Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

How did ye get done in the hurling, ye were beaten out the gate, team collapsed, not officials fault! In the camoige final I take it that you are referring to the push in the back, obviously that should have been pulled back, but, the ref was awful for both sides, plenty of clear frees weren't given to Galway too, no one complaining about them now as Galway won, but, had we lost, we'd have had plenty of complaints about the referee. I can't see how the officials did ye in the football. Decisions go against every team (Galway have suffered more than most down through the years), when you win, it's not really noticed, when you lose it obviously fustrating. Also remember Cork benefited from a dodgy goal in last years final, ye weren't complaining then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Honestly - the whingeing about referees is ridiculous, its harmful to the game and it needs to stop.

Almost every final - Meath last week, Donegal the week before - oh the ref screwed us. Its tiresome, its pathetic, its the sign of a loser mentality.

The LGFA game - the ref castigated for blowing up too often, ruining the game. The camogie final, he let way too much go. Damned if you dont damned if you do.

The social media abuse these guys are taking (I note very few women are doing it) is just off the charts and honestly for the reward (or lack of) that they get for it, I really dont know why they do it.

The Cork manager was really really out of line after the game.

In particular - the lack of tolerance for any sort of mistakes by the ref, and in particular mistakes by the ref being equated with bias.

It needs to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭mossie

As a Cork supporter it's something that annoys me a lot how we always seem to think the referee is biased or incompetent when we lose, when a neutral observer could clearly see that wasn't the case. Referees make mistakes and they generally balance out but when we look through the red tinted specs we don't or won't see that. Probably the same in other counties but I don't frequent their forums / social media to see that.

It's no wonder that nobody wants to take up refereeing anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Oh im not sure we are the bad supporters.

We took the final defeat with grace last year. Do you think if Clare had lost final like that they have been happy. Even Lohan admitted that.

The call against Limerick year before. Knocked us out.

I don't think any set of supportes would have just walked away from that.

Many things wrong with Cork but that's not one.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Oh and well done to Galway as well of course but we've had gentlemen managers like Kieran Kingston and Pat Ryan managing us in recent years, and the knives are still out for us. Pat badly needs some help on the tactics side of things as well if he is staying on as manager.

It seems like everyone in Cork was prepared for the possibility of Tipp deploying the sweeper system, except for the Cork management team themselves! I think there needs to be a few changes to the make up of the panel imo. A lot of those players are mentally shot at this stage.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Some people seem to think referees and officials are above criticism here. I personally myself think that's a load of bullshit imo. They make decisions that can alter players and managers careers and there seems to be no accountability to anyone for it.

Put it another way if the referees were doing their jobs right there would be far less complaining wouldn't they?😉 The GAA needs to look at introducing an accessors body to review the performances of referees and officials and then take action accordingly imo.

Managers get fired when they don't produce the results and players get dropped when they don't perform etc. The same should apply to referees, umpires and linesmen as well in the interests of fairness across the board imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,113 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Ya like the ref not calling back the puck out the puck out in PuC that kept ye in last years All Ireland. The one where it was pucked before it crossed the bar.

Or the ref not calling for Gillanes free to be retaken when 2 players illegally ran across him.

Or the ref calling the softest overcarry ever on Peter Casey to keep ye in the Munster final.

I only mention these because they are the ones i know from games i was at but refs are generally the same level of good and bad for every team. There is no one out there shafting Cork or anyone else and to blame the ref for the worst half of hurling ever in a final is the most stupid, childish laughable thing I ever heard.

At least read my post properly before replying ok! The nouveau riche upstarts in Limerick with their complaining yet again.🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,054 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The ironic thing is the referee completely rode Cork in the last 10 minutes of the semi final in 2018 to start Limericks run of success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

In fairness limerick they are on a high after Kerry won football all ireland. More Kerry flags in Newcastlewest and Adare then ya see Limerick flag.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭King Power Fox

There is plenty of Kerry people living in Newcastle West and in West Limerick in particular. Same as you would see plenty of Limerick flags in North Cork towns such as Mitchelstown and Charleville.

I thought ye didn't begrudge us our first in 2018. It's only when Limerick won multiple AIl Irelands the jealousy set in. Same as Kilkenny before, it's human nature- I was sick of Kilkenny myself.

Its not jealousy anyway it's just never seen a county celebrate other counties success as much as limerick. Its odd. Even people getting abuse online even genuine ones.

Just a obsession some limerick fans have. No big deal.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭High bike

Surprised u didnt mention 2021 when ye really got a bad doing from the ref in the 1st half.Was so bad half of ye fucked off at half time,as Johnny Logan said what's anotherr year

I would think the Limerick team of 2018 had the wherewithal to bounce back and win an All Ireland or 2 even if the lost the semi or final in 2018. In fact I think they won one a year or two before their time. Contrast them to Cork after 2 All Ireland defeats. Would you be confident of them going all the way next year. Resurgent Tipp, Clare and Limerick can only improve on this year, Kilkenny can't ever be ruled out.

Harnedy had the chance to win it. 6 points is very much recoverable in hurling. Clutching at very short straws to blame the ref for losing 2018 semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Seadin

Ye limerick boys are still bitter about Cork beating ye three times out or the last 4 times that you feel the need to come on the Cork thread and and question Cork about referring decisions that didnt go their way.

You are the one complaining you were robbed after only scoring 2 points in a half. It's conspiracy theory stuff to think ye lost 2025 cause of the ref.

My point was all this ref stuff shouldn't be complained about by anyone. Some go for you and some go against you and I say the exact same when Limerick fans complain about 2019 or 1996.

And having autocorrect as your comeback is just a bit sad.

Both Limerick and Cork share 4 Munster borders and are draws in terms of employment so that should shock no one here. And in fairness it was often Kerry men who brought the Limerick footballer on to new levels.

Havent seen Limerick winning many munsters or All Irelands in our lifetimes have we now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Your first paragraph is nonsense. It was not pucked out before it crossed the bar, not even close in fact. The ball went over the bar, hit the back net, fell from a good height and just about landed on the ground when Collins turned around having received the sliothar from the umpire. That’s a couple of seconds.

I’ve no problem admitting that it was taken too quickly, the umpire should have flown the flag first before handing the sliothar to Collins. Cork definitely benefitted from that decision, as we do plenty of times as well as plenty going against us too same as any other county.

But to say the ball was pucked out before the ball had even gone over the bar is plain wrong no matter how often people like to repeat it.

I wouldn't listen much to what that Limerick poster has to say. He loves been controversial when things are going against his own Limerick team.

Post edited by Seadin on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

I don’t think that’s fair either, we all have our biases. I’ve no problem admitting that we’ve got a few favourable decisions as well as some going against us. In the championship matches we’ve lost over the last 2 seasons I dont think any of them can be blamed on referees.

Sorry about that. I haven't watched it back since that week and am likely misremembering it. I use Limerick examples because it's what I (think I) know. Other fans can probably point to times Cork "robbed them" in 24 and 25 too and vice versa. The games ye lost can't be blamed on refs and neither can the games ye won.

I was just trying to make a point that a championship is full of decisions for and against and saying "this one thing happened in one game robbed us" is balls.

It's like how you can find moments in the campaign before Henry's handball to show Ireland should not even be in that playoff for 2010.

Ah ya that's not problem. But when you see Kerry only flags over businesses thats kinda embarrassing for a county. When you see 10x more kerry flags along stretch. I mean yer county was even in final just few weeks back. In fairness Templeglantine is full of limerick flags but rest ya be mistaken your in North Kerry.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

It's literally the main roadway from Kerry to Dublin. Businesses are putting up Kerry flags to catch the eye of passing Kerry folk, it’s just smart marketing, nothing more. But sure, some people will still see it as some grand insult to Limerick. Guess common sense isn’t everyone’s strong suit."

EVENFLOW

Smart marketing and they bypass those places then on the way up to Dublin 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Those Kerry lads don't spent much 😂😂😂. It was just a joke.