Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

1446447448449450452»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

There’s a kernel of a point there that some teams across all sports do make sure that if a refs decision goes against them they make an issue of it in the belief this will make refs think twice next time. Certainly if that view is correct (not sure), then Cork do in general fall down in doing this.

Again, there is a general argument capable of being made that Cork, who have the reputation of being soft, somehow end up with more red cards in key matches than most counties. Im thinking of Hoggie in the semi v Waterford in 2017, O Donoghue against Clare last year, Barrett v Clare this year and the the two finals (hurling and camogie) this year, etc. To take the red in the hurling this years final, a soft yellow followed by a yellow with a possible push in the build up. Contrast it with how many fouls Adam Hogan committed in the previous years final for example.

But I can think if plenty counter arguments too. Moreover, most of the above reds are hard to argue with on a standalone basis. Finally, re Eoin Downey, I agree you kinda need to look beyond the ref if you are only scoring two points in a half of hurling.

In the round though I do think there are other counties (Clare are a good example) that seem to me to get reffed a bit differently and it might be because they work on refs before, during and after matches…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork get decisions and Cork don't.

I think debate began with fact Cork whinge about decisions when plenty proof in here that we ain't going on based on anything long term.

Sure up until recently you still had Tipp and Kk fans on about sending off in 2019 final and Tipp and Galways fans at each others throats from games in 1980s

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Some teams have mastered the dark art of playing on the edge, but, not overstepping it, ( essentially fouling but, not getting penalised for it), Kilkenny have been masters of this for years, as have Limerick and Clare in recent years. There's an art to it, knowing what certain refs will let go etc., on the other hand teams like Cork & Galway are too niave, they haven't mastered the dark arts and lose out because of it.

Down through the years I have plenty of experience of watching Galway concede soft frees against Kilkenny for F all, yet Kilkenny seem to get away with a lot worse, but, it's in the way they tackle compared to Galway, Galway make it obvious they are fouling, so concede soft frees, whereas Kilkenny don't make it as obvious, so get away with more. Cork have the same problem as Galway, don't know how to tackle properly without making it obvious they are fouling, so end up conceding soft frees, yellows, reds eventually costing matches. Until Cork improve on the dark arts, they will struggle to win an AI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

You said and indeed continue to say i was blaming the reff for the second half of that all Ireland final against Tipp. So either you need reading glasses or you were just looking for any excuse to have a cheap shot, but whatever each to their own i suppose!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Jesus look at all those thanks comments from people having a pop at us get! I guess we're the Millwall of the GAA and that's something to revel in i think. Nobody likes us we don't care etc. These people are just serial haters and begrudgers even when we do win all Irelands again, they'll never give us the credit for it. It's a lose a lose situation with these people. I wouldn't change who we are as people for anything though. It's what makes us uniquely Cork at the end of the day!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,535 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Rockies beat the Barrs tonight. Thought the Barrs would have had enough to beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ben Cunnigham a forgotten hurlers. Be some addition next season if he comes back.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

I have a good friend from West Limerick. I was down with his family when he was getting married and chatting in kitchen with his father.

In GAA conversation he mentioned the "çunts back the road" a couple of times without any explanation.

Took me a while to realise he was referring to Kerry people 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭supernova5

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,535 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Himself and Mullins were 2 that many thought would come through to the seniors following their U20 All Ireland win. Ben hasn't been seen near the squad and I think he could well be our next free taker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Ben was on the panel but had a very bad hamstring injury which is why he was out this year. I think he will be involved going forward with Cork and hopefully Padraig Power recovers well also. Ben will be a huge asset to Cork with both his play and free taking ability as you said Shamo

Apparently there's going to be no major changes to John Cleary's backroom team and Kevin Walsh is staying on as coach. I'm not really expecting much major improvement next year tbh.

It's blatantly obvious that the senior footballing setup is just going through the motions, and there doesn't seem to be much happening at underage level either. I don't think the will or the appetite to change that is there either sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

That's awful news if true. Really needs a change

Sars fairly hammered their neighbours Erin's Own by 18 points tonight.

The appetite to change Cork football is very disappointing.

We are miles behind Kerry at all levels at minute.

Even in 70s and 80s when Kerry dominated Cork were capable of winning a Minor or u21.

Now its double score defeats at underage games.

The standard between both counties is night and day. Things can change but I dont see Cork getting to AI semi final within next decade never mind a final.

I think we will stay around where we are for that period. Honestly we could fall further behind if we were go anyway. Its not upward anyway.

I would expect it from County Board but see clubs lying down we might as well just forget about it.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Rega

We just need to accept that we're not a football county, just as Kerry isn't a hurling county. No changes to the manager or backroom team after 3 years of not getting out of Div 2 or making any real progress in the championship proves that.

Tip away lads with your sideways handpassing and the same looping to the left kickout every time and whatever you do, don't even think of kicking the ball forwards. You don't want to excite the 2,000 fans who turned out to watch you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Torrey

Complete nonsense, everywhere west of the city it's all football, there is virtually no hurling in West Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Rega

Nobody's arguing that there isn't club football in Cork. What I'm saying is that the county board aren't that fussed about the Cork footballers, especially when the hurlers are going well.

Post edited by Rega on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Innish_Rebel

Was at it - the scoreline at the end almost flattered Erin's Own. First 10 was good competitive but once Sars got on top, they were seriously impressive.

Jack O'Connor got a couple of great scores, Murphy midfield (Killian I think) got contender for goal of the season - that guy has unreal pace, chased down Robbie O'Flynn in a straight footrace 5-10yards head-start to Robbie. Probably showing why Robbie is not as effective at inter-county this past year. In the past he would not have been caught.

In the first game fair play to Newcestown but Midleton were very flat I thought, should probably have lost. Luke Meade played sweeper for Newcestown and hurled a lot of ball - Midleton need to figure out how to get Tommy O'Connell on the ball more every time he did he seemed to pick out a great pass/distribution but just wasn't on the ball enough for me