If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Arcade Highscore Challenge - Round 23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Ok didn't know there were speed ups ..my ship was flying around like a mad thing mid level 2 every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭tonyotonyo

Yeah only need one or two speed ups, best to avoid the rest

Have discovered a strategy to beat level 3 boss, just as its appearing on screen, fire your pod thing into it's opening and hammer away. Still not easy as you're left defenseless then

I've not got past level 2 or the boss . Near end of level 2 it just gets bloody impossible .I'll put some time into this this evening or tomorrow . Each part does rally have specifics you have to be positioned in or where your drone should be and it's so annoying to get there , loose all your life's and repeat until you cop the technique, but very rewarding

Praise the Lord..I copped how to get by the part on level 2 with all those stupid balloon type yokes that burst...just stay at the very back top left of screen and fired like the clappers and attached me drone to me arse . Such an annoying annoying section

Slow progress , but at least it's progress !

Now to bloody get there again and surely face another annoying section I'm sure and then the boss.

Jesus give a man a break . Fecking screens crowded full of bloody enemies ..just let me relax lads .

Its really hard to navigate in this game . Ya need to just put the enemies to bed before it gets too hectic and have your drone in the right place , and your ship positioned correctly for a wave , stay there ...move ..change drone postion and repeat . It's a strange schmup.

That probably sounds bizarre to you's . I'm probably not explaining it properly, as that sounds like any game ,but it's way more pronounced.different then any other schmup really

The only schmups it slightly compares to are thunder force and hellfire

Right enough subjecting you to me raving codswallop, I'm off for the Sunday Fry

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,867 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

You have a nasty section after that where you have to squeeze through a tight tunnel and then langer lad.

I'm not enjoying stage 2. It's slow but it's also not safe so have to concentrate and the boss can go down in either 3 or 4 shots or hang around for ages.

Post edited by Retr0gamer at

Ahh feck sake ..I wanna see langer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭geotrig

This comment triggered a memory so went of on a tangent ... It was always a case of 2 many speed ups were crazy and going back to normal was frustratingly slow like many games , so I tested my controls and found something was off , thought I had wiring fault or failing stick..... Turns out my 5v was slightly low on the mister board ,quiet high on the edge connector , so the low voltage causes a usb fault and well dodgy controls ,😞

I'll leave off it till someone challenges my score :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,078 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

This fecking bubble section is going to have me losing hair haha.

You really are boned once you die. Seems to be a lot more manageable if you just get the blue laser that bounces off everything and don't upgrade beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I have R Type Dimensions on my XBox360, which can switch between 2D arcade and 3D graphics. I will have a go today. It has Rtype and Rtype II.

The things that float up from the water and burst?

Most of the time they seem to spawn as soon as your ship is above, so if you start off like halfway across the screen then slowly edging backwards as the screen advances it allows you time to pop 90% of them

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,867 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I usually hang to the left close to the bottom of the screen. They never spawn close enough to take you out down there and you can sit there happily and take them out. It can get out of hand if they hit the ceiling.

Greta conversion, on the PC as well.

Ahh feck this game . ..I officially hate the directional controls🤬 ..dont matter ..what level power .

I've got through the infuriating level 2 few times now and I've got to the dangling knob boss few times ...it's just soo jittery navigating over or under him either way.I've died smashing into bloody scenery every time or his langer …I'll try not have any speed power ups and be like a stoned R90. The slog to get through level 2 each time to die each time due to me moving inconsistently is vexing me beyond belief .

Need get a beer

1 speed up is more than enough. 1 or 2 is optimal depending on how you play.