Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Was at Father John Misty last night at Leisureland Galway (or Leezure Land as the man himself pronounced it)

Start off well, then a little bit of a lull about 20min in but for the remaining 70min or so it was unreal. Great songs performed brilliantly. 

Played Q4 and Gods Favourite Customer, which I wasn't expecting 

It will be rare to have Galway host an act with a back catalog of his and at the very top of thejr game 

Cass Mccombes was good also, when he could be heard over all the noise. 

The talking was incessant for most ofvthe evening.  Was able to ignore ift for most parts as the good Father was playing a blinder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭fluke

Great review. I'll try to get up close tonight in Dublin, and avoid the yappers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Fanirish

there was front row yappers at Sharon van etten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,341 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Yep, the yappers are a **** pox at concerts. Couple of women yapping away in front of me at The Human League. Even during bangers that they should be singing. We did move away from another gaggle of yappers early on but ended up behind those two. How anyone can continue to yap during Don't You Want Me Baby or Together In Electric Dreams is just astounding.

Was at The Chats on Tuesday in the Academy. And no one yapping and very few on phones. People just enjoying the music. It was very refreshing. Probably helps it was Punk and there was a lot of moshing. Not me 😝, I was at the back, but even still very few chatters or recorders.

So, the moral of the story is that you have to go to The Chats to avoid the chatting..

😝

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

2026 Gigs and Events: An Evening with The Fast Show, Prima Facie, Stereolab (NCH), Foo Fighters, David Byrne (3Arena), Belle and Sebastian (x2), Kraftwerk, Paul Simon, David Byrne (St. Anne's Park), Keb' Mo', Metallica (x2), Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Embrace, Sigur Rós with the Ulster Orchestra, Crash Test Dummies, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Ben Folds, Jeff Tweedy, Nicko McBrain

(Directed towards @Fanirish also)

I managed to get right to the front here at Collins Barracks for Father John Misty. If there are yappers near me, I'll have to jump onto the stage...

So far everyone I'm around has been into SOAK and Cass McCombs, who've both been very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭VM Varga

I was second row during Cass Mc Combs, and unfortunately there was loads of chats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

FJM was superb tonight at Collins Barracks. Didn't feel any lull, charismatic with a cracking set start to finish. Brilliant gig, he really suited the venue too

That was a a fantastic gig at Collins Barracks (FJM). The material from his latest album worked really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

The Lemonheads crashed and burned tonight in The Academy....well Dando did, the drums and bass player were the glue holding it together.

Lyrics were mostly incoherent, lot of bum notes on the solos. It just got more uncomfortable as the gig went on in terms of you could kinda tell Dando didn't want to be there and he had skinful of somthing before coming on too. I felt bad for the other band members.

He did a couple of acoustic songs in the middle, which were the highlight (last time I saw him, he played solo, mostly acoustic, and he was brilliant). Shouted at the crowd for a bit. Couple of decent songs after that when he brought on a guest guitarist, John Perry. Then it was 20 minutes of one song to the next, no break, hard to make out what was going on, then for him to just down the guitar and run off stage....and that was that. It was a bizarre finish to the gig. An hour all in I think.

The support act was absolutely brilliant, The Sleeveens. 3 part Nashville, 1 part Crumlin, they're kinda punky in the style of Stiff little Fingers. They're playing the EP on the Friday night, well worth checking out if you're heading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭deeks

Delighted to see the positive reviews for FJM. Heading to Cork tomorrow night and absolutely buzzing for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

It was the worst gig I've ever been to. If he had any shame at all then he would refund those who went along. I've been at a couple of Dando's gigs that were fairly shambolic but this was on another level.

As soon as I heard his attempt to sing one of the higher notes in It's About Time I got that sinking feeling. Now if the guy had a sore throat then fair enough, but it was his attitude that stank most. The shouting and swearing at the crowd, who were admirably patient with him, was a disgrace.

You're right about the acoustic songs, which I thought would be really really bad but turned out decent. I won't forget the look of disgust on people's faces when it became clear the show was over after little more than an hour.

The irony is I read a piece about Dando in the latest issue of Uncut which leaves you with the sense that he had turned a corner with the new album on the way and he's living a cleaner life in Brazil blah blah. Not on this evidence.

I can't believe I handed over 40 quid to watch that shite. Never again.

P.S. I agree on The Sleeveens. I only caught four or five songs but they were excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭moby2101

Kaiser Chiefs and support from Kerbdog in Limerick Docklands were soooo good.
    i didn’t realise Kerbdog were playing there until Cormac popped out on the stage.
    Two great acts that I would have seen a few times down thru the years.
    Chiefs were excellent, Ricky is some frontman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,946 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

How was Ricky's voice? he was struggling for a few songs in Dublin but really picked up in the encore, I was worried he wouldn't make Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Jaysus - poor Evan Dando. All that talent and good looks, you would think it was like winning the lottery in life.

The drugs just fcuked him up too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭moby2101

He mentioned that three or songs in that he was on doctors orders to rest his vocal chords, mimicking then that he couldn’t hit the high notes momentarily and then blew the house down for the entire gig .
    Rip roaring performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,714 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Fanirish

sorry but anyone going to see Evan dando after ambassador show shambles was risking a disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,130 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A good night out in the 3Arena for WWE Friday Night Smackdown over the weekend

20250822_210218.jpg 20250822_214143.jpg

Next up is Lewis Capaldi there in September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

This is it. He doesn't seem to be in a great place. And another 20 shows to do in the next month. Grim enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Haha this sounded pretty decent to me! Singing was off for sure.

He made an apology on Facebook, he took some Prednisone and it made him "aggro" and he thought he was being funny / ironic but it obviously wasn't coming across that way.

One of the all time best gigs I ever went to was Evan Dando solo in Whelan's in 2001 with Bens Kweller and Lee. He was so good and on top of everything. Pity it's come to the point where you sort of know you're not going to get a good show if you go see him, when it used to be the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭VM Varga

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ergo

I could have posted that - I had to double check that it wasn't me!

That Ben/Ben/Evan gig Whelan's 2001 is still in my top 5 of all time. If anyone knows of a recording would love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ergo

But back to the present...

So this was my Lemonheads experience at the Academy last night:

Was on the fence until last minute, by time I decided to go tickets weren't available to purchase on TM so bought one at the venue. This was probably the only positive aspect of the whole gig, I paid €38.70 and I think avoided the TM service charge..

Landed in at 9.02 and the band were in the middle of a song that I'm pretty sure wasn't on Come on Feel... have actually forgotten what it was setlist.fm is wrong so if anyone could fill us in would appreciate it- or maybe it was completely unrecognisable... I started to freak out that maybe they started at 830 and I had just paid to miss all of Come on Feel but then they launched into it.

His voice was absolutely f*cked from the off. Presumably that's what he took the Prednisone for. Anyway it hadn't helped. After 3 or 4 songs I wondered if he could actually go on but on he went. For 1 or maybe 2 songs it got up to the level of "not terrible". The acoustic song or 2 gave some glimpses but voice screwed generally and he was also abusive/ belligerent with the crowd and referenced the previous Dublin mess up and not in a good way.

If the voice is screwed short term just cancel the gig or even an explanation during the show would be nice but presumably other substances came into the mix too.

When he got to Into Your Arms I hit record on my phone voice recorder and he finished after 1 verse - it lasted 59 seconds FFS!

And then he abruptly left shortly after 10 - apparently taking crew by surprise as the plan was to do a second page of the setlist. A friendly couple (thank you!) let me have a look at the 2 pages of the selist but (possibly no harm!) we didn't get to hear most of page 2. I'll try copy it below.

So that was the last chance for me unless he turns a major corner and gets consistent good reviews in advance. Just the 2nd worst gig of all time for me with his Ambassador one as the worst.

1000018112.jpg 1000018113.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

Addison Rae, 3Arena, 25th Aug

I had some apprehensions around what to expect here. I'm bringing my daughter and her only previous gigs were Olivia Rodrigo (in same venue) and Taylor Swift (aviva) and was hoping she wouldn't be expecting similar levels of production given venue upgrade, how long the concert would go on for etc - especially given Addison's only album is 40 mins long.

I was very very pleasantly suprised - the show was made for arenas IMO. Lots of lights in various shapes and sizes and a stage that says to me at least that this wouldn't have worked in National Stadium and wonder why it was ever planned for there as the pivot to arena was so huge?

Anyway I digress… the atmosphere was insane - everyone there was ecstatic when Addison came on stage started with Fame is a Gun and the energy never dropped, even when she went into some deeper cuts (she has an EP too) and the crowd knew all the songs. This was the first night of her world tour and it was very slick with great choreography between her and her 3/4 dancers who were on stage throughout.

I think the gig itself clocked in at around 1 hour / 65 mins which was pretty good going and, while I think her album Addison is a great pop album, seeing her live I think she's legit - a bonafide star and talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭deeks

Father John Misty was absolutely sensational in City Hall Cork last night.

Full disclosure - I went in as a huge fan so the lenses may have been slightly tinted but I was absolutely blown away. Only saw him at Festival sets before (1 x EP and 1 x ATN) so to see a full headline show in such a beautiful venue was an absolute treat.

The band were impeccable and his voice incredible.

A night that wont be soon forgotten.