If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

"Studies indicate that female athletes experience ACL tears at a rate two to eight times higher than males"

Different theories why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Obviously a very very disappointing game today for the main LGFA showcase.

These things happen, the mens final was poor also.

Couple of other points:

• frees every 30 seconds it felt like. At one point Dublin were attacking and the ref played one advantage, then a second advantage, then a third advantage before finally awarding a free - he was doing his best, but omg endless frees and breaks in play. The game badly needs the tap and go or whatever its called in the mens game. It also needs some sort of rules around a feasible tackle - any sort of contact at all was a free.

• I did feel Ref was much tougher on Meath. If you look at second Dublin goal, Meath player in possession - pushed in the back, a strong push - falls over - gets up - gets done for steps - Dublin take quick free and score a point, and then score a goal from the kick out. That put them 10 up instead of 6, game over. No coming back from that. Dublin would have won anyway, in all likelihood.

• All the focus on Hannah Tyrrell who is obviously a legend, but it was brilliant to see Nicole Owens score the opening goal after the injuries she has had. I'd wonder will Leah Caffrey and Sinead Goldrick be back next year, they both played really well. Caffrey is POTY I would think.

• Not sure why the guards dont close Clonliffe Road for the LGFA final - nearly 50,000 in attendance and cars were driving up and down Clonliffe both before and after the main match. Pavements were jammed. Particularly with so many kids at this fixture, its a strange one.

• Dublin LGFA really needs to work on building a fanbase, Meath LGFA consistently brings more fans with a fraction of the population. I saw little or no effort from my own club to promote it - a facebook post is as far as it goes. I'd imagine most other Dublin clubs the same. In contrast you could see whole clubs showing up not just from Meath but from Antrim, Laois, Tyrone etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,217 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Just on the fanbase bit. I know a lot of the fans are very young girls. But didn’t hear chanting as you would in the men’s game.

I was thinking the women’s game could invent their own specific chants. Also needs songs about the county’ and the game aswell. And primary teachers can teach them to their kids. Might get the “singing and dancing” type of young girls more involved.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

The general Dublin fans don't follow the ladies games unfortunately, once again yesterday Meath had more support with a better mix of age groups than Dublin which was once again one or two parents with their youngest children .Hardly any mixed groups of adults .

but you dont hear much chanting at all at GAA games - the Hill comes out with 'come on ye boys in blue' from time to time, otherwise its really simple stuff 'Re-bels Re-bels" "Ar-magh Ar-magh". Its non-existant really compared to what you get down at Dalymount for a Bohs match.

The atmosphere at the LGFA final is very good, just lots of high pitched cheering.

My point really is that women dont attend these games. If you go to a GAA match, there are plenty of men and women in their twenties and thirties attending. Fagans will be jammed beforehand. There are almost no groups of young women or men attending LGFA.

You really saw it actually with the hurling semifinal - Tipp Kilkenny in the camogie beforehand. At the same time, massive crowds, thousands and thousands, down in drumcondra in the pubs. Men and women. Streets packed. As soon as the camogie is over, they make their way up to watch the hurling. And it was one of the best camogie matches of the year.

All these women on their high horse about the skorts - wtf couldnt they come and watch the game if they care so much.

The Dublin clubs made no effort to get behind it.

I agree 100% with you I know there are some women that are knowledgeable and GAA mad. I happened to be sitting beside a Limerick woman the day Dublin played them. She impressed with with how clued in and into it she was. But that is rare to see a female fan like that.

But you are right most women don't go to games. They simply have no interest unless it is an "event". And let's be honest a lot of the young ones mainly go to men's matches for the atmosphere/craic and to meet fellas.

The vibe of a ladies football game is more Mammy's/Daddy's with their very small/small kids. Completely different. So you won't see many non mother's in their 20's/30's at LGFA matches.

I think it is just the nature of things most women have other interests and following sports is just not a priority. Some might performatively "care" as in the skorts issue.

It is a superficial interest re women's sports for most women. I don't think it is possible to change that. It is like how some women say on their facebook they admire Katie Taylor/ Kellie Harrington in boxing but wouldn't be able to name any of the boxers they fought.

The Americans set up the WNBA (Women's basketball) I was reading get terrible crowds and the fans that do go are middle aged men. The women don't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 OmegaagemO

Congratulations to the Dubs Ladies on a thoroughly deserved victory yesterday. By far the better team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Ya, there is such a different atmosphere between the crunch men's matches in Croke Park and the ladies all-ireland. There is an element of some tension at the men's games. Bit of drink on board and a bit of excitement. Whereas at the ladies All-Irelands that I was at previously, you want to bring a packet of extra strong panadol to try to numb the pain from the constant high-pitched shrieking of the kids. But I do think it's great that families are bringing their kids to see the experience, and try to get them some interest in the sport.

One thing I noticed at the ladies games is the constant walking around by the youngsters. I don't think 20 seconds passed at a time without someone walking up and down the aisles. At the mens, there is a sudden movement of people out to the bars just before half-time to beat the queues.

You just reminded me there it was a number of years ago at this stage. I think it was a Dublin men's league football match? Weather not great because the pitch was cutting up and it was wet.

At half time there was a special performance of Jedward who were jumping around like mad eejits on the pitch. Even sliding along their knees in the mud. Lot's of screeching kids.

A load of them turned up to see Jedward, many left straight away when Jedward finished. Jedward were the main event for them. Not the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

I brought my 5 year old daughter to it.

She insisted I stand up and dance with her.

Thankfully I didn't appear on the TV or I'd have been more embarrassed than the Coldplay couple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Not to mention at the start of the match Meath were fouled on their first 2 attacks didn't get a free and put them wide. Would have settled them early and put pressure on Dublin. When Dublin went 1-2 up it was game over especially with home advantage. Meath should have been cynical like Dublin and just pulled the player who scored the first goal. Dublin were already playing on from an advantage there was nothing to lose.

If the LFGA don't want their showpiece rained in future they should speak with the referee beforehand about home town referees. Dublin have won enough they don't need the extra help at the expense of the spectacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Opening hill 16 at 20 quid a pop would have helped with this issue. The last final Meath and Dublin met there was a good atmosphere on the hill from the younger crowd.

Dublin ladies play very few games in Croke Park and also you seemed to have missed Meath players off the ball 'tackles' in the second half in particular .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Doing the rounds on WhatsApp that Declan Darcy will be ratified as Dublin manager tomorrow with Jonny Cooper, Jayo and Clucko as selectors.

Seems correct alright with the club champo starting at the weekend .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Paranoid Mandroid

Meath were well beaten, stuffed. Beaten by a much better team. It wasn't down to referee decisions.

I doubt he'd leave Leinster.

It'll be Ger Brennan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

That's what I was thinking. Why would he leave a good job at Leinster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

They should have kept the €5 tickets for youngsters, instead of €15. I would have brought my young fellow and 3 of his mates. Would have set me back €50 if the juvenile tickets were €5, but it would be a decent days entertainment. But instead because of the extra Juvenile charge, the price would be €90. Couldn't justify that, so I gave it a miss and took the kids up to the park to play ball for the afternoon.

You wouldn't even know the Dublin ladies were in an All-Ireland. Nothing from our club to promote it. No excitement at all. Practically zero done from anyone (the association itself, media, clubs, anybody?) to highlight the game.

Much better job at Leinster.

Proper professional set up. I know Dublin is pretty professional but not on the same level.

Here is a short video from the Dubs GAA you tube channel

Robbie Kelleher, Bobby Doyle, Sean Doherty featured - talking about 1974.

I suppose it is relevant to today, because there is a real feeling that Dublin have to rebuild again now. Although not as much as work required as pre 1974 hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

So is the Dublin job but you can't do both really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

He would be better paid with Leinster. Not that he should be paid with Dublin lol.

I don't think he can do both.

You wouldn't leave Leinster for Dublin though. Leinster much bigger job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

Managing Dublin football team is a much bigger role than been in the background of a rugby team. It won't be about money as runs his own business. If he is approached I think he will take Dublin role.

Fair enough.

I didn't know he had his own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭munster87

I paid €5 for juvenile tickets through the club. Didn’t realize they were 15 otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Torcaill

Selection committee only formed last night! Note - doesn't mean that the new manager isn't already in place!!! 😉