If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SKX007 spruce up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,783 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Stunning outcome!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭GooseB

Stunning outcome!!

Agreed! Fantastic job there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Thats incredible work. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭saccades

Picked up the watch today from the post office, watch displaying the current time and date.

Will be on my arm for the next couple of weeks at least 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Thanks lads, yes it bounced back nicely. It's surprising what some wet and dry wrapped around some wood can accomplish. A dremel and diamond paste polish and the correct attachments finishes it off.

Great news! Hope it keeps on keeping on for you:) If only we could replace our bits with nos parts lol.

When this watch is not on wrist what else do you wear?

A couple more from the kitchen table when time allowed…

20250718_184022.jpg

Further to the suunto observer, a core.

20250718_185157.jpg 20250718_185212.jpg

Water ingress. Gently cleaned it up and with stiff abrasive eraser/isopropyl and it's matching zebra rubber contacts on the lcd side. Read out is grand now. I've seen this before and would not swim with a suunto core imo.

20250722_114936.jpg 20250722_131924.jpg

Had one before many moons ago, this one I bought cheaply to fix by swopping the dead movement. It's a standard ronda 515 movemnt but with the tall pinion stack to allow for the gtls vials. Still available new for twenty odd quid. Was kinda bummed when I saw this thought as it's likely repairable with a dab from my conductive pen

20250722_132714.jpg 20250722_132706.jpg

A slip by the previous lad during battery change must have broke a strand on the coil. You have to slightly torque the contact arm in its direction to fit and remove a battery. Anyway, for the sake of a score it can have the new movement.

20250722_104354.jpg

Re the radioactive light emitting vials this is an old model so I was worried it was going to have exhausted it's half life and not glow. A wiser man on such issues advised it wouldn't be and to my delight its still does output. It's obviously much dimmer but still very readable in the dark. My phone doesn't do it justice, its brighter to the eye than this suggests

20250721_225100.jpg

I popped the crystal to measure and ordered a generic sapphire in 28 x 2mm for a fiver but while it's out I polished off the worst of the scratches.

Caseback seal was dead so replaces it with an skx007 one which fit perfectly and I best guessed the dual crown seals. By best guessed I mean you're looking for a slight push fit in refitting to crown tube and a nice glide-y resistance when turning it.

20250722_202132.jpg 20250723_224607.jpg 20250723_225655.jpg

Passed with flying colours, as did the previous SSC021P1 solar diver.

20250723_192935.jpg

Looks good on a rubber single pass nato.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Roycropper63

Very nicely done H

Again, your skills are class!

My other watches are a classic modded snzf into a FFF (Brady strap & yobokies parts), a heavily modded skx009, a Stargate based pmmm, cocktail time sarb065, then a couple of cheap homages of a tuna & monster, a storm photo lense, plus other bits I've picked I along the way.

Cheers Roy, hope that kinetic is still ticking?

A seiko fanatic :)

Love to see some pics.

20250729_161308.jpg 20250729_153816.jpg

Removed the corrosion from the battery terminals and it fired up with a new battery. Crown release is bothersome on these H557's. Got the EL light working too eventually.

20250729_161328.jpg 20250729_161407.jpg

Case and crystal is scratched and seals hardened.

20250729_174101.jpg

First non circular crystal I fitted and to my annoyance it cracked. That's a first. Bought another and went really slow and carefully (just like before!) but this time warmed the case with a hairdryer first. Seemed to help.

Did the seals and sanded/polished the marks out of the case.

20250802_125505.jpg 20250802_124623.jpg 20250802_124617.jpg 20250802_124417.jpg

Regained the caseback and polished the chamfer. Rebent the end links back to what they should be to mate the case better.

20250802_124446.jpg

It's tinchy

20250802_124554.jpg

The bracelet is open here, unconnected to the clasp, its near two inches too short, too much even for a clasp extender. Besides, this was always destined as a gift to mate who'll totally dig the eighties vibes. Like many early quartz seikos of the time these movements are quality built, even has a trimmer to zero in the timekeeping. Crazy loud alarm on it too.

I'll see what I can find...

IMG_5842_zpslsdvppfj.jpg

Very nice indeed! You have the some tastefully done mods there. I did a similar fathoms mod a while back, gave it a family member who loves it.

I should start by saying even if I could afford to buy a gold watch I wouldn't.

Austin-Powers-Goldmember-Goldmember-s-Stunt-Roller-Skates-4.jpg

More power to you if you disagree but to my eye they're gick, so with that out of the way I present to you my gold watch...

20250718_161617.jpg

My wife declared it made me look more like Tony Soprano. She's phased out as I explained Tony wore a dd and that the show had a very rich watch content in general...

20250718_132528.jpg

Anyway... My hunch the chrono finger tensioner was the cause of the running issues was correct, five second fix later a running 7A38 sweet. Once I sorted the sticky buttons I wore it for a day or two (with sleeves) just to be sure.

20250718_133235.jpg

At one point a battery started to go but was caught in time before it took out the pcb. There's two forgivable patches of corrosion right on the edge of the minute track which I cleaned up somewhat.

20250805_144854.jpg 20250805_143213.jpg

Ahhh, that's better.

20250805_172256.jpg 20250805_160514.jpg 20250805_172240.jpg

Just waiting on a sapphire to land. The bracelet broke so I've mated it as best I could with something that fit the 18mm hooded lugs but then stepped out to match the 25ish mm case sides. Easier said than done. In sad news my long suffering ultrasonic cleaner died during the initial cleaning of this piece, killed itself due to the gold likely…

I also don't buy black pvd watches so with that out of the way I present to you my black pvd watch... Another non runner bought cheaply which needed considerable fiddling to get running again.

20250806_151158.jpg 20250806_160621.jpg

Here it is in a sea of ceramic vibratory media washing off the contradiction.

20250806_160714.jpg

Which did not really strip the finish, at least in a timely manner. Aluminium oxide will be my next try. I did note that this media and process will leave a lovely glassblasted/matt/burnished finish on uncoated steel. It will also remove minor scratches and graining. Armed with this knowledge I used more direct methods and left the the above to remove all traces of that.

20250810_103753.jpg

Which it did very well.

I'm confident I can get this down to a no hands two step process with this 4mm ceramic as a finishmedia and maybe aluminium oxide or something suitable for stronger initial stripping. That's the goal anyway and I've loooads of other stuff this can be used for besides. The caseback came out great (not native to the 7A38 but used in place of the oem one I didn't want refinished.

20250810_104013.jpg

Here's a good snap that shows the scratched/polished section of the fold over that was covered by the clasp. Under magnification there's no open pores or injury to the surface but scratches and swirlies are removed. It does this without removing much edge definition etc. It seems better in this respect than blasting or tumbling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,783 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I’m going to say that gold plated Seiko is very snazzy. And I’d be nominally allergic to such a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,635 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Very impressed by your tumbling setup!
    Lovely work as always👍

Beauty is indeed in the eye of the beholder but be aware, the camera lies, case was in rough shape with plating loss and scratches.

My initial plan was to fix/refurb and sell but half worn gold plating more a bad look than forgivable wabi sabi.

Cheers B.

If memory serves you had a (Sinn or omega?) clasp you wanted tumbled/refinished. When I get savvier to different media and their finish you're welcome to bung it in. Playing with it yesterday it's actually easy to go from the finish above to polished as the parent metal is undamaged by the process. From reading into it it seems this is a benefit of vibratory over tumbling or blasting, very gentle on the metal. Next up is some old Seiko matt finish stainless and ti cases/bracelets I have.

Excuse the ot pic but I threw in an old scratched up multitool (dismantled) and it came out literally better than new.

20250811_124132.jpg

I left the four bolts out, you can see the difference in colour and finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭scwazrh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

That is wonderful work. I do love a good Leatherman.

Got Blast model as a corporate gift donkey's years ago and it is still one of my most used items. Superb quality.

95806_1_LEATHERMAN-BLAST-LEATHER-SHEATH[1].jpg

Yes, a pst

20250811_124322.jpg

But from 02

20250811_154636.jpg

The later gen one had the scissors iirc, this must be late in the run. If you have an old one send it on, I'm like doc macstuffins for them lol. I peen any slop of the pliers head, repoint the drivers and re-face the cutters if dented.

20250808_083628.jpg

I do a bit of sharpening for hunters down this way so give them a nice toothy edge too

20250811_155004.jpg

Pops hairs!

The blast is great, I have one somewhere, a more comfy package with the rubber guards but slightly thicker for it. A pst is so pocketable. Great tools in a bind. My young fellas bike was locked by someone's random lock once, I hacked sawed it off in ten mins with my pst lol.

I had a wave from 2002 that i used everyday for years , Used to keep it on my tool belt back when I was on the tools. I broke one of the screwdriver heads and sent it to leatherman for repair but they replaced it instead ,I would have rather kept the original but was too late at that stage. Their lifetime warranty is legit though.

Two interesting ones I have

A juice hand signed / engraved by Tim himself when he was over for St Patrick’s day in 2004

IMG_1987.jpeg

And a 20th anniversary Wave , one of 500 . The model before they moved to interchangeable screw driver bits. This one has seen no use but plenty of my others have , something nice about a well used multitool.

IMG_1988.jpeg

I've seen vids of the man himself engraving his sig but never knew he was here. Brill that you have them.

His story of how the pst came to be a success is a great study in how a fantastic product still needs hard work and luck to make it. His early designs were so innovative and yet he struggled to get them on shelves.

That model wave you have is much more compact than the later evolutions and the juice should never have been shelved, I have a c2 but not your c4. Great models and signed too. They've got to be appreciating, keep them!

While we're lm geeking out...

20250811_173910.jpg

My early oddities, my sideclip is awol in the garage otherwise would be here in this line up. I have users of all these too, these are the drawer queens. Having a brother in the states helped sourcing them.

Star of the show for me though...

20250811_174133.jpg 20250811_174108.jpg

A full sized pliers for the Johnny pocket!

Good lineup there , The crunch is an in demand model now.Reddit would have you believe it’s a hard model to get.Ive never used mine , bought it ,said that’s a faff and left it on the shelf .One handed tools has always been my preference.

Some of mine below

IMG_1994.jpeg

Ive a couple of the newer ones but when they started replacing steel with plastic I lost some interest.This one though is last years model and is a solid little thing , 2” blade

IMG_1996.jpeg

This was the classic line up from the 2003 catalog.Much more solid tools than the current line up .The blast shows the plastic parts that I’m not a fan of.

IMG_1995.jpeg IMG_1997.jpeg

The originals though will last forever , can’t go wrong with a lump of stainless steel machined in not much more than a small metal shop.

But as a Boy Scout in the 80s it wasn’t a leatherman I dreamed of , it was this bad boy.God knows how many tools and a magnifying glass to go with it

IMG_1999.jpeg

But as a Boy Scout in the 80s it wasn’t a leatherman I dreamed of , it was this bad boy.God knows how many tools and a magnifying glass to go with it

Scouts and McGyver definitely are responsible for a hell of a lot of Swiss Army knife sales!

Great seeing all the old skool ones in that brochure. The sideclip is prob my most carried. I put the pst scissors, the later diamond file and a milled custom bit exchanger in it. It's perfect for me.

Agreed re the early ones, hard to kill them. I usually just repoint one when a driver gets marred. Shame they replaced your wave. I've heard talk you can instruct them to repair rather than replace but not sure what happens when it's a discontinued model. I don't think an old wave driver is compatible with the next gen.

Swiss army is iconic isn't it. If it's not my sideclip or pst it's a Vic compact I carry. Scissors is endlessly being used with the kids. To this day I grit my teeth when I see a champ. My mate lost mine when he borrowed it abroad. It was given to me on my 18th by the parents, could have clobbered him. I recently bought one for the son. Speaking of vic

20250811_212334.jpg

I rate it better than LM I have to say.

Which model did McGyver use again???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,635 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Much like Rambo is responsible for a young me asking Santa for a survival knife in the mid 80s.

1000027850.jpg

Jeez, I'll get my leather man out of the shed tomorrow as I didn't know they were date stamped.

The micro screwdriver on mine snapped fixing my glasses and leather man said they could replace only with I think a Wave?

I kept the original instead.

We're all coming out of the woodwork lol.

Do, love to see it!

Which model did McGyver use again???

I had no idea, all I could remember was it was a fairly "normal" sized one, not one of the gigantic ones with a million different tools. I had to look it up and as is normal with these things, the answer isn't simple:

Cool! That show rocked, was right up there with Night Rider, V and the A Team. So the Tinker seemed to feature largely. I wonder today would he have the Vic spirit x multi tool instead of a cellidor vic?

@banie01 i remember having one of those survival knives as a nipper lol. The hollow handle had an assortment of various useless wet light matches, hooks and line and button compass. Very nostalgic but mind you a 13 stripping bark from a stick with one now would probably have the special branch arrive under blues and two with weapons drawn haha.

Finished the two 7A38 restomods

20250814_180609.jpg 20250814_180731.jpg 20250814_180534.jpg 20250814_180859.jpg

Caseback re graining removed the most of the scratches, quite presentable. That three jaw chuck is a winner. The tumbling did a good job on the pvd case and bracelet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bloody hell H-L, you do some impressive work on these watches. I wish I had a few 80's Seikos to send you. 🙂

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Finished the two 7A38 restomods

Once again, fantastic work. You have a great talent there, the watches look brilliant.

I wonder today would he have the Vic spirit x multi tool instead of a cellidor vic?

Today, he wouldn't have a knife at all - because they're dangerous and evil and they kill kittens. He'd probably open handcuffs and diffuse bombs with an app on his phone. But in his defence, it would likely be a special McGyver phone that the screen never breaks on and it would always get a perfect signal, despite being in some secret location in the Bolivian jungle.

The hollow handle had an assortment of various useless wet light matches, hooks and line and button compass.

Had one of those also - the plastic handle snapped off while myself and a friend were practicing our knife throwing skills into a rotten tree stump.