If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Israel/Palestine Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Amazing turnout in Australia today protesting the genocide in Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭dmcdona

The final solution and Israeli War Crimes continue apace:

Israeli planes and tanks have pounded the eastern and northern outskirts of Gaza City overnight, destroying buildings and homes, residents said, as Israeli leaders vowed to press on with a planned offensive on the city.

Witnesses reported the sound of explosions non-stop overnight in the areas of Zeitoun and Shejaia, while tanks shelled houses and roads in the nearby Sabra neighbourhood and several buildings were blown up in the northern town of Jabalia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,151 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'd say so. Player power will ensure they do. 800 signitories in a short space of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭sock.rocker*

It must be pretty messed up to not be really into the whole genocide thing and just be stuck in a tank firing shells at civilians when there isn't anyone fighting back.

Save boards.ie by subscribing:

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419316/the-boards-ie-subscription

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,151 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Here's the list of Israeli companies and goods in the shops again if anyone is intent in NOT supporting the War Mongers -

https://www.ipsc.ie/campaigns/consumer-boycott

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭purplesnack

The 'No! Thanks' app is good as well for scanning barcodes as you shop

Indeed. Any barcode starting with 729 is an Israeli product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,262 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Australia seems to becoming a powerful bulwark against the terrorist state among western countries. Fair play to them and this stuff matters (the fact that Zionists / genocidaires will be absolutely enraged by it is an indication of that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭dannyo666

Its because they are brainwashed……Have you ever seen the text books Israeli children are given on the history of their land(which isn't theirs)?Its some demented stuff….It truly is…….I laways wonder what is the end game for isreal?What is netanyahus end game?You gotta have an end game,its a million times harder to get out of something than to get in…Vietnam,Iraq,Ukriane you name it…Gaza's flattened,the Palestinian's are magically no longer there,isreal now occupies it……Do they think the world will forget the Holocaust theve committed?…..This is why they are a sick sick people these Zionists are…..do they not see what the end will bring them?They are creating a world in which they will be outcast forever plus will create generations of terror aimed at themselves…….Germany is a respected nation now i hear you say…and that's a valid point..

Thing is ordinary Germans had a general awareness that Jews were being persecuted and killed, but most did not know details of gas chambers or the industrial scale,was a lot or rumor,hearsay,possible bullsh1t stories etc…. plus sadly we live in a social media age where everything is recorded,everyone has a voice to an extent,celebrity condemnation is more relevant than Politicians,i just heard Turkey's first lady has urged Melania Trump to confront Benjamin Netanyahu over the need to protect children,if she finally came out and spoke this would be huge(sad celebrity voice has so much power these days but thats the world now) and History has shown us that Hitler was a once off demon…..We were told and measures were put in place so something sickening in nature would never happen again from humans..Enter netanyahu………………Unlike Nazi Germany, Israel is a democracy with a free press, internet, and access to international reporting.Everyone is Isreal knows damn well 100% exactly what's going on…….

Excellent points about the knowledge of the German public during WW2 re. the Holocaust and the Israeli public's knowledge of the current genocide. The Holocaust was a huge state secret in Nazi Germany and was not allowed to be alluded to in the media. People might certainly have had their suspicions that 'bad things' were happening to Jewish people in the East, but with very little concrete knowledge of what that might entail.

The current Israeli public have no such defence. At an absolute minimum, they are aware that Netanyahu and the IDF have been accused by multiple agencies and countries of carrying out genocide (deliberately bombing civilians from the air) and enforced starvation of the Gazan population.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,766 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I'm not so sure about this.

Himmler himself had to go on public radio in 1939 to denounce what "foreign news" were saying about what was happening in the concentration camps, and basically had to re-sell then to the German people as 'hard but fair' places for the "undesirables" to be homed. There were exterminations in these camps at that time, though not on the industrial scale that came later, the for the German people this was an open secret. They knew about the "preventative incarceration" and they saw the public treatment of the forced labour crews which were hired out to German businesses.

As early as 1933 there was public news publications about the extermination of 12 "prisoners" by guards in dachau.

I don't agree with this idea that the majority of German people didn't know what was going on in the concentration camps.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2001/feb/17/johnezard

The dairies of Friedrich kellner lay this out even more bare.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/My_Opposition

Obviously with the issue at hand no single Israeli or Jew can claim not to know what is going on in Gaza in today's connected society.

Regardless of the stamping of feet by Netanyahu and his ilk claiming lies. They will get the punishment they deserve, sooner or later.

Post edited by sydthebeat on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭mountain

will the current Israeli leaders ever face justice? I think not, they won’t leave Israel unless to go to USA perhaps, next Israeli government won’t prosecute them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Randycove

are you suggesting we start shunning all Jews, because of what Israel is doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭brickster69

Israel pounding Yemen at the moment and US troops quickly leaving US bases in Iraq on mass. Looks very much like the apartheid state is ready to wage more death and destruction to the region shortly.

He must be up in court soon again.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭dannyo666

I really don't think Ordinary Germans knew what was going on in these camps unless you were in an area that a camp was present,ive seen things to the contrary certainly on the "Final solution"…..I think they knew about everything else though but not the atrocities that were being committed in these camps and the twisted notion of a "Final solution" was indeed hidden….And i have no basis on this but would people have believed Believed that humans could do this to other humans?The ordinary German?….I wouldn't have,it was unprecedented and too f****d up to grasp as an ordinary civilian….Getting abit off topic here i guess but who would have thought the poor souls were killed only for their country to 80 years later be causing man made famine…There are so many holocaust survivors who are dismayed at what there own country is now doing….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,457 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Without getting into the side debate about exactly how much detail about the Holocaust the average German civilian knew…set against the lower amount of information available to, f.e.g. civilians during WW2 (and probably for any war or genocide before the invention of the internet, social media, smartphones etc.), you have the (IMO) higher effectiveness of modern propaganda using the new media, and the way social media and internet generates self-reinforcing echo chambers, almost by design.

The volume of sometimes contradictory and often unverifiable information available (some of it misleading or false, and deliberately spread by malicious actors - these may even own/control the very social media platforms themselves!) itself fosters confusion and the muddying of what is true and false or at least distorted for an agenda, what is real/invented etc.

The medium allows people to pick and choose what they will consume and then accept & believe what they find most mentally comforting in a way that was not as easy to do before IMO (in era of local TV channels and newspapers + magazines providing most of the "news", with stricter controls over the content vs internet/social media).

This modern media machinery (internet, social media) and ways it can be easily manipulated and hijacked (IMO) in certain ways actually benefits those (like current Israeli govt. and military leaders) who want to commit awful crimes like genocide and get away with it, or at least obfuscate what they are doing and make it somewhat deniable or excusable until it is too late.

Post edited by fly_agaric on

I wouldn't disagree with any of the points you are making about modern societies and social media and the whole phenomenon of disinformation and 'fake news'. It could be argued though that if you are going down the route of dismissing a current genocide as fake news and 'staged', you are 100% complicit in that genocide.

Holocaust denial is a criminal offence in many European countries : I'm not sure I see much difference between those individuals and the legions of Zionists on social media claiming there is no starvation in Gaza, the numbers of dead are hugely overstated, 'Pallywood', the IDF have behaved properly at all times, the UN and aid agencies are corrupt liars and friends of Hamas etc.

Israel is SLAUGHTERING all Palestinians because of the actions of Hamas

it's a long distance between Israel and USA. Engine trouble, weather, illness on board could all lead to an emergency landing - in an ICC signatory country…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭Odhinn

disingenuous reaction I think and not the gotcha you think it is.

You're the one that directly brought "Jews" into the fore. That poster just replied to your question directly.

Protest at what Israel is doing has been discussed at length here - bans from international events, purchase boycotts, governmental sanctions on both individuals and the State of Israel - is valid. Posting disgust at Israel here is protest. If you do not protest, you are complicit.

Bear in mind there are plenty of International Jews protesting strongly against Israel - which comprises 80% Jews.

Unless you believe it's ok for a Jew to call out another Jew but not ok if a non-Jew does the same for the same reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭circadian

Seen reports about gas attacks on Jabalia so went searching and one of the first things to come up is white phosphorus use in 2009.

Just in case anyone believes this all started on Oct 7th.

https://www.hrw.org/report/2009/03/25/rain-fire/israels-unlawful-use-white-phosphorus-gaza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,360 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The qualifier here is SOME Germans may have known SOMETHING. But what that something was was always very vague and the vast majority would have written most things off as enemy propaganda anyway which was rife during the war.

The reality is that the holocaust was kept away from the public's eyes as best as the Nazis could. For obvious reasons. There's a logic to why they chose remote areas in occupied Poland for the likes of Auschwitz and Chelmno. During the war those places may have been on the moon as far as the average German was concerned.

In concentration camps in Germany, most Germans believed that whoever was in one probably deserved to be there. Remember, it wasn't just political prisoners who found themselves in the likes of Dachau or Buchenwald. All types of criminals also did. Rapists, child molesters, embezzlers, etc went through the doors too and for a lot of Germans that sufficed. They tended not to ask too many questions lest they find themselves wearing some striped clothes too.

In any case there was nothing that the average German could do about any of the camps even if they had full knowledge of what was going on behind the walls of one, which would have been an extremely unlikely scenario unless one worked there in some capacity. Even then silence about the inner workings of a camp was paramount for your own safety. If word got back that an employee of a particular camp was mouthing off, they could end up against the wall fairly sharpish.

The reality is, whether you agree or not, is that the majority of Germans had no real idea what was being done to people behind the wire of the camps. And the majority preferred not to know either.

In a society like Germany ruled by the Nazis, one didn't put one's head above the parapet.

The situation with the average Israeli and what they would know is vastly different. Unlike the average German, who had to rely on state radio, newspapers and gossip, the average Israeli today has access to a vast array of information at their fingertips. If an Israeli wants to they can easily see what's been going on in their name at the touch of a button. There is still state propaganda going on, of course, and we can see Netanyahu's lies for what they are with great ease. But if one really wants to they can get the facts pretty easily and gain an informed opinion.

Post edited by Tony EH on

it isn’t at all. How is collective punishment of all Jews morally any better than what Israel is doing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭brickster69

The Dutch foreign minister brought a vote to parliament for the country to put sanctions on Israel. Unfortunately it failed to pass and today the FM resigned alongside 8 other ministers and now they have a crisis in the governing coalition with elections coming in October. Something like that anyway.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

I’m presuming they can’t put sanctions on Israel even if they voted to do it.

I'll repeat - you're the one who brought Jews into the discussion. Everyone here has been discussing sanctioning Israel - not punishing Jews.

But while I have your attention, would you like to explain how the collective punishment of 2.2 million Palestinians by starvation is somehow morally equivalent to not buying Jaffa oranges or banning Israel from Eurovision?

Haaretz snips - summary:

Seems the final solution may have hit a road bump.

97% of Gaza's schools Hamas Command Centres need full reconstruction or major rehabilitation

After freely allowing money from Qatar to reach Hama, seems some Israelis couldn't buy help themselves to a slice of the Qatari cash

• The IDF warned that implementing the Netanyahu government's orders to demolish all of Gaza City, as it did Beit Hanoun and Rafah, could take more than a year, sources told Haaretz, adding that this would also aggravate the IDF's severe crisis in reserve units, which are already struggling with declining turnout and low morale. The warning came after Defense Minister Israel Katz threatened on Friday that Gaza City will suffer the fate of Rafah and Beit Hanoun if Hamas does not accept Israel's conditions for ending the war.
    • IDF chief Eyal Zamir told the government that the military will not begin a major assault on Gaza City until a "humanitarian zone" is established for the city's residents, and that the offensive will only start after necessary operational and legal preparations are complete, despite PM Netanyahu's demand to accelerate the operation.
    • Satellite images captured by the UN's Satellite Center indicate that as of July 8, nearly 97 percent of schools in the Strip sustained some level of damage to their buildings, UNRWA said. According to the report, 518 out of 564 school buildings in Gaza will either need full reconstruction or major rehabilitation work to be functional again.
    •  The IDF's deputy chief hostage coordinator, Maj. Gen. (res.) Yoav (Poli) Mordechai, was temporarily suspended from office after being questioned on Thursday in relation to the Qatargate affair, linking Qatar to senior Netanyahu aides and associates. He is under suspicion of bribery, breach of trust and contact with a foreign agent.