Star Trek: Strange New Worlds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,478 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Things like golodeck episodes were filler. You can't have filler with 10 episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 539 ✭✭✭eadrom

Yeah, fair point.

Although that is just back to it being a matter of taste, rather than any of them being inherently more disposable than the others. Nobody wants an episode they don't enjoy.

The singing episode wouldn't be top of my sh!t list anyway, for example. I wouldn't go out of my way to defend it (any more than I am now, I guess) but it was fun, they did it well. There's a good handful of episodes from the first two seasons that I'd sooner do without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭corkie

As there is no episode thread yet, I will post here!

Star Trek is good when it pokes fun at itself!

It is amazing that the show got popular with Shatner/Kirk one liners/acting, different times i guess.

They even threw in a bit about Jonathan Frakes manoeuvre!

But tired tropes of the holodeck failures and affecting the whole ship!

Thread created after this post: -

Post edited by corkie on

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,833 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Is the latest episode any good. The 5 minutes or so look terrible like WTF.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Yeah - the first 5 mins are nothing to do with the episode really but worth the watch for the end and the story therein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,833 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I just watched it. Lol the last 3 minutes were the best. Otherwise a lot of it was terrible but ye I was annoyed at first going ok this is most definitely a different reality an Alternate Reality to Prime Trek and then it was sorted and I was happy but it was stll not great. A silly episode really.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,268 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Well. The lore ending of why there's no holodeck in TOS makes sense now.

Post edited by TheValeyard on

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,301 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Not at all, those two you mentioned are two of the absolute best episodes they've ever made. In any season of TV with a 'monster of the week' style writing (most series from the 70s onwards) you'll have episodes that don't advance the overall story arc of a season, but they do advance the characters and 'fit' within the overall story.

In those two examples, Inner Light gives us HUGE development in Picard and real, genuine emotion from a character who hides emotion whenever possible. As well as the idea that an entire race of people can be gone and forgotten about in the blink of an eye, given the vastness of the universe and the tiny spec that humans are within it.

Darmok gives us more Picard development and the art of diplomacy, one of the central tenets of the Federation.

These episodes, although they exist in isolation and can be enjoyed by anyone, can be considered world building episodes. They flesh out the world of Star Trek. Help us see the 'bigger picture'.

Episodes like the musical one don't manage to get there. Fluff/Fun episodes absolutely have their place - Elysium Kingdom for example was grand - fun, nonsense, pushed M'Benga a little further and gave us fun moments that could be explained away and add to the overall world.

So that's basically what I mean by advancing something, it doesn't have to be a masterplan overall story arc every week (DS9 sometimes fell down on this) but when we only have 10 a season, I'd personally rather fill those with as much quality as possible, especially because we KNOW these writers and, particularly, this cast - are capable of really great things.

Looking forward to the new one tonight! I know it is likely a fluff one, but I still go in open minded!! 😄

Thread not created yet again for this weeks installment?

Enjoyable episode with "Kirk's" first taste of command and a valuable lessons learned and enforced by dialogue with "PIKE"!

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

I'm aware but posted before my dinner, and was just lazy, to go about researching the episode titles and links to put in the first post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭liamtech

So considering that this is the series OVERALL thread - i thought id share my thoughts on Season 3 Overall

Sadly, it is not as good as season two, which in turn, was not as good as season 1. Im being honest in my appraisals of this show. I still really like it, and i am optimistic about it. I remain optimistic, despite having to admit that it is tracking in the same direction as Discovery - that being each season is not as good as the last.

The optimism I have stems from me liking the show from the outset. And also, from the fact that it is a 'regular' star trek show. I like episodic trek, as the stinkers dont interfer with my enjoyment of the epics! Unlike with Discovery, i can sit down, watch a good episode, and have my opinion remain unaltered by a subsequent stinker or two.

Overall if i were to rank the seasons episodes, it would be as follows from best to worst:

1. The Sehlat Who Ate Its Tail (not epic but the high point for me)
    2. Through the lens of time (i remain enthusiastic about this despite the lousy payoff)
    3. Hegemony Part 2 (it was fine i guess)
    4. Wedding Bell Blues (its half funny, and receives promotion - i expected it to rate lower in the end)
    5. Shuttle to Kenfori (not great but it was ok i guess)
    6. Four and a half Vulcans (funny at times, it was grand)
    7. Terranium (not a very original episode)
    8. What is Starfleet (i feel like i want to rate it higher, but it was very meh)
    9. A Space adventure hour (not offensively bad, but i have misgivings - tried to rewatch a bit, and found myself uninterested)
    10. New Life and New Civilizations (Clearly a huge let down)

Its been a dissapointing season. Id like to hope we can return to quality next season. My enthusiasm remains but is diminished somewhat - we have not seen an epic like the series opener, or the first seasons finale - for me the Reimagined 'Balance of Terror' was as close to PURE TREK, as we have come in decades - it was a modern epic. I hoped for more of these, and SNW has failed to deliver - yet

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,268 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Definitely not as good as S1 or S2. But still enjoyable and what I really like is the individual episodes. Not some season long master villian or save Earth event.

Crossover episode with Lower Decks is still my personal favourite in S2.

Pikes speech at the end of the pilot episode was great.

Showrunners have said they will do a better job with S4.

I wonder if they they thought they would be cancelled when writing the season, so the things got rushed (like the final episode of S3)

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

Looking at the list of episodes makes me realise the season was worse than I remember.

Lens of Time is the only good one and they should have left it more a mystery by not wrapping it up in the final episode.

The documentary episode had a great story but the doc style was annoying and they do that stupid thing of kinda shoving it in your face that they "get the Trek ethos". Zombie episode could be way better too.

At least half of them are pure and utter crap. It's got 3 full on comedy episodes which are terrible and an episode all about a woefully poor attempt at Kirk.

There's really only the top 2 here that I thought were actually any good. 3 and 4 on my list were alright, I suppose, and the bottom 6 I could entirely do without unfortunately.

1. The Sehlat Who Ate Its Tail
    2. Through the Lens of Time
    3. Hegemony Part 2
    4. Terranium
    5. A Space Adventure Hour
    6. Wedding Bell Blues
    7. Shuttle to Kenfori
    8. Four-and-a-Half Vulcans
    9. What is Starfleet
    10. New Life and New Civilizations

Hope they do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,301 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Please God let them go back to the quality that they showed us in S1 and S2. Drop the nonsense down to 1 or 2 episodes. Squeeze the rubbish into those. I understand there is a market for them, and that the actors enjoy them. Crossovers, animated rubbish, pop culture references, fun, frolics and hijinks - condense it all into one or two episodes so I can let them wash over me and then enjoy the great writing and characters that they created over the first 20 episodes.

So much potential that they now have right on the cliff edge after S3. I still have hope!

If they can write truly great episodes like 'Under the Cloak of War' and 'Ad Astra per Aspera' and have compelling, fully rounded characters like La'an and M'Benga then they absolutely can recover from the nonsense.

https://gizmodo.com/star-trek-strange-new-worlds-season-3-quality-season-4-2000658880

Might be a good sign here. I dont think i ever saw an admission from the Disco runners, where the acknowledge a dip in quality, and promise better next time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,282 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Hmm, I'm pretty sure the Discovery writers have admitted issues on a few occasions and then fucked things up even more by trying to correct. The jump to the 32nd century being the most egregious example but they also watered down all the more interesting edgy aspects from season 1 (such as morally grey captain).

Thats a load of bollix from them. Season 4 is already way too progressed to make something that responds to criticism. It has a literal puppet episode ffs.

Season 1 team changed mid season and the same on season 2. Also Paradise was a but of a coward and kept making changes to suit online fans. Once the original team left the show never had a guiding template.

@breezy1985: Thats a load of bollix from them. Season 4 is already way too progressed to make something that responds to criticism. It has a literal puppet episode ffs.

In fairness they didn't really say anything about course correcting as a response to criticism. They said season 3 had setbacks and challenges during production which season 4 didn't (past tense, because production is pretty much done as you say).

“We didn’t have staffing changes. We didn’t have a strike. The strike caused change. Those things are real. And starting up and shutting down and starting up again is complicated.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I'd probably swap "This is Starfleet" and "Four and a half Vulcans" personally.

I found Ortegas' brother's agenda annoying throughout the episode but then Uhura's observation at the end changed my opinion. I thought the "B" plot (With transporting the alien) was classic Trek and enjoyed that. Also, I don't know why, but the episode looked fantastic. I suppose because there was a lot of shots of space etc.

While I did enjoy aspects of 4 1/2 Vulcans (Romijn's excellent comic timing) I thought it pushed the central joke beyond credibility and found it tedious quite quickly (Although Chong was clearly having fun and I enjoyed that aspect too)

But other than that, you hit the nail on the head for me. It was definitely disjointed and got the impression that that was more behind the scenes than anything else. I don't know why. As I have said before, I like the take on Kirk but felt he was shoe-horned into it a bit. Especially the last episode. I do like Scotty and think he is a good addition and makes sense and I do like Pelia even though she's mainly there for comic effect (Waiting for Billy Crystal to make a cameo)

Hopefully whatever shenanigans that were going on behind the scenes are sorted out (If any. Maybe my imagination) and they can take a breath. Sit down and go "OK, took our eye off the ball last time. Let's focus".

I still think Seasons 1 and 2 were great with season 1 being the most assured first season of any Trek. 9.5/10. I think they just had a mid show wobble as they didn't know what to do. Now they have a definite end target and enough space and time to get there. I do have faith that they will stick the landing. Just leave this season behind continuity-wise. Yes, Batel is gone. Address that a bit. Do NOT bring her back. Never address the Not-Pah-Wraiths again. Have Korby appear once again and once only. I liked the actor and character (Although probably biased) just to close off that chapter. Enough of Uhura. She's been done to death. Little bit more of Ortegas. Little bit more of La'an that does NOT revolve around Spock.

I think they can do it after taking a deep breath and look back at Season 3.

The seasons to come are more likely to be more Kirk, Spock and Uhura with the not TOS characters slowly fading out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Yeah. I mean, it makes sense having Kirk come in more. I've no problem with that. But we've seen a LOT of Uhura over the last few seasons. I like the interpretation and like the fact that she is a bit of a genius (Especially in Season 1). But dial it back just a smidge. I believe they have to (And intend to) "flatten" Spock a bit. Bit more Vulcan. Maybe that's a plan. It would be a real discredit to the character and actor but maybe that's part of the La'an/Spock thing. For her to die or something which results in Spock locking down more. It would be a real disservice as her character was interesting (If a little one-note) in season 1 & 2. But to go from bad-ass to dance-partner to sacrificial love interest would be a real retrograde step.

Scotty? No problem. Again, makes total sense. Needs to be there for some time to get to know the ship before becoming chief engineer.

Ortegas probably go to Starfleet Academy. (Don't remember M'Benga being mentioned in TOS but someone said he was but maybe they could alter that and have him be assigned as personal doctor to Pike after…. Number One getting her own ship.

Fingers crossed. I believe.

I suppose then…. what? That potential Dawn Of The Federation short series? Oh God, that Starfleet Academy. Come on. Give us a Picard-era Earth-based spy show. All paranoid with the Tal Shiar lurking around the corner - Are they the baddies? Are they just trying to help their people? Real 50's style "Reds Under The Bed" type thing. Perfect for current atmosphere in the US. . Give us an action-based MAKO show.

Doing something big with La'an to 'break up' the SNW crew and link it to the TOS era would be a really good narrative device. A big death, deception, murder etc., would be useful to make the big changes to their personalities that they'd need to do. For example, Spock lets his emotion get the better of him, which leads to her death? Would give a 'reason' for him to lean away from his human side. Maybe give a reason for Una to want to distance herself from the Enterprise. Hell, if they wanted to be truly brave, have La'an turn and betray the crew!

Lots of options for the writers, hopefully they knew that Season 3 was a poor effort and they've redeemed themselves in Season 4.

That would be my thought too. But look at her character in Season 1 of SNW. Sure, a bit one-note: Angry. But still with that background, interesting. Her name. Her history with the Gorn. Her general career path. Now she's Spock's dance partner/girlfriend.

It would be more interesting if SHE was the one betraying/deceiving. Picard and Enterprise sorta merged Soong/Singh. Would be interesting to see her progressing that path. Just less campy than Picard/Enterprise did it. No moustache twirling. No Brent Spiner.

It would really be a shame and a waste of a good character if she was like just killed in Spock's arms (Mid dance). Simply so we can have his character lock down.

Yeah, very true. She's certainly the most compelling character in the series. Killing her off just to launch old Spock™ would be a waste for sure but whatever they do with her could be the key device to wrap up, end, destroy, propel or otherwise affect the SNW/TOS crew.

Don't even mention mid-dance, the writers might be reading this!!!

Yea i think with the end in sight, they might pull it out of the bag this timie

• I agree with your assessment of season 1. It was the first season of REAL star trek in decades. I hope the writers see the love we all have for it, and decide to emulate that early success
    • Agreed on Laan, id like to see more, minus spock. I would like to see more of Ortegas, she has potential.
    • Considering how devisive the Kirk guy is, it might be best to shelve him. They wont do this of course - but maybe use him sparingly
    • Try and broaden the connection to classic trek, beyond simple inclusions of TOS era characters and races.
    • There was a lot going on in the star trek universe during this time period. I believe it was around now that the Cardassians were transitioning into the expansionist autocratic state that we know from TNG era. This could be something to explore if the writers wish to engage with classic fans
    • the Sheliak could be another group we could explore. I recently rewatched their single episode in 'The ensigns of Command' and there is potential there. Plus it was around this era that they were in conflict with the Federation, which eventually led to that treaty being signed!

My reasons for including the Cardassians and the Sheliak as possible features would involve expanding the scope of SNW in terms of the franchise as a whole. The writers seem intent on continually wanting to tie the show to TOS. But there are two quadrants to look at, and it could be interesting to branch away from TOS, toward the entire Trek canon.

The really sad bit is that they've PROVED that they are capable of building solid, realistic, complete characters from scratch, within the overall canon. Arguably the 'worst' characters in SNW are the ones that are tied to TOS, and therefore tied into a certain path of development and a fixed end point. This is a good thing in terms of Pike because the show starts out with him struggling to come to terms with knowing his fate. This is a great hook around which to spin his story, but it stunts the growth of others like Spock and Uhura.

The overall take home point is that it's still possible to make great Star Trek, it just needs to be less tied to past series but completely within the canon. Prequels just don't work unless there is some clamour for lore, for unanswered questions, for deeper diving. We don't need that with Star Trek. It's already fecking brilliant to dive into the past using the already made series! We need future, we need sci-fi, we need characters wrestling with decisions. (and please drop the zany stuff or Marvel stuff, just give us Trek!)

Actually. It's surprising that Sarek hasn't appeared. He was great in the prequel episodes. You know. Those episodes from that other thing when it was better. We won't mention the name……

They should have gotten that actor tk play the Romulan commander in A Quality of Mercy.