organic farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Rusheseverywhere

You are dead right Bass no margin in Organics with meal cost. Still know Organic lads with Rolls Royces land that can nearly finish from grass alone. Same lads importing dairy slurry and wonder if it gets a bit of pig slurry mixed in in the dairys lads tank but that is just me wondering. Problem for Organics is dairy bred stock not out there for him to buy that an ordinary farmer can if he decides suckler cattle too dear. All that said lots lads getting 10k plus from Organics so you cannot have it every way. Those bulls at 2100 would be worth 4k a carcass a year down the line in the ordinary trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,916 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Be aware that bulls must be castrated, (with a derogation) before 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,114 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

50 acre farm gers 6k in conversion and 5k after 3 years. If you are out of conversion you woukd need 100 acres to get 10k. However you are limited in your ACRES choices. 100+ acres here now I would find it easy enough to hit 4+k in environment scheme tgat costs very.little

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Silverdream

It's hard to have to fork out 6k for a springer, but it is what it is. I used to be able to buy a replacement heifer that could run with the bull for 1000 -1200 now the same heifer is 3-4k. I am lucky I had kept up the numbers, but that was pot luck more than good planning. 20 maiden heifers and a bull could set you back 60k today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

You'd get both no bother, plant a few trees, fence a few dykes, that's 14k straight profit before you start.

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭endainoz

Not much point in speaking in common sense from an organic point of view anyway. Some farmers are more focused on production above everything else and it's a bit of narrow minded view but to each their own I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭TheClubMan

We combined a plot of pea/barley combi crop two weeks ago. Yielded 2.2 t/acre. Going to keep enough for our own cattle and sell the rest. What would you recommend sowing behind it? Could winter oats be an option if I could secure a market for it?

Yes, but don't set it too early. Flahavans should be able to take it, if you use the correct variety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭TheClubMan

Thanks. I'll touch base with them and suss it out. Do they offer a price in advance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭Packrat

Anyone know the non-compliance rules?

I've a 'level 2 infringement for an extra fluke dose without fecal egg sampling'

Does this attract a penalty? None is mentioned..

Also - the sneaky feckers sent a €250 bill for "commonage monitoring" even though they don't pay for commonage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Not from the department has to be a level 3 to get a fine from the department. You just got a slap on the wrist, if it happens again next year it will be upgraded tho so don't let that happen. Never heard of a common age monitoring fee is this the first year you were charged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭Packrat

Yes. Apparently its a 'once off'

Thanks, thats what I was hoping. Better paperwork required. Sheep get dosed for fluke 3 times a winter because around here you'd have nothing if you didn't. My health plan actually says that but they've chosen to be anal about the fecal sampling bit.

Yeah if it's in the health plan and signed by the vet that should have covered you. Must have gotten a picky inspector. Just fecal sample or have a letter from the vet for each dose and you'll be fine the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭manno

It's a funny world where you think it's a narrow minded view to focus on production in one's business. Don't get me wrong, I think Organics has it's place but don't look down your nose at farmers who want to make a success of their business.

Production must also be in line with the business in terms of long term viability. Environmental and carbon regulations are only going one way. If you're up against the present regs to achieve max production, your longer term model is already, out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Cran

production isn’t just about output, it also needs to take into account inputs and leakage. These are factors often forgotten by people who throw the non productive argument at organics

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Not strictly an organic issue but I'm guessing some on this thread have used or are using multi-species swards.

I had a bad experience when doing a full reseed with MSS a few years back: I didn't sort out the docks/nettles properly in advance and didn't graze it right either. I also think the 4-way mix wasn't enough and I've read since about lads using mixes with 12 different grass types.

But I'm drawn back to MSS repeatedly for the diversity it adds to an animals diet and to the soil itself, as well as the reduced fertiliser use. I know it's not as simple as that but I think enough of it to be considering it again!

Has anyone any experience of broadcasting MSS seed onto ground that was reseeded 12 months ago, has a nice bit of clover, and is OK for NPK and pH?

Thanks.

Maybe consider just sowing plantain and chicory into it. Graze tight, scratch and broadcast and roll. You have grass and clover already. MSS is really about the interaction of grasses, clovers and herbs. The more varieties of each species the better.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Anyone selling organic weanlings yet?

We sold a few about a month ago, very happy with the prices we got at the time. I did a few calculations on the mart docket afterwards and I'm beginning to wonder is it worth castrating the male calves.

There was 2 lots of bullocks and 1 lot of bulls sold. They were weighed for the scheme about 2 months before we sold them and the bulls made more per kg, were heavier and put on 0.4kg more per day over the two months. Now I have to admit the bullocks were tighter on grass than the bulls for some of the 2 months. I have no idea who bought them, but I'm presuming the bulls went non organic.

If the organic beef price isn't able to pay a premium over conventional beef should we be aiming for a different market?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Yeah, the difference for organic beef v regular feedlot is mainly in the carbon footprint. That, along with omega 3 levels are the two key differences. Their is another categorisation required to set that environmentally friendly beef a apart, similar to the difference between wild and farmed salmon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭manno

Well, I always sow my MSS by broadcasting with a spreader. I don't see any issue with doing it in your situation. Most of the seeds are very small so it wouldn't be hard to get enough soil contact. Give it a rub of a grass harrow if you can.

Some of my efforts worked out very clean and some were full of docks like yours even though there wasn't much of a weed problem before reseeding. Something Farmer Phil mentioned in a video was to sow with 0-10-20 so as not to drive on the weeds and give the MSS time to establish. I would always have used 10-10-20 when reseeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Market for Organic Weanlings is always weaker going into the winter due to the cost of over wintering, you need to keep an eye on conventional prices as sometimes organic Weanlings sell for less than Conventional going into the winter.

I always winter mine, but I have the sheds and can out winter them if needed. I castrate them too and seen a big price difference over Bulls in spring, a lot of lads want to pick up Summer grazing cattle with little or no work to be done only open the door of the trailer and let them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,151 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Excessive dock and nettle's in reseeds is usually due to excessive nitrate levels in soils. Its imperative to manage such fields to minimise this issue in terms of any inputs applied, this will also benefit herbal persistance and estaiblishment in such swards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭893bet

How does killing in the good herdsman work?

Is there an agent you can ring?

How far ahead do you need to book in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭releasevalve

Couple of info meeting should answer a lot of people s questions https://x.com/natorgskill/status/1962840129522794520?s=46

IMG_3051.jpeg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If there was a premium for finished beef there wouldn’t be any leakage.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Well has anyone here ever tested red clover silage? Where did ye get it done and was it the same test as grass silage. I'm going feeding bullocks in the next few weeks and would like to know if they need meal or not, bullocks aren't organic anymore btw

I have fed red clover. Think it has the ability to finish cattle, really rocket fuel. Maybe supplement with an energy ration incl minerals. Did not test it.