Danny healy rae and the guard

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I think if there was a beligerent Dub acting up in Killorglin and got a shove from a Garda there would be a different reaction. I think if there was a beligerent Kerryman acting up in Dublin and got a shove there would be a different reaction…….

But there WASN'T a beligerent Kerryman acting up in Dublin. There was a known local personality celebrating without acting beligerently….. and he got a shove.

THAT is the point many are making.

Are you saying Healy Rea was acting beligerent? You keep saying if if if. When I posted if if if if if you said "That's a lot of IFs" But you started with this hypothetical situation

YES if a beligerant Dub was acting up in Cork and got a shove, we would wonder why he only got a shove and was not locked up/taken away.

If a beligerant Kerryman was acting up in Dublin and got a shove we would wonder why he only got a shove and was not locked up/taken away.

If a beligerant American was acting up in Dublin and got a shove we would wonder why he only got a shove and was not locked up/taken away.

If a beligerant XXX was acting up in YYY and got a shove we would wonder why he/they only got a shove and was not locked up/taken away.

What's your point? That a Dubliner would be treated harsher than a non Dub? Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,117 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Yes, I did say Healy Rae was belligerent. Look at the footage, he was front and centre, loud and very obviously drawing attention to himself.

The whole point of my if examples is to show how differently the reaction would have been if it wasn’t Healy Rae. If it had been a Dubliner in Killorglin, plenty would be saying “fair play to the Garda.” Instead, because it was Healy Rae, we get outrage and a national drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

No. It's because he was not being belligerent.

Was he hostile?

Was he aggressive?

Because that is literally the very definition of "Belligerent" in the English Dictionary. LITERALLY.

No. There was one person and one person alone in that video who was and that was the cop. Everyone can see that.

1000025269.png

Anyway. That'll be my last on this. You seen intent on insisting that he was being hostile and aggressive. Very strange. I'll stop now and protect all those innocent Dubs in Killorglin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭harr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Packrat

Wait for Johnny's outrage now... I wonder if its the same little cnut of a guard.

Jesus, poor guy. What are the circumstances? Was it a fight or did the Garda push the man like he did with Healey Rae? Either way it's sad for his family. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Not much info is being released but it seems like the guy in his 50s was peeing in the street, the guard came over and shoved him and he fell and struck his head on the ground.

Right, that really is tragic. I feel so sorry for his family.

Keep an eye out for update vids from this guy, he is usually very quick to get new info out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,215 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Not a hope of me looking at that guy. His channel is just a load of far right crap. He's still going on about Antifa. I thought that far right had moved on from that.

Agree with @Grayson, he's involved with John Waters!! But thanks @Bogey Lowenstein!

He uses MSM for sources and shows video where possible so it is not like he just makes stuff up off the top of his head.

If you want to wait a fortnight to see these stories in the most vague format possible on RTE, that is if they even choose to show them, go right ahead.

I can absolutely see where you’re coming from, his videos are fact based but I still feel there’s a definite slant with these type of videos, the sarcasm, the little notes of disbelief, even hints of approval slip through, I find there's conclusions reached that aren't affirmed properly too. That might be fine for commentary, but it’s a world away from professional journalism. I’d much rather get the news delivered impartially and without emotion, the way good journalism should be, so the facts speak for themselves and I can form my own view. Again, respectfully and thanks for the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,560 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Boisterous is the word I would used to describe the situation from the wee Kerry man, a little bit too boisterous mind you.🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Garda looks completely intimidated and out of his depth in that DHR video, wrongly trying to exert his "authority".