If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ryan Tubridy ; Has he paid back the Irish Tax Payer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭badabing106

Tubridy could have and still could turn this negative PR into positive PR. For example, If he donated the 150k to the "late late toy show appeal" , the positive publicity that would be generated from this would be worth more than the money donated to a good cause.

That would be a win win from every angle and I'm sure His PR team would have suggested this to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

Probably the only reason he would do it now would be an attempt at positive PR. That’s fairly pathetic but it’s to be expected.

A man with no integrity wanting to do something that ultimately benefits himself.

The man whose word can’t be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

He said he would if he wasn't asked to do the remaining promotions. He hasn't been asked yet and he hasn't paid the money back yet either.

Too early to pass judgement on Tubridy IMO, but then I'm not a hater.

’Too early to pass judgment’ 😂😂😂

Tubridy hasn’t paid back the €150,000 yet. He has zero integrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,079 ✭✭✭jj880

Nah waited too long. Said he'd return it. Got kicked off the RTE gravy train so huffed and pocketed the money. Returning it now for some PR stroke wouldn't fool anyone.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

The TV Licence Fee has just arrived in the door. I only paid it last time as Tubs said he was paying back the money. I am very narked he did SFA. The letter will remain unopened this time.

That doesn't make any sense other than as an excuse not to buy a licence which you're legally required to do. Hopefully you'll be prosecuted and get an opportunity to explain the logic in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Allinall

He’ll never be trusted again when he says something.

We can point to the time he said he would pay back the €150,000 and didn’t do it.

No integrity Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,079 ✭✭✭jj880

I didn't say that. He should still return it because thats what he said he'd do. My point is it's too late to start spoofing with some benevolent gesture for good PR. No-one will fall for it.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

So everyone should do what they say they're going to do, really?

Go ahead with a wedding, even though you're convinced proposing/accepting was a bad idea?

F××k integrity I'll settle for a happy life.

Anyone interested in some T-shirts ?

‘No Integrity Tubridy’

What colour scheme would work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,098 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I want one in auburgine sunset, please.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

How does anyone here know if it's been paid back or not? Maybe he did pay it back. Transactions between individuals and revenue are private.

Ha. Good one. The idea he wouldn’t have milked it is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Isn't there a list of tax defaulters? however the OP might be talking about the €150k RTÉ gave him for work he didn't do that he suggested he pay back at the Oireachtas.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Again maybe he did maybe he hasn't. Has anyone asked RTE directly rather than a bunch of strangers on an Internet forum? I doubt anyone here knows the answer to the OP. I'm more concerned about the 750m RTE owe the taxpayer rather than a poxy 150k in the scheme of things. Try finding the answer to the Tubridy question in amongst the invoices for flip flops.

Yes, it was asked in the Oireachtas committee a few months ago and the answer was "No".

There is a reason there is a bail out and part of that reason is the deal struck between RTÉ and Mr. Tubridy's agent (along with the flip/flops and other sundries), and the unilateral way in which the former DG signed off on that contract with no governance oversight, while it is one of the myriad of issues that RTÉ caused themselves, it is still a large part as to why RTÉ has need a bail out.

This along with the fact that RTÉ have never been a very good public service broadcaster in the past and are largely a failed organization.

You are right Tub's 150k is just one part a much large issue surrounding the ineptitude of the former RTÉ Director General and her executive board.

I'd be more interest in Dee Forbes and Jim Jennings making a statement to the Oireachtas Committee, but I believe they are very very sick, but Jim is able for a good party with his RTÉ friends.

______

Yesterday

The above exchange shows the level of wilful ignorance about Tubridy and his €150k. There's no evidence Tubridy isn't up to date in paying his Irish taxes.

This thread features a clear bit of delusional misinformation in the title about the source of the money.

Anyway to get back to the subject of whether Tubridy has returned the money to its source (RTE) as he said he would if he wasn't required to do the remaining promotions he hasn't AFAIK been asked by RTE or Renault either to do them or to return the €150K.

There's a whole litany of RTE extravagant financial behaviour that doesn't feature Tubridy and that amounts to many multiples of €150k. 'Toy Show (edit), the musical' alone amounted to something like 10x. Most of this gets little or no mention these days in the Irish media because they'd rather talk about 'celebs' whatever their 'list'.

There's the Tubridy haters and there's the RTE haters with quite a bit of intermingling as I see it.

Sorry, should of course have said 'Toy Show, the musical' my mistake.

Yeah but he (Ryan Tubridy) said he’d pay the money back and he hasn’t.

No integrity Tubridy.

So you've always done what you said you would do?

Never changed your mind?

Circumstances change and I adjust my actions accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,244 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Tubridy can have his reputation as a credible public service broadcaster, or he can have the money. Some people 'hate' having this pointed out, but then it's obvious some people would screw over their friends, colleagues, family for a euro as long as it's legal and hate anyone pointing out that is scumbag \ sleeveen behaviour.

It's been obvious since day 1 to everyone except 'Ryan' and his online fan club.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Neither option are exclusive. He can have both. He's obviously doing very well without RTE.

He hasn't screwed anyone over. You are aware Tubridy didn't run RTE, he wasn't in charge of employee contracts, his only job was to present a stupid radio show and a TV programme for grandparents(excluding the toy show). He got outrageously well paid for doing so. But that's the fault of RTE.

It's just a shame people here don't hold themselves to the same standards they hold Tubridy. Quote mining history Oireachtas hearing being a very good example. Let's focus on a few words and ignore everything else he said at the hearing and since.

The reason I feel sorry for Tubridy is that he was made a scapegoat for RTE failings. It's no wonder the whole 150k mess happened when this thread shows how well deflecting works for RTE management. That's before even talking about his and other presenters salaries that cost RTE multiples of the mythical 150k.

Joe Duffy has been paid at least €150K/pa over the odds since the RTE scandal broke in 2023 but he's still an Irish public service broadcasting icon up there with St. Gaybo. Even suggestions he might run for President till he scotched them. 🙄

But I say good luck Joe, you were paid according to what was agreed and you're entitled to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,244 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Gosh, that almost sounds like you're a Joe Duffy 'hater' by the standard set on the thread by poster Cyclingtourist - oh wait, that was you.
    Not the first time you've been critical of RTE or RTE figures on the thread… But when someone else does it, they are a 'hater'.
    There's no way to read that other than as textbook double standards.

Duffy can be criticised for sure, but he was paid what was declared by him and RTE as his remuneration. If you have information to the contrary, do share.
    Unlike Tubridy lying to colleagues about a fake pay cut.
    With Duffy - no sham events being contrived by RTE at great expense purely to funnel money under the counter, as was arranged for and with Tubridy. All so his earnings could be under-stated to the Government and the public \ taxpayers \ licence payers.
    No promises made at the Oireachtas at paying back advances for work that was done not, and is obvious to any objective observer will never be called upon to be done.

So, this is whataboutery, and an epic fail at that.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Lads, you’re just trying to derail the thread. If you want to talk about other people why don’t you start up a thread about them ?

This one is about - No Integrity Tubridy

But you have to agree the kind of contracts that many of the stars were on were also extravagant, and this really starts the extravagance of RTÉ from IT write downs, to flip flops, car allowances, free flights to NCY, moving expenses and so on.

I think RTÉ said in the last Oireachtas they asked but it was a very much, we've asked but we aren't asking again and have no real interest. Renault never paid this 150k so they aren't looking for the work to be carried out.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Tubridy didn't pay back the 150k and won't ever. Thread done and dusted.

What makes 150k payment important though is that it encapsulates how badly RTE negotiated with it's stars into one set of payments with one individual. Nothing about what was agreed was right. In the cold light of day it's humiliating for RTE that such a deal could ever have been agreed.