Israel/Palestine Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Nobody should have a veto in the UN and that includes USA, Russia, UK, China and France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,911 ✭✭✭SeanW

No doubt: I never disputed that there weren't civilians intentionally killed, and that's indefensible.

My questions related to the breakdown. Of those killed how many were Hamas, and of those who were not belligerents, how many were murdered (e.g. the Hind Rajab case) and how many were collateral damage?

As for the claim of "genocide" in my view in order to paint Israel's response to the 7 / October attacks as such, you first have to rule out them having a legitimate grounds for all out war. Since Hamas have not surrendered or unconditionally returned the hostages, Israel has and continues to have such a case.

As for the starvation, any civilian starvation is bad, but it is the responsibility of a regions government (i.e. Hamas, in the case of Gaza) to prevent it, not the people they started a war against. Hamas started this, and only Hamas can finish it.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,911 ✭✭✭SeanW

Really? So after being attacked from multiple directions (7-Oct-23 from Gaza and from 8-Oct-23 onwards from Lebanon) Israel didn't have a legitimate reason for all out war? I find that view quite puzzling, and I doubt it makes sense to Israelis who even before all this had to live within a 15 second run of a bomb shelter.

It begs the question therefore of what Israel actually should have done to deal with Hamas (and Hezbollah) which in my view they have not just a right, but a duty to do.

As to your analogy of Hitler getting rid of his Jewish enemies, that analogy is closer to what China is doing to its internal enemies, e.g. Falun Gong or the Tibetan Buddhists. Both Gaza, Lebanon and Yemen have/had clear borders with neighbours and Israel, and in the latter case, each of the attacks on Israel have crossed such borders.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Do you have a problem with Israel committing crimes against humanity up to and including genocide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,150 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

And Pakistan has many connections with China. Ditto Iran with India. Those emerging giants are going to take a greater interest in countries beside the Indian Ocean because they are right next to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,689 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Point me to the post where I said that as I can't find it. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Miniegg

Really? So after being attacked from multiple directions (7-Oct-23 from Gaza and from 8-Oct-23 onwards from Lebanon) Israel didn't have a legitimate reason for all out war? I find that view quite puzzling, and I doubt it makes sense to Israelis who even before all this had to live within a 15 second run of a bomb shelter.

First of all, I never said Israel had no right to go war. If Ireland was attacked, I would expect us to respond.

But again you are putting the same inherently flawed argument forward. Israel didn't go to "war", or even all our war in Gaza, they committed, and are committing, the crime of genocide. They are systematically using their military might against civilians - there is no opposing army here. No opposing navy, no opposing air force, no opposing tanks, no opposing trained military force, no drones. There is a ragtag gang of terrorists, which Israel are framing as some omnipotent bogeyman to continue ethnically cleansing Gaza of its native people in order to take their land.

The result of this use of advanced militaty against civilians and civilians infrastructure is a whole city of 2 million people having been virtually wiped out, and Israeli politicians in highest office openly talking about settlements on the territory, real estate bonanzas etc. have you missed all this? Tens of thousands of children dead, many many more seriously injured, pregnant women left with nowhere to go, mothers with no way to feed their young.

So the war point you are trying to make is moot - Israel are attempting to destroy the Gazan way of life and take their land, not fight a war. Is genocide justified because they suffered a terrorist attack? Answer this pls.

It begs the question therefore of what Israel actually should have done to deal with Hamas (and Hezbollah) which in my view they have not just a right, but a duty to do.

First and foremost, not commit genocide against innocent civilians. That may come across as radical to you, but if you saw Gazans as being as human as say, French people or Norwegians, and deserving of the same human rights - I'm sure you probably think this is the minimum that humanity should hope for, no?

As to your analogy of Hitler getting rid of his Jewish enemies, that analogy is closer to what China is doing to its internal enemies, e.g. Falun Gong or the Tibetan Buddhists. Both Gaza, Lebanon and Yemen have/had clear borders with neighbours and Israel, and in the latter case, each of the attacks on Israel have crossed such borders.

I wouldn't know too much about Tibet. Has the UN, and almost all scholars/independent bodies/human rights groups who specialise in warcrimes and genocide labelled it as such? If so, they should feel the full severity of international law and sanction - I'm no hypocrit here.

Are you defending China's actions aswell as Israel's btw, or saying it's bad when they do it but grand when Israel do? How do you get your head around that one?

As to my anecdote about Hitler and the holocaust - that is the level of disdain I hold your question to. And I mean that, not that you care of course.

Israel are committing genocide -almost universally those who know about this things concur - and you are asking what else could they have done?

Post edited by Miniegg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,943 ✭✭✭Odhinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,689 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Targeting civilians, sniping children, starving a population, refusing water, medicine and food into Gaza, bombing hospitals, schools and aid workers, sniping the Press, nuns, sheep and anything that moves is not '' going to war '' as you say Sean. It is Genocide and it has been called out as Genocide by every organisation that matters and even some Israeli scholars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,150 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I don’t think anybody should be kicked out but my expectations of liberal democracies are lot higher than for dictatorships like Russia or totalitarian tyrannies like China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,041 ✭✭✭circadian

At least they have bomb shelters and aren't hindered by another nation from importing the supplies needed for this.

Also, have you ever asked yourself why they find themselves in this situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Screenshot_20250919-213540_X.jpg

Grok is yet again fed up of Israeli bullshit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,487 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

A former long term adviser to Netanyahu says even he is baffled by Trump's continuing support for the war criminal:

“It’s slightly baffling and counterintuitive,” Shalom Lipner, a think tank fellow who served for decades in the Prime Minister’s Office, told the Wall Street Journal.

“Netanyahu’s moves have prolonged the Gaza war, created trouble for Trump with other US allies in the region and made the expansion of the Abraham Accords excruciatingly difficult,” he added, referring to a series of normalization agreements between Israel and Muslim nations that the US brokered during Trump’s first term in office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,400 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

That's hilarious.

Even the robots are sick of Israel's shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭wildgreen

The World can exist without the US and Israel. International trade can exclude both of them. No visas for either of them. Both excluded from all cultural and sporting events and left to look at each other. The World standing up to aggression by either of them. Think of John Lennon's Imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Just look at what's happening in America lately. Troops being put in and threatened on cities where protests are taking place. TV stations being threatened with losing their licences if their content criticises Trumps regime, that's called silencing the press. Its a similar mindset to Nethanyahus govt. Trump promising a Gazan riviera, it looks to me like him and his regime are actually loving what's going on in Gaza.Trump 2 is a disaster for democracy imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,487 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Netanyahu must have one hell of a hold over the creep - he's prepared to trash US foreign policy and even to alienate valuable allies just to protect Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

A few lads here showing AGI has been achieved...

Post edited by wildgreen on

Labour has turned the UK into a police state. A real life version of Animal Farm being played out in UK politics. Netanyahu, Herzog, Smotrich, and the other Israeli terrorists roam free while Sally Rooney has been advised not to enter the UK. Human Rights solicitors interrogated and their client privacy rights trampled on.

https://www.middleeastmonitor.com/20250919-targeted-for-defending-palestine-lawyer-fights-back-after-police-abuse-of-terror-powers/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,015 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Don't forget Graham Linehan getting arrested by 6 armed police because he tweeted something.

This is an important beginning.

For the first time in the United States Senate, Democratic senators have introduced a bill urging President Trump to recognise a demilitarised Palestinian state.

The bill, led by Senator Jeff Merkley of Oregon, is non-binding and unlikely to pass due to Republican control and growing opposition to the two-state solution.

The five senators who signed the bill said the move aims to send a message ahead of the United Nations General Assembly and to increase pressure on the US administration to help Gaza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭EV01

you asserted “As for the starvation, any civilian starvation is bad, but it is the responsibility of a regions government (i.e. Hamas, in the case of Gaza) to prevent it

This is incorrect. Under international law it is the responsibility of the occupying power - i.e. Israel - to ensure adequate food, water, medical aid and shelter is at all times provided to the entire occupied civilian population

Quite apart from ignoring the key fact that Israel has 100% control of all food/aid entering Gaza and has for weeks and months restricted or prevented entirely food and aid entering the territory. This is a deliberate policy of collective punishment against a civilian population (using the feeble pretext of ‘preventing Hamas access’), itself an incontestable war crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,566 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Sadly you are right.

At least the horse let Donnie know what he thought of him unlike the supine political leaders who are desperate to stay on side with Donnie. As you point out Bibi knows there is no one to rein him in. I don't think there will be a day of reckoning for him either. As you say it's bleak times- international law is in the graveyard. Also Western governments and the EU can no longer speak of a rules based order given what they have allowed to happen in Gaza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Saudi Arabia and Pakistan sign a nuclear defence pact.

Clear sign that after the Israeli strike on Qatar, trust in the reliability of the US as a security shield has been shaken among Arab allies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Why are you putting the word genocide in inverted commas? Is your contempt for Arabs so much that you see fit to ignore international legal opinion and trivialise crimes against humanity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭StarryPlough01

How are you going to have a two-state solution with one state armed to the teeth and the other one defenceless. That’s a great idea, certain to work… not.

To maintain peace, they need international peacekeepers between all the Palestinian Territories and Israel. All the illegal settlers will have to leave the West Bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭StarryPlough01

Starry: Mahmoud Khalil is awaiting a federal court decision in New Jersey. I don’t hold out any hope. He might be heading for the Supreme Court.

They put the wrong people in the judiciary and they put the wrong people in the presidency twice. Now they are coming for talk show hosts (Stephen Colbert, Jimmy Kimmel...) who make fun of Trump. BTW, Stephen Colbert has just won an Emmy for his Late Show. There will be only one voice remaining, the bellicose brain of Trump.

‘Columbia University activist Mahmoud Khalil says safe from deportation until November’
    ‘Palestinian activist Mahmoud Khalil says he is safe from deportation until November as he challenges a US immigration ruling over his pro-Palestinian advocacy.’

Mohamed Elbedewy, Washington, D.C., 19 September, 2025
    The New Arab Staff
    https://www.newarab.com/news/mahmoud-khalil-says-safe-deportation-until-november

“[...]. an immigration judge in Louisiana had ordered Khalil deported to Algeria or alternatively Syria, citing alleged misrepresentations on his green card application.***

“Khalil, who is married to a US citizen and has a US-born son, has rejected the ruling as "retaliation" for his pro-Palestinian activism.

Starry:

*** Khalil has a green card, which means he is authorised to live and work permanently in the US. Of course there are conditions where the green card can be revoked.

Apparently, in US, you have Freedom of Speech, so long as you don’t use it. 🤬

Portugal will recognise Palestine as a state on Sunday 21 September. It is becoming clearer that countries are starting to confront Israel even if slowly and gently.

Portugal will officially recognize Palestine, the Foreign Ministry announced Friday, becoming the latest country to take the step ahead of next week’s UN General Assembly, Anadolu reports.

“The ministry of foreign affairs confirms that Portugal will recognize the State of Palestine … the official declaration of recognition will be made on Sunday, 21 September,” it said on its website, noting the move comes before the high-level conference in New York.