If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 dairyedge2

your the only one I see coming out with interesting post’s recently. If you think neighbouring farmers are better then the bankers you are very naive. I have a neighbour actively planning on how they’ll farm land bounding them owned by older farmers. I’m also paying parents who are pension age. Farmers that get to 65 should be entitled to no grants or single farm payments. That might speed things up a bit. Scandalous.

Post edited by dairyedge2 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Thought I saw a ghost there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 dairyedge2

you can sleep easy. Sullivan’s farm has me reported. My next user name will be the edge of dairy, like Sullivan’s farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭green daries

CCertainly i did see one out of the corner of my 👁 🧐 miss the likes of the justice on here was a great poster/moderator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Jb1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭50HX

What was your grandmother employed at when she worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭ftm2023

A regular office job. Typewriting. She wasn’t a bank manager or anything 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭older by the day

Look ye probably won't like it, but

The trouble is, when one partner dies and you are left to run a house and car on sub 300 a week, it's near poverty.

Lads on here, asking why didn't they invest and have private pensions.

Well in the majority of houses the woman stayed at home and reared a big family and laboured on the farm, for no wage. A lot of families educated their children to third level on 30 or 40 cows on that income alone.

So even the thicker of the posters here should figure out why they didn't build up massive pensions in the 80s and 90s ect.

Mean while you have posters here, telling how his milk made over 70000 in June, another that everyone of his cows produces 9000ls so nearly 5000 euro.

Don't let your parents in poverty, so you can buy a 150000 tractor and a 70k Audi in the same year

😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,109 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I heard a story of a widow woman locally , she needed a new car- well not brand new- kids said they'd pay for it. 7 kids. The one with the biggest house and biggest car said he couldn't afford to give his share. Yet could go on big holidays and flash the cash. Big site he got on the farm too for the big house.

Post edited by whelan2 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭yewdairy

I think its only right the farm should paid towards living expenses of parents, as said before some of the older generation didn't really have the opportunity to build up private pension

I was very lucky here farm was signed over when I was relatively young so had the opportunity to invest knowing I had long term security. But it was always made clear I was responsible for topping up old age pension to certain level, so both my parents are still taking a wage from farm. It's not in writing but they and my siblings trust I will honor my word.

Families don't talk enough about succession and it ends up left in a kind of grey area and nobody knows what's happening. Therefore it's never planned properly and can end up in a huge mess both emotionally and financially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭straight

He probably couldn't afford it due to his misplaced values. It's all about projection of image for some lads. Fur coat and no knickers.

Of course he should have traded down his car or sacrificed the holiday to help his mother. She helped him long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭ginger22

Where a farming operation has been expanded / improved by the ould lads, when handing over to the young buck they are certainly entitled to be supported in retirement.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Don't forget it's many the young lad grew old and worked for pittance on the promise that he'd get the place.

Families and money are a dangerous combination.

There's a story in this John B. Keane collection of short stories called, The Hanging, that's about farm succession: https://www.amazon.ie/Short-Stories-John-B-Keane/dp/1856353443

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

It's rare that the demand is clear and made up front. Most of these agreements are intentionally vague to leave room to squeeze the child at a later date when they are less likely to be able to back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Mental thing about inheritance back in the 50"s etc was doweries been needed to marry of daughters, unfortunate case here was 4 girls in the family and no sons, grandmother had to re- mortgage the farm to pay out the above, plus siblings of her deceased parents, have all the original paperwork documenting it

I was chatting to a man, six months ago. He's like myself 50 cows and wife working and running and racing with kids.

He is also helping an elderly uncle and his wife who has suckers. I was saying it was a bit of nuisance to him and would it be easier if they leased the place to him.

He laughed and said ain't it hard enough to rear my family on 50 cows, without having to keep the uncle and his wife as well. He would need another 30 cows and housing and extend the milking parlour to make it pay.

So it's a tough one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Many families were reared on a lot less than 30 / 40 cows, and no outside work by either party, my own included.

Pensions started as late as the early 2000’s have grown substantially since payments into them began.
    Perhaps it is poor income or wealth management . For example there is currently 160 billion sitting in Irish deposit accounts earning nothing . Some of this must be owned by farm families. Would that not have been better invested into pension funds ( even low risk ) for a better return ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭visatorro

Is there still a hang up from the crash in 09 or whenever it was. Share prices wiped out. House values wiped out. Talking to a couple of lads in their 40s and was surprised that they had no pension.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I see your point. I was talking to a neighbour a while back and he reckoned you'd want to milk an extra 60 cows to pay a full-time employee.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,895 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’ve been paying into a pension since my early 20s through my job at time and off my own back since started farming …monthly payment ,set amounts but over last 5 years it’s been topped up a fair bit yearly when compiling accounts and finalising tax

I’m in mid 40s too and few friends I’d know well some don’t have a pension ….some because they can’t afford it for a variety of reasons ,others because they have investement properties and this can’t afford Money to tension but see better return from property …..lots in there 40s with kids/mortgages /chikd care etc just don’t have the spare cash for a pension.i often look at my pension pot and see what will be there when I retire and it’ll be a nice sum ……but I mightn’t even make it that far and won’t be able to enjoy it and retirement 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

How much would ye be aiming to have in yer pension pot by time ye retire? Would 500k be a good goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

500k would be approx 400 per week before taxes. Depends on your situation really, if you have your house paid off and kids educated, you're in a decent position.

Would recommend everyone talk to a financial advisor. I went from putting 600 a month to 1000 a month at no extra cost because of tax relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The trouble is that the goal posts are moving and a million probably won't be enough of a pension pot when you're mid sixties in twenty years time.

I think if I was paying in a thousand per month, I'd like to be managing it myself, be it houses, farmland or whatever. Very few fund managers are any good yet they skim lots of your money for themselves.

If you put money into low risk funds you'd be lucky to get the bank interest rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

While a private pension is great to have don’t forget the government have in the past raided them. It could well happen again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,895 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

tax relief on pensions tho is a nice bonus on top property and houses are grand but can be messy and risky ….tenants have too many rights

A pension pot of a million plus in mid sixties is a fair pot …throw in state pension on top plus whatever you’ve left after a lifetime wheeling and dealing and sorting your kids out in there life …I’ve an idea what my mother is getting from her own pension …my dads pension ,the various things from govt etc and what I’m giving her….id live nicely on it at tgat age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Has anyone lost on a pension fund i mean really lost like its worth less than they paid in im thinking of putting money into a pension to save tax its either that or buy another fendt which i dont need just looking at the one i have it was some waste of money as i hate tractors with a passion was nearly better giving it to the taxman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭50HX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭straight

You'd have been better off investing in your parlour, calf house, calf feeder to make yourself and the woman's life easier.

Pensions definitely rise and fall. They advise when it's on a high and you will be drawing in a few years, then it should be changed to a safer type fund.

Back about 6 to 8 years ago the markets gave a friend of mine a bad fright as he taught he would be able to retire early. But he had to stay working.

It's the tax saving that makes it so attractive. It enables myself and the wife to stay mostly on the lower rate.

But I have followed you for a while and with your type of income, you should be in a company and renting your fleet of fendts back to the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,002 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

True - folks and farms were more self sufficient back a few decades too, sadly we seem to have lost that to a large degree. I'm eyeing up reteirment within the next decade too and have been looking at ways in cutting back outside inputs both in relation to the farm itself and daily household expenses. Its suprising why you can save if you do some research on the like of favourite foods etc. eg. Was spending up to 10 euro a week on berries for breakfast and dessert, then started growing my own raspberries and collecting/ freezing stuff from the ditches.Nice few hundred saved yearly there!! My current partner's father has experience as a butcher so next project is to raise some pigs for my own use and feed on mainly food waste from my own kitchen,near neighbours and a lad nearby who runs a farm shop.

Speaking of debt and loans, I paid down a nice chunk of the mortage after a few years of not doing anything with some modest savings I had from a property I sold when I first got married. Its better than any investment I know cos I have significantly shortend my current mortage term and saved close to 40k in interest payments!!