If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

It kind of shows how extreme things are when people argue that the Irish being a minority in Ireland would be no big deal really.

In reality I think it’s the end of a culture and to an extent a way of life and set of values. I hope I’m wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

It must be the Loyalists he's alluding to, failing that - the Scientology Crowd, they're daft folk.

It's a shocking stance to hold - to handweave away everything this country is, to reduce it to, a 'who cares' couldn't give two continental fooks about take - I hope is just an extremist far-left view along the lines of those repugnant ideals of Matthew Waine 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Polish people (and others from eastern europe) when they arrived here 20 years ago didn't bitch and whine , they didn't try to get the media and politicians to cover their supposed issues, they didn't have special interest groups advocating for them all the time. They just got on with life and that was it.

Fact is Europeans generally integrate better into another European country than people from Africa and the middle east because the cultures are more similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

They didn't arrive with a "White Irish are inherintly racist" ideology either.

Absolutely, one of those candles to the wind examples of how other nationalities can actually come here blend in without much issue - apart from a few small embarrassing moments for our own authorities it must be said!:

BBC News - The mystery of Ireland's worst driver

Fair play to the vast majority of East/Northeast Europeans who have by and large came here, worked hard and kept themselves well away from the identity politics limelight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

It is a growing phenomenon of people who actively hate their own country, culture and heritage. Dig a little deeper and you would find that it is because they actually hate themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭enricoh

Any ideas why Sweden is paying refugees to leave and never come back? Do you reckon Muslims will integrate as well as polish have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,616 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I did.

Again though, I asked the OP the question.

I'm sure they are capable of answering themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,616 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Plenty of bigotry and hate towards the Poles when they arrived too.

Usually the terminally unemployable díckhead in the pub with the rolled up Daily Mail in his arsé pocket spouting there won't be a swan left in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

But hasn't our way of living completely changed from how we were 50 years ago anyway? What culture do you think we'll lose?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,073 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Agreed. I was working in a hotel when the Poles joined and started migrating over. Some people in the area would spout the most obscene things about them.

Then there was racism like this from the paper that was supporting Hitler:

image.png

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

”My youngfella can’t get a job on a site anymore, all those Polish fuxkers are taking the work”

the youngfella in question being lazy as sin.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Our way of living has changed massively, in the best possibly ways. This yearning for “old Ireland” is nonsense.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Fast forward to nowadays , any young fella can't get student accommodation for college, after college he can't move out of his childhood bedroom unless he emigrates.

Hey, at least ye have diversity in your lives nowadays kids, eh?! We had none of that diversity when I started college in 98. Plenty of accommodation before and after college tho.

Were we really living back then people! The refugee industry would say no!

Post edited by enricoh on

Where's he emigrating to? The likes of Canada Australia etc all have massive housing problems and your kid would only be worsening the problem. The Australian enricoh won't be happy with him moving there.

Canada and Australia will let him in if he has skills that are of use to them. I doubt they take in many Roma gypsies tbh.

Paddy doesn't bother with any of that nonsense thankfully.

right but the housing crisis is as bad there as it is in ireland, so he wont be able to buy or rent a place to himself there too. i've seen you voice concerns about the amount of indians coming here, they all do so legally, so surely you don't want your son adding to australia's problems too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭DrPsychia

So you're a ethno-nationalist, so only people who are of Irish heritage can be truly classed as Irish and there are only 2 possible futures, one where Irish people remain a majority or our culture is completely destroyed. What about mixed Irish?

What way of life will end according to you?

To be clear, I am pro controlled legal immigration.

Can you specify the type of people you don't want to see coming here? Is it Muslims, Indians, Chinese, Brazilians, Sub-Saharan Africans?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,073 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Absolutely.

I emigrated post-2008 crash. There was no refugees then and nobody gave a crap that people like me had to leave to find work.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

They all come here legally, but any coming here to learn English is a farce n should be knocked on the head. I dunno if oz has people coming over to learn English or not, or for Mickey mouse jobs like we give work Visa's for, more fool them if they do if their housing crisis is as acute as ours

It may seem strange to quote my own post, but some people have been a bit triggered by it and I would rather avoid pointless arguments, people wanting to label me, etc.

I think very few people want Irish heritage/culture to be something that a minority of people in Ireland have a family link to. I doubt 10% of people would want the Irish to be a minority here.

Some people will pretend that there is no Irish heritage/culture or way of life, but I don’t think most people would agree. Tbh I think everyone knows that there is and an argument about it is a distraction tactic.

I think we can all agree a certain amount of immigration is definitely a very good thing for a society. Also, I would think very few people will want people of Irish heritage to be a minority or even a small majority here. And I think it’s very hard to argue that continuing with the current level of immigration will not be very bad for Irish people as it will see property prices rise even further, while pressure on services will only get worse.

It is time for some truth telling from the political establishment. Realistically all parties must now realise they went too far left around immigration and some other issues like social welfare and crime.

Certain people who are perhaps not that grounded won’t want to hear this, but my sense is that working people in Ireland are hugely frustrated. They feel that the country is not being run in their Interests at all, that they are being stretched to pay for their own families and being taxed heavily to subsidise a large underclass who get everything for nothing.

The centre has held, but it may not continue to do so. If the traditional centrists parties don’t pivot to properly centrist positions on immigration it could be a lightning rod of an issue that changes Irish politics drastically and suddenly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Excellent post and touches on many of the points I was trying to make in a thread I started earlier this week suggesting one possible course of action on these issues. Would be nice if the people posting daily on this thread could have a look and contribute.

What is wrong with ethno-nationalism? I notice many of the pro mass-immigration commentators on here allude to it as something that needs to be discouraged, wiped out, and portrayed as some racist stance to hold. But I see no consistency in it, it seems to only apply to nations and cities where White people are for the moment in the majority. I have yet to see these commentators make the case for non-Western nations and cities to open up and allow mass-migration into their lands and change their demographics.

It's a bonkers stance to hold - and if one were truly honest about it, when you scratch the surface a bit there's a closet racist just underneath who hates White people and think they need to be in a minority. This most likely stems from some sort of guilt because by and large White people have influenced global wealth and trade down through history and remain in many such positions of influence today.

I have yet to see any of them point out or question why Nigeria is full of Black people (over 99.5%) or why Japan is full of Asian people… no never a peep about that. But how dare Ireland be full of White Irish people. That's outright racism according to some. Ethno-nationalism is fine as long as it's espoused in a respectful and cordial manner, and like it or not - there is a movement across many EU nations to return to those values. Why? It's down to the policies of the last decade rammed through by globalist leaning governments.

Very true. The thing about it though - if they went to other non-Western nations spouting the bull they come out with they'd be ran out of the place. Here though, our government give them money to continue on spouting it. High time all this was stamped out.

Yes, an anti-irish newspaper in the UK somehow broadly reflects the views of Irish people in Ireland.

Yeah, thats not true, there has always been disappointment in the general population about people having to emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭TokTik

if we need more nurses, why were Irish nurses given a hiring freeze while foreign nurses were being hired?? Something doesn’t add up

Trying to label people as some kind of ideologue is an unfortunate tactic in debates on immigration.

It seems to me that some people who are broadly in favour of high levels of immigration are always trying to label me and some others, because they want to dismiss us as racists.

I don’t think this should be allowed, it’s playing the man and not the ball, given that the ‘game’ is discussion of immigration.

Put forward your views proudly, state your own allegiances if you really must, but trying to put people down as ideologues is dirty, sneaky hurling.