Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How come I never see anyone anymore?

• 19-08-2025 01:55PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭

Since I’m now a paying customer on boards I figure I need to get posting again. And there’s only one question I have, how come I never bump into anyone I know anymore?
    The casual pint. The unplanned friends over to watch the rugby. Bumping into one of the lads in town. It never happens these days. Now a pint requires a permission slip and six months notice. I’m getting lonely here.

Is it because I’m in my mid forties? Married and a Dad. Everyone is busy. Lockdown killed all the standing habits. The post work beers on Friday. Hanging on for a pint after the Leinster game. Now it’s just straight home because we are all tired. I mean I’m on Boards? Surely that makes me young and hip. Right!

Is this just my life stage? Do the spontaneous pints come back once the kids get older? I need someone slightly older than me to tell me its going to be alright. Are you the type to help me, the generation I’ve looked up to my entire life, the cool older brothers, the one who got me past the hard bit on video games, the lads who own 12 different Guns N Roses t-shirts. Who look really cool holding a ciggy even though I hate smoking. The 6th years when I was in first year. The lads who’d say “help me Obi Wan Kenobi” and I’d have no idea what they were on about because I’m the age who just missed Star Wars. Any of you on here? Tell me it’ll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Everlong1

You've answered your own questions. Marriage + kids = no time to spend with the lads. My experience has been that even if there's no kids, friends getting married - or living together - ends up with them not interested in socialising with others. Not spontaneously anyway. That's just life kiddo. I usually have to pre-plan any meetups with my married or otherwise settled friends. Doesn't usually take six months though (yes i know that was intended as a joke).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,325 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No, they don't come back on their own. You have to put in the effort.

I usually meet lads now on the odd Saturday afternoon for a late lunch and a feed of pints until everyone heads off around 10pm, because we have matches/swimming/scouting/pony club the following morning. And thats fair enough.

But we usually have to diary those same spontaneous pints at least 8 weeks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

I last met some of the lads in June. Before that it was February. Apparently I’m doing well! Still think that Leinster moving to the Aviva has killed the spontaneous pints. Used have to walk past the pubs to get up. Now you leave the stadium and the DART is right there.

Was in Dublin City centre last week shopping for a birthday present for my daughter and I was thinking that I used always bump into someone I knew around here. Then again I used to into town at times other than Sunday lunchtime because it’s quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 MichaelD25

Social media has killed in person meet ups and chance social interactions thanks for posting Brian i ask myself similar questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

At least you've got kids to keep you occupied. Spare a thought for us single people who now have to go out alone because of ye!

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

This is an issue that not only affects middle aged/married and settled lads with kids, but for men and women these days of all ages and social backgrounds.

I'm a 50 year old gay man in Dublin in a LTR with my hubby who is 61. I have a circle of mates from my childhood and college years and I might meet up with one of two of them about once a month/ every 6 weeks. I am good at staying in touch with old friends.

One good mate who is married but has no kids meets up with me about once a week on Sundays for a long walk in the park - he lives nearby and we both make the effort. I don't drink - recovering alcoholic 6.5 years sober - so I don't socialise in pubs any more and don't miss it. When meeting friends, it's for lunch or dinner these days, or maybe a concert or show in town.

I think Covid in 2020 really affected people meeting casually in a very negative way - people are far less likely to invite you around to their place for dinner etc. since the pandemic, and many people in general seem to be "too busy" to meet these days - often code IMO for "I just couldn't be bothered making the effort" and "I'm happy in my little isolated bubble."

This atomisation of society is not good - we are living in an epidemic of deep loneliness and it's getting worse. It's understandable that people are busy and have responsibilities and families that take most of their time, but less and less are making the effort to meet up with friends and relatives and that's a sad state of affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I hate this trope of men needing "permission" to go out from her indoors. Most of the married/coupled up women I know are actively trying to get their partners to spend more time socialising with their male friends. It's a lazy trope and, let's face it, a convenient excuse for a large proportion of (but not all, heaven forfend) men to just not have to make the effort.

As for Covid, I seem to have had a really different experience of it to a lot of people. Yes, the lockdowns were hard, and we had to do several big family birthdays and my parents' 50th wedding anniversary over Zoom, but as soon as we were allowed to meet outside or do basically anything remotely social, my family and friends were going everywhere we could. 7km round-trip walk for tacos and a warm beer from a truck? Absolutely! Freeze our testimonials off over a toasted cheese sandwich from a horse box and BYO wine in the middle of winter? I'm in!

My friends and I organised our Christmas night out three weeks ago because that's just what it takes to get stuff in the diary these days between everyone's other "life" stuff. We're out this Friday and will get our next night out into the diaries while we're still in the restaurant, otherwise it will just never happen. Once you hit the "grown-up" stage of life, you have to actively prioritise and organise this kind of thing, end of. Sure, it'd be nice to be able to do more of the spontaneous stuff, but if the choice is spontaneous nothing or organised something, then that's where you're at 🤷

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

The women need permission slips too, it goes both ways. You don’t just spring a night out on your better half when there are kids at home!

But when I think about it, while I find myself getting nostalgic for my carefree youth most things are better now. I have a home and a family. I have Sky Sports, and thanks to boards I have both a SNES and a Megadrive! So why won’t my friends come around to play.

Granted most of my friends from my youth are scattered all over the world. London, New York, Melbourne, Vancouver. I live in Dublin, probably the closest to home of my entire group. We all grew up in Laois. None of us live there now. The friends I do meet up with, they are mostly people I met in my twenties and thirties in Dublin.

Nobody should have to ask their other half for permission to go out, regardless of gender or family circumstances. Check that it doesn't clash with anything else, by all means, but other than that it should only ever need to be a "I'm out with the lads/ladies/gang on X date, just fyi". And I know loads of people use the word "permission" somewhat tongue-in-cheek, but there is a large cohort out there who happily wield it as a way to portray women as joy-killing nags and scolds, and it drives me mad.

I hear you on the geographic thing, though. I'm very lucky in that my core group are all still in Dublin, but my brother's closest friends are in Hong Kong, Dubai and Australia, and he says it makes even keeping in touch via their WhatsApp group difficult as they're all in different time zones. One will post something with a few drinks on board, in jest, and then someone else reads it at 6.30am in the morning when they're dragging themselves out of bed for work and be like "Was that supposed to be at my expense???" He has a secondary group of friends here that my SiL is forever trying to get him to meet up with, but he'd tell you himself that a mix of laziness and social anxiety makes it easier to just always say "Oh I'm not allowed out", thus perpetuating the horrible ball & chain thing...

Honestly I believe the permission slip is common courtesy but I accept your viewpoint. Maybe sometimes it easy to use as an excuse. And to be honest, I’d be less upset if a friend said he couldn’t make drinks due to his better half already having the night booked than if he told me he just couldn’t be bothered seeing my ugly mug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Feets

I hear you. It can feel a bit personal. I have to chase people...Im rarely asked.

But at the same time I spend time with less people but have good catch ups. Rarely for drinks though cos everyone moves away. Those are planned a month or two ahead. I have definitely been sidelined for the school mum groups which annoys the crap out of me as I was around 10/15 years before...and I have kids. It takes consistent effort...ie a few texts every few weeks. But its doable

I try to keep it light hearted but this really is bothering me. At one point I realised that I didn’t know a single person I interact with on social media in real life. And I don’t hang out with anyone anymore who knew me before I turned 30. Just not sure how I let that happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭satguy

When the kids get a bit older,, you will need to assert yourself a bit stronger to get out for a few pints.

Just say that Friday night or a Sunday afternoon are my Pints/Footy times from now on..

Doing this, may well save your marriage.

I have a standing agreement that if Leinster are playing at home I will be at the game. That predates me even meeting my wife. 21 years a season ticket holder, that’s almost as long ago as I joined boards.

As stated previously though I actually think Leinster moving to the Aviva is the cause for a lot of my lack of socialising. Defined seats instead of open seating and the stadium being right beside the DART has cut of most of my chance encounters.

The Aviva won't be forever, thank fook. Also, it depends on kick-off time, obvs, but I find people are generally more open to pre-match pints rather than post ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,016 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I game. I have a group of friends scattered around the UK and Ireland that I play games with. Friday nights they all try to make time. The whatsapp group is ridiculous though. Friday night comes around and it's just updates on kids and wifes. "The kids aren't asleep yet, I'll be 30 mins". "Sorry lads I have a work thing", "The little one is sick", "The missus just got out of the bath so I'll be hopping off to watch a movie"

There's so much to juggle with so many people that most Fridays out of 10 guys, there's 3-4 online. And that's to play games, from the comfort of their own home. I can't imagine how hard it is to organise pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭daithi7

Yeah, I hear you. I think lockdown sadly changed our socialising habits for the worse...

Even last night, I finished setting up a mini pitch & putt course in my garden. It's been an ongoing project over many years now. Many of my mates, as I do myself, play golf & are local. I thought it would be fun to have them all around for a bar b , a few beers and a drunken pitch & putt challenge... maybe some day there was a rugby match on the box too.

Then I thought it through - who out of my close group of say 8 (golfing) mates would actually make the effort to call around... I reckoned I might get 3 including myself if I was lucky.... which kinda defeats the whole purpose...

Hence on some lovely, autumnal weekend evening in 2/3 weeks time, I'm likely to be hacking around my home pitch & putt course alone, hankering after more sociable times spent with my mates in the past... sad but true!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Social media is one of the reasons for not just bumping into people in town any more, but it can also work both ways. I'm a bit older than you and I find myself out of that tunnel on the other side (kids grown up and left home), and thanks to social media I'm actually getting back in touch with people from past parts of my life that I probably couldn't have recontacted without SM or at least the internet.

I find that people who moved away have come back in the meantime, and now I (and they) have time to get out and about more, I can see them more too. So I would say, do make an effort to keep up with people, but also, be aware that this is a phase of your life and it does change. And, apart from the fact that it's good for you to have some social life now, there's also the advantage that the more you've managed to keep in contact now, the less "rebuilding" you'll need to do later, when you are all a lot freer with your time.

So don't despair!

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Sadly it’s the way life goes as you get older and have a partner, kids, pets, bills etc. They become your main priorities. Approx ten years ago my group of friends would meet each other on average twice a month. Now due to all our different commitments we’re lucky to see each other twice a year. The main way we converse now is through our WhatsApp group, and some of them play games together on Discord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭TokTik

I just head out on my own and whoever is out is out. There’s always someone. I’m from a small enough town though so I know most people.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I know it's been said that as people get older, especially men, that making new friends becomes very difficult and that most people tend to stick to the group they grew up with or went to school or college with, or perhaps a couple of colleagues from their first job. These numbers dwindle as the years go by, friends move away or abroad, marriage and kids come along and priorities change.

I myself have been able to make new acquaintances throughout my life, including a couple of people from my local AA group and from my hobbies/interests such as astronomy, swimming and evening art class.

Went out in Portlaoise with my wife last time we were down. Grandparents = free babysitters! Went to two pubs. Didn't see a soul I recognised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,204 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Does the cane and the guide dog not give you at least a partial clue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Sadly it’s the way life goes as you get older and have a partner, kids, pets, bills etc. They become your main priorities. 

Whatever about the pets and bills, I think it's too easy to blame this kind of thing on "the wife and kids" … but I do understand that attitude because I kinda went through it myself. It wasn't deliberate - it's just that they, and my professional ambitions, made me forget that I had another/different life before then.

An accident of family history subsequently gave me a good smack on the head, and I realised that a couple of things I used to do were actually a really important part of my own self, and from then on, they were back on the list of "main priorities". They're both things that involve getting out and "doing stuff" rather than just nursing a pint for hours on end.

Here's the thing: neither of them required me to exclude either the missus or the children, although as time went on, it was usually one or the other. These days, the whole feckin' lot them have upped sticks and left me alone, but on account of those particular interests, I have a whole bunch of friends and acquaintances that I see on a semi-regular basis, often without any advance planning.

On any random weekend, I'm likely to end up dancing with one of the girls who went to school with my son with fifteen years ago in central France, discussing the price of buttons with a Dutch guy I met at a festival in Switzerland two years ago, or hiking in Alsace with someone I only for the first time in May.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,000 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Jerry Seinfeld once said that when a man hits thirty, the friends he has are the only ones he'll ever have from that point onwards. I think there's some truth in that.

I wholly agree with what @JupiterKid has said above. I'm quite happy doing my own thing. I travel solo most of the time, I like to read, go to the cinema and so on. Meeting new people is just a bit of a hassle at my age (approaching 40). I tried a singles night but it was grim. There were a few couples and a football match on the bar's televisions. I tried speed dating but the company kept moving it back and the owner got snarky when I demanded a refund.

I also find people harder work to be around now. Far too many have their noses buried in phones and it's draining to deal with. I was teaching a small group at work and one person was on her phone for 90% of the session. I just prefer a bit of peace and quiet now.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,712 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Aside from all points above, as a single 42yo male with no kids and finding himself "restarting" life after a series of redundancies, its too expensive to meet up anymore. Between fuel (country living), cost of events, cost of staying or eating anywhere, and not being a drinker really limits the options (i actually can't stand being around drunk people anymore), its too much hassle and cost to be as social as we were 20+ years ago. I used to get drunk, fed and taxi home for less than 30 punt (while earning close to 250 between 3 jobs…), now €150 wouldn't even cover it. Not worth it anymore, hasn't been for a while. Going by reports, I should be earning €64k or something like that to be able to "live". Im on 30... c'est la vie.

I also have zero interest in kids, and I really dont want to hear other people prattle on about them. Thankfully my few close friends know this so dont. Its highly appreciated. I'll always ask are they ok, getting on alright, but conversations around kids switch my brain off. I can't comprehend the alleged joy, I only see pain. There nothing cute or funny about your kid doing something every other kid does. And invariably thats where the conversation goes for a lot of people with kids, like they need validation thay let they're doing good as a parent or something. Thats just my opinion though. Nothing more boring than someone waxing lyrical over their own kids.

But thats ok, people couldn't care less about me or my likes, I just don't pretend to care like others. Started a new job a few months back, and one of the new starters is a single mother who just won't shut the **** up about her super intelligent autistic child. We won't be close friends... and this is after me telling her I'm not one to talk with kids about. Nope, she still has to validate her existence through her kid. And every parent will talk about them. Again understandable, but not everyone cares or wants to hear it, and I appreciate those who know me well enough to not bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Keeping up friendships when you are older is a bit like marriage - it takes a lot of effort and compromise. I can count on one hand the number of friends i have - yet we make a conscious effort to meet up once or twice a year for a few beers and a catch-up.

We are all married, late 40's with kids and family commitments. WhatsApp keeps the friendship alive in between meeting up. I have found as i have gotten older that i am happy in my own company also - whether its out to watch a match with a pint, go to see a movie or out for a bike ride.

On the flip side however, I have found though that some friends require more effort to keep in touch - they also make excuses when meet ups are suggested. In these cases, i just stop communication and wait for them to initiate contact again……i'm still waiting lol

I’m just wondering if keeping up friendships is a life skill I just never developed. For the first half of my life friends were just provided. School, college etc. Afterwards habits kept friendships going. Those habits are fading now and I am realising I suddenly have to work on a thing I never needed to work at before.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,000 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I don't think it's a skill so much as a combination of various things like location, luck and there being one or two lads willing to actually make a Whatsapp group, sound people out and book things. There's also being in the same place mentally as people. I find it hard to relate or be interested in people who talk ceaselessly about kids or weddings or other things I've no interest in.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Maybe i turn people off when I keep going on about the Filmation Ghostbusters was the superior Ghostbusters and how I won’t watch any of the recent movies because they have airbrushed Tracy the Gorilla out of existence.

But yeah, I hear you. Most of my WhatsApp groups are long since silent though. They were a COVID thing.