Oasis Reunion. Its finally happening😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Dutchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭Wooderson

For those that saw them back in the 1990s how did the weekend compare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,645 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Shot over at lunch time. Massive rail of 2XL navy blue ones with "Dublin, Ireland" on it. The exact one I wanted but not the size.

Overheard someone ask about sizes but they only had 2XL left. Couple of minutes later I heard the staff member say they'd found an L under a load of stuff out back but the customer had left.

I'll take that, thank you very much! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,826 ✭✭✭✭893bet

I wish. Between ticket, hotel, train, drinks ( including entry to coppers 😀) I am above 1k!

worth every penny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

Don't suppose it's possible, if you know, to share such details here or via DM. Also based on your other post would you rule out Oasis for Slane?

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I just spent €43 on a return bus ticket and €20 for dinner. Had to keep other costs down for the day! Ticket was €600. I don't regret it though. I think the news said there was an estimated €45 to €50 million spent in the local economy at the weekend due to the concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

I was lucky with the ticket price and live in Dublin so its easy to say but if I was €1k in the red I'd still have a smile on my face.

The craic in the pub beforehand, the gig itself, the craic afterwards. It was absolutely amazing.

I'll let him confirm but I did look back and he was raving about the gig and the response was to my post about the Two Johnnies!

I wouldn't worry, we've all done it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Croker was a massive part of the success, logistics, travelling, pubs , even pubs after also the sort of party vibe of locals and general area.

Whilst sound is never amazing there , was great for a sing song and wider stage and outstanding weather helped sound.

I think people going on about Slane is a stretch of the legs , nostalgia and dreaming of youth a bit too far.

Id love to be positive, but too many gigs , harder venues a wider schedule could end in tears , are already slight signs of exhausting and to keep it all going they are nearly having to live not really a normal life.

Would agree with a few posters above...will.there be as much hype , pressure and need to go if it does another loop..also will hardly have that same bulid up and good will and energy .

But Who knows , some other acts have endless demand...but hardly at 400 euro a pop...particularly 2nd time ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,645 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I know Croker has a reputation for rubbish sound, and i've experienced it myself in the past, but did anyone experience it at all over the weekend?

I was on the pitch so it was fine, but my wife was in the seats in lower Davin and said the sound was great, except for not being able to understand Liam's ramblings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭PGE1970

I don't think that they'll get those ticket prices again. Last weekend was a reunion.

I'll go again but at "regular" ticket prices only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭but1er

Sound perfect In the lower Hogan, who ever the sound engineer was anyone who plays Croker in the future needs to hire him because I've seen Springsteen to U2 struggle with sound but he got it spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,852 ✭✭✭COH

They will - easily too.

90+ % of the people who tried to get tickets couldn't - and they'll have seen what they missed out on now too.

Thats their market!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭PGE1970

It's a lot more polished now as you would expect.

I first saw them 30 years ago and both they and I have changed a lot in those days. I'm 55 so inbetween them in ages.

I have also seen them in the noughties and both as solo gigs. Noels gigs with THFB have always been good but Liam in the Point last year was great. It was noticeable that his voice was much better. Clean living etc ..

The band were on form last weekend and it is a tight "show". Bang out the hits, little interaction with the audience, get through the songs. But very impressively done.

And, as you would expect, Gem Archer continues to be best musician on any stage that he graces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Agreed, I found the organisation around Croker to be great for concerts. Admittedly, I do live near Dublin so I know my way around. But my Nephew and partner were up for the concert and stayed with me. Clonsilla is my station. About 20 min walk away. We were able to get train in to Drumcondra. We had different tickets so separated. Upon leaving, I was queuing/boarding train within 5 mins of arriving at station. Left about 5 mins later and Nephew and partner were on next rain 15 mins later. Couldn't fault it. We were home by about 23:30 I believe.

I didn't go to the pub beforehand but they did and found space, drinks and a bit of craic. Even randomly met up with someone they knew. Was their first time there for a concert and first time getting the train and they had no problems. There was no aggro. No pushing and shoving. A few trying to skip the queue into the station were suitably and peacefully told to f*ck right off.

Really, kudos to the teams policing and organising traffic/people flows.

I think the biggest thing about Croke Park is compared to putting a rickety Harris fence around Slane the ease of crowd control and management in Croke Park - while not perfect - makes it a much easier proposition for any promoter.

Slane is good but definitely think having lots of bars, etc around Croker made it such a great day.

In Slane, it would inevitably get messy and logistically I'm sure MCD would prefer it in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Nobody has ever paid a few hundred euro to hear Springsteen or Bono talk sh*te. I've paid many thousands of euro to see both Springsteen and U2 play fantastic gigs with scores of classic tunes and in the case of U2, fantastic stage shows and effects. In a 2 hour show Bono will maybe spend a total of about 90 seconds introducing a song. Likewise Springsten. This nonsense about Bono lecturing audiences is an urban myth that's been repeated endlessly by infantile begrudgers who can't stand the fact that he's rich, famous, has a brain and opinions that are usually a bit more well informed that the countless thousands of pub blowhards who can be found in every corner of Ireland giving THEIR opinions on everything under the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭left_hander

Springsteen isn't too bad for the claptrap. The odd bit about life and stuff and how much he loves Ireland. That's grand and he's generally entertaining and thoughtful. And I think he genuinely means it.

But I can't abide listening to Bono. He has not opened his mouth about Gaza and he is willing to give his opinion on practically everything else. The difference between him and the pub blow hard is only a handful of people have to listen to the pub blow hard. Millions have to listen to Bono on his soap box.

I'm not saying he shouldn't have an opinion, but to be honest I go to a concert as an escape from everything else in the world. I don't need another lecture from a supremely wealthy man about inequality.

Liam and Noel nailed it the other night. Let your singing do the talking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,817 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Didn't get tickets, would go next year if they came back but only for "normal" prices or €200 or less. Have done Slane a few times and absolutely no interest in ever going back there.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

I've done Slane twice, first time I left during the encore after hearing the horror stories when Oasis played but the 2nd time for Foo Fighters we ended up camping across the road from the site and was the best idea, back in my tent within 10-15mins and there was a great atmosphere around the site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Slagging Bono in this context is a tad ridiculous...Noel absolutely idolises Bono and has basically lived with Bono

Id rather listen to Bono than Liam just being always cranky and abusing anything that comes into his head at any moment..including Noels family in public...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭bennyineire

Noel future proofing himself for the next divorce 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭MOR316

Why are people having a go at Bono and the lateness of his Gaza comments in an Oasis thread?

No one is going to listen to him. Israel and other world leaders won't listen to him. The public don't listen to him. The guy is not responsible, nor does he have any power to stop what's happening over there?

The same people having a pop at him will be the same people in Slane, cheering him on if he mentions Gaza. Maybe it's different for others, but my interest in Bono starts and stops at his music and performances. I don't look at celebrities or artists for validation for my political beliefs or views.

Unless you're Mary Coughlan. Her entire relevance these days is based on just bashing the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭Everlong1

He's said plenty about Gaza. And you obviously missed the official statement that all four members of U2 posted on their website recently explaining how they feel and why they have or haven't commented. And nobody "has" to listen to him any more than they had to listen to the litany of Liam Gallagher's coke fuelled insults which he's directed at plenty of other celebs over the years. Compared to Springsteen, U2, and countless other bands I've seen over the years, Oasis are strictly amateur night.

Looking at footage, everyone went to Noels party in town, it genuinely looks like Liam has to live like an angel....and away from it all...

He did reference it , he has to live like a fairy or something.?..back to bed...needs must ...dont care what age you are ...must be hard to see all your mates head out in Dublin and your back to your ...to use his own lingo ...

big big hotel room on your tod......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭RolandGoose

https://www.u2.com/news/title/on-gaza/

Don't read this if you don't want to. But please stop spewing incorrect diahrea. 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

Agree with the view that the prices won't drop for future gigs - not only will those who couldn't get tickets want to attend but I'd say a huge number that did attend would go back again - I know I would and my friends have all said same.

I've long held view that I'd never go to Slane for anyone but after seeing the gig on Sunday I'd be tempted to go back if they played there next year despite the many reasons I'd hate to go to Slane again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭ericzeking

I wonder is that to protect his voice as opposed to protecting him and Noel from eachother…..I find the idea that they could just combust at a moments notice hard to believe. They are brothers, in their fifties ffs. I reckon the whole feud thing is way over egged.

Wouldn't agree , was very very toxic. Families can be toxic till the day they die.

Liam without even drink and drugs ..actually both cant help themselves.

Liam is grand , but there is an edge , he loves a fight ..you can still feel it.

I wouldn't believe the love in act...they are staying well clear ..well...