Orange is the new Burke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭youtheman

I can see how the school will not be happy with the Judge's decision. More expense for them to incur.

If they do employ private security, what will happen the first time Enoch breaches their cordon?. Will they be inclined to forcefully eject him, or will they just call the Guards?. And will we back back where we are now?

Enoch now has fines totaling circa 1/4 million against him. He's obviously not going to pay. But it will mean that if he ever gains employment elsewhere (in the State), his bank account will be drained again. So I can't see how he can ever gain employment in the State ever again (which might be no bad thing anyway).l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,698 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

He was already arrested for Criminal Trespass. It was the DPP in their cowardice refused to prosecute.

Years later the threshold has well being exceeded. It was exceeded back then.

Judges are rightly concerned about him being confined indefinitely without an actual conviction

Absolutely, but the Judges concern cannot have a bearing on how the current laws as they are adhered to.

He has also well over stepped the mark by trying to coerce the school into hiring private security.

As this saga drags on more into the realms of ridiculous, I am actually asking myself why the hell is going on.

If this was a Catholic Hurling school the ilk of which I went to, this thread wouldn't exist. I would be convinced of it.

Obviously no Supers children or politicians children go to Wilsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,350 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

One way past the security issue is to have some-one local get a PSA licence and work the gateway to the school. I'd be a bit surprised if no one in the locale had a PSA licence or was prepared to train and get one for use to provide security at the school entrance gate to stop persons intent on disruption there from entering the grounds. Enoch's mugshot from previous attendance at the school gates and buildings have to be ten a penny now. Get one and stick it in a plastic folder for the person securing the gate. The security person doesn't have to be male. Just catch Burke or a Burke family member using physical bodily force against the security person on camera and proceed with criminal assault charges against him/them. Odds on the family will have some-one covering Burke's activity at the gate anyway and it can be used against him/them. The licence is Private Security Authority for use at a multitude of premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,286 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

So you think that going to jail for lengthy periods because he refuses to stay away from his former place of employment is the act of a rational man? While doing everything he can to prevent his actual appeal against his sacking from taking place…

The school and the courts ARE correct and the Burkes have no rational argument to justify his abonimable behaviour.

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,286 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Volunteer to put yourself in the firing line for physical assault from a religious nutcase, possibly backed up by a number of far-right thugs?

Form an orderly queue, ladies and gentlemen.

The flip side for the Burkes is that of a bunch of outsiders going at a local who could, in his/her need, call on other locals for help. Nothing like neighbours showing friendship to a local against a group of outsiders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭lmao10

What is this? lol. They will just get a reputable security company who can send regular lads.

Ma Burke with Josiah (I think) on video outside the school: this is insanity what happening to Enoch, an upright, intelligent, kind, lover of his students, young teacher. This should never, it would never have happened only for the church which was silent, never came onto the plague field because it's betrayed Christ. It has agreed with the corrupt judge and the government and they've got their thirty pieces of silver but it won't end up good for you…… yada, yada, yada. From what Josiah said, the clip was recorded yesterday as he mentioned "being in court today".

Sometimes the cheap option works out very expensive if you make a mistake and get sued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,857 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Haven't the Gardai been interveening since day 1?

I don't believe he is on the grounds of the school anyway, which is why even a locally hired security crew would be unable to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,498 ✭✭✭✭L1011

He is constantly on school grounds, including entering the school building. This has been covered extensively by the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭afatbollix

No, They arrested him once but the DPP said it was a civil matter and he wasn't charged.

He stands outside the door of the school by the windows and if he gets to the door before it's locked, he walks in. Last week he was posing for selfies with the first years, according to himself.

My child wouldn't be attending that school. Not because of Burke but because of the security of it all.

It's time the Dept of Education supported them on this, It's opening a can of worms that someone else is going to take advantage of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,156 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

he does enter the school grounds and buildings. He follows staff in through doors. It was in reports the other day.
    He doesn’t give a toss about the children he’s a toe rag gathering attention for his bigoted cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

I have to wonder why the process of his appeal over his dismissal has not proceeded, he won the right to remove an individual(fair ruling I agree with), now replace him and hear the appeal and make it final.

Unless he can bring something new to the table, such as the process wasn't fair, was heavy handed, not natural and fair process etc, its more than likely that the appeals board will uphold the schools decision to dismiss him.

Then its onto the WRC(God help them). last time the burkes were there Amiee case was dismissed because her and her mother wouldn't stop shouting from the get go so chairperson stopped it altogether as they were disruptive, I can see a repeat performance again.

He is turning up daily as he claims he is still employed, only because he is been paid and he has an appeal in process.

His family and the public in general have been obliging enough in providing photos of him inside the school grounds standing against the school building walls beside its windows and doorways since his dismissal from the staff. To the Burkes, the pupils attending the school are collateral damage and nothing else, cannon fodder in the Burkes war against anything they see as unbiblical in nature and contrary to their personal religious beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Poor form from the kids in the school not taunting, and throwing things at, him.

No. They haven't been turning up and arresting him off their own bat. They do nothing until the school goes to the court, gets yet another injunction, and then he gets arrested for breaching it and brought before the court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭lmao10

It doesn't work like that. You need a reliable company with a track record and plenty of backup options in case a worker is sick or unavailable.

I was thinking of an arrangement on a more local manner. The school is not a shop or factory with throughput from the general public on a commercial basis. For more human needs break-wise, close the gates with the key in the hands of management for short breaks during the school days. Burke is not going to be there when the pupils and teachers are gone home in the evenings, nor at weekends. He needs the normal open school day to make his "employment" status claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭757TFFIU

I wouldn't be surprised if the reason that his appeal over his dismissal has not proceeded is due to them being unable to find someone who is willing to replace the person who was on the appeal panel. Given that the family seem to think it's ok to turn up at people's homes, or turn up when they are going to church, etc., shove a camera in their face and pester the bejaysus out of them, I could perfectly understand why a person wouldn't want to be on the appeal panel. I do agree with you though - whenever they do get the appeal going, it is more than likely that they will uphold the school's decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,698 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I wouldn't be surprised if the reason that his appeal over his dismissal has not proceeded is due to them being unable to find someone who is willing to replace the person who was on the appeal panel

That could be part of it. But the Appeals Court with their nonsense decision to uphold Burkes appeal has basically prejudiced the entire ASTI, a daft contradictory decision if ever there was one.

You agree with removing someone from an appeal because they once mentioned the word 'trans' therefore, in clown Burke world, they are biased against their false reality

One can't help wondering why the family hasn't targetted Irish Govt TD's with the diligence they do persons of Christian ethos involved in education and health matters. Maybe they see it would not be of benefit to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭kegg

They have done. Can't remember who was taoiseach at the time but they chased him around castlebar with the usual fone antics. They also harrassed alan dillon when he was trying to do a bit of shopping in Tescos. He had to turn around and leave..

The time will come when some-one down this side of the border will follow the example of the "northern brethren" and take steps to encourage the Burkes to step away from invading the O/P's personal space. The "Good Book" seems to carry some weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,580 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I doubt he'd do anything at all.

But I do get the impression the school has been very clear in expectations of how staff, pupils and parents are to deal with him (which I assume means they ignore him), it is amazing there hasn't been a single incident...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭mulbot

No incidents because alot of the parents support him, and every day there's a lot of children bringing cards to him and taking photos with him. Of course that won't be shown by the media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,676 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Big claim that you can't prove... Why exactly should we believe you? If he had the level of support you were claiming, I'd expect some of those parents to be protesting with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭mulbot

You could very easily drive there some morning.