Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭fluke

Ahh brilliant. I'm a big fan too, but wasn't sure how much I'd enjoy it on Sunday, following Oasis the weekend before, and I was lukewarm on the recent album.

However it surpassed any expectations I had, and the latest album (played in its entirety on Sunday) clicked for me, as FJM delivered a tight, almost spiritual experience.

It helped that SOAK and Cass McCombs were a solid undercard combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭deeks

Yeah I really like the new album without it quite being in the top rank of FJM records for me but all the songs were taken to a new level in a live setting. Was an almost religious experience overall.

No Soak in Cork but Cass McCombs was class as well. His bass player was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭fafy

I only knew a few songs, he was fantastic, class from start to finish, support was also excellent.

IMG_2697.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭whatever76

Piling on the love for the FJM Cork Gig last night - Incredible gig and venue was perfect with decent crowd . So cool getting an artist like him play in cork !!! His voice just amazing and the band were just top class. I was not familiar with the new stuff TBH but man the last few tunes were just amazing live. Mental Health and Summer's gone stood out to me and Mahashmashana . I know not his thing but love a small bit more crowd interaction . Hope he enjoyed cork to come back again !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭ned rierson

REM fables 40th in vicar st. It was fab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Tom Dunne said rumours abound about REM. He was hoping to have some more news on tonight's show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Fanirish

Tom pulling peoples leg a bit. No chance of a reunion. Only last year they all said no chance. They had their time in the sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Not a hope ....

The 4 of them did an interview on us tv a few months ago..

And they were all adamant ..

NO HOPE, OR WILL, to reform..

A texas sized NO ...

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Ha yeah, he said the rumours were that they were all going to show up on stage together for last night's show in the Olympia. Obviously didn't happen in the end as it would be everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Fanirish

sure Peter buck on tour in uk and was playing a show last night.
    doubt bill berry is one for exhaustive Atlantic travel given his medical issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,864 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Could this be the gig of the year?

IMG_7818.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,946 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Yep! That was absolutely awesome!

Band in flying form, great venue, great sound, awesome sweaty moshing sing-every-word crowd, it was basically perfect 🙂

I had to dash after Old Dog, annoyingly, as the late trains are cancelled today but I think I heard everything I'd have really wanted to so I'm heading home very happy

1000035587.jpg

I'm going to give the button factory gig the nod because their was more room for activities, but these boys are on another level right now, sticky sweaty singalong with a bunch of sound heads. Think I'll buzz to Prague in November and see them after a rake of 2 euro pints,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,864 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

They sounded so tight, totally together. And how many moshes? That was incredible.

Loved the support too - Hero in Error. Been ages since my bones were shaken to the core

I’d missed it - a lot!

Got the setlist. That’s two of theirs I’ve got now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,292 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Saw Gorillaz play Demon Days in full last night in the Copper Box Arena in London.

Phenomenal show and was wonderful to see one of my favourite albums played in full. Great to see De La Soul and Bootie Brown turn up to feature.

They also played three tunes off the D-Sides album including one they've never played before. A real treat.

(Father) Damon was in fine form.

1000141989.jpg

Heading back over on Tuesday for the Plastic Beach album and then the "mystery show" (new album). Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Ah wow, hadn't heard about these, sounds amazing! Hope the next two are just as good for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭deeks

Oops, wrong thread, sorry! Can't delete it now so I'll leave it...

BLACK NYLON plus support

Whelan’s Upstairs • Fri 10th October 2025

Saw these guys at Ones To Watch and they were really good. You can watch that performance on the video embedded here...

https://www.whelanslive.com/event/black-nylon/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,292 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Just back from Night 3 and Night 4 of Gorillaz and... wow.

Plastic Beach is such an incredible album and to see it performed in full (on Night 3) was such a thrill for me. Special guests like Yukimi from Little Dragon (Empire Ants is just a track that hits perfectly for me), Paul Simonon, Gruff Rhys, De La Soul, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble and Mos Deff among others made for a dream come true performance. The sound was magical, usual Gorillaz visuals on full show and the crowd was right there.

Last night was the Mystery Show and they played the new album in full which was heavily middle eastern influenced with three instrumentalists playing a mix of non-typical instruments alongside the usual band and it all just meshed together so well. All attendees had phones locked away which made for a wonderful atmosphere and a fully immersive night. I'd say 3 of every 4 songs were perfectly in my sweet spot and had the crowd bouncing. Seeing Sparks appear on stage was a huge treat and their song (about dictators) is a total ear-worm. Other guest appearances (there and on the album) included Johnny Marr, Joe Talbot from Idles, Black Thought, Omar Souleyman, Mos Def, Paul Simonon and more. I can't wait to listen to the album when it finally appears.

Was worth the trip over! As (evidently) my favourite band, it'll be very hard to top the last week 😊

1000142327.jpg 1000142385.jpg 1000142298.jpg 1000142264.jpg

Incidentally they've uploaded the whole first night to YouTube so there's a good chance the second (Demon Days) and third (Plastic Beach) shows will turn up too.

Post edited by The Iron Giant on

Great night in the Workmans Club, Na Mothúcháin (The Emotions) gave us four cracking Irish bands - Onion Boys - NonSense - Dirty Marmalade - Sudden Impact

Highlight for me was Dirty Marmalade. Unbelievable sound from these three guys who hail from Belturbet in Co Cavan. They were such class musicians as well, really knew their music.

https://open.spotify.com/artist/2Ks8Swu5Bxyz7Svqbp3Yxi?si=acc3Fg5VS5GrcxOYuosjew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭dublingreen

Big Country last Friday, decent show from effectively a tribute act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Ryan Davis and the Roadhouse Band brilliant in at the Workman's tonight. Those 12 minute songs can drag a bit on record, not liive. Fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Triple bill in Toale's in Dundalk last night; Molly Vulpyne Band, TV Smith and Yur Mum. I was there specifically for Yur Mum who are a Brazillian M/F duo with herself on bass/vocals and him on drums/vocals. High energy set of punk/grunge type material. TV Smith i enjoyed a lot more than i expected for a solo acoustic slot. Energetic, political call to arms set. He's nearly 70 now and still at it, fair play. Molly Vulpyne Band also decent. First time for me in that venue and would happily return. Nice room out the back of a pub and good sound. Only €15 too.

All three acts are in the Grand Social this evening alongside Paranoid Visions, The Coathanger Solution, Arcadian Shadows and Easy Company. Doors at 5pm and a wallet friendly €20. Link: https://ie.powertik.com/events/lets-get-serious-2025

Button Factory for me tonight, primarily for Skloss (another m/f duo but on a more psych vibe) rather than The Redneck Manifesto.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

Ventured into the swamps of jersey last night for The Hold Steady.

Opening band was a Thin Lizzy tribute called Thick Lizzy, who were technically fantastic. But their lead singer was an incredibly white man dressed like Phillo, including a pound shop wig.

1000035917.jpg

Don't know how I feel about that tbh......

The Hold Steady are currently doing the majority of their shows as Weekenders, with deep cuts, album play throughs and what have you, so seeing a straight up headline show is a rare treat, I've seen them once before but not since 2018.

1000035923.jpg

If you've only seen Craig Finn solo, you would not believe it's the same person, dancing with the rhythm of a tranquilized chimp, leading the crowd in sing alongside and waves, chants and claps, conducting as a master of ceremonies.

The first half was for the sickos, a nice mix of old, new and a few hits (constructive summer played too early for my tastes) but from stuck between stations on we were a congregation viewing a rock and roll resurrection, and the ending 1-2 of sequestered in Memphis/Killer parties was the ascendency to heaven. Definitely won't leave it 7 years next time.

We are all

The Hold Steady.

Good night in the Button Factory. I went mainly for the support act Skloss. A husband & wife duo, she on drums and vocals and himself on guitar. A 30 minute set of heavy droning riffs at a decent volume. They call it Spacegaze, i'd opt for Heavy Psych. Doesn't matter as they definitely hit the spot for me. I really wish they had gotten a longer slot tbh. Headliners The Redneck Manifesto were much better than i was expecting. I saw them many times in the late 90s/00s but gave up as i found them increasingly tedious. Maybe i needed a 20 year break to appreciate them again. 70 minutes of instrumental math rock i guess you'd call it. Only tried my patience a couple of times but overall were enjoyable. I'd catch them at a festival, not so sure about their own gig again though.

I opted for your punk night at The Grand Social DW.

Highlight for me was Yur Mum from Brazil. Just a drummer and bass player, really filled the room.

Yeah they're a clear step or two above the rest of that bill.

Problem Patterns in the Grand Social tonight if you're looking for something to go to.

Already booked, thank you. They sound fantastic, can’t wait to hear them live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭ned rierson

You should go to one of the weekenders in London or New York. There's a great community around the band and you're guaranteed to hear all your favourites.