Northern Ireland 2125?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,424 ✭✭✭✭downcow

no idea what this post means or what you are saying about the IFA - I’m no fan of the IFA by the way.

Thanks. Yes this thread contains two unlikely hypotheticals: a united ireland and a smaller NI. I am engaging in both.
    I think we know why you won’t comment on Cornwall. But let me be more general if that helps. How do you feel about big powerful governments should react to separatist movements within their jurisdiction?

I think you need to check your history. Lundy did not surrender and the maiden city was not breached.

And you are more than a bit confused clearly about the faith of the majority of the British in OWC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,246 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Did it ever occur to you that you may be a partitionist patsie?

I know exactly who he is.

The British will walk away if there is a ui poll win. Then everything changes and we become the separatists. The British are a major military power that lots of our community belong to its forces - we would not want it engaged in such a scenario.
    so you ask what would happen. In Francies Irish takeover of OWC, the guards would be attempting to police OWC with the backing of the Irish army. It would need to be a very fast learning curve for them because it would be very messy.
    guadia Jones and Irish capt Mannering patrolling the Shankill 😅

Why do you continually assume the NI identity is on your side?
    Where is the data for this assumption.

Every voter switching identity is a persuadable voter.

This demographic are not voting Alliance, whose is falling despite your much vaunted nonsense about their growth.

I guarantee you much of that new NI identity are Unionists sick to the back teeth of their political leaders selfish strategic blunders and cock ups.

Look downcow, the facts of history are you could not break wind without collusion with the RUC UDR or the British.
    Burning the odd bus or killing randon Catholics again will not change a thing. All you will do is drive any friends you have in London away and from the first act of violence lose any public minds you have in GB.

Francie I think you are one of the lone voices on here who says devolution in a UI cannot happen.
    Westminster has nothing to do with it in this scenario- it is the Irish state trying to justify to the world why NI (which has developed separately for over 100 years) cannot have some autonomy. The world will expect Ireland to show some compassion to the northern Irish people in the same way as uk did, and give us our wee country. You can certainly take the role Westminster has currently.
    all the logic is with my argument. OWC devolved in a UK = OWC devolved in a UI.
    fair is fair!

And I honestly think the people of Ireland will choose peace and compromise of belligerence and domination.
    what do others think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

One of those hypotheticals is a lot more likely than the other, Downcow. One has legislation in multiple countries defining how it will happen, is discussed routinely by both sides of the political divide and is part enough of the public psyche that it is a regularly polled question with at worst, say 30% support in a state that was specifically set up to avoid this and with no defined plan....the other is a hare-brained scheme that I've only heard espoused by a handful of fringe lunatics with no framework in place for it to occur and with such niche support that no one has ever even thought to poll about it as far as I know. If it makes you feel better to pretend we're discussing equally likely hypotheticals here, be my guest but you're only fooling yourself.

Your question is very non-specific and full of loaded language, I wouldn't be able to give an answer that applied to all separatist movements; it would depend on a number of factors including the level of support said separatist movements has, the size of the area seeking independence and the practicality of it's survivability as an independent state etc.

In the case of your masterplan, we're not talking about a separatist solution though, you're seeking to take part of a hypothetical United Ireland back under British rule. I've already said you're welcome to campaign for it but I don't think it is likely you'll get much support for a county and a half NI 2.0.

I'm aware you're trying to try pin me down to generalised support of all separatist movements to give some sort of credence to your proposal for a new NI (which I have already said you're welcome to campaign for), but I think it is foolish to try and discuss complex situations in generalist terms, so I won't give a one size fits all answer, because I don't believe one exists and I won't give an answer on a place I don't have enough knowledge of to give an educated answer because my answer would reflect on things that apply specifically to that location and if I don't know enough about the place, I can't consider those factors. If you want to ask something specific as it applies to NI, go ahead; I'm happy to answer that rather than your attempts to grossly simplify what is a complex situation.

Why would a majority voting to leave the UK basically want a perpetuation of that which prompted it to leave - a failed statelet and system of governing?

Maybe just maybe if your political leaders had shown an ounce of wit and fully embraced the GFA. But you foot dragged and are still kicking and screaming about creating a normal society. Then you lost the run of yourselves over what you thought Brexit might achieve and blew it.

I am not talking about a ui under British rule, and well you know it.
    I am talking about a united ireland where NI (or part thereoff) is given the same respect as it is within the uk ie devolution, football team, cultural recognition etc. that’s not hairbrained. What is hairbrained is a belief that I and 100,000s others are going to give up everything including our country, and live in francies wee fantasy Ireland of the 1500s or the one dreamt about in Long Kesh in the 1970s. Now that’s hairbrained!

just seen this from a local MP: full text below

IMG_0436.jpeg

𝗠𝗮𝗿𝘆 𝗟𝗼𝘂 𝗠𝗰𝗗𝗼𝗻𝗮𝗹𝗱 𝘁𝗲𝗹𝗹𝘀 𝘂𝘀 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗯𝗮𝘁𝘁𝗹𝗲 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗜𝗿𝗶𝘀𝗵 𝗨𝗻𝗶𝘁𝘆 𝗶𝘀 𝗯𝗲𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝘄𝗼𝗻 𝗶𝗻𝗰𝗵 𝗯𝘆 𝗶𝗻𝗰𝗵. This from a party who told us it would happen by 2016.

𝗗𝗼𝗻’𝘁 𝗯𝗲𝗹𝗶𝗲𝘃𝗲 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗦𝗙 𝗽𝗿𝗼𝗽𝗮𝗴𝗮𝗻𝗱𝗮 𝗼𝗻 𝗜𝗿𝗶𝘀𝗵 𝗨𝗻𝗶𝘁𝘆. ❌
    It is a 𝗽𝗶𝗽𝗲 𝗱𝗿𝗲𝗮𝗺 that most people in Northern Ireland don’t aspire to, and most in the Republic of Ireland.

𝗧𝗵𝗲 𝗽𝗿𝗼𝗯𝗹𝗲𝗺 𝘄𝗶𝘁𝗵 𝘀𝗼𝗰𝗶𝗮𝗹𝗶𝘀𝗺 𝗶𝘀 𝘁𝗵𝗮𝘁 𝘁𝗵𝗲𝘆 𝘄𝗮𝗻𝘁 𝘁𝗼 𝘀𝗽𝗲𝗻𝗱 𝗲𝘃𝗲𝗿𝘆𝗼𝗻𝗲 𝗲𝗹𝘀𝗲’𝘀 𝗺𝗼𝗻𝗲𝘆. 💸 The economics of the Republic of Ireland are already questionable given their reliance on large corporations being there at a discounted corporation tax rate, something even the EU is trying to redress as it gives unfair advantage.

If we take the most basic of needs, 𝗵𝗲𝗮𝗹𝘁𝗵, we have 𝗳𝗿𝗲𝗲 𝘁𝗿𝗲𝗮𝘁𝗺𝗲𝗻𝘁 𝗮𝘁 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗽𝗼𝗶𝗻𝘁 𝗼𝗳 𝗻𝗲𝗲𝗱 𝗶𝗻 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗨.𝗞. 🏥 We don’t pay to see our GP, we have subsidised dental treatment, and in Northern Ireland we have free prescriptions. 𝗧𝗵𝗲 𝗿𝗲𝗮𝗹𝗶𝘁𝘆 𝗼𝗳 𝗹𝗶𝘃𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗶𝗻 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗥𝗲𝗽𝘂𝗯𝗹𝗶𝗰 𝗶𝘀𝗻’𝘁 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝘀𝗮𝗺𝗲.

There is a reason the 𝗯𝗼𝗿𝗱𝗲𝗿 𝘁𝗼𝘄𝗻𝘀 𝗼𝗳 𝗡𝗼𝗿𝘁𝗵𝗲𝗿𝗻 𝗜𝗿𝗲𝗹𝗮𝗻𝗱, and indeed right into Upper Bann, are full of cross border shoppers. 𝗜𝘁’𝘀 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗿𝗶𝗽 𝗼𝗳𝗳 𝗥𝗲𝗽𝘂𝗯𝗹𝗶𝗰. 💰Since the introduction of the Euro in 2002, prices have steadily risen.

Then let’s take into account where Ms McDonald made these comments, 𝗮𝘁 𝗮 𝗛𝘂𝗻𝗴𝗲𝗿 𝗦𝘁𝗿𝗶𝗸𝗲𝗿 𝗰𝗼𝗺𝗺𝗲𝗺𝗼𝗿𝗮𝘁𝗶𝗼𝗻. This is the foundation for your 𝗳𝗮𝗻𝘁𝗮𝘀𝘆 𝗽𝗿𝗼𝗷𝗲𝗰𝘁. At an event to remember 𝗰𝗼𝗻𝘃𝗶𝗰𝘁𝗲𝗱 𝘁𝗲𝗿𝗿𝗼𝗿𝗶𝘀𝘁𝘀. People convicted of terrible brutality against people who shared this island north and south. Some who they even went to Mass with.
    𝗧𝗵𝗲𝘀𝗲 𝘁𝗲𝗿𝗿𝗼𝗿𝗶𝘀𝘁𝘀 𝗱𝗶𝗱𝗻’𝘁 𝗰𝗮𝗿𝗲 𝗮𝗯𝗼𝘂𝘁 𝗿𝗲𝗹𝗶𝗴𝗶𝗼𝗻, 𝗿𝗮𝗰𝗲, 𝗮𝗴𝗲 𝗼𝗿 𝗽𝗵𝘆𝘀𝗶𝗰𝗮𝗹 𝗱𝗶𝘀𝗮𝗯𝗶𝗹𝗶𝘁𝗶𝗲𝘀. They tortured, murdered and dumped their bodies at will.

The party of 𝘃𝗶𝗿𝘁𝘂𝗲 𝘀𝗶𝗴𝗻𝗮𝗹𝗹𝗶𝗻𝗴 of every passing bandwagon, didn’t care that the IRA murdered Christians, Muslims, Indians or none.
    And of course even to this day they 𝗰𝗮𝗻’𝘁 𝗯𝗿𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝘁𝗵𝗲𝗺𝘀𝗲𝗹𝘃𝗲𝘀 𝘁𝗼 𝗰𝗼𝗻𝗱𝗲𝗺𝗻 𝗮𝗰𝘁𝘀 𝗼𝗳 𝘃𝗶𝗼𝗹𝗲𝗻𝗰𝗲 𝗮𝗴𝗮𝗶𝗻𝘀𝘁 𝗜𝘀𝗿𝗮𝗲𝗹𝗶 𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝗝𝗲𝘄𝗶𝘀𝗵 𝗽𝗲𝗼𝗽𝗹𝗲. ✡️ That shouldn’t surprise us, given their support for the Nazis in the Second World War.

Let them have their aspirations, anyone can aspire to anything. But we, and 𝘂𝗻𝗶𝗼𝗻𝗶𝘀𝘁𝘀 𝗼𝗳 𝗮𝗻𝘆 𝗯𝗿𝗮𝗻𝗱, 𝘀𝗵𝗼𝘂𝗹𝗱𝗻’𝘁 𝗽𝗿𝗼𝘃𝗶𝗱𝗲 𝘀𝘂𝗰𝗰𝗼𝘂𝗿 𝘁𝗼 𝘁𝗵𝗲𝘀𝗲 𝗽𝗶𝗽𝗲 𝗱𝗿𝗲𝗮𝗺𝘀 when SF own support is waning wherever they stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭michael-henry-mcivor

Loyalists are just down to pipe bombs today that mostly don't work- Your Halloween firecracker at the most-

With no brit help they are fcuking useless twats-

The brits and Americans have a army they can't afford- both ran from the taliban Afghanistan-

Why pay billions to run-

Lundy is what the prod will do in a United Ireland- like they done in drumcree portadown- like they surrendered the Boyne in 1922 - docile as Fcuk-

OWC means U are proud of not being part of British England Scotland Wales-

We are working on U lot-

of course we are as proud of our identity and country as the Scots.
    I do recommend you do some research on Lundy - you badly misunderstand what happened.
    indeed engross yourself in the siege of Derry history, it is incredible stuff ‘…..and the cry was no surrender’, and the rest, as they say, is history.

The Prods give up no surrender when they surrendered the Boyne to the IRA in 1922-

Lundy is mocked every year by the Prods for being a surrender man- something which yous all did-

Just look at the portadown Orange surrender at drumcree-

Big talk- small reaction- we can deal with that-

I thought you were talking about re-partitioning NI to take part of it back to the UK, Downcow?

We've already had the conversation about devolution; I wouldn't support it but if there was sufficient democratic support for it, then so be it.

In the event that a border poll has just passed, I can't see you convincing the majority of the people who have just voted for Unification to vote for going back to the status quo, but you're welcome to campaign for it. The soccer team isn't something I care enough about to have a strong opinion on and your culture and heritage I'd see as better protected through legislation across the island, so I wouldn't see it as a strong convincing factor for continuing partition/devolution myself.

McIvor’s constant abuse of Scotts living and NI (even though his name would confirm that he is descended from Scottish immigrants) got me thinking, why does he hate the unionist culture so much, and why does he and others want to airbrush Northern Ireland identity, history, and culture?   His constant reference to Lundy may give a clue. 

Could it be simply because it is so rich and he is jealous of it?  

I can’t think of a single victory or success Irish Republicanism has had at anything (except the Eurovision 🙂)

By contrast, the PUL community has so much to be proud of and celebrate (which we do)

Just a few examples:

Siege of Derry
    Two world wars
    The 36th ulster division
    Defeat of PIRA
    Linen, ship building and the industrial revolution
    A huge marching, festival and bonfire scene
    The UDR 
    About 10 times as many American presidents as the Irish
    Etc, etc, etc

And some on here, if they don’t believe, they fantasise, about putting a pen through it all and it all disappearing, and this Proud community accepting their country being taken away 🙃

Problem for Carla is that SF don’t own a UI project.
    Once the Irish government present a plan/White paper every single major political party will support it.

I am a realist. I would think rejoining the uk very unlikely (but never say never).

Let me apologise and reverse from this antagonist tit-fo-tat that I get drawn into by a few disingenuous posters on here.
    Do you not honestly think that over 100 years of separation (let’s not argue about who lives in the best place, because clearly we both think that we do, or we would simply move a few miles up/down the road) has grown us into two relatively distinct cultures.  

Over 100 years of different currencies, tax systems, legal systems, police forces, armies, welfare and health services, education systems, constitutions, citizenship rules, banking regimes, social policies, languages, and sporting bodies, as well as partition violence, IRA campaigns, loyalist violence, British Army militarisation, and post-Brexit EU divergence - and I’m not even touching on the soda bread and Tayto cheese and onion, etc.  

would you not see benefits in maintaining the richness of the two countries working together, the attraction to tourists alone to visit the two distinct regions. 

If the day ever comes where a majority of the people of the two countries decide we want to unite in a kingdom on this island, that even shares the same Saint, then we could achieve so much working together and respecting each other in the same way as e.g. Wales and England currently. 

I get painted here by a few as some sort of extremist, but I can absolutely assure you that you will find few in my community whose thoughts could even stretch this far, having sustained the onslaught of sectarian violence from the IRA.  

Let me also be clear that I personally would find it absolutely impossible to cooperate in anyway with a united Ireland in which Northern Ireland was absorbed. I would hate it.  I know I would be pushed in the other direction.  

When we just think back to something like Drumcree, and how it dragged both communities close to Civil War (again let’s not waste time on arguing how it was correct or otherwise). The point is, if a 7 minute parade could bring us close to Civil War, what do you really think trying to absorb us into a state that has felt like our number one enemy for our lifetime would do? And remember you would have plenty of the McIvor and Francie flag-waving types trying to wind our community up.  It would be a powderkeg.

Those are honest questions?

Two world wars-

Russia surrendered and all the German Eastern forces was coming to the western front in 1917- America had to come over to save the brit butt-

Chamberlain brit prime minister signed a deal with the Hitler nazi at Munich- then the brit army ran home from Dunkirk- American army / airforce had to come over to Britain again to stop them from running on over to Ireland to get out of the nazis road-

The b men / UDR / RIR were removed from patrolling our streets- the first time there is no orange armed milta checking on us-

U were defeated- suck it up-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭csirl

The reality is that if a border poll delivers a UI, the vast vast majority of people will just get on with their day to day lives. The idea that 100,000s of unionists will suddenly rise up and by force conquer part of the country and establish their own independent state is akin to some of stuff on the conspiracy theory section of Boards.

If by some unlikely series of events it happened, it would very quickly become the North Korea of Europe!

This 100%

Moderate Unionism has shown again and again that even though it may not like the change that they have no stomach for violent resistance.
    Unionism is in decline because it’s political leaders keep picking the wrong horse to back and have nothing positive to sell about the ‘Union’.

Nobody bar a few is buying the ‘OWC’ stuff nor is it attracting new support.

On the moving a few miles down the road part....that's precisely what I did.

I won't address this point-by-point because we don't agree on the basic starting premise to begin with; I have more in common culturally with my wife who is from where I now live than I do with you, Downcow.

While we definitely have some shared cultural touching points which would differentiate me from my wife and her family, they're no more distinct or vast than the differing culture between Cork and Dublin or Yorkshire and London if you prefer. I suspect you'd feel the same if asked who you feel culturally closer to between me and a Scottish Unionist.

All that being said, I don't think there is the gulf of difference between any part of Irish culture and any part of British culture that you seem to think there is. If the Yorkshire, Scouse, Geordie and Cockney cultures can exist within England, I don't see why you think that post Unification, yours would require it's own government to survive.

I don't see the potential economic benefits you hypothesise would come from separate tourism rather than all island cooperation, indeed there is already substantial benefit in cooperating in a cross border manner. I'd imagine any benefit would easily be dwarfed by the costs from duplication of effort.

The preservation and protection of your culture is certainly something I see value in and would easily be convinced on voting in favour of legislation to support that......duplicating government bodies and maintaining two bloated systems to allow a small number of the hypothetical minority who voted against Unification to block the democratically expressed will of the hypothetical majority who voted for it.....you'd have a harder time selling me on that.

Full scale federal reform based on the provinces wouldnt be something I'd actively argue for, but would be something easier to convince me on.

I'd appreciate clarification on what you mean by your refusal to cooperate pushing you the other way. Precisely what do you mean there? Pushed towards what other way? What means would you propose taking and what impact would you foresee it having?

Unionists are that week now they are resorting to calling it Our Wee Country-

They know the brits have deserted them and they are on their Own-

Some might want to stay Own lonely buggers- but the majority will take part in the 32- and be equals living in peace-

There are clearly a few posters on here – and you’re not one of them – who everything I say try to take it to the extreme for the very reason that they don’t like moderate posts.  Just read a few of the recent responses, that don’t even comment they are so far from what I was saying.  

Setting all that aside - why do you think Northern Ireland currently has devolution?

I completely understand why our romantic wannabe soldiers of Ireland on here don’t want devolution in the scenario of a united Ireland. But I do not know why the Irish island would not embrace it in the same way as the British mainland embraced it.

I am absolutely not saying we are culturally any different than you are from someone living in London or Glasgow. But remind me what the problem would be then in you coming into a new equal British Idles governed from whichever is the biggest city on these islands?

I’m not expecting you to do that, but you’re expecting me to do that in a new united Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Quite correct. Here the Gardai go on strike (blue flu) over much smaller matters. I cannot see them coping too well with checking under their cars every time they want to go anywhere, or coping with riots, stones, petrol bombs, the odd sniper perhaps even. And a days after that another riot and a few Gardai killed and so on and so on. Could see another Bloody Sunday type thing unfortunately happening then which would fuel even more anger / violence towards the Gardai. I think they would definitely go on their blue flu then. (most fail to report for duty).

Would the Gardai like to be pelted with all those missiles on the ground, petrol bombs and worse? The British security forces would be gone; they would rightly say we wanted then gone and they would be gone. They would say its up to you now lads, and good luck.

I spent most of my life doing just that, Downcow. I voted for the GFA and think that NI should remain a part of the UK until it's people decide they favour Unification.

The problem I would have with a new British Isles governed from whatever the biggest city on these islands is primarily that there's absolutely no support for it. If there was, I wouldn't expect the push for Cork and half of Kerry to form their own state to pick up much steam.

There is nobody on here talking about ‘all hell breaking loose’ or ‘refusing to co-operate’ if there is a No vote.

All that footstamping rhetoric is coming from you.

You need reminding that nationalists upheld their side of an international agreement.

Come a successful BP it will be your turn.