If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭ollaetta

With the intercounty scene wrapped up early in the year again I see there's a GAA ad along the usual "part of what we are/where we belong/auld tradition/bate the sh*ite out of the next parish" lines (well, maybe not the last bit) being broadcast every night. I do like Gaelic Games but considering how prominent the GAA is I really wonder why they think they have to do TV adverts for it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

The Google search ad with the bastardised living of a line from a Whitney Houston song “Tell me is it really love”. Way too loud and in your face. I’m watching the telly, not attending fúcking dance club. Tell me is it really shít more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭donegal_man

There's an ad at the moment using a depressing cover of Cyndi Laupers "Girls Just Want To Have Fun". I have no idea what they're advertising as I avoid it like the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,002 ✭✭✭deezell

That's the AXA ad, trying to unsubtly blame men for any difficulties women have in negotiating life, but by going with AXA, these 'risks' will all disappear. It's aimed at women, and they'd want to be pretty dumb ones for this ad campaign to succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭ollaetta

It was on the other night and my missus, supposedly the target gender for the ad, asked me what the fcuk was that all about? Unfortunately as a mere man I was unable to enlighten her. Awful ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 SaxySaxSolo

Thank **** the 2 johnnies and dominos bath tub threesome ads have finally left the screen.

Never thought I would write that sentence in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,274 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

If they could bring that fcukin' doghorse with them I'd be happy, oh and saoirse in the office while they're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Stripeyman

Saoirse is the lesser of two evils and she must be tolerated. If she goes we're back to listening to "Tractor, tractor!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

The Amazon ad where the guy takes headphones straight out of the box, puts them on and he is instantly hearing music. What! He didn't even turn them on, charge them or synch them to his phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,274 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Almost as bad as the fella trying to skateboard on sand…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Trivago ads with Klopp getting more annoying

The Spry Finance oul wan in the red dress is back for episode three. After taking out a Spry loan to splurge in Temple Bar, then another one to buy a few tins of house paint, she's back now applying white paint to the door reveals, also onto the red brick unfortunately, and all over herself and her good red temple bar outfit. No harm, it looks hippy-ish, so they can dip into the Spry money pit and head down to electric picnic, where they'll fit right in. Hopefully the oul lads grey head has grown enough for a ponytail, or a man bun at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

All publicity is good publicity in their eyes as in todays internet everyone is fighting for your attention so being remembered for being âsshats is better then the person not remembering at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Fun fact, her rendition is actually a cover, the original was sung by a fella.

Robert Hazard in '78 or '79 if I remember correctly. Lauper changed a few lyrics to make it more 'feminist"?? Whatever that meane and here became known as the original.

Who knew? And a punk song at that. The late Robert Hazard, it's on youtube. Now that I've listened to it, I can play it in my head next time that ad comes on.

The shops are filling up with Halloween stuff and Christmas sweets since mid August. 'The Range' also has a new line of products labelled 'The Fall Collection'. Nice to see products designed for those of us wth arthritic hands or dodgy on our feet, I assume they're all unbreakable, so when you drop them or tumble to the floor yourself, the hard items will still remain intact, while the soft items will cushion your descent, like an airbag or parachute maybe? Only a bruise instead of a fractured hip as a result. Fair play to De-Range!

IMG-20250828-WA0003.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Mark E. Smith will be rolling in his grave!!

Do they not realise that we're not in the US? Autumn sounds better than the Fall, classier.

I'd expect nothing less from the Soho marketing types. Fall. How irritating that must be to the Range's conservative UK customers. Sounds like a job for a Garron Noone c**ts rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Two girls using AI to help pick out toiletries. Ironic because the girls are very obviously AI generated. 🤦‍♀️

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Bodyform ad with, I kid you not, a lady wearing jeans with a blood coloured stain down the back due to it being that time of the month. Tge days of blue liquid being poured into these pads are gone too. Yup, it’s red liquid of course. We all know what these are and what they’re used for. No need for the explicit stuff. I can’t imagine women being fans of these ads either.

The toilet paper ads are nudging their way there, the wan in the office farting and making a break for the bog was cringey, but I'm just waiting for the ad where someone hold up the used sheets and compliments the efficiency of their wipeosity..

I’m well aware it makes me sound old but all these ads seem to have forgotten about any sense of decency and modesty. We know what toilet paper and pads are. There’s no need for the explicit stuff unless you’re a sleazebag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

cant get any more explicit than these Viagra ads popping up all over the place (pun intended) - I mean I am not a prude, I dont even think I am easily shocked a lot of the time … but when one of these adverts come on TV when i am watching TV with the family i either want the ground to open up or want to exit the room quickly! 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 SaxySaxSolo

Another on the toilet, this time vinted. "Earn while you go again" with someone on the toilet.

I blame Disney and illumination due to their fart jokes, clearly influenced todays generation of marketers.

You couldn't even say the word when I was a kid in th 60s, it was another F word. ' Stop letting off! ' or 'Blowing off!' were the scolds my mother would use to our flatulent visiting uncles, who delighted us kids with their prowess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

There is an advert I see on youtube these days, it is about "how important it is for women to time their lip filler injections for their wedding day" One reason I hate it is I don't see why women need to get lip fillers anyway, it usually does nothing for them and ruins their lips, the other reason is the guy who is on the advert, he seems like such a smarmy guy.

When I see these ads for 'The real (fake) housewives of [insert soulless affluent suburb]', I'm immediately struck by the bloated lips, and I can't help thinking how they probably resemble their c**ts. Sorry, but it's the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

The Lucozade sport ad with Jude Bellingham playing soccer on what looks like a basketball court AS THEY ARE TRYING TO PAINT IT. Mother of god if I was trying to paint that and he rocked up running around me he would get such an unmerciful boot up the hole.

Also apparrantly the paint is instantly dry and non drip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

that describes me and my mother in the 70's - we were not allowed to use the word fart, one other word we used was let Jimmy off (haven't a clue who Jimmy was) , but she would regularly use the words Buggér and Sod in front of us most of the time