General Premier League Thread 2025/2026 - See Post #1 for Mod Note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Apple Dumpling

Colwill did his ACL so I’m guessing Chelsea instead of using there squad go out and buy a new centre back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭FreshG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,608 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Rodri out until after the international break. You would wonder the wisdom of playing him in the world club cup? Why not give him the summer off and let him get a proper preseason under his belt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Pep was probably desperate to call himself and his team world champions whenever he comes under pressure in the new season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭doc_17

Pep could be in his endgame here, Rodri is so pivotal to them, and without him they haven’t been anything like the team that win the four leagues in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Apple Dumpling

Well done to Salah he can kiss goodbye to the Ballon D’or for the tweet but somethings are more important and being on the right side of history is one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

Fair play to Salah. I find it absolutely mental, that all these sport stars, movie stars, global pop stars etc...who thank god for everytime they pass wind, but are seemingly oblivious to real world horrors that go on around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Who has had the best summer transfer window so far, of the main title contenders right now I would say Arsenal have had the best window, they have added strength and depth to their squad and added a striker, something they have been crying out for, for a few seasons now.

Liverpool started the window like they were going to blow everyone away with the way they were spending, but, I'd argue that right now they are actually weaker than at the end of last season, they definitely need to sign a CB or an injury there could derail their season, plus if they don't get Isak, they would be a bit light up front.

City have quietly added to their squad, which added to their January signings should make them more competitive this season. Hard to see anyone outside of those 3 challenging. Chelsea appear to be in a more stable situation, but, still a lot of turnover there and United seem to have had a decent summer so far. Still a lot can change over the next few weeks.

Will be interesting to see how all the new signings work out, some will hit the ground running and others will be flops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I hope Liverpool don't runaway with it this year. I know it's not certain they'll be the same force as last year but the title was wrapped up by about Febuary so boring after that. City still look dodgy at the back and Rodri is injured again. Who knows what will happen with Arsenal. Can't see anyone else in the mix. Maybe Chelsea but I doubt they have the stamina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,746 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

With the strengthening Arsenal and City have done, I think we’re in for an exciting one. Chelsea have an incredible squad too, but are a bit nuts - could be amazing, could implode. Wouldn’t be surprised if they were in the mix too though.

Liverpool should be good - provided they make two more signings, really need one more forward (just no depth there - Isak would be a game changer), and a CB.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,655 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I think Wirtz and Gykores are big changes for Liverpool and Arsenal, so bound to be some teething / bedding in. Key will be getting the wins even when they dont play well, and being patient if it’s not amazing immediately. Likewise, ManU have a brand new front 3, massive upgrade, but doesnt mean it clicks instantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

United badly need a new CM and GK to be anywhere near competing for top 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,788 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Thoughts on the PL ahead of the kickoff

All things being equal (no injuries, loss of form etc..) I like the balance of the Arsenal team the most on paper.
    They challenged twice and then had a drop off last year (losing Saka played a massive part in it as well).
    I think if Arsenal can regroup and go again they are the best placed team to challenge Liverpool.

It doesn't feel too dissimilar to when Liverpool were knocking on the door a couple of seasons ago, eventually they will do it, I feel.

My main concern with Arsenal would be the striker position and mostly just that they have 2 very different profiles up there in Gyokeres and Havertz. I think Arsenal will have to tweak how they play slightly to get the most from Gyokeres but then when he is out they will have to tweak their style again slightly.

If Arteta can get that right and they hold their luck with injuries, then this could be their year at last. But I look at the rest of their team and on paper especially it looks very well balanced. The most balanced to me.

Liverpool have had a lot of new blood brought in this summer which should help keep the squad hungry but the success of their season will depend on the older heads once again I think. IF VVD and Salah keep their levels fairly similar, then they will be up there. They start the season as favourites being champions but with VVD at 34 and Salah at 33 they will eventually need the likes of Wirtz to lift some of the weight off them. Isak as well would be massive in doing that.

Chelsea will be best of the rest barring a meltdown (which you can never rule out with them). They should be comfortable enough in the top 4 but I think they will eventually fall off the pace of the other 3. Pedro should step up a gear getting better service now and their midfield is as good as anyones.

Man Utd, Villa and Spurs then to battle it out for the 5th spot and hope that pulls them in CL football. Utd playing 1 game a week could have an advantage in this race. It certinaly gives them the room to prepare. If Utd manage to bring in Baleba then I would expect them to be closer to Chelsea than Villa/Spurs. (Injuries permitting)

I think Newcastle are in for a drop-off. I think they will find both the CL and the PL very tough to work with their current squad. Unless they get quality in the door in the next couple of weeks they are in for a long season. Isak is gone IMO and Newcastle need to have a very good plan in place to cover his goals / quality.

I think Everton will thrive under Moyes once again and can see them getting top half. Their new stadium looks class and they have an upwards motion to them now I feel. Moyes will get the most out of those players each week.

At least 2 of the 3 pomoted sides will go back down. Brentford look the most likely of the established clubs to potentially fall into the relegation fight maybe Wolves. Of the pomoted clubs it looks like Leeds are the only 1 with a realistic shot of staying up. Sunderland did great to pick up Xhaka and I expect he'll have a very good season but what is around him won't be enough to keep them up.

Man City's case should hopefully have something released to the public by the end of the season. It's a shame that it hasn't happened ahead of the new season but we are all in the dark on it so who knows at this stage. Either it's taking a long time because the case is going to be watertight and the punishment coming is big or it's going to be swept under the rug. There is no in between.

TLDR Predictions :

Winner : Arsenal
    Top Scorer : Haaland
    Player of the Season : Saka
    Surprise team good : Everton.
    Surprise team bad : Newcastle.
    Relegated : Burnley, Sunderland and Brentford.
    Best new signing : Gyokeres.
    Worst new signing : Delap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭POKERKING

He hadnt played in nearly a year and was given a few mins here and there in the CWC, he didnt need a summer off hes been off for a year. He needs minutes in the legs and a build up of fitness. Its normal to get niggles unrelated to the main injury when been out so long, im pretty sure Pep will have taken all the advice from some of the best surgeons in the world rather than unnecessarily risking one of his prize assets regardless of that other nonense post about Pep desperately wanting to win the trophy.

Liverpool

Arsenal

City

In that order.

4th - 6th I can't predict until more transfers are made.

Top scorer : Salah.

Player of the year : Rice

Young player of the year : Wharton

Biggest improvement : Spurs

Biggest decline : Forest

Best new signing : Wirtz

Worst new signing : Broja

Am I the only one that thinks 9/2 on a City title win is great value? Like they have invested almost 400m into the squad since January, in what was already a title winning team!

Arsenal's chances depend on Gyokeres being the man, and living up to expectations.

Liverpool i feel have lost too many of last year's squad, and are under resourced at the back. If the reinforce at centre back they could go again. But its hard to see it.

I think City.....unfortunately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

No one is really mentioning them, they are going under the radar, despite all the money they have spent including January ( more than both Liverpool & Arsenal), and all the titles they have won. Once they got over their blip, they were fairly consistent in the last few months and came close at one stage to overhauling Arsenal, also have Rodri to come back in.

They will be there or there abouts, and have the experience of getting over the line in a tight title race, no other team knows that feeling (Liverpool won both of their titles with games to spare). I Arsenal have a great chance too, but, will they be able to get over the line? I agree that there might be a little too much change at Liverpool, so might take time to all gel together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

I have to agree. Even on here I find it mad that most of the talk is about Liverpool and Arsenal. I listened to a OTB during the week and you'd swear City were non contender they got so little talk time about the up coming season.

To me they're the team to beat and it's up to Liverpool and Arsenal to put it up to them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Not sure where to ask this neutral question about the Shield game, what's the draw procedure? Extra time or straight to penalties?

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Damien360

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

city have a hard start to the season if I’m not mistaken: United, spurs and arsenal all in the first few weeks so you should know fairly early if your bet is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

-deleted-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Thanks, sorry was meant to post it in the 'Pool thread

Jasus and some lads were giving out about the standard of peno at the womens euros a few weeks back 🤣🤣🤣

Finally a decent strike...some peno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

terrible pen's for the most part. palace win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,408 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Liverpool looked awful today. Palace deserved that.

My missus asking why a child was taking a peno for Palace 😂