do the basics , over hitting passes, mis-controlling the ball it's just really poor stuff. Our strengths are in our attack but that's struggling now as Coleman has changed that as well and when you're concedeing goals like we do it's very easy to go on a run of defeats.

Manager needs to sort this out, there's enough there to pull us out of this but he has to get his team selection right and stick with it.

I remember being scoffed at when I said Long wasn't the problem, the current incumbent also isn't the actual problem. The lack of quality in the squad is, and when you get into a bad spell there isn't the leadership out there with the grit to pull the younger lads through.

Coleman is well used to this type of scenario, he is battle hardened and if he can't keep them up we were always doomed.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Gardner

It’s only taken the club about 12 months, but they finally have got rid of McDonald. As stated previously, he wouldn’t get a game with any other premier division side. The idiotic supporters of our Club idolised him. He’s at level now at Coleraine which is the equivalent of the 1st division in the South.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

He's a damn sight better than Jordan Rossiter anyway. He will be a loss, can pass and hold onto ball. There is no one central midfield who can do this consistently now.

Coleraine FC, strange place to request a transfer to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭dilinja1

A bit of a mixed result for us

Keeps Galway 4 points away but the gap gone to 8 points above us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Lester_Burnham

Disaster of a night

Expected loss for us, could have been a disaster had either Galway or Sligo won alright. It's been a grim season.

Thought they started alright, deserved to go in level but that second half was shocking. No creativity and hitting direct long balls to the wings in the hope the ball will break for them, no wonder McDonald legged it. The only ball playing midfielder we had.

From looking decent in attack for most of the season we now look very blunt. Our run of games looks fairly bleak, we need to turn our form around fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Deiselurker

It was a better performance than recent weeks. A freak goal cost us but agree that we didn't create enough in 2nd half. Amond missed a great chance to level it with the header near the end. Galway and Sligo now within 3 points of us and play each other on Monday night while we play Shamrock Rovers.

A draw would be a good result tonight

Hopefully Rovers saving themselves for future challenges

Down to 8th with 5 games remaining, Galway 3 points below us in 9th and Cork 11pts in 10th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cuttlefish

This team is going down, Sligo will be OK and Galway will beat the Blues at the RSC for last game of the season. You heard it hear first folks !

Rovers are just in a different league to us tbh, we matched them until the first goal and then they just went up a gear. I had to laugh when they brought on Burke, Gaffney and Watts, ridiculous level of talent to bring in. Burke is worth the entrance fee alone. That Honohan is excellent as well.

Fair play to the team they kept going to the end and nearly grabbed an equaliser with some brilliant pressure. Plenty of effort there last night just lack of quality. Why Lonergan is on the bench I'll never know , he has a goal in him. Coyle must be unbelievable in training. The front 3 should always be Amond, Lonergan and Noonan ( I know he was match tied last night).