If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭visatorro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I don't know what the hell has happened bar maybe the Department of Agriculture has finally listened.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1B74osAsdp/

Looks like they may promote biostimulant coated CAN on a same basis or hopefully greater than the chemical covered Urea.

They will look at soil biology and carbon, more natural nitrogen available in soil, biology making more phosphorus available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,035 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

A friend always says the cheapest education you always gets is when you are watching ir listening to the expert. It's immaterial whether it's the vet, plumber, electrician, mechanic etc. Do not always accept there word as gospel but you will learn by watching and listening

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Downtown123

The joys of a man one operation, pulled a muscle in me leg last night. Barely able to walk out the move wire and feet up now for a few hours. Was going to go for fert this morning but I can't climb into the tractor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,137 ✭✭✭straight

Getting old boy 🫣. The fertiliser will be grand next week. Force majeure. Surely your getting loads of attention and nursing.

Abuse is all im getting! Sure I never had to do any warm up or stretching years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Bass you were mouthing about pensions other day is it true u have to pay tax on the pension when u withdraw if uve other income during retirement apart from the 25 percent you can withdraw tax free if thats tge case u might as well pay tax now and keep money ur not such an expert after all are u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

a friend of mine for the craic rented 60acres 2 yrs ago on a long term lease to grow barley.. told me he received 25,000 in payments from the dept last year… do tillage lads want Jam and jam on it…?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Yes that’s right. The plan is to be paying the tax at the low rate rather than the higher rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭older by the day

That's the plan, I only pay what I need into the pension,here to keep myself and my wife on or near the low rate. We are joint assessment.

Yourself and your wife probably won't be running 150+ milking cows on your own at 66, unless things go very right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Cows are a young man’s game. I wouldn’t want to be at it after my mid to late fifties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Dodged a bullet for another while with a clear 6 month test, two neighbours one bonding us and another one farm over gone down with reactors/legions, neighbour is after been put on continous 4 month testing as he bounds both of the neighbours farms

Well lets be honest i think we will all be still farming so high rate meanwhile your money is locked away while some clown manages it for u and could loose all.Better pay tax and next recession invest simple

Even if i was drystock farming me being such a gd farmer id still be making money with subsidies its not hard to get in the high tax bracket if your over 65.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Did you find out why they reckoned you couldn't kill the ones you wanted in factory while restricted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Rang twice, was promised a call back from department vet but they never did, agent wasnt able to get them in anyway in the wind up, should be going next week he promised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Well I was restricted earlier in year and had same letter as you but no problem killing, I'd be wary of what ever official gave you that information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Downtown123

Have you no successor or will you bring the farm to the grave? If you intend on farming till you die you obviously won’t need a pension.

Your are right that pensions are a tax postponement but where you win with pensions is tax free roll up. Ie no capital gains.

Your fear that you will lose your “pension” investment is a load of rubbish. In order for an investment to be sold as a pension product it needs to jump through a million hoops. The odds of losing 10% of the money you invest. Probably 1 or 2%. The odds of losing any more than that are absolutely miniscule - impossible really. You’re investing in the same bond portfolios that every pension scheme in the world is invested in so there’s a ready made market for them. A lot of the assets are over priced but it’s in no one’s interest for it all to go bang so I can almost guarantee it won’t.

In Bass’ defence he tell why it’s working out for him and if you haven’t the ability to google then you’re the fool not him.

In this day and age the legislation in place regarding pension products is unbelievable. People tell horror stories of cowboys selling get rich quick schemes but that is no longer the case, like saying Angus cattle were small runts in the 80s and they must still be awful cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,137 ✭✭✭straight

I see Farm Theory is still making "quality silage".

He a mouth that lad done a whole video on why a diet feeder was a waste of time then six months later he buys one cusvhe doesnt want to admit he needs to buy silage cus he made another video how hes able to grow so much grass by multi cut cows arent giving much more than your avg grazing farmer in the south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,035 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I was not mouthing I was giving you information as it applies to most people. Pension is a retirement fund if you do not intend to retire then that is a different matter. Everyone's circumstances are different. I think you are deluded if you think you will be milking cows into your 70's unless you.have family help. Personally I will be divesting assets from late 60's on and even at that I will be paying some tax at the high rate. If I do not divest some assets the nursing home could get a ball of money that it need not be necessarily get.

You can defer draw drown of your pension until.your are 70 years of age. You have to draw it down then and at an annual rate of 5%. Most pension funds return about slightly over 5% average so if you are willing to take the ups and downs your fund should maintain itself throughout your retirement. You are entitled to draw 25% of the fund tax free up to 200k and if the 25% exceeds that you can draw the next 300k @ a tax rate of 20% with no USC or PRSI

The average person will live to 84 at present, however people that reach retirement on average will live into there 90's. The average pensioner can earn 44k and only pay 4k in tax, for a married couple that is 88k. If rental income is involved another 1K is taken off your tax bill. The OAP will make up a maximum of approx 30k of that.

HHowever You have to factor in that in 10, 20 or 30 years time those figures will have increased. The gap between the OAP and the lower tax bank could be 70-100k for a couple, then again we could all be paying 70% tax.

If you think yourself and your spouse will have more than 60k in taxable income from sources other than the OAP then that is grand. But if you think at 80 years of age you will be managing a couple of rental properties without using a management company which will take 15%+ of the income in costs and charges I doubt it. At which stage it may be more viable to sell them rather than rent them and pay the capital gains.

There Is two certainties in this life death and taxes. It's a matter of putting both off as long as possible.

A pension is such a method. I saw a figure that you only need 220k to build a fund of 1 million in the Indo this week.

https://m.independent.ie/business/money/peoples-eyes-light-up-when-they-realise-they-can-get-a-1m-pension-pot-with-only-220k-of-net-income/a1922004134.html

A 1 million euro fund gives you 200k tax free another 50k you pay 20% tax on. The remainder will gi e you an income of 36-40 k yearly. Cut it in half and you have still a decent pension. For a couple doing it and say setting a fund of 350k each they draw down 87500 tax free each and in most cases one passes away before the other which means the remainder of one of the funds is drawn down tax free by the surviving spouse.

The remaining fund goes to your estate to be distributed as you have provided for. On funds going pear shaped, it's highly unlikely that large managed funds will go broke. Most issue with pension funds is with bespoke ones where the investors taught property in Poland or Timbuktu would give a better gain than say Irish Life or Zurich.

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Back4more

My accountant advised me years ago to take out a pension and I asked him 'had he taken out one himself'and his answer was 'NO'

Would not property investment equal or surpass any pension fund .And at the end of your days you have something to leave after you .I aint gont bother with pensions and any surplus after 48% tax I plan to buy some small bits of property and let out .The return on investment for property will match any pension and property is appreciating rapidly .Probably the biggest snag will be cgt and cat but that wont be worrying me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Very hard to know what the optimum thing to do will be for anyone under 50 now. The only certainty is that generating real growth over the next 40 years will be much more tricky than over the last 40 years

Property is grand while you can manage it yourself however will you manage to do that in your 70 and 80. How much will it cost to get its redone between tenants when you cannot so that work yourself. As well I am not sure what way it's treated with regard to nursing home cost. AFAIK it's only the drawdown income from a pension that is used out of a pension for calculation purposes.

Just like a house a pension fund will be there after you die. In alot of cases for your family after you and its easily liquidated to pay inheritance tax.

Property within a managed fund never outpreforms the equities. There is work with self managed property investment even if you have it sheltered in a pension type investment

With property will you be able to maximise rental income etc. Unless it's within a pension structure if you sell it you have a CGT event.

And why had your accountant not a pension investment, has he still not got one. There,was a horror story in the indo a dew weeks ago about such an investment and we would all say this would not happen to me

https://m.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/he-failed-us-how-a-financial-adviser-moved-into-pension-fund-property-racked-up-rent-arrears-and-now-wont-leave/a1261831763.html

Slava Ukrainii

It comes down to this, tell me any other investment where the government is giving you 40% of it back in tax if you are in the high tax bracket. Even if you get no return you are still ahead.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭greenfield21

In the last YT video? On the ploughing I think it was clear that field was never going to get done. He seems to be a bit green when taking on some tasks. Also interesting to listen to his political views, a few years ago he would have been derided but now that thinking has wide spread support, but not so much in the ROI. Very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

An accountant should be able to manage money better than pension funds for himself, but it takes time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

I always thought that you had to draw it down from the year that you hit 61 . @ 4 per cent per year .

No you have to draw down from 70 years of age. You can draw down earlier, I think as early as you like, but 70 is the latest. I intended to leave until was 70 but I drew it down to access the tax free part when buying the last place. Generally most funds are targeted for draw down at 61 at the,earlist, however gennerally you can access from 50 in certain circumstances. But compulsory drawdown of pri ate pensions is 70 years of age

When you access the lump sum you have to start drawdown 12 months later

Slava Ukrainii