Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SKX007 spruce up.

• 09-09-2024 11:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭

All things to all men these, for good reason too, they're an icon, but most tbh are in need of help by now. This one was but is now ready for whatever life and leisure throws at it.

It's a nice original example but the movement needed expertise I don't possess (yet) and the draw of hacking and handwinding is strong.

Beat error would shift wildly with position and likewise timekeeping, there's no point attempting regulating this. Time for an NH36 with crown @ 3.8. Some pics along the way for anyone half interested…

Love my cousins Bergeon rip off cleaning pen, fantastic for hand and inside crystal cleaning. Hands were manky but came up good.

Black movement spacer removed from the 7s26 and put on the NH36 the hard (read proper) way. Hands aligned as you hope seiko would (but don't) and it now clicks over within 30 seconds of midnight instead of a quarter to. Stack height has to be level as the nh is marginally taller here I believe and can cause the seconds hand to rub the crystal if tipping up any at all. These hands had been off before and were dirty, the hr hand needed to be broached and the seconds hand bent. All square now.

It takes another while for the day to flip over to correct alignment as per the 7s26.

New stem needed for the hacking and winding and the 7s26 crown's stem is crimped so new crown needed. I used a good triple seal one and changed the stem seals for a better plush fit in the crown tube.

Cutting the stem length so the crown pops when unscrewed, deselects hacking with a nice click and bottoms out against the case (and thereby seals the third gasket against the crown tube) is very very important. All too often one or more of these aspects is lacking. Stem is secured with loctite afterwards.

Seals are changed/greased and so too the stem where needed sparingly. Nice fat 0.8mm case back gasket there.

Next it's regulated. I have a good few nh's kicking about but the ones with minimal positional changes and ones that don't twitch the second hand when timesetting are my preferred choice. This one should be a few seconds slow a day on wrist but should make it up if left face down over night. Wrist time will tell. Either way a huge improvement over what was.

The watch then has the movement removed, is pressurised to 3 bar for a few minutes before the pressure being released and then submerged whilst looking for bubbles. If no bubbles I repeat with the watch movement installed. If no bubbles it's good to go.

Final check ensuring hand clearance, stem function and it's ready to rock.

Final notes, finger cots are a must and rodico is your friend, it holds and cleans but is for the bin once used once. Dust and fingerprints are a big no no. I use small pieces of leather chamois to clean the inside of a crystal, nothing comes close to it imo. A strong torch light from below helps see and remove dust pecks with a piece of rodico no human hand has touched. And then all is well in the world and the universe is improved now an skx is once more fighting fit.

Really love the skx and it's a shame the 5kx or whatever you call the latest incarnation have lost the essence of being a tool watch first is what made them a cool watch as a result. If you have an old skx don't sell it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

Very nice, looks fabulous. A lot of work put in fair play to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭covey123

A big thanks to you H,really appreciate the work gone into it.

For anyone interested, I was to-ing and fro-ing about picking up a new diver,looking at both micro and established brands.I didn't want anything too flashy, just a toolish timeless design, so kept coming back to the SKX.

I picked up this for a pretty good price on eBay, but of course was allowing for the need to upgrade the movement if it necessitated.

Cue contacting resident seiko enthuast H lime once I found it was running slow,sent him the watch and got a very detailed report back on it.

Waterproofness would be important for me,was great to hear back that it would also be tested.

Now for the worst bit,the wait for it to arrive back in the post!

Thanks again H,much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Thanks Sonic, if a jobs worth doing, as the old saying goes.

My pleasure Covey, I hope it serves you well. Yours is a lovely example with the goldilocks patina I feel. Nice to be able to make it useful once more and shout me if you're ever selling it:)

You'll have first refusal if I move it on, but don't be setting aside any watch buying funds a while yet 😉 going to enjoy putting its tool watch status to the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭scwazrh

is the lume pip at 12 on it raised ? Looks like it on one of your other posts as well.

To me it looked oe but with the pip hole filled with a drop of lume, which I've done myself on ocassion.

May as well put my attempts to spruce up my near on thirty year old Seiko quartz panda chrono here.

On the left.

It was killed in the washing machine by my future wife by accident many moons ago. You can see hands are loose on the dial. After being rediscovered I wanted it working again. It's the first watch I bought myself and was along for so many important moments. Nostalgia eh.

New movements are unavailable (pulsar equivalents too) all discontinued so a donor then. Working ones are now saucy money but found a battered one in the UK for 60 pounds listed as "needs a battery, untested"... Seller does house clearance seemingly. It had a full bracelet so I took a punt and lo and behold if it didn't jump into life with a new battery once I shorted the ac to positive. Overjoyed so I was until I felt the stiff crown and the date change over failed at midnight:( A simple swap over to my case was not on the cards.

The day driving wheels small lever (across from "14" was misshapen due to some plonker advancing date while it was changing. This meant it wouldn't kick over the date wheel at midnight. Thankfully mine was aok so swopped it in and oiled the appropriate parts. Phew, sorted.

Next the alarm was cycling but not sounding. There's two usual suspects, the contacts being too low to touch the caseback to ground or the piezo unit inside the caseback being broken. Thankfully sopping in the donors caseback fixed it and it's charming dual tone alarm brought back twelve yrs of being woken up. Result!

Next was rebuild the dismantled parts back onto the movement and seat all the hands. First time I've done that on such small chrono hands. A challenge for my xl paws.

I removed the circlips holding the three pushers and changed the O rings. Major arse pain seating the C clips back but worth it to feel the lovely now waterproof plush fit. Likewise the two crowns. They were in bad shape and broke easily being dried up, here's a fresh one going on. Again they feel so much more secure and rubbery when using them. Case back gasket was changed too.

The crystal was badly scratched and chipped at the edges slightly. It's design is such that 0.25mm is proud around the bezel and it really could do with a slight bevel.

This was a first. Practically exploded when I went to press it out. No injuries but will be wearing eye protection when installing and removing them in future, bits went everywhere.

With the crystal removed I set again sanding the worst of scratches from the case bezel after masking the brushing below. I didn't want to remove all of it entirely, just enough and then polished it on a felt wheel with dialux rouge. I then masked this and rebrushed the brushing with a gray scotchbrite wheel on the scraped lugs.

The donor bracelet was rough as feck but solid, well as solid as seiko made them lol. Out with the Bergeon 7109 tape and a half hr masking/unmasking brushing vs polished really netted decent results but again, stopping short of "as new" to match the case.

Time to install the custom sapphire I ordered. It's 32mm x 1.5mm, a small micro bevel and anti reflective treatment on the underside, I got it via a contact in Hong Kong. and safe to say it's the only 7T32-7C60 with one. Itwas expensive but worth it as I couldn't find an AR one anywhere. New gasket fitted with it .

Cased the movement, recalibrate the hand position by going to second position on the main crown and advancing them with button A and B until aligned perfectly. The buttons and crown are an absolute joy to use now. Checked the alarm and working like a charm. Set the time and set the alarm (which can function as second time zone) to california time as I've family out there.

Couldn't be happier to have this back on wrist and am happy with how it turned out.

Another I'll plonk here.

Can't find another Skx009j case nos, maybe that's that for them? Got the jingle jangle jubilee for fun. Pressure test later and then give it a dip the weekend.

Looking good👍what crystal did you put in it?

Thanks, crystal is same as yours, oem Hardlex.

Seeing as this was an "all" oem build (bar nh36 and triple seal crown) I left it as is, for now at least.

Has yours been catching waves yet? How's the timekeeping going?

Very good,losing maybe 3 seconds a day,I've been messing around with leaving it in different positions overnight,seems dial up is the best to keep losses low. Have put off setting it on a long term accuracy test a while as heading out of the country this week and will be adjusting to a new time zone.Will be setting it up when I get back and see where it'd at after a week/month.

Great to hear that, once dialled in a good nh can really perform. I'm assuming that's -3spd, I leant it slightly that direction as most free up a slight bit.

Enjoy the hollier and lots of sunny skx photos! :)

More tinkering in the odd orbit of 90's 7t32 quartz. Mecha quartz before it was a thing.

I found a shop in the states selling off as new sales samples, straight out of cryo sleep as it were :)

They have dummy movements in, so just the bare basics to support the dial, date wheel and hands for display purposes. The crowns are cemented in without stems, no seals etc. So a bit of work in making one tick then, goodie.

Bought a few to amuse myself with, this one being the most interesting and probably seikos high end offering in this line, the 7t32 7d19, affectionately referred to by it's fan base as "the sprocket".

It was 450 ish dollars back in the mid nineties, boasts an impressive 20bar resist (mmm..) and Stargate style unidirectional dive bezel and sapphlex crystal (sapphire treated mineral). It's 41mm case and ehhh a bit busy to look at lol.

I dig it so I ripped the innards out of one of my recently bought 7t32 donor watches and had at it.

Acid, isopropyl, heat and micro drill bits had me ready to fit stems. Mr seiko intentionally went to town with the epoxy, these watches were never to be recomissioned.

7t32 stems are a tenner each and you can't reuse the ones from the donor watches as they're crimped in so measure twice and cut long.

My seal kit thankfully had the right size d rings, no 15 and case back 38mm. I heat bonded on the peizo alarm buzzer on the case back too.

Five bar and sudden pressure release (above water) to see if the glass popped and all good. Back to five bar for five mins and into the drink while releasing pressure to see if it leaks, all good no bubbles. Case is good to go to at least fifty meters. Crowns are not screw down incidentally.

Thankfully epoxy wasn't used on the underside of the dial or hands so I could reuse them on my movement. The 7t32 is fragile so hand setting such small pieces is testing. The alarm dual time dial at six o'clock cannot be calibrated so you must set them at 12 exactly. The seconds hand is mega delicate too.

Very happy with it, especially as it says sample on the caseback haha, it's a fun watch and I put a lot of work into it. There was no bracelet so I searched high and low to no avail and in the end matched it closely to oem with the seven link engineers bracelet. I have curved end links I will adapt to the lugs easily with some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭traco

Wow!!! That is brilliant work! I think is will refer to you as Sir H_Lime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭saccades

I do like that sprocket watch.

Thanks guys, I do like my seikos and oddball ones such as the above especially.

The oem bracelet is unobtainium but this generic one was a close match (7 link engineers) so I reckeoned on trying to grind the optional curved end links it came with to fit.

Slowly grind to match the lug but also bend the links curvature to as you go. When i was a gnats pube from finished I changed the angle so the grind matched flush to the mating surface when fitted. Then bend the spring bar retainers underneath so the link is tight.

From pics online that's probably a better fit than the oem one as each of mine only fit their given lug and have no gaps. Gotta love my dremel.

The 0.75mm overgrind of the rhs lug is unfortunate and surprising, any seiko sample cases I have are generally superior to production ones. I seriously doubt anyone bar me will notice it lol.

I must dig out a 22mm oem seiko clasp from the parts box and fit it as the finisher but happy how my tinkering with this turned out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

@H_Lime Nice job and cracking watch.

I had to do similar with my son's classic case Poljot 3133 and a generic beads of rice bracelet with curved end links.

Came out nice though, like yours.

Cool, love to see a pic.

It's one of those rainy Sunday jobs you get lost in and half surprise yourself with the result lol.

The watch above is possibly "unforgivably busy" but I've a fondness for the movement.

I replaced the peizo buzzer on the caseback after doing the end links. It was weak. This time I used my wife's ceramic hair straighteners to heat the case back good and hot. Then I used bluetac rolled in a cylinder shape the same di as the buzzer to seat and press it on. This way I didn't crack the ceramic plate inside but ensured it fully electrically made contact with the caseback when bonding under pressure. It's really loud now, chuffed it has its voice back:)

Aha, sweet job, you nailed the arc and it looks great on that! I've yet to own a Poljot and there's a few I've a serious itch for.

Speaking of BOR bracelets I recently bought an affordable one from these boyos
    https://a.aliexpress.com/_Ezeh0TB

I was told by a mate in HK they make them for higher end resellers who then sell them with their branding. Incidentally it came with the exact same clasp as the uncle... People be buying them for seiko omega and older breitling etc, they do them in various sizes and fellow tinkerers such as ourselves have being adapting them to their watches.

I had an uncle seiko bor for my skx but didn't like the way they ground the beads flat on top. It's bor fer gods sake not flat top bor lol!

The quality is great, brushing and polishing is top, fully articulated, link gap minimal end link fit great but there was an issue, as there can be with China direct. They never rounded the recessed slots for the beads in the end link which meant when assembled it krinked the first link. Very easy sorted with the dremel but could put some off. Literally took five mins to do both.

Bracelet is like 100g iirc.

The last of the three sample case I bought. Painstaking work to remove all traces of epoxy from the crowns and tubes but I've refined my methods. Likewise bonding on the peizo ceramic buzzer to the caseback.

It passed the six bar pressure test with no bubbles, the new seals doing their job. Intrerestingly (well, to me anyhow) this piece does not exist, I cannot find it via the case or dial reference. It seems to pre date the SQ100 familiar case shape but presumably this sample only ever remained as such. A huge bonus for me lol.

That looks very well, fair play!

Cheers, Seiko dials at this price point (adjusted for inflation) have gone south imo. The steel framed date widow, applied reflective indices and polished applied seiko logo are amiss on 1500 euro seikos of today. The printing is crisp too. This one has a lovely feature in that the sub dials are ringed by a very thin but highly reflective steel disc that play with the light. Maybe that's why this dial never made it to production, namely it punching above it's price point? The later flightmaster SNA411 has the same disc I just mentioned.

Speaking of flightmasters I finally bit and bought a rough second hand one. By the time I'm done it will almost definitely be a perfect example of buying cheap and spending 1.5times the cost of a good one.

Operation false economy flightmaster is go...

It's general appearance is best described by the immortal words "used hard and put away wet". The Hardlex appears to have been used as a brake for one of those downhill skatboarders, the screw down pushers don't screw (seized) and there's a dried water drop on the dial. Lovely!

I could have returned it at this point as the auction never mentioned the potential case compromising seized pusher screws. They can strip and if they do it's game over.

I decided to drive on and after penetrative oil and rubber shrouded pliers they freed off with a slurry of gunk. Delightful!

Bottom one cleaned and top one yet to be done.

The crown still has a turn and a half of thread so the watch is a goer, just lol.

The spring bars were so corroded the pins wouldn't retract

So had to be ground out and the barrel drifted out lol. The general amount of wrist cheese embedded in every crevice of this watch are next level gross.

So button A dickered her, you can see the ingress spread from there. Dial is salvageable but left of centre is a three mm water spot dried and being a high gloss there's slightest evidence of having been cleaned after my efforts. New dial inbound for triggers broom then. Not overly sad about it as the lume has degraded somewhat. Hands are OK.

Hands off and dial on a new 7t62 movement. This is the pulsar equivalent (identical) and a mere 20 quid. I think this is why the SNA411 in particular is going for bananas money lately, nostalgia and readily available cheap oem replacement movements.

So parts are still inbound but I decided to throw it all together at this point after cleaning it all and will wear it until the goodies arrive. Obviously if it gets wet it's a goner tho.

The ultrasonic cleaner did it's job on the bracelet and I spent five mins to brushing it with a scotch brite wheel, I did the polished centre links too cos they're gack looking imo.

So here it is on wrist working away until I get more bits in.

Quick crystal swop as it arrived today. But not before I zap the case in the U-S cleaner.

The haze of muck that came out of the case was impressive. Very nice to have it clean finally. I'll do the pusher seals when the weird ass nylon crown tube and seal arrive.

Most fit a double dome sapphire but I like the mag and distortion of the single dome - which means flat bottom and domed top (ala the stock crystal) . I usually buy from the likes of who I imagine supplies companies such as Crystal Times but pickings were slim in 32mm x 6mm x 2.8mm single dome and he had it so coughed up for it.

Having a quality crystal press and a supply of both black and white crystal seals makes this job a pleasure. I bought decent aluminum dies in 1mm increments for the press and it's a joy to use.

A few more bits to do but its getting there.

That's a wonderful job!

I seriously love such a clear tool watch. Even if a slide rule is as alien to a modern pilot as a canvas wing, the sheer utility of it is gorgeous.

Well done for making it fit to pass on a new generations.

Thanks LD, bar the movement swap it's all been beautification stuff but I'm eager for them seals to arrive. I have good quality Japanese D and E rings in the size needed from a kit pack but will wait for oem.

Fitted these bits which arrived.

The old bezel was scratched and faded. It's bidirectional/without index and pops off easily with a thin blade. I removed the O ring stretched it a bit/greased it before refitting and pressing it on. Hand pressure suffices with this one. All very smooth.

The uncle seiko presidential bracelet suits the watch and has a very good SEL fit, but is a bitch to install as advertised. I used one custom spring bar and one standard. Anyway, all four tips are in their respective holes and the ugly as hell oem bracelet is no more. I installed my ratcheting clasp after, can't be without one. Gave the case a polish on the buffing wheel after masking the brushing off.

I also ate my words and changed the crystal again. While I think the single dome style of the oem suits it I could not abide the blue ar mine had. The dome was about 1.5mm too high imo.

This one is a lovely crystal, double dome with heaps of clear ar and is a lower dome at 32mm x 4.5mm x 2.8mm. No mag but more clarity and no gawd awful blue.

So just seals left and I've been asked to do the same as all I have done to this to a SNA413 Flighty, the blue panda one which is inbound so all very Flighty related at the mo.

Paid 40 some dollars on fleabay. Rough as a badgers arse, movt dead, in general hockey puck condition.

These ( SNA139) launched in 04 but I never had the fancier black dialled ti version like this. As the dial seemed unmarked and was assured the crown had good threads I bit.

So the previous battery leaked and killed it. I have a 7t62 NOS at the ready.

To release the pusher buttons the tiny circlips must be pushed off, at which point they piiing to the moon. Hence doing it through a baggie. The large O ring is the crown tube gasket, same setup as the flightmaster with no seal on the crown itself. I renewed it but also added a flat o ring to the inside of the crown to further seal against the top of the crown tube. I don't get why Seiko did not do this, redundancy!

Case and bracelet us cleaned and refinished. New crystal gasket and low single dome crystal ala oe.

All back together and no bubbles once the pressures released so good to go for at least six bar anyhow.

Alarm working great and it went on a walk this morning. Lume is brill, it's 73g all in and very slim. Whole project took three and a half hours. Much fun.

Post edited by H_Lime on

Nice work on the case and bracelet H 👌

I had a titanium Citizen years ago,looked great when new but picked up a huge amount of noticeable marks,really dulled it

How did you polish it up?

Hey Covey

Ordinary grade ti as used on this and prob on your Citizen is pretty soft. Well in comparison to stainless. I dont use anything fancy other than various grades of scotchbrite wheels for a dremel.

I start with coarse until scratches are gone and work my way towards finer grades depending on what finish I'm after.

The trick for uniformity of finish on a circular plain bezel is to use a lathe. I don't have one but I use plastic threaded crystal dies to sandwich the case (sans crystal and movt obvs). It allows the case to spin when the scotchbrite wheel is in contact with the bezel and gives a great finish.

Great idea using the crystal dies,end product looks great

It's a long threaded rod that screws into the dies and locates into a motorcycle wheel bearing (clamped by two nuts and washers either side). Necessity is the mother of invention:)

Adverts purchase for fifteen lids, "for repair needs a stem"....mmmm

Potential easy fix for the youngin and I to play with but expected it to harbour worse problems than that.

We got lucky in that the remains of the stem was not still buried in the module. Stripping that to remove it would have been at the outer edge of my enthusiasm/skills for our project. Stems are not available from casio and it they can break if you're a muppet during battery changes. We managed to find a German supplier selling crowns. He only had red so himself painted it black.

Other issues were wrong batteries fitted and their housing a little bent (easy fix), it wasn't sounding and after investigation the peizo spring contact was not touching the board and the caseback ground was folded back into the case. Once these were sorted its voice was back. Loud alarm!!

One caseback screw hole was borderline threaded, still kinda nipping up but we wanted it right so removed the case back, half filled the stripped hole with epoxy and screwed in the screw all the way with a light coating of oil on it. Hr later we backed the screw out and now it's perfect.

Other than that we US cleaned everything that could be, new greased gaskets and went though the calibration and set up procedures and it's working A1, mad seeing the hands rotate counter clockwise independently about the dial for given functions. There's not a mark on it really and passed the pressure test no bother.

All in cost for project G-SHOCK GA-400-1BJF was 55 euro (crown was mega expensive at 36 quid). Himselfs delighted but even he thinks it's too big. Anyway, fun was had and that was the point of the exercise, that and a watch is working again.

Here it is on my 21cm wrist lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,150 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

These are great.
    I just pull out an old fossil watch from back of a drawer. Needs a battery, strap is split and mouldy, case and crystal scratched. I had given up on it. But you’ve inspired me to dress it up.

Might have a battery, somewhere. Ordered a strap. Will likely make a balls of something.

Pictures when you do!

Extra points for showing your work! 😄

Time to give bishop brennan a kick up the arse. Popped off the bezel. State of that crystal. Not bad for a mineral after 41 years I suppose.

If the 7A28A were a bike it'd be a vfr800 with gear driven cams, in other words it's bulletproof, overbuilt and a credit to Seiko. First analogue quartz chrono supposedly. Rodger wore a 7A28 in a view to a kill.

Its not been serviced (so I believe) but is keeping exact time. The split button at 10 ain't working but I'm hopeful it's the hideously sticky button gunked up that's the culprit.

Seals are shagged. Thankfully the gent who owned it didn't get her wet! I noticed on a cold morning there was foggin under the crystal so expected this.

Mega tool for hooking off seals!

A quick word on parts. There's some pretty unscrupulous feckers selling parts for Giugiaro/Limited edition seikos at huge mark ups. If you do your eccer and find out the part nos you can catch some amazing deals. For instance the bezel/insert, red buttons and chapter ring go for crazy money 2nd hand on ebay. Cousins in the UK had them NOS if you searched the part nos. They didn't return under a search for 7A28 though, maybe that's why they were still there? Anyway, delighted to bag them at very sensible money.

I had a sapphire with a lash of clear ar made to oem size. Well nearly, stock size is 32mm x 1.6mm, this is 1.5mm.

Reassembly went aok, all six seals were changed, crystal went in flat and a new battery too. Bezel nipped the seal on installation (despite stretching and lube!) but managed to find a match in my spares.

With great trepidation I started the chrono and hit the split button.....and it verks!!! So happy about that.

I adapted this strap to it which suits it and am keeping my eyes peeled for a nos bracelet. If one shows up I'll have the case recoated to match, but for now I'm so happy to wear this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Roycropper63

H-lime sorry for jumping in on this thread. Have 2 seiko kinetics that are not working. Would you be able to help? Thanks Roy

No probs Roy.

What models? Dead or doing the two seconds tick? Have you worn em for a day to charge them up yet? Could maybe do with a new capacitor/battery if won't hold a charge.

Myself I don't own any kinetics. They give great service but just not really into them.

Hi. The newest 1 is an ska719p I think bought 7 years ago. Was not worm enough but the second hand seemed to stick arounf 15 mins . Other 1 is from my dad. Been idle a long time

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wear the newer one for a day, you might resurrect it. The older almost certainly needs a battery I'd say.

Thought you might dig it Wibbs:)

Will try that when back home. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭jefferson73

Amazing work and great post, thanks for sharing.

Thanks Jefferson, seeing your tasty new in box SCED003 lately and commenting on it was a portent of this purchase somehow. Like field of dreams ha!

I'm liking the sapphire in it, its obvs such an immediate improvement over the old crystal and the clear ar coating showcases the dial. Before the swop I thought I was going to have to repaint the hands (was going to use lume) as they appeared so dull but it was just the crystal.

I'm on the hunt for the bracelet but so too is every bishop owner it seems. The problem with this watch is how little relief there is for anything but the thinnest of bracelets to fit the recessed lugs. You can't even get a nato in.

I'd seen this on some vintage casios also so I trimmed an fkm strap for one with a razor blade to make it fit the lugs. I opted for a bigger (lugs) one as it meant a wider flare out which I cut in line with the case on the one side as a nod to Giugiaro's asymmetric bracelet. I gave the cut edges a run with a soldering iron to make them look normal.

Lastly there's another bishop for sale abroad (with full bracelet!) but listed as faulty movement. It's going cheap enough and I think I can see why it's chrono second hand is faulty, the centre second finger tension spring is misaligned, a simple fix! Either that or it's a trap for eegits like me to think that lol. I may roll the dice.

Couple NOS cases, 007 and 011, well two 007 but one to be transformed to 011. Hilariously I have aftermarket 011 chapter rings that are a far better match of orange than the official seiko one, part of the charm I suppose.

Doxa vibez on the bor, looks better on a black gl831 imo.