If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ryan Tubridy ; Has he paid back the Irish Tax Payer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Tubridy doesn't owe the 'Irish tax payer' anything. If you can show where he does please do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Are saying he told untruths to the Dail Committee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭jj880

Tubridy stated he'd return public money he was paid to do a job of work. He didn't do the work and didn't return the money.

Instead he went up to Donegal and stuffed it into Muff along with other celebs as an investment.

Bizarre to see these facts labelled as "hate from haterz".

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,247 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

You know they've run out of arguments when they have to start bringing that angle in.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

He said he repay the money in the context of him staying at RTE which obviously hasn't happened. So no he didn't lie. Obviously his statement can be taken out of context. But that just proves my point that some people take perverse enjoyment hating on someone due to some warped parasocial relationship that perceive to have with some media personalities.

Also what Tubridy said to the Dail Committee has no legal bearing and that was reinforced by a referendum where people refused to give Dail committees that status/powers. He earned his money fair and square(if you can show otherwise the RTE and Garda I would be very interested). None of this stuff will do anything to change his mind only the opposite, so nothing here is about getting the 150k back.

He lost his job and moved on. RTE is still in chaos.

Again if you get kicks from hating on Tubridy fair enough but don't pretend it's anything nobler than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,966 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

He had no legal obligation to waive his right to a 120k payment on completion of his contract, either.

One would have to believe that if this piece of information was better publicised the public would be much better inclined towards Ryan.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I'm not really sure 'the public' are that inclined against Tubridy. The haters will always hate but the vast majority have moved on or never bought the Dee Forbes RTE deflection strategy. Did she forego her exit package or even appear before an Oireachtas Committee?

RTE still refuses to disclose the details of exit packages paid to former executives.

RTÉ refuses to release Dee Forbes' contract despite request from PAC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭Field east

when RT stated at that Dail committee meeting that he would pay the money back he definately did NOT attach any conditions to it and there was definately no context to it . There was a discussion around the payment, the amount he got paid and it was concluded that he got paid in advance for walk that he never did and he unilaterally STRONGLY SUGGESTED that the work paid for will now not be done and that he will therefore pay the advance that he had not eventually earned back

53% if the Irish public in a poll this year said Tubridy should pay the money,

Must be a lot of 'haters' out there, or you know, if it wasn't obvious to anyone paying attention - that's desperate drivel.

So if you ask 100 people if Tubridy should pay back RTE the €150k they paid him and 53 or 55% say 'yes' that means they know or care? LOL

Fact is Tubridy would probably say 'yes' also, he hasn't actually said he won't.

Ryan Tubridy willing to address repayment of €150,000 to RTÉ at ‘appropriate time’ – The Irish Times

The Taoiseach obviously isn't a 'Tubridy hater' (appeared recently on his podcast) but I wouldn't be surprised to hear him say 'yes' to that survey.

Thats a lot of waffle trying to cover up that you made a claim you pulled out of nowhere about the view of the 'vast majority' ... and the poll completely discredits that.

Audience figures showing RTE doing at least as well with new presenters and Tubridy treading water elsewhere.

Makes the drivel about 'haters' look even more desperate. But I suppose when Tubridys own words discredit your position, and a poll showing the majority of the Irish people still think he should pay it back - all you have left to defend your position with is nonsense like that.

What claim are you on about?

That the Irish public, bar the haters, don't really care?

A poll that has a whole series of questions, including one about who people think should get Joe Duffy's old Live Line job and shows 55% think he should give the money back as opposed to 31% who think he should keep it. LOL

Polls are unreliable even under more strict conditions, like when the 'exit poll' said SF were going to win the last GE and FF were trailing in 3rd.

Exit poll suggests tight three-way race in Irish election

Most people believe Ryan Tubridy should repay €150,000 to RTÉ, as fallout continues over secret top-ups | Irish Independent

These attitude 'polls' provide click bait for news media like the Indo.

You claimed that… "the vast majority have moved on."

You stated that based on absolutely nothing.

Contradicted by a poll finding from this year.

Now, while polls aren't 100% reliable it's a helluva lot more reliable to a situation versus whatever claim you just pulled out of thin air.
    And the last refuge of someone peddling a baseless claim contradicted by some actual findings is to try to rubbish polls in general. More desperate deflections… how does a question in the poll about Joe Duffy alter anything that was asked about Tubridy?

What does an RTE exit poll have to do with the Tubridy poll? Nothing.
    And even then, it is just another desperate deflection, the exit poll got each party's vote correct to within 2%.
    How does that help your case against the Tubridy poll which had 53% v 31% saying he should pay the money back?
    It doesn't. It's a clear margin. If it was a 51-49 split maybe, but this isn't even very good deflection.

No matter how much you desperately try to spin against actual facts - your claims are unreliable and without foundation.

Well you can put your faith in Media polls if you want but I trust my intuition and common sense more. Like asking a question "do you think RT should give back the money he said he would?" is going to elicit an affirmative answer in most cases whether the person is really bothered about the issue or not. That 31% said he should keep the money is in fact more surprising given people's natural tendency to appear virtuous.

And then they ask who should get Duffy's old job when most won't in fact be listeners to Liveline. LoL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

Tubridy - ‘if the work isn’t done I will pay the money (€150,000) back (to the Irish taxpayer).

Work hasn’t been done. Money hasn’t been paid back. Interpret that as you will.

The 'Irish taxpayer' lost much more when tens (hundreds?) of thousands of those legally obliged to purchase a licence for €160 didn't bother. Every one thousand of them would have represented more than the €150k Tubridy wasn't legally obliged to pay.

BTW Tubridy is still in a legal dispute with RTE regarding their deflection tactics, selective release of information to distract from corporate decisions taken under the leadership of Dee Forbes who was conveniently fired a day before the scandal broke allowing her to dodge the public scrutiny of PAC and her 'exit package' still undisclosed to this day. When this dispute is resolved possibly he will return the legally acquired €150K as a gesture of good will.

Yeah but Tubridy said - ‘if the work isn’t done I will pay the money (€150,000) back (to the Irish taxpayer). 

Work hasn’t been done. Money hasn’t been paid back. Interpret that as you will.

Not yet

RTE promised full disclosure but haven't yet.

Meanwhile the 'wicked witch' former DG Dee Forbes is nowhere to be seen. What % of people even remember her? No media surveys on Dee because she's not click bait.

There's a general RTE thread for that. And you'll find a massive overlap in the same posters hammering Tubridy also there critical of RTE.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057868730/dee-forbes-banging-the-rte-tv-licence-drum-again-60m-uncollected-fee-poll-not-working-pl-ignore#latest

Yes haters are always looking for someone/thing to hate, any other deep insights?

Not sure who you are describing with that post. Must be this poster CyclistTourist who posted this yesterday:

Never bought the Dee Forbes RTE deflection strategy. Did she forego her exit package or even appear before an Oireachtas Committee? RTE still refuses to disclose the details of exit packages paid to former executives.

LOL

I love Dee, she's so cute. Doesn't get enough attention.

Derailing the thread with talk of Dee Forbes is very telling. Why don’t you go to the thread about her ? You’re not derailing on purpose are you ?

The conversation is about Tubridy not paying back the money he said he would.

'Deerailing' 😀

You do realise it was former RTE DG Dee who negotiated the deal where RTE guaranteed the Tubridy Renault promotion payments regardless and then used RTE barter accounts to hide the fact? She's legally entitled to her 'exit package', whatever it was, just as Tubridy is entitled to keep the €150k although he's not ruling out returning it at some point in the future.

These are relevant facts to the €150k the haters are obsessed with.

Tubridy said he would pay back the €150,000 to the Irish tax payer.

He hasn’t yet done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,966 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Can we take the waiving of Ryan’s 120k contract completion payment into account here? I mean, would he have gotten that much after tax from the 150k?

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

There was a poster on the last Tubridy thread that admitted to being paid to post online to defend the name of Tubridy. He even uploaded receipts to prove it. Was out to dinner with his camp.

I’m starting to think that may be still going on.

Lads, the fact will always remain - Tubridy said he would pay back the €150,000 to the Irish tax payer. 

He hasn’t yet done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭jj880

Tubs:

"if that work is not called upon to be done, of course the money goes back".

Doesnt sound like someone who's going to wait years to pay or put conditions on the payment. More like someone strongly in agreement its the right thing to do where public money is involved.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Sounds like someone still waiting for the call.