If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

3yr old boy from Dublin feared dead - Garda & Tusla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,594 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Are we sure a child actually existed in this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,144 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Wezz

I used to be a Tusla social worker. I get sick of the narrative that we are lazy, don't care about kids or plain incompetent. There were many cases of kids vanishing in my time. Most of these children are from families with links abroad and the story is the parents or guardian are moving back home or going to another jurisdiction. We can do our due diligence and get as much proof of that as we can that all is ok but we don't always have the power to follow the trail, we could only do so much. We also have to have reasons to suspect harm has come to the child and that often isn't there. Someone calling and saying they haven't seen little Johnny or Mary around just isn't enough. I have raised concerns with gardai about children who go awol and some do a great job of tracking the child down with the cooperation of agencies in other countries. That's down to a garda who doesn't give up and an agency that is willing to help. But sometimes gardai have too much to do than chase down children who - 9 times out of 10 - are safe and well. And sometimes they don't get the support they need elsewhere. I'm not sure what people think social workers can actually do when their power is extremely limited. Should add that I hope this is just a case of a child moving outside the country and all is well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

They are populist like you wouldn't believe. Some of their stances are very left-wing, though they might not like to admit it. Pro-climate change, pro-sustainable energy, pro-workers rights, socialist views on economic justice, housing etc. They are also very right-wing on certain topics like abortion and immigration, to a degree, but calling them left-wing isn't any further from the truth than, say, calling them right wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭csirl

The are many very committed and caring Tusla staff. But the organisation itself is largely dysfunctional. It has a reputation as being the worst administered public service body in the country. They spent millions on a new case management system........which doesnt appear to be fit for purpose or even have some of the basic functionality required. Many of Tusla's child protection policies/procedures are out dated and appear to be from the 1950s catholic church.......which isnt surprising given that many if the services offered by Tusla today were previously delivered by religious organisations. You'd think they'd update them to reflect current best practise!

I think the couple of cases that have come into the public domain are the tip of the iceberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I hope this is just a case of a child moving outside the country and all is well.

If the Gardai suspected you of killing a child or even just disposing of his remains, and you could resolve the situation by saying "no it's grand, he's in the Uk/Poland/wherever", then I'm pretty sure you'd do so very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,714 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The most like country for kids from this country to move to is England.

So an EU wide system won't help.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod - please don't drag baseless speculation about the background and ethnicity of the family involved into the thread. Some posts deleted, including off topic posts about a political party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭billie1b

I wouldn't let Tusla or any goverment run child agency look after a mouse, let alone a child. The most dysfunctional, corrupt and biggest bunch of wasters I've come across in my life! I pity any child that has dealings with them and it's not suprising so many kids chose to live on the streets than in the "care" of Tusla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

We cannot get the English to join things, but perhaps they would exchange information on a bilateral basis.

Add in that Tusla soesnt background check their staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭billie1b

Add in that this poor child was in Tuslas care for at least a year (2018-2020) before being given back to his parents that wanted him to be adopted!
    Another failure by Tusla, absolute scandalous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

This story really bothered me. We seem incapable as a country in taking care of the welfare of our children.

Mother & baby homes, forced adoptions for money, vaccine trials, clerical sexual abuse, physical abuse, mental health services a shambles, 5000 homeless, scoliosis, children's hospital etc etc

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,170 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/0902/1531308-missing-child-investigation/

The child, a boy who would now be seven years old, has not been seen for at least three years, when he was around three-and-a half years old.

Confirmed now.

A child who was known to Tusla and in their care went missing for the last three and a half years. What's even worse was they didn't even discover this themselves, it was a social welfare fraud investigation that uncovered it.

Systematic failure at Tusla and two little boys are dead. Heads must roll at Tusla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,343 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Get Real

To update my opinion on my previous post. I gave Tusla the benefit of the doubt

Now it turns out they were aware of the child/dealing with the child in 2020. Heads need to roll. Or again, a GSOC equivalent for Tusla.

It's an absolute farce that they went to the guards on Friday, about something that could have happened in the last 4 years.

And okay, again, benefit of the doubt for a miriad of reasons people may say, who's against a comprehensive and accountable oversight of Tusla staff?

We still don't know if any staff involved in Kyran Durnin received any kind of discipline/charge/punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Why does an organization that can’t do the basics even exist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭baldbear

Jesus . I would have thought a child who is in foster care, in the adoption process and goes back to his family would constantly be. checked up on by Tulsa In future years. But looks like this is not the case at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,714 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Do you remember what was happening in 2020? Social workers going from house to house would be great way to spread disease!

Whatever about the government. MEN need to man up, and stop killing and injuring women and children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

At this point there is no clear evidence of what happened to the child or the gender of the person who caused it.

Even in 2020 you could have had a video call and had a look at the child, at least you would know that he was alive.

The State does care about children. We dont have effective child protectiion in Ireland - its all voluntary as its not enforced. Tusla is just a rebranded version of the 'social services" previously run by religious organisations. Dont value children and loyal to the church. Tusla is so riddled with opus dei types it might as well be a church body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Agreed. Tusla was never fit for purpose. Could the Gardai/Tusla pin any of this on Sgt Maurice McCabe?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,971 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

So latest is that the child died in his sleep, and the parents panicked and buried him in a random field.

No harm, but if your child dies in their sleep, as horrific as this would be to discover, you don't take the body and bury it in some random spot.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,963 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

…and continue claiming social welfare in honour of the dearly departed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,071 ✭✭✭Deeec

Yeah that was 2020 - However after covid that child should have been checked on. To say that a child in care for 18 months who was handed back to his parents wasnt checked on sounds very negligent. We are now in 2025 - how did this child go unchecked for 5 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

That's a pretty big jump you're making there, how do you know he was a) killed and b) by a man?

Out of interest, do you say the same whenever it's a woman who is the perpetrator? Like the Dierdre Morley case a couple of years ago? Were you posting sexist claptrap like "women better woman up and stop killing kids" around that time or is your sexism reserved solely for MEN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

About 400 are unaccounted for by TUSLA. Tusla are the new nuns and monks in different uniforms. God help your family if you need their "help".

Not all of these make the news. If you read the detailed HIQA inspection reports re the Clondalkin/Ballyfermot office of Tusla - the stuff that made the news recently - they include references to not knowing the whereabouts of some kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭AugustRain

I was waiting for someone to find a way to blame the Catholic Church, no longer involved in any way with child services, for the fate of this child.
    Because there’s no way we would just take the blame ourselves, that would be unthinkable….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭AugustRain

why blame it on McCabe when you can pin the blame on RCC? I mean, it’s a big of a stretch now, but a poster here managed that…