Oasis Reunion. Its finally happening😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭thesultan

Damon Minchella former ocean colour scene bassist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Poor form, tried to charge 3.45 for water.

Was there Saturday night, arrived at 4.20, and easily got a Front Standing ticket. I thought 5 would have been fine but herself was eager not to miss out on a wristband. My buddy who was there since 2.45 was giving us updates. They had us standing in a queue for 30 mins before finally it moved and we got wristbanded and were left in. Could have been better organised to be honest.

As it was you'd have gotten a wristband at 5.45 on Saturday Id say, I was surprised how easy it was to get one. Been at gigs at the past and they were all gone by 4.30 or earlier.

My buddy was there at 2.45 and managed to get a place on the front barrier, the lucky git.

We were content to come and go though, anywhere in the pit is still very close, there wa sload sof space, not like the pits for Oasis in the 90's and noughties. The bars were fine for us, until during Ashcroft was only waiting a min or less before that. The left side of the Front Standing was much quieter as most people enter on the front right, so we used the tunnel behind the Hill to come and go, out on the Front Left under stand to bars, this is a trick I've learnt from past gigs at Croker.

Cast were decent, Ashcroft was outstanding, he really got the crowd warmed up.

What a crowd they were too, impeccably behaved, no messers or pissheads that I saw, a fantastic atmosphere, very special, been to hundreds of gigs and this was a very special atmosphere.

We were in the centre of the pit at the start of Oasis but the bass had a bit of a kick off it so moved slightly to the left and got a spot on the back rail in front of the mixing tent. Grand spot, sound was very good, took the weight off the legs. Plenty of Vips in the tent too.

The show was just epic, thoroughly enjoyed it. Its very tight and rehearsed, with not much interaction but it just works. The first half was very good but the second half its banger after banger. Noels songs were outstanding, he still has a great voice.

Very special night. The gig lived up to the hype. So many highlights, Stand by Me, Dont Look Back in Anger were especially touching.

I got seats for last night on Saturday morning and was thinking of going again last night but knees were shot after all the standing, didn't get a winks sleep in the hotel as it was like an oven and the seats werent the best so said Id leave it at one night. No way it could be topped. Gave the tickets to a friend. Will catch one of the shows next year.

Few videos my buddy on the rail took, he came back a bit for the encore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭thesultan

Was there last night and what a fantastic experience. Headed over to the Cusack stand side and walked into the clonlift road pub ( can’t think exactly of the name but the atmosphere in there was sensational. Dj set oasis . Verve etc and everyone singing along and the age disporia was shown by those smoking not vaping. Headed up around ; or half four and got the coveted pit pass. Two support acts were amazing . Oasis blew the place away, I was wrecked after the first three songs and I think the crowd around we were too as the energy sapped for a bit. Had to hear Liam at times over the band and crowd. Why was Mayo booed? Noel seemed very quiet in himself and saying this is for the Royal Family although the other one wasn’t possibly the wisest move.
    it’s the first time I heard the slide guitar played on Cast no Shadow. After live forever and my fist in the air to a lost concert going friend I longed back to a time when Oasis and their like where mainstream and a movement. The world is theirs now and we have to get new music instead of nostalgia act. Great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭colmufc

Separate afterparties but Liam only went to one of them, there on good terms but know enough to stay away from each other as much as they spend time together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭musicmania

Family are better enjoyed in small doses 🤣 I think booing Mayo was in jest, but Noel looked really pissed of when Manchester was booed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,634 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Fair dues to the security and guards allowing all to remain and enjoy the music .

What a night !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 gayformoleman

Same here I could feel myself welling up, it was just so raw and his voice was tops! Had goosebumps for Drugs don’t work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

I think the booing was all in jest. Plenty booing probably support a football team from there...the usual Irish thing. But the Manchester Evening News had a clickbait headline about it.

Did people really not get the Royal Family joke from Noel??? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

On the topic of Liam, the guy is an absolute moron in every way. Never smiles, has a grumpy arrogant demeanour. Classic narcissist I think.

But.....I'm not there for anything other than to hear him and his band sing and play. Don't care what he's like off the stage.

He totally lacks the charisma and fun of somebody like Bruce, but who cares - he treated us to an evening of 10/10 entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,124 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A certain Taniste should of thought for a second and maybe just enjoyed the show without the need to take a photo or just sent it to family/friends privately

Down time etc

1000281325.jpg

Surprised there arent more complaints about Ticketmaster over the weekends gigs. For some bizarre reason you could only accept transfers on the App, not the website.

If you tried accepting on the website, it resulted in an error and blank page.

Thanks to the people on here saying to try the App. What moron decided to implement this madness for the biggest shows of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,091 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

If social media posts about Oasis are so triggering for you, stop trawling the internet for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,645 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Not entirely sure why he's not entitled to share a photo of himself at a gig? Weird gripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Politician has life. Breaking News. Politician NOT working 24/7. Has the gall to enjoy a concert.

If he didn't go. Or if he went to something else then it would be "What? Oasis not good enough for him? Lost touch with the people". etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,124 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

No, it means 30,000 bots need to get a life and let another person have one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭gilly1910

Yeah I would also agree that the booing of Manchester was in jest, and was probably more football related. If it wasn't for Manchester we wouldn't have had the Gallaghers brothers or any of these amazing bands including of course Oasis, The Stones Roses, The Smiths, New Order, The Chemical Brothers, Joy Division, The Charlatans and the Verve to name a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I know well covered , but dynamic pricing when in a queue for advertiser prices will have to be made illegal.

The whole thing has been a bit sick...500 quid for a pitch ticket at times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,922 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Absolute rag of an article.

'Tánaiste Simon Harris has received criticism for attending Oasis in Croke Park as an online petition calling for his resignation has received over 30,000 signatures.'

How does the correlation between an online petition and going to an Oasis gig work?

Was there a 30K signature goal of 'No Oasis'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Unbelievable gig! Didn't manage to bag tickets when they went on sale and having seen them in the Point 05 and Slane I wasn't too disappointed but the videos of Murrayfield and Wembly got me hurting so I went on the hunt and got two Davin Lower for Saturday at a reasonable price!

It did not disappoint at all!

My better half commented that it was the happiest she's ever seen me in our 11 years 😂 I think it was a trick comment so I had to play it down bearing in mind our wedding was only 2 years ago and the son was born 15 months ago!

Post edited by Gavin "shels" on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭pinkfloyd34

Knock Airport has a black private jet landing saying it might be one of them. Maybe taking a couple of days off before going to the US.

Where did he get his ticket.

Labour are getting a huge bashing in the Uk about accepting freebies for gigs and matches, and rightly so too.

No. It means that Politicians should simultaneously do popular things/NOT do popular things.

They SHOULD do them because if they don't then they think they are better than everyone else.

They should NOT do them because How Dare They? The world is a ruin. How DARE THEY???!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

The "royal family" got booed in Manchester as well.

Do people just sit around waiting for something to be offended by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭chases0102

Anyone else feel Noel was quite cranky on Sunday night and kind of phoning it in? I thought Liam was hilarious, and definitely seemed to be enjoying himself more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Anything4883

I agree, Its something you'd expect to see in an English crowd…. but c'mon people.There is a way to have the craic, and thats not it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,852 ✭✭✭COH

No not in the slightest. He was quite emotional from the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,942 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

It happened a few years ago when Enda Kenny went to Springsteen, apparently he was damaging Ireland's reputation by dancing…………to music……….at a concert.

It must be nice that people have so little to worry about that the fact a man went to see a band is making them angry on a Monday.

He looked distant on Saturday night.

Seemed a bit nervous, was breathing heavily at times.

The whole band looked distant to be honest, its a very tight show, maybe they are concentrating on playing their instruments, maybe its nerves.

Couldnt fault Noels performance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Ffs, there was similar outrage not so long ago when that female politician was captured dancing on video. Are politicians not allowed to enjoy themselves?